Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 241 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sioux Lamp
 from Metairie, LA,  Dec 14, 2006

This lamp is very unique, a great conversation piece, looks very stylish and nicely lights the area it is in. I have received alot of compliments from everyone on this. Although great looking, there are a few things that I did not like about the product. When you first open the box, there is a very very strong smoky smell coming from the wood. This starts to diminish after a few weeks, but is not very pleasant. Also, be careful putting it together as the stain used on the wood can easily rub off onto the fabric shade. The first lamp I received had a bad electrical cord, but Overstock was just great and took it right back, the second one worked just fine. The lamp is a little pricey, but I would definately recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sioux Lamp
 from Chesapeake, Virginia,  Nov 7, 2007

I shop on Overstock.com all the time, and I must say that when I saw this lamp I was amazed by it and skeptical and the same time. I ordered it anyway because I am an artist and I love unique things. Once it arrived I fell in love with it and the craftsmanship. It was easy to put up, my husband and I put it up in no time and really the instructions were not needed, the lamp itself was explanatory. There were no smears of the wood or an odor. I would highly recommend this item to anyone who is interested in unique things.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Lamp
 from Loudon, TN,  Jul 31, 2007

Overall very pleased with this lamp. Assembly directions are pretty much useless, but once you throw them away it gets much simpler. You also will want to use no more than a 40 watt bulb for the best lighting appearance.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lamp
 from Farmingdale, NJ,  Nov 19, 2009

I look for unique lamps and this one tops them all. The lighting is just perfect to offset the room.I chuckled when I saw the rudimentary "how to" instructions, but once you read them, it was easy to put together. Though i was afraid at first to stretch the wood - I can see now how strong it really is.....still be gentle but don't be afraid to stretch it a bit. This lamp is absolutely a beautiful accessory.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Beautiful
 from Long Island NY,  Dec 5, 2008

I saw this on line at Overstock and read the reviews before buying it. I got a little nervous because some of the reviewers said that the lights work, then one didn't or it didn't work at all.First of all, I love this lamp. It's so exotic and when you have it lit up, it's really just beautiful.This is what I have discovered and must share with you... After I set it up, I put a light bulb in each end. Plugged it in and it didn't work. My heart broke and I said.....I guess I got the one that didn't work and was ready to send it back. My husband had a thought. I originally put in GE Reveal bulbs, they didn't work....we then put in Philips DuraMax and it works fine. He had this thought because our outside light by the front door wont work on a Reveal Bulb, only the Philips. So if you get the lamp and it doesn't work, try a different bulb and bulb maker. Something about the threads on the Reveals that don't seem to jive right with certain sockets.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking lamp
 from New Orleans, LA,  Apr 23, 2009

I liked the lamp when I saw it on overstock. i bought it, and it came just 2 days later. it's a little tricky to assemble. you have to make sure that the seams of the fabric match up to the wood and the X. As a previous reviewer suggested, i purchased the Philips DuraMax bulbs, and it works perfectly. The only downside to this lamp is that i can't find a table lamp that will match or compliment it. if anyone knows of such a lamp, please let me know!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great lamp
 from Chicago,  May 26, 2011

This is a great lamp. Unique looks, and you can put in high or low wattage bulbs to get as much light as you need. Many lamps take one or two 60w bulbs, which was not going to cut it for our room. But I was able to put two very high wattage bulbs in this without problems. Gives good light and looks sturdy so far. Two minor things that can be improved: - it comes with a switch that is supposed to be a foot switch. But it is a sliding switch, and very hard to turn the lamp on/off without bending over and doing it by hand. Just replace the switch with a pushbutton type switch so you can use the foot. - The bulb sockets are held into place by a small screw, but they are unstable and dangly. There is no nut on the other side, so the screw can come off. Because it is not stable, the bottom bulb can tilt to the side and possibly touch the wire or the cloth if it is a big bulb. The top bulb can hang straight so it is not a problem, but it might move/fall when moving the lamp. Just put a nut and make the socket stable.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Mostly.
  • How is the quality of the product? Good.
  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
i love my lamps!!!!
 from randallstown, md,  Feb 23, 2012

Ok, so I saw this lamp on here at the beginning of February & feel in love with it because it went perfect with my living room dťcor and I wanted two of them to go on the sides of my sofa. I ordered them even after reading some of the reviews that have been posted and Iím glad I did. Now what I will say is YES, it will need to be wiped down. It really is hand made in a village (lol). I purchased 2 of them & they were both a little dirty but nothing real serious (a little dirt & some finger prints). The lamps shades will need to be cleaned but itís a simple fix (hand wash them). The directions are junk. But since I ordered 2, I figured out an easy way to stretch the shade after struggling with the first one. First put the stakes in the holes then stretch the fabric over the stakes one by one. Believe me itís sooooo much easier that way. Also be careful because the red dot ink does run a little. Now donít let that discourage because once you have it set up & you turn it on at night it will be worth it, believe me. Itís not rocket science & for the price you wonít beat it especially if youíre looking for that special piece to finish your room. Everyone comments on my lamps. I didnít have any problems with the bulbs. I already had 60 watt Phillips at home & they worked perfectly (I wish I could post a picture). Enjoy, Enjoy Enjoy!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. over all great! it as just a little dirty
  • How accurate was the sizing? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrific once you get it together!
 from New Jersey,  Apr 16, 2013

My lamp had some sort of residue on it that left a mark on my NEW carpet which I wasn't pleased about. I had no idea it was going to be dirty coming out of the box -- it was only on part of the exterior which is why I didn't realize the residue was on there at first (and thus laid it on its side on the carpet - boo). This stuff ended up on the lamp shade pieces as well (towards the center of each shade), BUT, once I got the thing together (read other reviews to see how difficult getting the lamp shades to each "leg") I really liked the way it looked! With the light on and the lamp turned so that the residue on the shades is facing the wall, it looks quite terrific!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Definitely a high quality piece -- in terms of craftsmanship, especially
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Different from description
 from FL,  Feb 19, 2013

Interesting, I just happen to have s man assembling this piece right now. I like the shape but don't think it's that well-made.for the cost. It has a contemporary look and I think I'll be able to use it ok, but probably would have passed on this purchase if I'd seen it in person before buying it. I am not excited about having to take it apart to wash and iron the cloth puieces...wow! I have a very trendy home and this item looks very casual, like maybe it would be more suitable in a teen bedroom or maybe a dorm room or home office. I'll know more after I begin using it. Also hope the cloth won't become dangerously warm from the close proximity to the light bulbs. Take another look at the pic that Overstock showed; this photo makes it look very slick contamporary, and fashionable, and in my opinion, way more expensive-looking than it actually turned out to be. Sorry.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes, lamp covers are white.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average. Disppointed that the areas serving as lampshades are made of thin white fabric tied on with small strips of fabric about the size of shoelaces; I expected an opaque kind of plastic. The directions say these will need to be washed and ironed.
  • How accurate was the sizing? seems ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from TX,  Feb 19, 2012

This a lamp that I use to create a glow to an entire room

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Verystrurdy most beautiful
  • How accurate was the sizing? Exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Regret this purchase
 from Indiana,  Jan 2, 2008

After reading the other reviews on this item I ordered it and was excited to receive it. Boy was I disappointed. The item was filthy, I expected it dirty as others had said it was when they received it but didn't expect it to be as dirty as it was. The smell was also very strong. After cleaning it with a damp cloth, the finish started to peel/flake off. I'm now left with a lamp that has large areas where there is no finish. The shades had to be taken off and washed....they came out pretty clean but still have some staining on them. Assembling this does require patience since you have to get the cloth shades on just right. Now, one of the bulbs doesn't work. For the amount of money paid I really regret this purchase but just can't be bothered returning it. So, I'll re-stain it and have my husband try to figure out why one of the bulbs isn't working. I truly regret purchasing this item. My anticipation of receiving something that was unusual and made by hand has been squashed by all the problems. If you are expecting something that you can just put up by opening the box do not buy this!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
floor lamp
 from St. Cloud,MN.,  Jan 2, 2010

this floor lamp is just great, it gives off just enough light to read and not to bright if you just kick back and watch TV in the evenings. We put in colored lights and the shades illuminate the color of the bulb throughout the entire room, This lamp is awsome and we plan on buying a couple more for other rooms in the house. If you are looking for a lamp that is a little differant than your ordinary lamp but still need it to be useable, this is the lamp you want. Put together was a snap

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Lamp
 from Mission Viejo, CA,  Mar 26, 2009

I've been looking for this lamp for a while. Read the bad reviews and good ones. I got it anyway. It came in 4 days after my order, I should have ordered it back when I first saw it. I like the look and light that comes from the lamp. I am surprised at not only the look but function as well. I like it both on and off. It was easy to assemble, I'm over 6 feet which may have made it easier. I could see what I was doing.. I didn't have problems with the bulb not working or even stains on the fabric. The fabric comes with a plastic cover that you can cut off after you assemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bought two
 from Orange County,CA,  Jan 2, 2008

I read the reviews before purchasing, they were not all that good but I bought two anyway for my 16yr son because they were so original. We both love them, they look totally cool in his room and just the right amount of light. One of my better purchases on O. Thanks

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This lamp is unique, intriguing, extremely functional and worth every penny. It took me all of 10 minutes to assemble. I chose to put extra soft bulbs in for a more subtle feel. I absolutely love it. So much so that I'm going to order another one when available. Seriously, if you're considering this purchase, you won't regret it. Some reviewers mention an odor....Honestly, there was a slight odor but nothing fowl. I just wiped it off as you would need to anyway. -Chicago

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Interesting Light - But definitely hand made
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  May 6, 2013

When we received the lamp, it had a musty smell, but I guess that's because it is made from untreated wood. I love the design and it gives off a nice low light. My only complaint is that the lamp "shade" (the white fabric inserts) were extremely tight and soiled in spots. However, I guess when you're working with actual hand made products and not mass produced ones, the quality will vary. I still love the lamp and it's definitely different than anything I've seen anywhere else.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to put together and very unique
 from chicago, il,  Nov 16, 2012

I love it! We were looking for something cabin-y for our bedroom and this log lamp is perfect. It gives off a lot of light and has a very unique look. Great buy.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's a neat lamp
 from Cornpone, AL,  Apr 13, 2012

It's a great lamp, I've never seen anything like it and it gets comments and compliments. It throws great light, not too harsh, not too dim. Its stable so it doesn't wobble around if bumped. It wasn't hard to put together either, you have to be smarter than the lamp....

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes the color was perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is great
  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect dimensions
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Double Face Sioux Floor Lamp
 from Cochran, Georgia,  Mar 22, 2012

This is a beautiful lamp and it fits perfectly with the decor of our new home. I especially enjoy the fact that it is handmade and unusual. The first lamp shipped was broken when it arrived but Overstock replaced it quickly and with no hassles. I will not hesitate to buy from O.co in the future and I highly recommend this wonderful lamp to anyone who would like a unique addition to his or her home!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 241 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top