For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 102 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Dirty, but who cares???
 from Miami, Florida,  Dec 9, 2006

This is exactly what I hoped for. It is wider than a shoji screen I have, which only has 3 panels. This has 4 panels. so it can be unfolded into a very stable room dividing screen. I have kids and pets, and my shoji screen was just too delicate. This is heavy and durable. I went with a South Asian influenced decor for my living room, and this piece really sets the mood for the whole room. It is so solid- like an exotic architectural detail. I LOVE IT! The light comes through, showing off the intricate hand-carved details. Now the bad news: Not meticulously carved, like many things handmade in India. The carvers, I am sure, rush to crank out as many pieces as they can, so the finer details suffer a bit, but I doubt that most people would even notice. It also arrived very dirty- I had to clean it first with the vacuum cleaner, then with a damp rag, which it stained dark brown. It smelled of diesel fuel, which may actually be used as an insect deterrent on the wood in India, as it is in many developing countries (lead?). That said, I really do love this, and in spite of the minuses, would buy it over and over again. I also like the fact that I am helping contribute to development in India with this, as it is handmade. India's manufacturing is still labor-intensive, so some guy was able to feed his family by me buying this..

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jali Screen
 from TEXAS,  Nov 16, 2010

excellent quality. you will have to wipe it a couple of times. i think that as soon as it was stained they put it in the plastic and then shipped it. but overall, this is an excellent piece. i am using it as a headboard. oh yeah, each panel is 22" wide, so the whole piece is 88" wide NOT 80" WIDE.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for a little extra privacy for the office!
 from Salt Lake City, Utah,  Sep 25, 2007

I use this screen to separate my office from my living room and it works great. No more showing off my office clutter to every visitor! :) The screen arrived with a small part of one of the panels broken but it was easily glued back in place and completely unnoticeable. Understandable when shipping an item this size. It was also a bit dusty, but once you have wiped it down and set it up, you'll fall in love with the details.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
screen
 from ct.,  Dec 16, 2007

Absolutely love this. Seems larger than the pic. detailing of craftsmanship is lovely. Would def, recommend this product, great value for the $.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jali Screen
 from Kansas,  Oct 26, 2007

I was excited to receive this screen. The box was very heavy because the screen is solid wood. The carvings are beautiful and the length is perfect; however, the stain rubs off on your hands anytime you touch the screen and it has quite a few loose pieces of wood. Also, the screen is not hinged properly, making it uneven to the floor. I was disappointed in this product. The only improvement I could make to it was to buy my own wood stain and stain all four panels. It still looks slightly lop-sided, but that only becomes evident after you stare at it awhile.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
packing and stain
 from Eagle Pass, Texas,  Dec 14, 2013

As soon as I opened the box my eyes started watering and my nose started itching---my wife experienced the same thing. We handled the panel and our hands were stained with something red and it was hard to get it off. I wonder if other customers have gotten the same reaction. I don't know if it's the wood or the stain that caused the reaction. We had to take it outside to get some relief--we'll wait several days before we bring it back inside. It wasn't a pleasant experience so we're trying to figure out several solutions--paint over the stain or wood--wash or scrub it with something. Very disappointed with the item.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4 Panel Screen
 from Grand Rapids, MI,  Apr 25, 2007

The screen arrived in excellent condition. There was no smell as others indicated. A little dust, as is expected from all hand-carved wood, was easily blown away with air. Really like the carvings - especially the slight variations on the pattern. Much better than other machine-cut screens I have seen and much cheaper too! It is sturdy and the length makes it a true room divider, as opposed to others that can only be used as a backdrop in the corner. Very pleased with this purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's exquisite and worth every cent!
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Nov 1, 2006

The screen is much more intricate than pictured. It is very solid and elegant. Arrived in less than four days and although the box was damaged, the panels are in perfect condition. We are very pleased at how this screen adds a sense of privacy and drama to our entryway decor. We looked at dozens of others and this is by far the best.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding workmanship!
 from Orlando, FL,  Sep 15, 2006

This is a must-have panel screen! Upon receiving the product, I was astonished at the excellence in workmanship and the overall quality and beauty of this piece. Despite the weight and size of the screen, it was shipped in a manner that nothing was damaged. I am so pleased with this panel screen and highly recommend it to anyone considering purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Badly badly stained
 from Irvine, CA,  Jan 5, 2013

The product was not stained properly. In many places you could see brush marks, and other places were completely bare of stain. Plus no polyurethane was applied, i had to do it myself. This is the 2nd product i have purchased. The first one was stained properly, but again no polyurethane. But i assumed it was a mistake from the company, It seems it;s not a mistake, it's how they do business.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product was not stained properly. In many places you could see brush marks, and other places were completely bare of stain. Plus no polyurethane was applied, i had to do it myself.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Correct
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice carved wood with smelly, destructive stain.
 from Denver, CO,  Jun 21, 2012

The powder that they use to stain this smells like fish and puts a dust of stain everywhere when you first take it out of the wrapping. It stained my carpet and my hands. Ruined my carpet, but it did come out of my hands after a few days. The stain will not cure, and it continues to come off when touched. Mine is stored in the garage at the moment. It appears that the dark stain wipes off and potentially the screen would look like the photo if you spent some time with damp rags and went over all of it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Much darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The powder that they use to stain this smells like fish and puts a dust of stain everywhere.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Acurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful, but..
 from seattle wa,  Mar 19, 2011

Make sure you have a yard and a hose.. this thing come packaged with the 'anti-termite' dust that keeps it preserved. It smells and stains BAD. Think henna.. Took me a good hr to wipe it down- Having said that it's beautiful, very 'antique-ish' and darker than pictured. Just open it outside and pressure wash it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very pretty
 from Lake Worth, Forida,  Feb 23, 2013

I read the previous reviews, so I was fore-warned about the smell. I had my husband open it in the backyard & tried to let it air out for a few days - still smelled! I then had him hose it down & was really glad I did - brown stuff washed off & after I let it air dry a couple days, brought it into the house. Looks beautiful & I get asked where I found it !

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? a little darker than picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the sizing? spot-on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
really nice quality
 from NJ,  Dec 7, 2012

I love this piece, the color, the size, the craftsmanship the detail is very intricate and very well done.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great craftsmanship!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 from brownsburg, in,  Nov 30, 2012

although i had to wipe off all the dust and spray it with clear acrylic spray, i still think this was an excellent value. it looks great

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Flower Jali 4-panel screen
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Nov 14, 2012

I like the look of this screen but it's too heavy to move around. The finish also rubs off when you handle it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Much darker than picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's beautiful but VERY heavy. The finish rubs off when you handle it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice in my home.
 from Illinois,  Sep 17, 2011

It was a huge box, but covered the product so it was not damaged. Another person helped unwrap it, too much for one person. The color and the carving was just perfect. I am very pleased. I placed it in front of two windows and it does a wonderful job' of blending in and looks very good from the outside of the house.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. better than I expected, beautiful
  • How accurate was the sizing? just right
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decorative Blocker
 from Michigan,  Nov 26, 2010

I really liked this screen from the moment I opened it. I needed to separate my living room from my very messy dinning room. Most screens I saw have 3 panels, and were not wide enough. This one has the 4th panel that makes it fit nicely. The cutout design goes great with my furnishings, and still lets light through. I've received a few compliments from guests. Being on Overstock.com made the price right, too!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
red powder sheds
 from Sacramento, CA,  Oct 11, 2010

I had to hose down and scrub this screen on my front lawn for over an hour to remove the mysterious brownish red powder that stained my hands every time I touched the screen (a vacuum did not solve the problem at all). The water ran cranberry for a LONG time. Removing the powder also made the coloration on the screen uneven, but that made it look antique in my opinion so I did not mind. Also the screen is very solid and heavy, which makes it very stable but also makes it difficult for a woman to move alone. If you intend to put it in a permanent place in your home and don't mind a little elbow grease and an antique look, the cleaned screen is very nice. I would not recommend it if you intend to make it a portable item which you move frequently.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very happy with our Flower Jali Screen
 from Northern Vermont,  Aug 12, 2010

Before purchasing this product we read the reviews and went into the purchase knowing that because it was handmade it may need some tweaking to work well in our environment. We love the fact that is is handmade and unique and hardly needed any work. When we received it and opened the box, we did need to be careful as there was a dark powder residue coming off on the rug and our hands. The powder was easily removed by wiping the screen down. We've received great comments about the screen. Thanks

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 102 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top