Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

 from Chattanooga, TN USA,  Jan 30, 2006

This dollhouse kit was made of 1/8 inch MDF and the sheets were warped when I got them. After punching out one item, I decided the parts could easily break if you were not very, very careful. The instructions were poor. There were only schematics on the chimney and the bookcase. The company's idea of schematics were layout sheets. I returned this dollhouse. Although Overstock's price was great, the product was not worth buying. My advice is keep your money and buy a RGT dollhouse kit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Eminence, KY USA,  Jan 30, 2006

This doll house is great quality. We are very pleased with the product. The instructions are fair. Good for someone that has built before.(Everyone does not know to use a utility knife to cut on the score marks- do not punch ot or break apart.)I am totally pleased with everything except delivery- it came in a box with a color picture on the outside and it was a Christmas gift. Luck for me my daughter was not home!! Great product. We recommend it!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I bought this kit for my 12 year old daughter. She wanted a "real" dollhouse. It takes time to put together and she has needed some help. Now that it is mostly put together (she left off some of the detailed trim) she loves decorating it and playing with it. We used hot glue to put it together and it is very sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow
 from Ny,  Jan 12, 2008

This is a great doll house. When I first opened it I was shocked I didnt think I could do it. I cant put anything together but I did it. It took me a week with painting and putting things together I worked on it for 5 hours a day. U need alot of room. My daughter loves it. I am very happy with it. I was worried when I first saw it cause of all the pieces but I tell u its worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The material that make up the boards is a little on the fragile side and at first whiff has the strong 'recycled goods' smell and who knows what else..?, odor dissipates after a few days (which is the reason i gave the lowest value to the safety scale). If you follow the manufacturer's directions and use an exacto knife on stubborn cuts, the house goes up easily. I would recommend reading the directions all the way through a couple of times especially if you've never built one before. I would personally recommend not being shy about cutting into the pre fab tabs in order for your house to have flush walls and floors. A glue gun works well and instantly with this material but is not ideal for the small details like trims etc... overall it's a hobby kind of thing and shouldn't be rushed, the hours you will spend refining and decorating will be at your discretion.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Palm Coast,Florida USA,  Jan 30, 2006

This dollhouse is not for anyone not handy. It is very hard to assemble. Removing the parts is difficult, many parts break. My husband has built our entire house and most our furniture and he is having trouble constructing this model dollhouse. Directions are sometime unclear. Unless you have infinite patience, buy a ready made dollhouse. I would return this product if I could......

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Woodbine,GA/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I was very pleased with this product and how easy the instructions are to assemble it. Would definitely recommend this product to others.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Margate, FL,  Jan 30, 2006

My husband and I put this dollhouse together for our 5 year old daughter for Christmas. This was our first dollhouse and it took us one week of working every night for about 5 hours. We felt the directions were easy to follow. Two pieces of advice...make sure you know what side is the "smooth side" in the first step and always do a dry run each step before glueing. Great product...Have fun!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Franklin, OH U.S.A.,  Jan 30, 2006

It comes in sheets of already cut wood, but not all the pieces of mine were cut all the way through, so as I tried to cut it out, I ruined some. Lousy directions! Very thin wood. If a child fell on it, it would break. I recommend getting a Real Good Toys dollhouse kit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You get what you pay for!
 from Green River, Wyoming,  Jul 4, 2014

Very unhappy the wood is falling apart in my hands. Even when I cut it out. Most of the wood is poor quality. Some of the pieces were warped when I got them. I've never had so many splinters in my life. Spend the money and buy a higher quality product.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Insane assembly required!
 from Wichita, KS,  Dec 27, 2013

This house takes about 100 hours to assemble. The quality of the wood is bad. Every little piece has to be cut out with an exacto knife and sanded. The instructions provided are inadequate. Luckily, my husband is good at woodworking or this would never have gotten assembled. After we received it and did some further research, we found out that lighting kits cost another $50-$100! There is NO flooring provided so that also must be purchased separately. If someone would take their time and spend about a year finishing all the little details, the house could be very nice but we were unprepared for dealing with it 2 weeks before giving it to our granddaughter for Christmas. But the price was very cheap compared to some other websites for this brand so that was nice. We should have done more research or paid more attention to the reviews for this brand. It is very flimsy and will not hold up to being moved around much by children. This is more for collectors or adults than 7 year old little girls.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dollhouse kit
 from Lake City, Florida,  Dec 25, 2013

We built this for our great granddaughter and are pleased with the out come. You do have to be patient and know that you can only do so much in one day. It takes several weeks if you take time to paint all the parts. I recommend painting most of the parts prior to assembly and then doing touch up afterwards. You need some craft skills to built this kit but was well worth the end result. Not the best directions and refered to the picture a lot for some of the assembly. I recommend using a combination of wood glue and a hot glue gun for a stonger construction.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Adorable dollhouse
 from Easley, SC,  Feb 27, 2013

This is such an adorable dollhouse. It took us approximately 30 hours to put it all together. It was a fun project for me and my husband to surprise our two and a half year old daughter for Christmas. I only gave it 4 stars because it was not as big as I thought it would be. I didn't realize the chimneys were included in the measurements, but other then that I love the dollhouse!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Was not as big as I thought it would be. Only disappointment.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not what we expected
 from Charlotte, NC,  Jan 5, 2013

This is a rather elaborate dollhouse that looks very good when finished, but requires a great deal of complex assembly. We are interested in crafts, so we had all the necessary tools and materials on hand and had a fair idea of how to proceed with the assembly. My husband, the primary builder, is very meticulous, so he carefully accounted for all the pieces and read all the instructions before we began. The instructions are specific enough in most places, but it seems the manufacturer might have changed the kit at some point and not changed the instructions. We had pieces that were not mentioned in the assembly instructions, and there were pieces called for by the instructions that we did not have. The wood is fairly good quality, and there is ample extra wood to cut or construct parts that might be damaged or missing. One thing the instructions did not specify is that you should cut around each piece with a craft knife before you punch it out. That will save you a lot of sanding and will help prevent splinters and damage to the pieces. Unless you have some experience with wood drafting, this kit would be difficult or impossible to assembly in a satisfactory way. The finished house is quite nice and very sturdy. Our little girl had a great time helping with the painting, staining and wallpaper. This purchase was a way to get her a very large custom dollhouse without spending a lot of money.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. for the price, the quality was very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product !
 from Woodbridge, NJ,  Jul 8, 2011

I got this house 3 yrs ago and it's not fully finished yet but It's a great house. Its a hobby of mine to build them . it took 30 mins to set up the shell. Great House !

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very durable
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply Loved it.
 from Washington DC,  Jun 17, 2010

I knew what I was ordering when ordered, I was anxious for the challenge. It was great. I love it. I got totally consumed. This was my 3rd house. I'm keeping this one and have decided to build my own town. It's great for the kids to help, the slightly older ones, even the older teenagers can get emersed when they see what their hands are building. I especially like that overstock.com gets my orders in the mail quickly. I had one problem...THERE ARE NEVER ENOUGH SHINGLES FOR THE ROOF. But it is a great way to clear your mind and be creative. Great hobby to build on and pass on.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DISASTER BUILD
 May 10, 2010

Like the majority of Greenleaf products, this one is a royal pain. Though the finished product can be lovely if you work hard enough it, that is no credit to the designers. Materials are shoddy, instructions are vague, illustrations are completely nonexistent. The schematics are frequently incorrect, the wood splinters easily, the pieces are frequently not cut properly so have to be hacked out. As often as not, pieces do not fit together, so have to be altered or replaced by the builder. This will probably be the last one I will build by Greenleaf, unless they improve the quality of their products. Yes, they are among the cheapest dollhouse kits on the market, but you'll be happier if you save your money and buy from a quality manufacturer.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
doll house
 from santa cruz ca,  Mar 31, 2010

It was shipped as stataed. the dollhouse was much more work than i imagined to put together. I finally hired a carpenter to do it who has had problems. the directions were difficult to follow ig. glue sides then dont glue sides in next step.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Willow Dollhouse
 from Wayne, Pa.,  Sep 15, 2009

I found the instructions very confusing. They could be more concise. The tabs were not long enough to fit into the slots. Some of the boards were warped so it was difficult to get the pieces in properly. This is my third dollhouse that I have built and I wouldn't buy this construction again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible experience
 from TN,  Mar 16, 2009

Kit was defective. One of the sheet was stamped wrong so that the windows on the right side of the house were crooked. Three of the sheets were barely stamped so it was impossible to remove the parts without demolishing them. Whole thing went into the garbage.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
The Beacon Hill Dollhouse Kit
Today $148.99
Compare $252.98
Save 41%
(58)
Greenleaf Dollhouse Kit-Westville
Today $94.99
Compare $167.75
Save 43%
Back to top