For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from New York City Suburb,  Feb 15, 2011

Well made, sturdy and able to handle four bicycles without concern of product failure. The tilt feature is great since I use the hitch on my F-150 Supercrew without obstructing access to the tailgate. I did add some some additional scratch resistant tape to the mounting points considering the kids are not as careful when loading and unloading the bikes.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but could use a little work.
 from Appleton, WI,  Jun 11, 2014

We've only had a chance to use the bike rack once, and it worked well. The only issue I found was the design where the ball is to be fastened to the receiver tube. The receiver tube is cut at an angle and you can't get a wrench or socket in there to torque the nut on the ball as required. When I contacted Swagman about this issue I was not impressed with their solution, "Jam a screwdriver inbetween the nut and the tube and tighten the ballside." Not exactly the best way, how can you properly torque the ballside?? My solution was to remove a very small (approximately 1/8"-1/4") of the metal from the bottom side with a grinder to be able to slide a socket on the nut. Then repaint the bare metal to protect against future corrosion.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This rack was a disaster
 from Leesburg, FL,  Jul 16, 2012

This rack was sold to us by a trailer place and mounted to a hitch on the back of trailer. Three out of four bikes did not fit. Bought adapters so women's bike would fit. the bike were properly mounted as per directions, yet the moved wildly on the hitch. The pin in the receiver can not be adjusted. other nuts loosened and could not be tightened. We were pulled over by the police, because they thought there was a safety issue. The bike closest to the hitch bent the hitch and fell out, thankfully it was chained to next bike. the bike and trailer were scatted in this incident. On cross country trip, bought a different brand and style from Walmart, ***, wheel tie down. working very well.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Did not perform
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? not as used
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman 4-bike towing bike rack is easy to use
 from Toms River, NJ,  Dec 27, 2011

This towing bike rack is sturdy yet light enough that I ( a 50 year old female) can easily handle.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Bike rack is sturdy but not very heavy to lift
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bikes Didn't Fit
 from Sherwood, OR,  Aug 29, 2011

I ordered this bike rack and couldn't wait to receive. We attempted to put 4 bikes on rack however it wasn't going to happen. 3 of the bikes were considered over-size frames so the rack wouldn't close. It is better suited to slender frames with maybe 1 oversize.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Bad
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bike rack
 from Maine,  Jun 28, 2009

I bought this to use on my Jeep Liberty which has a rear spare tire. I bought an extension so that I could use the bike rack. I wanted to be able to tow my camper behind the bikes. You can not, so this is not the product I thought it was. I don't like the fact that it doesn't have a lock or the fact that the top plate that holds the bikes in place has three knobs that must all be screwed down to hold all the bikes in place so when you unscrew this all the bikes are loose at once. I also had to purchase cross bars to put on my womens bikes. It does hold four bikes however and the quality is good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good price, great quality
 from chicago,  Jun 27, 2009

I just used this carrier on a 2,200 mile round trip drive and it worked very well. I had it loaded with 3 full size mountain bikes(one also had a kid's seat mounted to it) and a 20" bike, so safe to say it was fully loaded. I used this with a 2" hitch on a 2wd ford explorer.Mounting and removing the bikes was very easy, and bikes did not move around much once fastened in. The hardware and carrier itself were good quality and heavy duty enough.I did not have occasion to use the tilt feature, so I can't comment on how that works.Nice that you can still tow a trailer with this set up also.All around good carrier.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value!
 from Minnesota,  May 11, 2009

I was so thrilled to receive the bike rack in the mail. The assembly was easy (note: I'm a female) and I can't wait to hit the trails with my bike. The rack fit great on my Honda Pilot. When I searched for prices online this rack sells for up to $155 (on sale) to $233. Great buy! Thanks Big O.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mighty 4 bike rack
 from full time RV out of Sioux Falls, S.D.,  Nov 20, 2008

very well built. heavy duty, quality craftsmanship. this bike rack is so much better than any I have used in the past.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bike rack
 from Bay area California,  Oct 20, 2008

The only thing i dont like to much is that i have to screw or unscrew all three screws at the same time on the plate that secure the bicycles. all the rest looks pretty good for the price i paid.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would recommend
 from Indiana,  Oct 6, 2008

This particular bike rack is very heavy and built well. It is easy to install and held our bikes for over 1700 miles for our last trip. The only problem I found was that the rack doesn't lock into the hitch. The clamp that holds the bikes on can be locked with a pad lock or something you have personally. But the whole apparatus could be removed very easily by removing a cotter pin and slipping it out. They do offer accessories for additional purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Value and Surprise
 from Los Angeles,  Aug 28, 2008

A very important note is that the picture in the Overstock page for this product (Mighty 4 Bike Towing Rack) DOES NOT accurately reflect the actual product I received (but this is not a bad thing). I received a Swagman bike rack that is formally called "Swagman Fold Down Towing Rack 4-Bike Hitch Mount Rack (2-Inch Receiver, ASIN: B00009YUK5." Despite the mislabeling of the product, I was pleasantly surprised and happy to receive the Swagman rack because this particular Swagman model is being sold by some retailers for as much as $300! The Swagman rack is solidly made, it comes with a lock, and a hitch extension that will give owners the option to hitch a trailer behind the rack. The other benefit of my Swagman rack is that it allows me to swivel the rack downward to allow my overhead trunk door to open unobstructed (I drive a Chrysler Pacifica). Although you will not be getting a "Mighty Max rack," (unless Overstock corrects the mistake) the fact that you will get the top-of-the-line Swagman rack (with hitch extension and swivel for about $120) more than makes up for the mistaken identity! Now, if you do not get a Swagman (ASIN: B00009YUK5) or a Mighty Max rack that matches the picture, then I'd be calling Overstock to complain about receiving the wrong product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and simple - but don't forget the wiring!
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Jun 19, 2008

A sturdy, simple product and a good value. However a last-minute afterthought was my realization that with the extra length of the hitch, I needed to extend our trailer's wiring and safety chains in order to hook it up properly. While this was a relatively simple task, I hadn't thought of it until the last minute. If I'd been offered a short "extension cord" and some short lengths of chain, I would have purchased them at the same time I bought the rack.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike Rack
 from Washington, WA,  Jun 17, 2008

The bike rack looks to be well made and was easily assembled. Four bikes fit on it easily however ensure your bikes have an easy access to the main bar. Some kids bikes will not fit easily on the rack. Good bike rack though, at least now when I replace my children's bikes I know what to get.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bike rack
 from coopersburg, pa,  May 28, 2008

The rack was shipped right away & I tested it out over the weekend & it worked fine. I haven't tested the towing portion yet. The only complaint was that it did not tell me that the hitch ball was not included & it is a specialty size that most stores do not carry. I did find it on-line & ordered that with-in a few days. It might of said that in the product info I do not remember, but they should make special note about the size needed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just as Advertised
 from Maryland,  Apr 6, 2008

Rack arrived within days of ordering. Pleasantly surprised that this model had the swing down hinge, theoretically allowing the user to open a rear lift gate with the rack still in the receiver. This rack is heavily constructed and will handle a fairly thick cross tube. Beware when purchasing this type of bike rack that some mountain and BMX-style bikes don't have a cross tube. If that's the case, consider a model that supports the wheels. Also, while the rack is the correct size for a two inch hitch receiver, it's not a snug fit...if you want it to be quiet going over bumps, consider the optional hitch stabilizer from the manufacturer. This was our first Overstock.com purchase -- very good value for the money, great product and fast delivery.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Might bike rack
 from Denver, CO,  Mar 20, 2008

We love our new Mighty bike rack, we can take all of bikes plus tow are trailor with no problems.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Grat product / Great price
 from Keller, Texas,  Feb 18, 2008

I am very pleased with the quality and sturdiness of the bike rack. Angle at which it pivots is perfect for allowing the rear hatch on my durango to open. Only upgrade I did was to purchase the locking bike knobs (2). Great for hauling family's bikes on quick and long trips.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4 place bike rack
 from Bloomington,MN,  Dec 25, 2007

I have not found one cheaper than this one! Looks and works great. Very fast shipping! A++++++++++++++

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top