Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Would not recommend
 from Roanoke,VA,  Oct 24, 2013

First, packaging cannot withstand the delivery process. UPS had to send first one back even before it reached me. The second one was pretty beat up but I regretfully accepted it. The unit went together easily and seemed sturdily made but the electronics did not work. Cust. Serv of both Overstock and XTERRA were very helpful but I had to diagnose the problem and would have had to take apart the machine to replace a flimsy wire harness to the unit's plug that was broken. The units packaging condition due to handling may have been the cause of the break but the harness was not very well made. The risk/reward of receiving a functioning bike at a good price is not worth it .The machine is going back. Overstock has promised a full refund. Finally,I would not put very much faith in the durability of the bike if you do get one that works from the start. I was looking forward to a reliable exercise machine but was greatly disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Defective part replaced
 from St\. Louis MO,  Sep 25, 2013

I had no trouble following the instructions to assemble the bike. It did no turn on when I tried to use it. After several conversations with Overstock we discovered a cut in the wiring harness. Within a week of finding the problem I received a replacement part and it now works great. This bike does everything the bike at the gym does for a much smaller price. Overstock stayed with it until the problem was solved. They gave me several options on how I wanted to handle the problem and they dikd everything they said they would do.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
xterrasb2.5 walk thru recumbent bike
 from Toledo OH,  Aug 13, 2013

Absolutely wonderful bike, the kind you'd find at a gym. Very easy programs that are easy to use, as I have severe ankle arthritis. Also, good tough work out progams! It took about 2 hours to assemble and my husband said it was difficult due to the instructions. Must be strong to assemble! Programming was easy I love it as it's very comfortable even with arthritis problems! . Fast delivery!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice deal
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jul 6, 2013

Good, sturdy bike, quiet. Could use more instructions on programming.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good for the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from Ohio,  May 15, 2013

The bike overall isn't bad althought it makes some noises that aren't entirely reassuring in its build quality. The actual frame is sold steel but some of the bolt on parts including the display are cheap plastic. It was missing a bolt that was sent quickly by a responsive customer service rep. It also had a bonus part that neither of us could figure out how to fit into the build. I don't think it was meant to be included with this bike. It can be a bit of a challenge to put together. The instructions are ok but certainly not Pulitzer material but with a little patience and forethought, I managed to get it assembled in a couple of hours. All the necessary tools are included however a good socket set would have made it much easier. The bike seems to function fine aside from the noise as the tension increases throughout the program. I suspect that is normal. The heart rate monitor is all over the place but I think that is typical in this price range. My only complaint about the display is that the body fat percentage calculations are clearly messed up. It correctly guesses by BMI at around 21 but tells me that my body fat percentage is 27% or 28%. This is about 10 points too high. I mentioned it to customer service but I don't think he quite got it. Not a big deal but I can't believe they ever let the console out of testing with such an obvious coding error. The Recovery feature's results are equally suspect. Overall, if you can get a good deal (low 300's), this probably isn't a bad purchase but only time will tell.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Fits perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK quality. Not bad for the price range
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Missing bolts
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good choice for exercise bike
 from Boston, MA,  Apr 23, 2013

We have had this bike for about a month, and have been very pleased with it. It is solidly built and has a smooth, quiet ride. Better quality than other bikes in the same price range that we considered.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Good machine. Excellent value
 from Los Angeles,  May 8, 2014

The product is an excellent value and a very good tool towards achieving regular physical maintenance. The seat is FLAT, bottom and top, so it lacks a support in these areas I would have preferred. However, having put that singular complaint to rest I will say that the mechanism's operation is flawless. It is a silent operating bike and the electronics are straight-forward and easy to operate. Just as important is that when an issue came to mind requiring I contact Overstock directly, their representative took control of the matter and remedied the situation IMMEDIATELY . All in all I am very please with this product. Had the seat been more towards what I was expecting, i.e. contoured rather than flat, I would have allowed for 5 stars. After shopping for some time on-pin as well as doing so "hands-on" at outlets and retailers, I am satisfied that this is the best machine for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great gym quality recumbent bke!
 from Colorado,  Feb 10, 2014

Xterra 2.5 is a fantastic deal that rivals many gym quality bikes. Vry sleek features and exxcellent color display (that is not overly large to keeo you from watching TV. The speakers are weak for an MP3 or ipod pulgin, but if you are like me, I listen to earbuds anyway. The pedalling is very smooth due to a good size and weighted fly-wheel. I initially got a little "knocking" sound on the right peddle, and a little W-40 sprayed into the pedal thread cleared it up. The fly-wheel housing is a little thin and UPS ruined the first bike on delivery, and had to return it in route before it ever got delivered, and now they ruind a second bike due to their rough mishandling. The bike works good, but the fly-wheel housing is cracked from the 2nd delivery and I am in progress with Overstock to get anouther housing (with the flywheel), or another bike (this would make bike #3). Overstock folks are very good with their customer service and I have stated that a better carriers besides UPS would help since UPS obvously cannot deliver products wighing over 100lbs, in undamaged condition.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good bike, poor packaging.
 from Rindge, NH,  Dec 26, 2013

The shipping box was not designed well for this relatively heavy bike. It should have had heavy duty flat pieces of cardboard in the bottom of the box before loading the bike parts, and on the top before closing the box top offer better support and protection during shipping. It could also use more straps (and tighter straps) around the outside. Several of the straps on my box had slid down to the ends of the box as shippers handled the box. As they slid the box on their trucks, the straps slid along the box. As a result of this poor packaging, my bike arrived with the bottom of the box spread open at the box cover seam and there was some minor damage to the bike. One piece of plastic scraped rather deeply and the large plastic "body covers" for the bike were somewhat scuffed due to repeated shifting and rubbing inside the loosened packaging. As for the bike itself, overall, it is very nice with one exception. I feel the bottom seat support should be larger, slightly softer, and preferably contoured a little. Even better if the seat bottom (And back) could be a little adjustable for angle. I test road many bikes before buying this bike (Over the internet without being able to sit on it in person). I found several other bikes with better seats, like some NordicTrac and ProForm models, but these either had poor reviews or had too much peddle resistance in their lowest setting. Others like some Schwinn bikes had good reviews but their seats were very hard and uncomfortable. This Xterra seemed to have a good compromise of price, peddle ease, program variety, durability, and seat comfort given what I could see from the pictures, specs, and reviews. I bought this bike for my mother who had a knee replacement about 6 months ago. I have used it to get my own evaluation of it and she has used it as well. The walk through design is good for people with limited mobility. Overall, I am pretty happy with the bike, and the seat is pretty good, but if the seat was redesigned and improved, the bike could be fantastic. If it had a better seat, I would probably buy one for myself.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfortable, Sturdy, and Reasonably Priced
 from Mansfield, TX,  May 15, 2013

Great for those with back/hip or knee problems. My husband needed a recumbent bike after his knee surgery. This model allows you not to have to get down near the floor to use a recumbent bike. Also, don't have to lift leg up and over due to the walk through design. The read out is comprehensive and easy to read. It takes about 20 minutes to go to sleep after you finish using the bike.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Recumbent Bile
 from Roanoke Rapids, NC,  Apr 30, 2013

We have been looking for a recumbent bike and this one answered all our needs. the seat is comfortable, it is sturdy, the seat adjusts easily. It did take us a bit to find out where the controls plugged into the bike as the directions for the electronics are not included. I haven't been on line yet to see it they have any better ones out there. We were able to figure everything out and really like the bike.

  • How accurate was the sizing? met the mark
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product took my husband about 1 hour to put together. Well made and no problems with pieces and parts.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bike but use a surge protector!
 from Germantown, MD,  Jan 27, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, the box came to us all shredded and torn up, but we were lucky enough that the bike was ok. The box specifies it should be delivered by two people - however, Overstock sends it via a shipper that only has one person, so that person has to drag the box off the truck and to your porch. Once assembled, this is a nice bike -- I weigh more than average and the seat is comfortable and the bike works well, although the programming is not very user-friendly (and there is not any information in the booklet about the different settings, how to program it, etc.). Right after we bought the bike, there was a power outage and the control panel fizzled out. It was clear what the issue was and we told the manufacturer that the control panel needed to be replaced, but the manufacturer instead told us they thought it was something else and sent us other parts to try to fix the issue (these parts were VERY small, and while I was lucky my husband has a lot of tools, patience and expertise in this area, others would probably have to hire someone to replace the parts they sent). After the many hours of the work we did on it, the problem was not fixed (the issue was in fact the control panel, as we told the manufacturer from the start). The manufacturer just wanted to buy time because they didn't have it in stock (they told us this later) - once they accepted that we needed a new control panel, it took them about 6 weeks to send it to us. Our advice: Put an expensive/high quality surge protector on it to prevent this issue and make sure an able-bodied person is home when its delivered to help the delivery person with getting the box into its' arrival location in one piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I got this bike after much research, needing to replace the ******** I had for 12 years and which was just worn out. The negative reviews in the past couple of years for the ******** bikes convinced me that ******** was doing the corporate cost-containment thing and going cheap with their quality, and I can't afford to spend money on stuff that breaks down. This bike arrived when promised. The carton was a bit beat up, but everything was there and there was no damage to the parts. Careful when assembling this bike - the parts list shows many nuts, washers, and bolts which are already attached to the bike, which I didn't spot; so I thought a couple bags of parts were missing from the box until customer service told me they would be attached to the bike already. Assembly took 90 easy minutes, and everything went well. The bike is solid and utilitarian - it has good resistance, smooth operation, noticeable changes in the 24 levels of resistance (once you get past the first 4 or 5 levels, which all seemed to offer the same low level of resistance). The biggest surprise was the pulse monitor - this one is actually accurate. I am skeptical of heart rate monitors on exercise equipment, as they seem to have such wild ranges; but the SB2.5 was dialed in right at the same pulse rate that my 'thumb' monitor showed. And, it does have the connection for a chest strap monitor if you want to buy one of those. After a couple days of use, I had to re-tighten the frame bolts securing the front and back frames, as they had worked loose. If that continues, I'll just replace the bolts with longer ones that are secured by lock nuts. The electronics worked fine, even though there is an anomaly in connecting the readout wire harness with the base harness. One pair of wires is brown-yellow; the other connecting pair of wires is brown - brown/white; so it is a bit of a guess as to how to connect them. I was fortunate in that I guessed right the first time. If you guess wrong in connecting this basic wiring harness, you'll just have to remove a few bolts holding the display on, and change the connection. This bike has more of a recumbent position than my nautilus, which I like. It's very easy to reach 140 heart rate, and the display shows all measurements at once - speed, calories, distance, time, pulse. resistance level. I don't use the programs - just set it on manual, and increase the resistance levels at different intervals. This bike seems to be a good, functional, solid recumbent bike.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought