Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Product
 from Shrewsbury MA,  Jul 3, 2012

Good Product, Can handle more than 250lbs. reasonable price and quick delivery

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my home gym!!
 from Hawaii,  Jun 20, 2012

Like i said, BD-8 is a perfect fit for my gym. I am not a heavy lifter, 225 lbs for sets & reps will be perfect for me & this stands can easily handle that weight. It took me about 30 mins for me to assemble. It was very simple. First time buyer @ Overstock.com & they did not fail me. I was kinda leary from buying from O. Since i read some bad reviews. But my first experience with them is GREAT!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Great sizing.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is top notch. I have no wobble & it isnt off size in any means. As in the height.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Happy to say no deffects @ all. Was missing 1 washer. Not a big deal.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Compact and solid
 Nov 13, 2009

Before seeing this product, I thought that freeweight squats were the one exercise that one needs to go to the gym for. But these squat stands, due to their being two units, are a very compact alternative to a full squat cage. The product is a lot more stable than it looks - the center of gravity is low due to heavier materials being used in the bottom than in the top, and due to foreshortening in the product image, if you actually look at the stands from the top, you'll see that it has a large, stable footprint. I found these to be very stable even if placed on plush carpet. You can also adjust the middle pins so that they'll spot you. They look small for the job in the picture, but in a controlled failure, I can easily just allow those pins to take the weight. Sometimes I'll even do that deliberately in order to prepare for another exercise, for example, deadlifts, shrugs, upright rows, or even biceps curls. I place the bar there to add or change weights. I think it's even possible to put an empty bar on the top and do chinups, although this would be a bit awkward, and is obviously not what it's made for. But that's just one of the many possible uses that shows the flexibility of this product. It also has a bit of redundancy you can't easy see in the picture that makes it feel even safer. There's a steel pin that backs up the main pin. The main pin can be turned to screw into place. At the top, there's a pin you can hook over the bar to hold it in place (although I can't think of anything that could accidentally bump a 45 lb olympic bar off the stand).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Squat Stands
 from Gainesville, GA,  Oct 3, 2014

Ordered these to fit in a smaller, in-home exercise room and they work very well. Easily assembled, clear instructions included, and took about 10 minutes to set up. They work for squat or bench and hold my Olympic bar and weights easily; there's just a bit of 'side sway' that you have to be careful of or I would give them an excellent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good stands, no regrets
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Oct 15, 2011

Overall, I'm happy with my purchase. The stands are of very good quality, and simple to assemble, even though there were no directions and only an exploded view diagram. That being said, they don't have very many parts, so it shouldn't be terribly difficult for the average person to figure out. For the price, I would say that these are fantastic and a very economic and space-saving alternative to a full power rack, which I maintain that for serious lifters is still the only way to go (if you have space and the money). I only have two issues: 1. even with plates loaded onto the pegs (thus weighing them down) they are still not the most stable things in the world. But if you aren't throwing your weights around, they should be fine. and 2. the safety catches are fairly small so you really have to make sure your form is spot on so that you stay over them and don't drift on squats and bench presses. This is actually a good thing for me, as like I said it forces perfect form on the most important lifts. I'd also like to note that although they are marketed as "squat stands," I use them quite successfully for bench presses too. They are a little bit of a pain to adjust, but I simply use my adjustment time as my rest between lifts.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes, there were no defects
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good squat stands
 from McKinney, TX,  Jan 20, 2011

I really like that these can be spaced as close or as far apart as you need, since I use standard size barbell and not olympic like most fixed squat racks seem to be designed for. The hooks at the top are a nice feature to help prevent the bar from tipping when loading it, and the spotters provide a little piece-of-mind since I work out alone. My only complaint is, due to the way they are made to have an adjustable footprint, they have a significant amount of wobble even when tightened all the way. There's a little too much space where the smaller tubing of the base pieces insert in to the larger frame tubing. I was able to remedy this by adding washers inside, sandwiched between the two tubes. No more wobble. Overall I'm very happy with these. Finally I can do some squats at home!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not too bad, considering.
 from NJ,  Nov 23, 2010

The Valor Deluxe squat stands came very quickly and undamaged. Set up was straightforward. All the parts were there. It actually came witha tiny bottle of touchup paint. Two small problems: One stand is about 1/4 inch higher than the other. So the bar sits at a slight incline. This is really annoying. Secondly, the front cross member gets in the way when one steps in to lift the weight. It should be shorter. It seems like whoever designed these squat stands never actually used them or these issues would have been ironed out. Otherwise, not too bad, considering.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
squat stands
 Sep 2, 2010

awesome product, perfect addition to a home gym. just got mine today and i love it already. service was awesome oo. definetly recommend this

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
squat stands
 Aug 8, 2010

Overall good quality product. Took a while to assemble but all parts were included and was pretty easy to put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
really good deal
 from long island, ny,  Jul 31, 2010

just bought these last week from overstock. they said it would take 5-10 days and was here in 2 days for 2.95 shipping. they were the cheapest on the net. does not get any better than that. package was top notch, parts were very well labeled. that did not stop me from putting it on backwards, which i have to admit is not easy to do. do not tighten anything until you are satisfied that it looks just like the picture. used grease on a few screws but not necessary. have 30 lbs on each stand and it does not move. i am only using around 120lbs but sometimes we win. it is nice when it happens. this may not be useful for 300lbs and up but great for me. do more reps and get hurt less is my philosophy. only thing i am looking for is something to soften the top holders (not sure what they are called). it is just metal and the bar eventually wear that out. any ideas?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not too shabby
 from New York, NY,  Jun 23, 2010

i must say this product isn't bad at all. and the delivery was unexpectedly fast! overstock noted that the delivery was gonna take 5-10 business days so i was expecting it the next week. to my surprise it came in 2-3 days! and i searched on the net for some ecoupons to add to the already reduced price, which was awesome. about the product.. it's pretty sturdy and built pretty tough with strong grade metal for an item that's supposed to be part of a Home gym. the space i have for it (which is in my kitchen) allows for just enough room so i can have the two stands sit right on top of a carpet that's just wide enough so i can either do my squats or slip my flat bench there to do barred bench presses if i don't feel like using my dumbbells. other uses that i have for it include turning it into a rack so as to do bar curls or for bent over rows so i don't have to put my bar to the floor anymore. all i have to do is rest my bar on the spotter struts. it's pretty convenient. the best thing about the product are the plate holders. there was a similar product this company had which was slightly cheaper that i was about to purchase but when i saw this option i chose this one instead. and the best part about that feature is that putting weight plates there makes the stands even more stable. so for me it's a perfect fit. can't go wrong with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Breasts Are Yummy
 from los angeles,  Feb 10, 2010

i really like these. They look so nice sturdy firm give me a good workout too

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BD-8
 Dec 17, 2009

Excellent piece of equipment. Very easy to assemble and use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great home workout squat stands
 from Bay Area,  Dec 12, 2009

I bought these squat stands because I was tired of lifting the squat bar up over my head and on to my shoulders. This technique was not only dangerous but also greatly reduced the amount of weight I was able to use.I squat up to around 205 pounds and these stands are plenty stable for that even without any weights loaded on the weight holders acting as ballastes. They are not commercial weight room grade, but are great for a home exercise setup. Every feature seems well thought out. Easy to assemble. At the time of this review, I've only been using these squat stands for about one month. Time will reveal how durable they are.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Home Gym Option
 from Boston,  Nov 8, 2009

I recently purchased a pair of these for a home gym setup. The price was right and I wanted something that I could move around easily. The setup was relatively quick, and the stands are nice and sturdy. The plate storage is a nice feature and adds some additional stability.My only complaint are the spring-loaded pins. One of these already came apart for no particular reason. This just prevents me from screwing it into the stand, but the spring still works fine. Additionally, the stands wobble a bit, even with everything tightened down, although the problem seems to go away with weight added to the plate storage.Overall I'm happy with the purchase and with the service from Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought