Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

 from Collierville, TN, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

My Djembe drum features a wonderful hand carved illustration of an elephant picking leaves off of a tree. This particular drum doesn't have painted wood, which I like because the texture of the carving shows up better. Although I do not belong to a drumming circle, I would imagine that this bargain priced drum would be great for anybody who has wanted their own Djembe to play. It is the lowest priced African created Djembe I have been able to find. You will be fortunate if you happen to get a drum with the spine centered. If you don't expect a percussionist's professional grade instrument, you will be very pleased. This Djembe made an exotic addition to my living room decor.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
X-mas Gift
 from Ohio,  Dec 24, 2008

I bought this for my 67 yr. old mom (who recently starting playing my Djembe) for a Christmas Gift and she loves it. It sounds wonderful and the carving is beautiful. Now I'll be able to reclaim mine! Thank you for the quick delivery and quality product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the drum
 from clearwater, fl,  Dec 15, 2006

I just got my drum last night and was quit surprised in a good way, because it's a good size drum but i like the weight of it. It's pretty heavy maybe 20lbs. It does not look like anything cheap. It's actually a gift for my brother for christmas, and since he is into music and art i figured it would be a great combination to get him something unique and musical. Would recommended it and the price wasn't bad at all compared to what the drum actually looked like.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
stoke the beast within
 from Skippack, Pa,  Dec 3, 2006

Awesome drum. Very good sound, from warm bass to pizzicato rim. Fun to play. Exhausting and satisfying. Can't beat the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Drum
 from cranston, r.i.,  Dec 30, 2011

I bought this drum for my son as a Christmas present, and he loved it. It was exactly as the picture looked, and then some.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
disappointing
 from New Jersey,  Nov 11, 2011

I have purchased a number of djembes from Overstock for our school's drum circle. This is the first disappointment we've had. Upon arriving, the first thing we noticed was a piece of metal nailed up the side of the djembe to cover a piece of rotting wood. The first time a student used the drum, the head tore in half. I am thoroughly disappointed in the quality of this drum.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? no.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the sizing? accuratte
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous!
 Feb 24, 2011

Really a nice piece of art. I purchased 2 for my twin 3 year olds and they were simply gorgeous! One was more red and the other more brown.. It seems they are all different. I saw the same drums in a "hippie" shop in town selling for 5X the price! They are well worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jembe Drum
 from CALIFORNIA,  Jul 22, 2010

WHEN I ORDERED THIS DRUM I WASN'T SURE OF WHAT I WAS GETTING MYSELF INTO...BUT THIS MEDIUM SIZE DRUM WAS AN "GREAT" INVESTMENT AND I'M ENJOYING IT VERY MUCH. NOT TO MENTION THE PACKAGING WAS WRAP WELL SO THAT IT WOULDN'T BE DAMAGED IN SHIPPING. I'M VERY PLEASED...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jembe Drum
 from Montana,  May 22, 2010

This is a great drum for the price. It's just the right size for me, not too heavy and gives a nice tonal range. It was packed well and arrived ready to play. However, I was very surprised to find that my drum had no carving on it whatsoever! This is supposed to be a hand carved drum and from reading the other reviews, it seems like everyone else got carving on their drum. I was going to return it, but since I liked the sound, I decided to keep it anyway. The wood grain is actually very pretty and since I like simple, clean lines in all my furnishings, I'm actually growing to like it the way it is.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 Apr 8, 2010

Arrived great and looks more muted in color than the picture (which I am glad for because it's a beautiful design on the drum) It looks nice and the sound is nice and deep when you hold it which is exactly what I wanted.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Full D Medium Jembe Drum
 from Cleveland,  Dec 4, 2008

Great product. Intricate design. I bought it as a gift, and the recipient loved it as much as I do. Although I don't have a trained ear, it sounds great, looks great, and worked out perfectly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good buy
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 30, 2007

Great drum for the price. Good seller. Delivery was prompt.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice Drum
 from Winter Park, FL,  Oct 15, 2007

The drum is high quality and has a wonderful sound! Thank you.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic sound
 from Vancouver, BC,  Jan 3, 2007

Bought this for my son for Christmas, since he is learning to play the Djembe at school. As soon as he saw it you couldn't wipe the smile off of his face. He started playing it immediately. The sound, the quality and beautiful artwork make this item worth more. I now want to learn to play this beautiful instrument.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from California,  Jan 30, 2006

Very nice drum. I was impressed with the detailed carving. Can't beat the price for this size and quality. Good buy whether you play it or just purchase for decorative purposes.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thanks, Overstock!
 from Jupiter, Fl,  Oct 1, 2009

I wanted a drum for drumming circles, and where else but Overstock to deliver authentic goods promptly? I'm having lots of fun with this drum, although I am certainly not a musician or experienced in drums. I'm loving it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top