Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good product for the price
 from San Antonio,  May 15, 2012

Product does job for intended purpose. Spring loaded capacity would improve overall functionality. With minor adjustments and securing, bikes stay in place. I also use straps to secure wheels and handle bars from swaying. I recommend using a bike rack with clamping or locking device to secure in place during transportation.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good construction
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome, easy to use
 from Duluth, MN,  Oct 20, 2011

I have never used a bike bar before but now my young family is starting to take bike trips so we bought two. These are so convenient, easy to use (my 8 year old puts her own on!) and makes it super-easy to put bikes on the rack. Would highly recommend.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Highest quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great tool for non standard frames, mens or womens
 from Mattapoisett, MA,  Jul 28, 2011

makes mounting different frame style bicycles to racks for transporting much easier

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
less price for 2 than other stores sell for one.
 from Los Angeles Ca,  Jul 19, 2011

This was a great solution to puting our girls beach cruisers onto our rack. A new rack would have cost us way too much.

  • How accurate was the sizing? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality, solved a big problem we had.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? one bolt a little tight at first but getting better, still awesome
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Didn't like it
 from PA,  Jun 27, 2011

I donít understand why everyone was so excited about this product. Yes, itís cheap but design is terrible. Itís very hard to attach it. And if you looking for this specific model you are not going to get it, I received 64005 models and its gray not yellow. Itís took forever to get it and I returned it.

  • Did the product fit true to size? No
  • How is the quality of the product? Ok
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value and quick delivery
 from Western Utah,  Feb 11, 2009

Very well built. The two pack was just what I needed as we have a women's mountain bike and an irregular frame men's mountain bike. Very quick turn around.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great buy for the money
 from Arlington TX,  Jun 25, 2008

Just got a bike to be able to ride with my son. I got all the gear: bikes, helmets, locks, rack for the car, not realizing that my girls bike and my son's smaller Y-frame bike would not fit easily on the rack. I surfed and saw the adapter bar on Overstock.com and couldn't pass it up at the 2 for the price of 1 at other places. The bar does what it's suppose to do, makes it easier to get the bikes on the rack. The bar is very stable and I don't worry at all about the stability of the bikes on the rack on the back of the car. The only thing that kept this from being a full 5 star rating is that the bar is two separate pieces that can come apart and there are some small pieces (the screws, bolts, and plastic sleeve for the bolts). In my world, this is a very small inconveniece and I would definitely recommend this adapter bar to anyone and everyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman bike bars
 from Washington,  Jun 18, 2008

Excellent price for these bars. It's basically buying 2 for the price of one. Works great for kids, womens' , or unisex bikes. Overstock did an excellent job of delivering it, fast. Only downfall, even if you have a locking bike rack, the bikes can still be taken off the bars, which the package mentions.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal
 from Plattsburgh, NY,  Jun 13, 2008

I would say this is the best bar adapter for bikes that is out there. It is not cheap plastic like some of the others out on the market.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike bars
 from Brandon, Fl,  May 5, 2008

Bought these adaptors to hook my bikes onto my bike carrier since they are all step thru's. Was skeptical at first because they were so much cheaper here. Bought them anyway and am extremely pleased with my purchase. Happy Cycling everyone. JCollins

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
adapter
 from Florida,  Mar 10, 2008

completely satisfied,the product is durable and easy to use

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not bad, but get it only if really necessary
 from Raleigh, NC,  Jan 16, 2008

The reason I bought this particular adaptor is because it was the only one I found out of all the similar products available that had a clasp that could be adjusted to angle away from the direction of the bar. This is important for the kind of bike I have (Electra Townie), because attaching the adaptor bar in the "standard" way, between the seat post and the handlebar post, does not change the angle of the bike on the rack very much - it still angles fairly steeply. The best way to do it is to connect the adaptor between the seat post and the top frame bar, which results in a much more horizontal alignment of the bike when it is sitting in the rack. Due to the rotating U-shaped clasp on one end, this bar is uniquely suited to give the best results for this bike. I have no serious issues with appearance, durability, or workmanship of this bar, and it was a great value, but the downside is something that the star ratings don't mention: ease of use. This adaptor bar is NOT easy to use compared to other bars I've owned. The problem is that the design itself is not very practical. To attach it, first you have to disassemble it completely by removing the bolt, bolt cover, and nut on one side, and the clasp hinge and hinge cover on the other side, which makes the clasp come apart. Now you have a handful of parts, each of which could potentially be lost. Then you have to reassemble it around the bike. This takes more time and care than should be needed. Also the bar consists of two interlocking tubes that slide together. This allows the bar length to be adjustable, but these tubes are not attached in any way and can slide apart, creating another thing to watch out for during the attachment process. Why they would allow this I don't know. The bottom line is, if you need a bar to connect between the seat post and the top frame bar, this may be the best choice (it may be the only choice, depending on the angle of your frame bar). If not, I'd recommend the Saris bar instead, which is all one piece and very easy to use (I'm sure there are other good ones too).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman womens bike adapter
 from Calhoun, Ga,  Sep 25, 2007

If your upper bike frame is not horizonal, womens or mens, this is a must if you plan to haul on a conventional bike rack. This adapter is very well made and is rubber coated on the ends to protect the finish on the bike. Don't be fooled by the item description. Its for both mens or womens bikes.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Women's Bike Bar by Swagman
 from Northern Michigan,  Aug 27, 2007

This is the only women's bike bar that I have found that will fit the car rack that I use. It is versatile and can be configured in several ways to allow a lady's bike frame to sit level on the bike rack. I have tried several other brands of racks, and this is the one that works best for me. I now have three of them so that I can accommodate my friends' bikes, too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
women's bar adaptor
 from Californi,  Aug 12, 2007

I got 2 bar adaptors for my bikes for less than I would have paid for one anywhere else. They came quickly, work perfectly and are well made.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bar Adaptors
 from Wareham, MA,  Jul 15, 2007

These bars seem to be well made but they didn't work for me. I tried using it on a Specialized Crossroads bike and the way the bar had to be mounted didn't allow for convenient placement of the bike on the rack. I didn't want to attach it to the seat post because the weight of the bike might cause the seat to pull out. I attached it to the frame below the seat which made it difficult to hang on the rack with another bike because of the sharp angle of the bike.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike rack adapter
 Jul 9, 2007

I got the parts very quickly and they work just great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Swagman 4 Bike NonFolding Bike Rack 2-inch
Add to cart to see special price
(12)
Mighty Rack 2-bike Bumper Mount
Today $58.99
Compare $113.57
Save 48%
(7)
Back to top