Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Delicate and Unusual
 from MidAtlantic,  Dec 10, 2010

The nativity set arrived very quickly & the first surprise was how lovely the banana leaf box is. Each character is delicately realized - I don't mean fragile - each has an almost whimsical quality. As one who lived for 21 years in Africa, I love the simplicity of design. If you like pretty, painted/detailed nativities this may not be for you. If you like African art or unusual interpretations of common themes, this is for you! I am buying another set to give as a gift..

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kenyan nativity
 from London, Canada,  Jul 9, 2010

The set came exactly as expected. The description is true to form. Figurines were beautifully done, and the storage box is handy (and also beautifully done). Shipping was prompt. No surprises. I gave this as a wedding gift and the bride/groom were ecstatic with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These nativity sets are beautiful
 from Tennessee,  Feb 1, 2013

I purchased this early for my daughter in law for Christmas. She loved it so much I ordered more for some friends who where so pleased. Beautiful product.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the sizing? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply Beautiful
 from Maryland,  Oct 22, 2010

Read the reviews before I made the purchase so took a chance. Glad I made the purchase. It may be small in size but it is worth the price. Simply beautiful and perfect. Highly recommend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique Gift
 from charleston, wv,  Feb 5, 2010

This beautiful nativity set made a unique gift for my loved one this Christmas. We were all amazed at the workmanship and tiny details included in each figurine. The set is interesting, and very attractive. Overall, a wonderful purchase! And, it looks much more expensive than the pictures seemed to suggest.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Nativity!!
 from Columbia, SC,  Jan 7, 2010

Simple yet truly elegant!!! Fit for a King!!!Thanks, Overstock!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
brother loved it!
 from Florida,  Jan 13, 2013

my brother had visited Africa, and loved this nativity set....I love the natural look of it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Banana Fiber Nativity Set
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jan 2, 2013

I love this nativity set. It was everything I expected and more.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Very Nice Decorative Set
 from Hampton Roads, VA,  Dec 28, 2012

I purchased a set for my home and gave several to relatives as Christmas gifts. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality - it's top notch! And, the price is quite reasonable. The pieces are somewhat delicate, so handle them with care. Keep the set out of reach of children, as the pieces will not survive their handling. Overall, it's a great item for the home and is sure to be a conversation starter with your guests. Excellent Buy!!!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, the set is as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is top notch craftsmanship.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Didn't notice
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent service and product
 from Chicago,  Jan 5, 2012

This was a handcrafted Nativity set from Africa. This was a "fair trade" gift purchase. The set itself is precious beyond description: it is truly handmade, from rough, homely materials. It expresses the spirit and the purpose of the Christmas season far better than any other gift we received or gave. It came in a beautiful, handcrafted box as well, which was a complete surprise.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exactly what I expected, and more
  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Nativity
 from Midwest,  Dec 29, 2011

Just what I was looking for to add to someone's collection.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
unique creche for collection
 from Rancho Mirage, CA,  Dec 28, 2011

this creche is an unusual one that never fails to get comments. but it's on the delicate side (banana leaves after all) so I keep it well out of reach.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. a little delecate
  • How accurate was the sizing? n/a
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Banana fiber nativity set(Kenya)
 from ga.,  Dec 21, 2011

When I received the set, there was a missing piece. I contacted customer service and they were prompt on replying and made sure I received the piece w/o any hassle. Good customer service. This is a nice addition to my nativity collection!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the sizing? Little smaller than I expected
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice addition to my collection
 from Coeur d'Alene, Idaho,  Dec 13, 2011

This is a lovely addition to my nativity collection. The figures are exquisitely made and I could not be more pleased. The box is a beautiful piece to keep the collection safe when not in use.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes, perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I am amazed at the craftmanship of these tiny people and animals.
  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely perfect
 from Ontario, Canada/Indiana, USA,  Dec 10, 2011

We are thrilled with this set. It is handmade and absolutely perfect for us in every way. The detail on each of the characters is far more than I expected, even given that other reviews mentioned it. You can tell the set is handmade, which is what we were looking for. It is very sturdy-the pieces all stand up well (I didn't know if they would based on the pictures). The sizing is great. The tallest piece is approximately 4-5 inches. It fits beautifully on our mantel. The box the set comes in is also a work of art in itself. My only concern about this set is the durability given that it is made from banana leaf. I wish there were some care instructions for how to make it last. If it doesn't last, I will definitely order another one. It's certainly worth the value and I love that the money goes to a real person. Two thumbs way up! :) Thanks to the artists!!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This handmade set is clearly made with care.
  • How accurate was the sizing? As expected
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great and unusual nativity
 from Clear Lake, TX,  Dec 10, 2011

I ordered this to have an unusual nativity for my Christmas decorating and to support lower income areas and fair trade. I was pleasantly suprised when I opened up the box. It is delicate, but very pretty and gives my decorations a more international flair.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Handcrafted and delicate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this
 Jan 4, 2011

I was so excited when this arrive (quickly)! It looks so cool and a friend said it's the most interesting/coolest nativity he's ever seen. Totally happy with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Liked it~
 Jan 1, 2011

I am very happy with the banana fiber nativity set. It's well-made and charming. Overstocks did a great job getting it to me quickly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Touching Nativity
 from Midwest,  Dec 23, 2010

Beautiful. Seems more appropriate somehow, than the colorful ones we usually see at Christmas.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So cute!
 from Vermont,  Nov 20, 2010

I bought this for my mom for Christmas this year because her nativity set has undergone some minor... cosmetic adjustments... I'm excited to give this to her because I know she'll love it. If you're on the fence at all, just go with it. You won't be disappointed. I wasn't even expecting the banana leaf box the figurines came in. All of the details are superb. As a non-religious person, this is something even I would definitely want to display in my house! (That should say a lot!)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top