Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Solid Product
 from Columbia, SC,  Nov 16, 2010

I bought these squat stands to use in my basement where I have limited space. I'm using them primarily for bench press, although I have also used them for squats and for standing overhead presses. I'm using a a flat bench and a standard barbell. The stands are very solid and don't move when I'm racking and un-racking the bar. I like the flexibility of being able to move the stands to suit my needs. I ended up setting them very close to the bench, so I can get a wide grip on the bar. If I was using an olympic bar I would set the stands wide and grip the bar on the inside. Putting the stands together was simple and took around 30 minutes. You will want to use a socket wrench instead of the included tool which wasn't easy to work with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product!
 from New York,  Dec 21, 2011

My son just started bodybuilding and this was a great start for him.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Equipment
 from Virginia,  May 24, 2011

If you are cramped for space and don't squat over 500lbs on a regular basis this an excellent alternative to the pricey power racks out there. This product is surprisingly stable and well engineered to handle the 300lb range. Easy to assemble. Delivery was less than a week for me. No complaints except sore glut and quads. I would recommend this product to any intermediate class lifter.

  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from Maryland, USA,  Dec 3, 2010

First, note that the stand uppers I received were not chrome as described, but less-expensive black. . . . . . I was impressed with the packaging, design, materials, construction, and finish. It includes a bottle of touch-up paint which I didn't need. Assembly was easy and they seem sturdy, I'd say heavy-home / light-commercial quality. I am not using them for their designed purpose, I use them to support a barbell to do pullups from a chair, for which they work very well. . . . . . . . The stick-on lower bracket rubber pads, and to a lesser extent the push-on rubber feet, emit a strong new-rubber-tire odor which diminishes somewhat over weeks/months. Fortunately they are easily substituted or left off. . . . . I am concerned that the full weight of the stand uppers rests entirely on the one-hole lower bracket adjustment pins and not at all on the two-hole safety clips; the clips are less than 3/4 the diameter of the holes (8 mm vs. 11 mm). My engineer sense says this will break the adjustment pins. So currently I leave the lower brackets unused and keep the adjustment pins partially disengaged so that the stand uppers rest entirely on the safety clips. Eventually I will replace the clips. . . . . Overall I am satisfied that it was the best value for the total price meeting my needs, and I would buy it again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap but good
 Aug 17, 2010

These are cheap but good squat racks. Although not advised to go over 250. I haven't had an issue yet at 350.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Stands
 from Dayton, OH,  Jan 3, 2010

I bought these for my girlfriend's home gym and she likes them. They allow her to do squats and bench press with a barbell - exercises that she was previously limited to doing with dumbbells. A couple complaints: 1) "They smell" she said (apparently the rubber feet), but expect the smell to dissipate; 2) The stands don't leave very much room in-between for squats when using a "regular" (vs. an Olympic) barbell - we may change barbells to allow for more room between the stands. Otherwise, they are very stable/sturdy and easily adjustable. They also weren't very hard to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Easy to assemble, and though these are a lightweight set of barbell racks, they're versatile and will hold at 400-lbs. without trouble. I squatted 420 off of them for a few sets over two weeks and they held steady. So don't worry about whether they'll handle heavy weights. Instructions are easy to read and the package came tightly and well packed in one box. I would gladly buy another Valor Fitness product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ok product, assembly difficult
 from New England,  Dec 13, 2014

For the price, these stands are a good addition to a home gym. With that said, the assembly was difficult, the instructions kept referring the wrong number but used the right name for the part. In addition, the cap on the safety arm blocked the hole from feeding through the horizontal upright on the main frame, so I jammed it down, and popped off a plastic cap. It works ok, if you aren't adjusting it constantly for different heights. If you plan on making adjustments to suit different heights, it might be a real pain. I'm just using it for squats (about 250 max). If I ever break the 250 lb barrier, I'll buy something a little beefier. You have to remember you are paying less than $$$ for these, while it's a deal, don't expect it to perform like commercial equipment (adjustment wise).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for!
 from Nevada,  Mar 11, 2014

Very hard to find what I was looking for...of course, here it is on Overstock! Reasonable price and shipping.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Valor Fitness Squat Stands
 from Meridian ID,  Sep 21, 2013

Everything was a advertised. The order was filled and shipped quickly and arrived without incident. The squat stands are just fine for our needs. The are sturdy enough for the of use that they receive in our Weightlifting Club

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad at all
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jun 5, 2013

Not bad for the money. If you have limited space, you could do a lot worse than these stands. I have them on a slightly uneven surface and they work great so far, but I've only had them for about a month.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy, easy to put together, easy to store
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Valor Squat Stands
 from Westford, NY,  Mar 29, 2013

These are my first squat stands, and I bought them because I felt that they were the most reasonably priced. I was originally looking for a single unit, but this increases cost and shipping due to size. If you go to the Valor web site or you-tube, you can see a simple demo of some of the features. http://valorathleticsinc.com/store/BD-3-Squat-Stands-p-16171.html The general quality is good, but the assembly documentation could be cleaned up a bit for clarity. Pet peeve of mine is poorly written materials, bad grammar and misspellings. The drawings are good, but assembly and usage instructions are weak..One thing that I puzzled over for several minutes is how to set the height adjusting short arms so that the height adjusting bar could slide independently of it. The "M16 adjusting popper pin" is actually a spring pin that you pull back to make a quick adjustment to the short support bar.The use of this pin is not documented. The stands also comes with a small jar of touch-up paint, but it is not on the parts list. I had to write a note to the manufacturer to ask what it was, because the little jar looked like it was a part of the assembly. While the stands provide several nice features, such as narrower feet in the front to reduce the chance of tripping when stepping away from the stand, and safety latches at the top for weight changing, they are pretty light weight. Not recommended to load more than #150 lbs. Having said that, when backing up to return the bar to the stands, the separate stands and their light weight can make it a bit tricky to get the weight on the stands without knocking them around. Placing extra weights on the back side feet might help this, and the Valor stands at the next price range have pins at the bottom to store weights. I am still learning how to make the best use of these stands, but I think they are fine for the home gym and good quality for the price.

  • How accurate was the sizing? as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Valro Fitness Squat Stand
 from Massachusetts,  Mar 26, 2013

These are excellent squat stands for the price. I use them for light squats (175 lbs), and they're very functional. Also, they have attachments which I use for partial deadlifts. Great value for the price.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality for the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Defect-free
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from College Station, TX,  Mar 26, 2013

The product cam in the mail quicker than expected, and they looked great. I have been using them for about a month now, and have had no problems. They're a great set of squat stands/

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for what they are.
 from Ann Arbor, Michigan,  Mar 26, 2013

When considering the quality of these stands, you must first acknowledge that these encompass a compromise. I see plenty of reviewers commenting on a little wobbliness. Yes, they can be a little wobbly - especially if you throw a huge stack against the catch. This is not a power rack. That would be like comparing a Prius to a Lamborghini. These are easily store-able stands that are perfect for limited space. They don't slide, and I LOVE the fact that you can place them where you need them. They are easily adjustable for bench press, (as well as squat, even for me - a 6 foot 3 guy) but I also sometimes put them fairly close together, put an ez-curl bar with plates on it, and slide my decline bench underneath for decline barbell sit-ups. This thing is perfect for my small gym space. They allow for a little less stupidity than a power rack, so you may consider having a spotter nearby for some exercises unless you're good at utilizing a 6 inch long safety catch (hard to land on if you're fighting failure at the bottom of a squat, unless you're really close to the rack.)

  • How accurate was the sizing? All sizing was as advertised.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The stands are solid and heavy duty. It seems like they will last forever.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? The stands were free of any manufacturer defects.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
squat stands
 from Arlington Heights, IL,  Mar 15, 2013

Own 7 of these systems at my club. I like the versatility to free the room very quickly and easily. Own different year models and this current year is so far the best. I have used a lot of weight on these units and they can handle it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? somewhat
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I recommend
 from Massachusetts,  Feb 20, 2013

easy to assemble. good quality. very portable, which is why I purchased.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive
 from Brooklyn NY,  Feb 15, 2013

excellent price excellent shipping easy set up sturdier than expected Havent used it with more than 250lbs, but works great.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. better than i thought for $150
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy!
 from Michigan,  Feb 2, 2013

I have 65 lbs on it, don't see it ever getting much over 100 lbs. Very sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from HI,  Dec 20, 2012

Sturdy stands, delivery was fast and well packaged. There is some touch-up-paint, but no scratches from delivery. I did put on a scratch or two tightening the bolts. My only complaint is the bolts have to be very very tight or the stands will wobble side-to-side. Once tightened, it is solid, no side to side or back and forth movement. Good balance, I don't think you need the weight holder to stabilize as in the Valor Plus model. This model is more compact and great for home gym. I leave a loaded bar on the rack with no worries. I use it for mostly bench press with a 5 foot bar, fits perfect. Thanks to Overstock for shipping to Hawaii.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Stable and solid.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? none
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought