Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Model Engine
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Mar 5, 2011

The engine is fun to assemble when you have all the parts needed. My recommendation is verify that all parts are included before starting the project. Maybe not such a good idea to get this toy from Overstock? Then send one email to NSI. So, far NSI International has sent us the first part and we have requested the second at the time of writing this review. My ten year old is able to assemble the engine with just a little help. There are a couple of mistakes in the instructions. On step 18, follow the sequence A,B,C,D,E,F,G and H for the camshaft but don't try to match the orientation of the parts to the drawing. Instead, A & B, C & D, E & F and G & H will point in opposite directions. Also, on step #19, ignore the drawing showing that the camshaft parts have changed sequence in that step. This was confusing to my son.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not happy with this item. screw hole don't align
 from oregon,  Jan 1, 2012

not at all happy with this product. the crew alignment was off and the whole toy had gaps and didn't fit nicely together. never got it to work properly... most likely because of the alignment

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor quality in screw hole alignment, very difficult to build due to this
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fun plastic model tombuild
 from kenmore, washington,  May 18, 2013

detailed,realistic. Can see operating parts inside a 4 cylinder overhead cam engine.

  • How accurate was the sizing? DNA
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super cool for preteens
 from Florence Al,  Jan 8, 2013

I ordered this for my 11 year old grandson. He was so excited perfect gift!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
parts missing, poor quality brittle plastic-cheap
 from Redmond, Washington,  Dec 31, 2011

Camshaft pieces were missing. I had all 8, but instead of all being different I had a mismatch of 4 of the same, 2 of the same ect. Many pieces already had cracks out of the box and while installing screws usually cracked and not from over tightening, like half way in they would crack. Pieces were badly molded and featured a lot of parts needing deburring before they could be assembled, Instruction illustrations were very poor and incomplete leading to confusion on many steps and having to look at all the other steps to see proper orientation. Several times these were even inconsistent. My daughter got frustrated with this and rightfully so. I'm a mechanic and I think it's garbage. Buy the visable V8 for another $10 it is a lot better made. Still waiting to hear about the missing cam pieces, probably be thrown away....beware.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. brittle plastic is cracked out of the box, half the screws cracked while installing at maybe 1/2 way in. Some parts had bad flashing left
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Missing parts
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
packaged like crap!
 from North Dakota,  Sep 13, 2011

I ordered this for a christmas present for my nephew. It came in the mail packaged in a regular old envelope with no padding. I opened it and the box was literally falling apart! I was no pleased. I'm hoping all of the pieces are there.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. unknown yet
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? unknown yet
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
motor works engine
 from Detroit, MI,  Dec 12, 2012

easy to order and shipped quickly price was fair and something my grandson had been asking for

  • How accurate was the sizing? toy
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Christmas gift
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Christmas gift
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Son and husband loved it
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jan 29, 2012

I purchased this as a gift for my son. Dad and son worked on it together and had a really good time. Dad got to explain the car engine without all the grease!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Model Engine is easy to build by an 11 yr old
 from tampa,  Dec 29, 2011

Great Christmas gift for my 11 yr old nephew. He enjoyed building it and learning how an engine works! Great educational gift.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't Bother
 from Helton, KY,  Nov 18, 2011

I had to return this model because there was a piece missing and Many of the pieces didn't fit together properly and some wouldn't go together at all.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For the Young Scientist
 May 8, 2016

Some creativity but mostly pre-assembled

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Engine
 Dec 30, 2015

Bought this for my step son and he loves it. Recommend all the Smithsonian learning toys.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Did not work
 Oct 4, 2015

My son worked so hard on it and did an amazing job. When he got done and we put batteries in it, nothing happened. Very disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Marie G
 Aug 22, 2015

My nephew loved it!!! This was a good gift, and somewhat challenging which was good:)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
my husband loved this for christmas
 Mar 23, 2015

great gift for all ages or yourself

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Choice!!!
 from LA, CA,  Jun 18, 2014

This toy is the bees knees, legs, and his arms! I would get them for my whole class as an activity if I were a Physical Science teacher!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very fun
 from Columbus, OH,  Jun 18, 2014

This toy was extremely fun to assemble with my son I think it taught him a few valuable lessons. It works great and it also looks really cool sitting on the dresser in his room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smithsonian Motor Works
 from Lewisville, Texas,  Jul 25, 2011

One of the best operating models that I have seen in a long time. Fit and finish were exceptional.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This product had excellent quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Grandpa fun!
 from Central Wisconsin,  Mar 17, 2011

As a grandparent I try to purchase gifts for my grandkids that are not only fun but also educational. This Smithsonian Model Engine fits that criteria to a tee. Affordable, nicely made and affords the kids an entertaining (EDUCATIONAL) experience interacting with their grampa.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Parts Missing
 from Mi\I,  Feb 17, 2011

It took me about 1.5 hours to assemble the kit. When assembling the camshaft, I found that I was shipped 2 of cam C and 0 of cam A. The importer has promised me a replacement part, but I've not seen it yet (2 weeks later). Also, the numbering on the spark plug wires was incorrect; but I know enough about engines to fix that problem. Other than that, an easy kit to assemble and it worked well for teaching a basic engine class.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought