Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent Product
 from Washington State,  Jan 3, 2008

This was purchased for a 14 year old young man who has been playing chess for about 6 years. He has started to collect chess sets and I was looking for something a little more sophisticated and elegant but rugged enough to withstand multi-game tournaments. I found that in this product. It is beautiful and wonderfully crafted. The wooden 'table' is a hinged case with a cushioned velvety interior with individual slots for the soapstone pieces. The chessmen are individual works of art. There is a note inside stating that each piece is hand crafted, caveat emptor in your belief of this, however true or not they are amazing to behold. The size of the pieces is perfect for a moderately advanced novice to start using. Each different man is easily distinguished from the others and that is important not to have a pawn and a bishop who resemble each other too greatly. This is an elegantly crafted sophisticated chess set that handles easily and is compact enough to travel and has become the favorite chess set to date.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess for son.
 from Live in FL Home is in the west,  Mar 19, 2009

The chess set was a replacement gift to my oldest son. Who did not receive one a Christmas (ordered from a different establishment) it turned out better than the one's I purchased for my other children. Very elegant.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
needs to be replaced arived broken
 from Nebraska,  Jun 4, 2011

The chess set arrived with broken pieces and will have to be exchanged, not happy with my first purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied Customer
 from New York, NY,  Aug 27, 2009

I was looking to purchase a chess set for my friend's daughter for her birthday. I went on Overstock.com and found a nice selection from which to choose. I had the chess set delivered to my friend's home which made it very convenient since I could not be there for the birthday party. Very easy, great selection and quick and cheap delivery - all around, a great experience. I will definitely use Overstock.com again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Charlotte, NC,  Mar 18, 2009

I was a little uneasy about my purchase at first because of the price...you know, you get what you paid for. But this chess set surpassed even my hopeful expectations. It's absolutely beautiful and looks like I paid 3 times the amount I did.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chess set
 from haverford, pa,  Jan 8, 2009

I was having difficulty finding a chess set for a gift, but this was a perfect solution. It arrived quickly and was just what we wanted.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent
 Dec 11, 2008

my son really enjoys playing chess. We got him this for his birthday and it came quicker than expected in excellent condition. the weight and feel of the peices make playing with this set very enjoyable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Two gifts for one price
 from Bremerton, WA,  Dec 3, 2008

I needed a chess set that we could use for the set of our local opera company's production of Mozart's The Marriage of Figaro and then be able to give it as a Christmas gift to my brother who love to play chess. The customer service rep was very helpful in helping me through the purchase process. The set arrived in great condition. The pieces were beautifully carved and packed in the case. The director and cast members of the opera really liked the chess set and would play a game before rehearsal. It looked elegant on the table as if you were walking in the castle and watching the Count play a game. I just wrapped it up and will put it under the tree next week. Thanks for helping me dress the stage so beautifully and give my brother a special gift!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Soapstone Carved Chess Set (India)
 from Middletown, NJ,  Nov 2, 2008

I was very happy with the quality and the price of the Carved Soapstone chess set. It was reasonable priced and beautiful quality. Details of the chess pieces were wonderful.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A bit smaller than expected
 from Rochester, NY,  Apr 11, 2008

I had seen reviews where there were problems with the chess set arriving damanged, but mine was well packed and arrived without damage. The set is nice, but the pieces are a bit smaller than I had anticipated. All in all I would say this is well worth the money. I bought it for my husband's birthday and he really liked it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
India - Soapstone Chess Set
 from NJ,  Jan 13, 2008

I was very impressed with the quality of the chess set that was sent. It was beautifully made and the pieces were kept in a soft protective coating, each carved very nicely. The only minor hitch was that the top of the black king and queen were slightly scratched leaving a white mark against the black paint. Despite that the peices were beautifully made and the carving was exceptional, in addition the playing board is well designed and put together and holds the pieces well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great service
 from Indio, CA.,  Jan 13, 2008

fast service well made product in great shape at a good price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Los Angles, CA,  Jan 5, 2008

I ordered this as a Christmas present for a family member and was very pleased, the pictures don't do it justice, the pieces are wonderfully and intricately carved, I especially loved that the Knights were elephants!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chess set
 from boonton twp, nj,  Dec 31, 2007

great product, great service, fast shipping. will definitely buy from overstock.com again

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess set
 from Minneapolis,  Apr 2, 2007

This was suppose to be a gift but I changed my mind after receiving it! Due to the fact it looked like someone else had been using the set with all the scratches and nick on it. Didn't want the person to think I was giving them something used.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
workmanship less then desirable
 from Jacksonville, Fl.,  May 19, 2014

This is the first time I have received something from Overstock.com that I was not thrilled with. To look at it is pretty but does not seem like a stone, more like a thick plastic. Smaller then I had imagined, but that was my fault for not reading carefully. The box is roughly made and has splinters if you are not careful you will get stuck.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from RI,  May 6, 2014

I love soapstone...pleasantly surprised after I disregarded the negative reviews and went for it anyway! The quality is really great! Detailed carving and perfect size! The storage is excellent also, the pieces are kept apart so they don't chip by hitting each other. Definitely recommend!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from Chicago, IL,  Mar 3, 2014

I had to return this chess set. I thought it would be a nice beginner's set, but it's cheap and broken in shipment. Poor quality. Don't buy this item.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess set
 from VA,  Feb 28, 2012

Chess Board of good quality, chess pieces arrived broken.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Arrived with broken pieces
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess set
 from Indiana,  May 27, 2008

I don't really believe this set is up to your standards. The boards on all 3 sets I finally received were not level and there were broken pieces in the first set. It actually took 3 sets to get a complete set. We used the board from one set and the pieces from another to make it work. I still had to touch up a couple of the black pieces with a marker due to tiny chips showing white. This is the first time I have had this type of experience with Overstock. It was handled well on your end and the replacement issue was relatively pain free. I won't order this Chess set for anyone else as a gift but it doesn't diminish the track record over an eight year period with Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top