Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Get Ready For Memorial Day
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
for Grandson
 Apr 14, 2016

Beautiful gift however when I received it some of the pieces were chip as was the box (or board)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess set made from real stones
 Feb 3, 2016

Exotic high quality, well made.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not happy!!
 Dec 14, 2015

I was looking forward to this chess set an when it arrived there were broken pieces!! and its smaller then the picture

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CARVED SOAPSTONE 10-INCH CHESS CASE-BOARD (INDIA)
 Feb 17, 2015

LOVELY, TWO TONED, VERY DETAILED CARVED, CHESS PIECE'S, WITH UNIQUE, INLAID CHESS SQUARES & A VERY NICE, CHESS CASE HOLDER, WITH A VERY, RICH COLORED CLOTH, FOR THE CHESS PIECES TO BE DISPLAYED IN. CPT SCOTT.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very impressed
 Dec 28, 2014

Bought this for my 16 year old...that loves playing chess. He loved it and I hope he will cherish this gift from his mom, for many years. Love knowing the story about where it came from.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cyber Monday prize!
 Dec 27, 2014

I was so happy to find this chess set at an excellent price on cyber Monday. It is a beautiful high quality set and was delivered quickly. I purchased it for my 14 year old son. He was pleased to receive a grown up chess set to replace his worn out plastic set from Toys R Us. It was great to support an artisan from India. Only negative - sometimes it is hard to distinguish between the different pieces.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chess set
 from San Antonio. texas,  Dec 17, 2014

It is great! No issues... arrived on time and enjoy the product

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
workmanship less then desirable
 from Jacksonville, Fl.,  May 19, 2014

This is the first time I have received something from Overstock.com that I was not thrilled with. To look at it is pretty but does not seem like a stone, more like a thick plastic. Smaller then I had imagined, but that was my fault for not reading carefully. The box is roughly made and has splinters if you are not careful you will get stuck.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from RI,  May 6, 2014

I love soapstone...pleasantly surprised after I disregarded the negative reviews and went for it anyway! The quality is really great! Detailed carving and perfect size! The storage is excellent also, the pieces are kept apart so they don't chip by hitting each other. Definitely recommend!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from Chicago, IL,  Mar 3, 2014

I had to return this chess set. I thought it would be a nice beginner's set, but it's cheap and broken in shipment. Poor quality. Don't buy this item.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess set
 from VA,  Feb 28, 2012

Chess Board of good quality, chess pieces arrived broken.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Arrived with broken pieces
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
needs to be replaced arived broken
 from Nebraska,  Jun 4, 2011

The chess set arrived with broken pieces and will have to be exchanged, not happy with my first purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not happy
 Dec 4, 2010

This appears much bigger on the screen. It is not put together well and im almost embarrassed to give it to my 14 year old son. The one he already has from walmart is better! The wood on the box is dull, the inside of the box is put together poorly and falling apart. Very unhappy with this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small
 from San Diego,  Jan 2, 2010

I bought this thinking it was a larger chess set. It is so small it is almost a travel size. 2 or 3 of the chess pawns came broken. So overall kind not a good deal for how much I paid.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Houston, Tx,  Dec 12, 2009

The chess set was less than what I expected. It was very small and I received it damaged (broken chess pieces). I will be returning this item.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied Customer
 from New York, NY,  Aug 27, 2009

I was looking to purchase a chess set for my friend's daughter for her birthday. I went on Overstock.com and found a nice selection from which to choose. I had the chess set delivered to my friend's home which made it very convenient since I could not be there for the birthday party. Very easy, great selection and quick and cheap delivery - all around, a great experience. I will definitely use Overstock.com again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess for son.
 from Live in FL Home is in the west,  Mar 19, 2009

The chess set was a replacement gift to my oldest son. Who did not receive one a Christmas (ordered from a different establishment) it turned out better than the one's I purchased for my other children. Very elegant.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Charlotte, NC,  Mar 18, 2009

I was a little uneasy about my purchase at first because of the price...you know, you get what you paid for. But this chess set surpassed even my hopeful expectations. It's absolutely beautiful and looks like I paid 3 times the amount I did.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chess set
 from haverford, pa,  Jan 8, 2009

I was having difficulty finding a chess set for a gift, but this was a perfect solution. It arrived quickly and was just what we wanted.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent
 Dec 11, 2008

my son really enjoys playing chess. We got him this for his birthday and it came quicker than expected in excellent condition. the weight and feel of the peices make playing with this set very enjoyable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought