Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 63 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Idea, But Limited Durability
 from Maryland,  Jul 17, 2009

This hitch cover is a great design. It is lightweight and easily fits over two bikes. I had no problem getting it on and getting the straps secured following the instructions. I even got it to cover three with the handlebars folded in line with the frames. In terms of basic function, it kept road dirt and most moisture off of the bikes, and to its credit, survived a five week, 8,500 road trip on the back of our motorhome with only a couple of duct tape patches.The downside is that the fabric is thin and with use gradually stretches out. While this helps to make it easy to cover the bikes, it's also a problem as the waterproofing appears to be sprayed onto the inside of the fabric. As the cover stretches, the waterproofing loses its integrity, so rain and roadspray can get in. In fact, on several occasions after driving in the rain, I found water pooled in the bottom of the cover. There are drain holes on the bottom, but these seemed to rarely align with the low point due to the straps.I think the key to longevity with this cover are two fold. First, only cover two bikes maximum to reduce any stretching. Second, don't cinch the straps down very tight for the same reason. If you're not headed out on a five week road trip, this should prove to be a useful, lightweight cover for a reasonable time period. Overstock.com had the lowest price on this item of the several that I checked in early June.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I used this product to cover 2 bicycle on the back of a 5th wheel trailer traveling from from Utah to Ohio and then the return trip back to Utah. It worked great, never ripped or leaked. The straps helped remove the bulk of the cover to fit around the odd shapes of the bikes. I admit, I was a little worried for the first few hundred miles wondering what I might find at the back of the trailer. Repeated inspection found no problems and we completed our trip with complete confidence in the product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hitch Bike Rack Cover
 from South Shore, MA,  Dec 11, 2010

For the money, this is an excellent buy. They are made by Swagman. I purchased one for each bike (3) as I am using them, with a little modification, on a 4 bike Thule platform hitch rack. My previous bag made by Adco, had a much larger zipper. The MSRP on the ADCO bag is more than 3 times the cost of this bag. The material seems the same. The picture shows two straps, but there are many more. I didn't count them, but a guess would be 5. If you have a pointed object, such as a brake handle sticking into the bag, put a cloth over the handle as it will wear through very quickly. The top corners should have been reinforced by the manufacturer. I am going to try and reinforce the corners with a iron on patch on the inside. If it doesn't stick, I will use a towel over the brake handle. Pull all the straps a tight as you can. These bags will see almost 4000 miles in the next few months.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hitch Bike Rack Cover
 from Delaware,  Aug 20, 2009

Excellent product, directions were a little difficult to understand at first, but after reading them several times, we finally figured out how to mount the cover over the bike rack to the bike hitch. In tighting up the traps that were attached to the cover, one of the clips broke on one side. The plastic snaps are not that durable, should be a little stronger.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman bike cover
 from Quebec, Canada,  Aug 12, 2009

Easy to install on rack supporting bikes by wheels. Zipper is very strong. Straps are not changeable that is a disadvantages.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike Cover
 from Seattle, WA,  Dec 16, 2009

I have a hitch mounted bike rack that supports two bikes in wheel trays. The cover was advertised to work for two bikes but did not. The zipper would not fully close so I had to tie the ends together with string as close as I could get it. The attached straps would not reach all the way around to the other ends so I used bungee cords to secure the cover for travel. When I reached our destination the cover had ripped through from the brake levers and other places. This cover might work with a rack where the bikes hang on the crossbars because the standup version uses extra space that was not accounted for in the design? I will use it one more time on the trip home and then trow it away. Not a great value for two uses.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman Hitch Bike Rack Cover
 from Winnipeg, MB,  Aug 23, 2011

The product needs to come with a SIZE, so that the customer can measure the length of their bike beforehand and not be disappointed like we are.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Learn from my mistake: there was no size (to my recollection) on the original ad; it did stipulate that the bike cover would cover two bikes. We have a Swagman bike rack for two bikes. When we tried to cover them with the bike rack cover, the cover was at least a foot too short. The situation being what it is, the bike cover is useless as we cannot zip it up to provide the protection against the elements, which is what we wanted it for.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems OK.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects found.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike Rack Cover Works for Us
 from USA,  Mar 29, 2011

This is the 2nd Swagman Hitch Bike Rack Cover we have had. We bought the first one from a different .com store at almost twice the price. It covered our bikes on the back of our motorhome for 2 years before finally giving up to sun exposure damage. When searching for a new one, I found one for sale on overstock.com and was skeptical about the product with the price quoted. I was pleased to find out the price was valid. This hitch bike rack cover fits over both our bikes on the hitch rack, but we have to turn it upside down to make it fit..the reason for 4 stars and not 5. When this one wears out, we will buy another.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman Bike Cover
 from Nevada,  Jul 30, 2010

After trying two other cheaper bike covers, I finally decided to spend the money on this cover. So far I am very happy with the quality and design. The fact that it covers the bike completely and has a zipper and several straps to securely hold the cover is a definite plus, since I use it on the back of my 5th wheel. I would recommend this cover to anyone

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works as promised
 from san francisco ca,  Jul 30, 2010

This product is great. Put the cover on my bikes on the back of the motorhome, fits perfectly. Works as advertised . Good quality. Used it to cover three bikes, a little snug in a few places, but it works!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard to fit
 from VA,  Apr 25, 2010

Instructions sketchy. No explanation what the various holes were for. Did not fit well over my RV center hitch bike rack made for 2 bikes. Covering only 1 bike in the rack, there was too much material on the bottom, not enough room for the bike handles on top. I was expecting a better fit, as it appears in the picture. Contacted the company with unsatisfactory explanation. Not sure where water was coming from but water collects at the bottom. Had to make additional drain holes at the bottom so water would drain out. When it wears out, at least I'll have a long zipper to use and design my own cover.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hitch Bike Cover
 from Webster, NY,  Feb 17, 2010

The cover fit very well over 2 bikes on the hitch. It is of nice quality with a strong zipper. The directions to use the cover need to be more step by step with supporting diagrams. The directions included were a bit confusing for first time users. After the cover was on the bikes it rained hard and water pooled inside the cover. There are weep holes at the bottom of the cover but apparently we did not position them correctly. Again, nothing in the diagram to suggest this.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product for the price
 from Montrose, CO,  Dec 6, 2009

The bike cover is perfect for 2 bikes - the only thing we had a problem with was how to match the straps, but we worked everything out. Terrific quality and looks very durable. Easy to store.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The hitch bike rack cover is pretty good since there are very few other covers out there. It fits two bikes easily. Not the most durable, but then we only have a small campervan and the cover extends past the sides of the van. I find that heavy duty tape works when holes are made in the material.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
product did well
 from Lansing, MI,  Apr 18, 2009

We drove with bikes on a hitch rack with the tarp for a total of 2000 miles. We went through several hard rains so the benefit was well worth the investiment. I would recommend several additional tie downs/bungy cords to keep the tarp from flapping at 70 mph. A good way to protect bikes if you often travel.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hitch Bike Rack Cover
 from Oklahoma,  Dec 3, 2008

I have had this cover for two weeks. We used it on a 540 mile trip and it did really well. I would suggest loosening and then repositioning the handlebars, so that they will be parallel with the bike frame. An allen wrench will do this trick . The bikes stayed clean, dry, and out of the weather.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike cover
 from NY,  Jun 16, 2008

The bike cover seems to be of good quality and plenty large enough for the two bIkes. My only complaint is that there are no directions as how to use it and fasten it. I have used it several times and still have not found an easy way to tie it down on the bikes. There are two holes in it for something but no idea what.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike Cover zipper bad
 from Saginaw, MI,  Feb 1, 2013

good material, too small for 2 bikes, and zipper bad - comes apartS

  • How accurate was the sizing? too small
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good except for zipper
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman Bike Cover
 from St Paul, Minnesota,  Jan 29, 2013

This cover appeared to be of excellent quality and design. Unfortunately, I couldn't get our ladies bike to mount on the two bike rack that we have. We have a three bike Saris platform rack, but the cover wouldn't fir around the rack. Because of the fit issue, I was not able to use the cover and therefore don't know how well it would have worked on the road.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Seemed very generous
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product was well made of a durable material
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for
 from Englewood, Fl,  Jan 17, 2013

Cover fits properly and is light weight which makes it easier to install. It is well made, has straps for securing, and looks good. Depending on your load, you may need to make adjustments for better travel which reduces or stops wind damage. I found it to be tight across the handle bar with two bikes. I will loosen the handle bar screw and move them parallel to keep them from sticking out and protect any sticking out tight sharp point. This will reduce wear on the cover. Also will put extra straps or ties on any area likely to flap in the wind. After using other type covers for many years it became a fact that ANY cover will be damaged after a certain length of time in the wind or rain with out secure adjusting to YOUR load. Use common sense and check your load when taking a break to make adjustments as needed. Most important check your cover after the first 10 to 20 miles at higher speeds like interstate travel to see how it is doing. Have extra rope or straps. From one who likes to travel far. I have not gone very far with this one yet, but will this summer of 2013.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well made and light weight
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 63 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top