Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great mask
 Jan 26, 2015

This mask looks great in person, but the colors are very different than the stock photos. The red is not nearly that bright, but darker and more brownish. The "ring" area around the mask is a flat black color. The main body is a lighter brown color and not that dark "wedge" brown as shown in the photo. The actual carvings are less detailed than depicted. The "ring" around the mask has straight lines carved in it, whereas the photo appears to have a more intricate pattern. The detail of the head piece and nose, is much nicer, and better tooled, than what you will receive. I would have preferred getting those extra carved details you see in the photos. With all that said, I do however, like this mask quite a bit. The shape is great and it works well for what I needed......oh and the price is unbeatable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tacky in Person
 from Washington, DC,  Oct 18, 2013

In the photos this item has a worn, weathered, authentic look. The mask I received looked brand new, glossy, and strangest of all, something in the manufacturing process clearly uses newspaper, as the mask is covered in faint newsprint ... not exactly the authentic tribal look I was going for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Se-Se is so-so
 from DC,  Dec 6, 2012

A very average piece. Average design, average workmanship and average appeal. Keep looking and you'll find better

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No, the red is not nearly as vibrant as depicted.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? Yep
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bakota Brass Bird Mask (Ghana)
 from New York, NY,  Aug 7, 2010

I just received this mask and it's absolutely stunning! It fits in perfectly with my collection of mask on my exposed brick wall. I actually think it looks even better in person.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from California,  Aug 3, 2014

This item is true to the photo, if not better. Very lightweight, maybe 1 LB. Absolutely gorgeous. I *just* received it two days ago, so have not yet hung it, but I am absolutely thrilled with my purchase!!! Stellar.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice mask.
 from Pa.,  Apr 16, 2014

The size on mark. The color a bit dull but overall it is a good mask.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Newark, New Jersey,  Jul 3, 2013

This is a beautiful mask. The wood has a great red tone to it and looks rich. The workmanship is superb simple.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super cute mask and good quality
 from Bishop CA,  Sep 26, 2012

I really love this mask. It is alot brighter then in the photos and also heavy.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality but alot heavier then I thought
  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not exactly as pictured, but still a keeper.
 from OC, Aliso Viejo,  Nov 5, 2011

The mask is great, but unfortunately not as pictured. The colors are definitely on a much lighter side and the details shown around the mask are not there. Nevertheless, we are keeping as it still looks good on the wall, just not quiet as pictured. We have an extensive collection of african art and this item completes one of our walls.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The color is more muted in person and the detail around the mask is not as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As expected, good quality.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Fairly accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bakota mask
 Aug 14, 2010

Very nice piece of handcrafted african art. Colors are rich and it looks great paired with other pieces. I would highly recommend this piece! OS shipped fast and it arrived in great condition.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Brass
 from Colorado,  Jul 29, 2010

I cannot find any brass in this mask. Otherwise it is decorative etc like the other reviews say.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful! I LOVE OVERSTOCK.COM!
 from los angeles, ca,  Dec 6, 2008

Everytime I purchase a product from Overstock.com, I am never disappointed and it is no exception here. This mask was bought for my mother's birthday (she is an avid wild bird feeding lady!). She absolutley LOVED it! It would make a wonderful additon to any ecletic home. Of course, I received email updates on the delivery status of my order & it arrived in a timely manner. I also like the fact that by purchasing this product, I participated in the Fair Trade Act.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great and solid!
 from MD,  Feb 18, 2008

I really love this mask, very well made and the wood is solid.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks the same as the Picture!
 from Wilmington, DE,  Dec 16, 2007

This product looks just as pictures and always gets noticed by guests! If you like unique items, this is definitely a good choice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bakota Brass Bird Mask (Ghana)
 from Richmond, VA,  Jul 24, 2007

Beautiful piece! Exceptional pricing for such quality piece! It is a perfect addition to collection. Future purchases are a definite.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique
 from Az,  Apr 16, 2007

My husband picked this mask out and the color matched out living room perfectly. If you are looking for something unique for your decor this is a great item. It's lightweight and very original & different.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BIRD MASK
 from DETROIT, MI,  Apr 8, 2007

VERY AUTHENTIC. PERFECT FOR MY COLLECTION. APPRECIATED THE NOTE ON BACK OF MASK. IT EXPLAINED THE TRUE MEANING OF THE MASK.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought