Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Art and artifact
 Oct 27, 2010

A complicated piece with incised metal strips, two cowrie shells, and strings of tiny beads (in the triangles above the eye slots). Another buyer complained that it is less colorful than what's shown in the photo, but I used a soft damp sponge and gently removed some of the stain on the beaded areas to bring out some of the colors. I may apply a matte varnish sometime in the future to emphasize the colors, or perhaps not -- I very much like the soft brown tones and the very slightly bluish rim around the mask. Wouldn't want to change them. It's the first mask I've have ever purchased. I can see now why people collect them. It's both art and artifact.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bakota Shell Mask
 from Chicago, Illinois,  Dec 1, 2006

I really like the craftmanship of my mask. The photo doesn't represent the mask at all. The mask photo is very colorful, but when I received my mask it was completely brown. I was a little disappointed bcause I thought it would be more colorful. They really need to take another picture to show how the mask really look. Even though it wasn't colorful I still like it. I just hope that the next mask they put on display would be a little colorful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value for the money
 from philadelphia, PA,  Sep 13, 2006

looks great with the rest of the african masks we have on our walls. It is not quite as colorful as it looks on the internet though but still a really nice addition to our collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT MASK
 from FLORIDA,  Jun 27, 2012

I HAVE LOTS OF AFRICAN MASKS AND THIS IS MY FAVORITE. RUSTIC AND BEAUYIFUL. LOVE IT!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. GREAT HAND CARVING
  • How accurate was the sizing? PERFECT
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Mask
 from Detroit, Michigan,  Jan 15, 2012

A nice addition to a collection of masks of the same color....the metal is beautiful

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality...Incredible craftsmanship
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The colors on the mask are not as bold as pictured
 from Washington, DC,  Jan 8, 2012

The mask was not what I expected. The colors of the mask were bold on the site however barely noticeable when I received the product. I would not reccomend this product to others.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Mask
 from Topeka, Ks,  Mar 30, 2011

Perfect addition to any African collections. Quality of details were excellent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bakota shell mask
 Feb 3, 2011

When i recieved my mask it was brown and dull with a covering that looked like stain all over it. After a scrubbing with a medium brush all the features where exposed and it looks great with a little furniture polish. A bargain with a little work.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bakota Shell Mask
 from Glendale,CA,  Nov 28, 2010

Nice,but It doesn't match the picture at all. No colors, faded looking. I will keep it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as expected
 Jul 27, 2010

I was very excited to add this mask to my collection on my exposed brick wall. This mask is very disapointing. It doesn't match the picture at all. In the picture it's very dark rich looking and very colorful. My mask is a washed out brown very faded looking. It has no color at all and didn't come with a hook or string to hang it on the wall. I will be sending it back for an exchange mask.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bakota Shell Mask
 from Jersey City, NJ,  Dec 27, 2007

I had the benefit of the prior reviews to read before purchasing this mask so was not surprised at all when the mask arrived and it was completely brown with no color as the other buyers stated. I was fine with that before purchasing because it matches the other decor it is being hung with. If there is anyone who really wants the color I would suggest purchasing something else. Aside from that the mask arrived as represented and we are very happy with it. It has unique designs on different sections of the mask and the lower portion triangles are actually some kind of metal on top of the wood. Shipping was very fast and the packing was excellent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tezz
 from Ohio,  Apr 15, 2007

The mask is nicely done but in the picture the top of the mask is colorful, however mine is not.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a good one
 from Scranton, Pa,  Nov 3, 2006

It is not as colorful as the picture, but it still was a great addition to my collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not like the picture
 from San Jose, CA,  Aug 30, 2006

this mask looks nothing like the picture. When my mask arrived there was absolutly no color on it! I was very disappointed but my husband still liked it. We are big mask collectors so i guess it doesn't really matter. They may very in colors.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only Fair
 from Brookings, Oregon,  Apr 7, 2008

No hook attached to hang it with... one color (brown)... I think this mask is over-priced... I collect masks... with over 60 in my collection... and of course... will find a place for it...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought