Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

I built this dollhouse when I was 16. It is still standing 22 years later! It has been moved from house to house, and across Texas! I chose it because it had the most interesting floor plan and architectural details. Great stair case, L - shaped plan, bay windows, double doors and a turret! It was easy to build. The only thing I don't like about it is that it has acetate windows instead of working windows.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dollhouse disaster
 from Carson City, NV,  Aug 21, 2009

I purchased this dollhouse kit to build for my granddaughter. The boards were warped and required extra gluing and clamping. Many of the pieces needed to be cut out because the dies used did not penetrate the boards. The instructions were vague and at times hard to follow. Unless you have thetime and patience to deal with these factory flaws, I would not recommend this product. My husband and I take much greater pride in our workmanship that the manufacturers do.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice for a kid
 Dec 22, 2007

went together fairly well (i woodwork for a hobby, however, so perhaps went a little easier than for some). Glue gun was a must. Finish of kit as sold is not so nice (e.g., really need shingles at a min. to make outside look decent, rough finish of edges of pieces should really be filled for smooth appearance, set of nice windows and doors is another hundred bucks. Siding would cover up the last of the blemishes. This adds a lot of cost and time.) Definitely not "heirloom" quality as is. However, nice big house for low money(especially with free shipping) which if painted would make a nice house for a young child.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pierce Dollhouse
 from New York,  Sep 9, 2007

This product arrived well packaged and in a timely fashion. We have never built a doll house before and found the instructions a little confusing. The diagrams helped, but we still managed to build the staircase back to front and had to reorder two sheets. This process is excellent and the replacement sheets were very low priced and arrived quickly. Good service is provided by the manufacturers.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dollhouse kit
 from The Villages FL,  Jun 19, 2012

This was a time-consuming project for our grand-nieces Xmas present. They went bonkers when they received it on Christmas Eve. My husband and I enjoyed doing this together but it took us 2 months in our spare time. Decorating and painting it was the most fun for me. Take into account the size when it is time to deliver it. You need a van or truck. The look on the little girl's faces was PRICELESS.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Sizing was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality and less expensive than hobby stores.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Free of defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy shopper in Australia
 from Canberra, Australia,  Apr 5, 2011

After falling in love with the Greenleaf dollhouse designs, I have a very hard time tracking one to be sent to Australia down for a reasonable price. I stumbled across this website and couldn't believe that shipping was advertised at only $*** AU! To top it all off, the package arrived less than 1 week later. Everything is in order and in good condition (no tears or dents to the outer box). I have had a quick read through of the instructions and although they are very limited in the details given, I think I will be ok. Overall, I am REALLY happy with my purchase especially considering the bargain price that I paid for it! :D

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Design & Quality
 from St. Paul, MN,  Jan 8, 2011

The product design of this dollhouse has great potential. But there is a huge lack of instructional material, schematics, floor plans, and pictures. In regards to the quality - I had problems with quite a number of large and small pieces warping quite a bit if they were not used in a day or two after being punched out of the 1/8" plywood parts sheet. This is not a kit for a inexperienced beginner. It should get easier after you have assembled 2 or 3 of this same kit, because of the lack of instructions.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Instructions
 from Buffalo, NY,  Dec 6, 2010

Instructions are vague, there is a ton of sanding, and the quality of the wood is very poor. Be prepared to put in a lot of time and make sure you have a lot of space to put this house together. At times it became very frustrating due the lack of instructions. The quality of the wood is also an issue. When punching out the pieces, you have to be extremely careful not to break them. This process is also very time consuming. Then you have to sand them, this part takes the longest. Have a pair of tweezers next to you so you can pull out the all the slivers you are about to receive. Have fun and I hope you donít plan on having a kid play with this house due the fact it is very delicate (Very thin wood).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Pierce
 from Texas,  Sep 10, 2010

Received the doll house in a timely manner. It was packed well and the packaging in good shape. However, the wood in some places was warped, especially the foundation. It was almost like it had water damage. Punching out the pieces has been a hassle because they are not cut all the way through and break very easy. But we have worked through these problems and hope the finished product is one we can be proud of. I would like to add that working with Overstock.com has been a very pleasant experience.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Liked it
 from KS,  May 5, 2010

Bought this for my wife who had wanted a dollhouse. This was her first and proved to be fairly easy to put together however would recommend decorating prior to putting together as it was difficult to establish decor once put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great house!
 Nov 28, 2007

Its time consuming but that is to be expected. Anything done right takes time. Your imagination is the limit on this doll house. I was a little disappointed it didn't come with the shingles, but I found some and now its cool.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exactly what i expected
 from portland, oregon,  Feb 25, 2014

this is a nice kit. the wood is a bit dry and can be challenging when braking each piece out. It will take you a long time to put to getther but that is why i got it as a project i can do with my free time this is more of a show case house Im am not sure it would hold up to childs play.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too Complicated
 from oklahoma,  Dec 19, 2013

It's a big project that was not explained well in the advertisement. Now I have no great gift to give to my grand daughter and I have to try and sell it. Don't buy unless you have months and months to put this together. This is a difficult project. If you have the time then I am sure this would have been great but the description should have on it just how difficult and time consuming this products will be to put together.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I purchased the Garfield a few months ago
 from California,  Jul 31, 2013

I love the floor plan of these houses. would love to have a house of my own withe the same floor plan.Beyond the problem with the wood and poor instructions, I believe that the design of the house should include some screws, nails and bolts. Over time glue is going to break down, and the house is going to fall apart especially if children are playing with the house. Some of the pieces don't fit together well and have to be trimmed to do so. Even so, I loved putting this house together. I would like it better if the windows could be improve upon. I would like to have working windows, and doors. It is not sturdy enough for children to play with It is surely only for adults.

  • How accurate was the sizing? fairly accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I've put three houses together at this point, and have found that the quality of the wood is about the same no matter what company you try. They all have problems with slivers and all of the parts have problems removing them from the boards. I broke several pieces attempting to remove them from the boards. However, the company was very good about replacing those boards that were impossible to remove parts from. I believe that all companies need a wake-up call as to the quality of wood they use for their houses because not only does it make it difficult to work with, but children will be using these houses in many cases and they do not need to have a hand full of slivers. I did have fun putting this house together I am still not finished! Want to make draps, quilts, doiles etc...These kits are not for beginners. Some experience it helpful.The directions are awful. Needs more illustrations and less words as I didn't know what the names of some parts are. It would be helpful to see what the pasts looked like.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No, some pieces were impossible to remove from the boards. Wood is full of splinters
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
doll house
 from saginaw, michigan,  Nov 29, 2012

none at this time,it was fairly easy to assemble.painting took the most time and it should have came with paints.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice product
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect
 from maine,  Mar 30, 2012

everything was great, I am building it and it will be great

  • How accurate was the sizing? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loving my dollhouse
 from Louisville, KY,  Jan 26, 2010

I love this. I am not finished, but I am almost there. It has actually been very simple. It took two days after I had bought the dollhouse to receive it. When I got it I went through it that night and made sure I had all the pieces. It's not great wood, but it looks good with a stain on it. As the advice pamphlet said (read and reread this), I painted, wallpapered, and stained everything before I put it together. I have only stained and painted things when I have needed them so that I don't forget what pieces they are. Having a glue gun is very important for this and they're not that much. Labeling also helps, but make sure you write where it is going to get covered. I expect that it will take me a month 1/2 to two months to fully put this thing together. Make sure you buy any hinges, mailboxes, or other little things you want to attach to the house before you fully put it together. The key to this project is thinking it threw several times.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Challenging but worth it.
 from State College, PA,  Dec 23, 2009

I purchased this kit to build for my daughter for christmas. I admit i was nervous when i opened the box and saw all the pieces and the "warm up sheet" for the instructions. It was a challenge to do but I had a great time doing it. You need to be careful when removing the pieces from the sheets but as long as you are careful and follow the directions you will have fun putting this together. If you are not detail oreinted or get frustrated easily this is not a project you should undertake. Make sure you sand pieces well or you can have some splinter issues.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Pierce Dollhouse Kit
 from Amherst, NY,  Oct 5, 2009

The dollhouse came in 3 days from the time I ordered it. It has been a great project and our granddaughter can't wait to start decorating it. It takes time and patients to put it all together and anyone who thinks differently has never been involved with dollhousing before. It is a great house for the money. We only hope we can find a house of similar value when our second granddaughter is old enough.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dollhouse
 from Butte, Montana,  Apr 23, 2009

It takes time and patience. It is not for a novice. Parts are not easy to put together. I think the material quality could be better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
The Beacon Hill Dollhouse Kit
Today $158.30
Compare $252.98
Save 37%
(58)
Garfield Dollhouse Kit
Today $207.13
Compare $537.08
Save 61%
(37)
Six Room Dollhouse Kit
Today $36.99
Compare $46.53
Save 21%
(74)
The Westville Dollhouse Kit
Today $84.99
Compare $164.37
Save 48%
(4)
Back to top