Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 87 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

My initial experience with the Sunny Pro was pretty much the same as described in previous reviews: delivery within a week, cumbersome packaging, easy set up (about 30 minutes) and so on. I have a set of clip-in pedals already so I wasn't disappointed with the pedals (and, for the record, the strap-pedals are probably suitable for many riders). So things looked ready to go . . . And then I tried riding the bike and encountered a serious problem. Whenever I tried to increase the resistance to even a mildly strenuous level the flywheel squealed terribly; worse yet, even when I tried to continue pedaling over the noise, it would simply lock up. I think this is because the bike uses cantilevers and pads with dense fabric instead of magnetic resistance. In other words, when one turns the resistance knob the pads press against the flywheel, sort of like brake pads on a bike. I believe that the friction between the flywheel caused both the squealing and vibration that caused the resistance knob to rattle, thereby tightening the pads inadvertently. Needless to say, this was a source of great frustration and I tried all sorts of adjustments to the resistance knob, the cantilevers, and so on with no luck. I was VERY disappointed by the bike because I thought it was basically going to end up as a very expensive clothes horse. But I finally decided to try smearing each side of the rim of the flywheel with lubricant to reduce friction, not knowing what effect it would have on the material that covers the resistance pads. Long story short, this seems to have done the trick and now the bike works beautifully. I'm pretty active---mountain biking, in-line skating, martial arts---and it looks like the Sunny Pro will provide strenuous indoor workouts for a long time to come. I really do think it's on par with much more expensive machines. Time will tell. For now, though, I?m giving it four stars because of the frustration I experienced initially. The solution I came upon may seem pretty obvious but it wasn?t included in the directions or in other posts so I thought I would share it. It?s made the bike functional instead of completely useless.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great IF you meet the minimum height requirement
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  May 2, 2011

This bike is great except for one VERY VERY IMPORTANT detail: You need to be at least 5'2" (maybe even 5'3" or 5'4"). I am 5'2" and it cannot be adjusted properly for this height. It is actually a great piece of equipment according to my 5'11" husband and many other reviewers. I just wish I had seen the "not for short people" review before I purchased it. I hope any short people considering this bike see our reviews and DO NOT BUY. I have given the lowest rating to help alert readers to this issue. Having said all that, I would recommend this bike to any of my taller friends.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Bike
 from Massachusetts,  Jan 6, 2010

Bought this bike several weeks ago. It is very durable. After doing some research, I selected this bike because of the weight of the wheel - it is heavier than most and therefore a more durable and smooth. A word of caution though, this is a bare-bones bike. There are no bells and whistles. No cup holder, no computer, no mileage counter, no auto programs. This did not deter me from the purchase because I wanted a spin bike that was designed for durability. I put the bike together myself. It was very easy and the company supplied the necessary tools. The seat is a little uncomfortable and does take some getting used to.In short, I recommend the product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You get what you pay for
 from Arlington, VA,  Dec 3, 2009

The Sunny Pro is value for what it is. It's easy to assemble. In fact removing it from the box and wrapping takes longer than assembling it! I've used many spin cycles and I think the quality feel of it ranks about average. The seat is not too comfortable but I don't mind that as it's good conditioning for the even less cushioned seat on my road bike. It's really odd that there is no place attach a water bottle on it. It's annoying that the underside of the pedals do not accommodate clip-ins. When I apply tension to the fly wheel it grinds a bit more than I'd like. It'll do the job but if you area serious spinner then you might want to think about spending a bit more and getting a better quality machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from CT,  Jun 7, 2010

I am so impressed with my purchase. I was dubious, read all the reviews, and still nervous about what to expect - spinning bikes are normally incredulously expensive, and this one seemed incredulously cheap. I have now owned my bike for 3months, and I love it (on it 3times/week). It not only rivals spinning bikes found in a gym, but it is pretty cool looking too - I kept it in my living room for the first month to ensure I would motivate myself to get on it, and I loved seeing the silver and red every day! It does squeak pretty loudly on higher tension settings, but I even like that because it reminds me how hard I'm working out. I love this ride. Just wish it came with a motivation computer chip I can implant into my brain :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bike!
 from Michigan,  Nov 21, 2009

It is definitely comparable to the ones at my former gym that I'm pretty sure cost twice as much. Resistance levels are good, as is the adjustable seat. Very sturdy, excellent workout! I took the advice from some other reviewers and bought a gel seat cover to make riding more comfy. Glad I saw the bike on this site before I blew $500+ elsewhere.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SERIOUSLY GOOD DEAL
 from LOS ANGELES,  Nov 28, 2012

I am a 40 yr old female, at 5'3" and weigh 121 to help with perspective on the bike. I spin about 3-4 times a week and also take spinning classes at the gym. I was looking at several makes and models from various price ranges, but kept coming back to this bike because of the outstanding reviews on so many sites. The shipping was lighting fast-3 days for me. I put this bike together MYSELF. It took me about 45 minutes (some of it just trying to get the heavy items out of the box). This bike is so stable, and really well built. I was seriously impressed. For the ride: I think that even with "no resistance"-my bike still has a good amount of "hill" built in-but it doesn't bother me, makes me work harder. I do think this may vary from bike to bike just due to tension. I can easily ride standing on this bike and just love the workout that I'm getting from it. Some have complained that they pedals are not "click in"-but really, at this price? Who would reasonably expect it. Now, I wouldn't mind paying a bit more for that added feature-but truth be told-the cages they have are pretty darn good and adequate for my needs. Some have complained that the seat is too hard or uncomfortable-I could see that the first time or two I rode-but I easily adapted to it and have had no further issues. I've been riding this bike over a month now- several times a week, and it's just still as strong and solid as the day I put it together. I would HIGHLY recommend this to someone who is looking for quality on a budget.

  • How accurate was the sizing? VERY
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. INCREDIBLE
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? NONE
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bike
 from Philadelphia,PA,  Apr 26, 2012

The quality of the bike is great and very similar to gym bikes. It's sturdy and looks really good setup in my living room. Received many great comments on it. Definitely worth the purchase.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Damn now Ill have to get in shape ;-)
 from Sonora, Calif,  Jan 9, 2012

great, heavyduty. Im 6'4" @ 290lbs (for now) and I feel no creaking,rattling and spinns very sturdy.Id say this bike easy compairs with "gym" bikes costing twice as much.Super easy to assemble.Tkaes longer to unpack than put together, total time from unboxing to riding approx 35 minutes.All parts , tools included

  • How accurate was the sizing? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality, a deal at twice the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sunny Pro Bike is OK
 from Seattle,  Jul 14, 2011

Bike has the previously mentioned wobbly handle bars. Not a deal breaker. Chain appears to be mal-adjusted out of the box: some chain slap on the chain guard is noticeable under heavy use. All in all, a fair deal.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bike
 from Los Angeles CA,  Jul 1, 2011

I love it!! looks perfect feels good!! i can feel the burning sensation on my legs

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent!!!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike constantly makes clicking sound
 from Nashville, TN,  Jun 26, 2011

This spin bike would be great if they would of designed the area where the chain is differently. I can not even ride this bike because the whole time the chain hits the side and makes this awful noise. I am in the process of buying a saw just so I can cut off the piece that the chain keeps hitting. The noise is so excruciating. The other problem with the bike is when you ride the pedals they do not move in a smooth rotation. I added some WD40 which helped a bit, but not completely. I would not recommend this bike unless you and your neighbors do not mind constantly hearing a clicking sound when you try to ride the spinning bike.

  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? It's not a bad quality it just makes so much noise when you try to ride it.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? When it was shipped to me the box was opened and smashed a bit
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love, love, love my bike
 from Little Rock, AR,  May 9, 2011

I researched several different bikes before deciding on the Sunny Pro. I was very apprehensive about assembling the bike but, it was easy I was on and riding in about 30 minutes. The bike is sturdy and I love how quiet the bike rides. I am so glad I found this bike.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bike
 from Baltimore, Md.,  May 8, 2011

Excellent product for the money. Easy to put together. Just as good as the bikes in the health clubs. I would purchase again. Sorry it took me so long to purchase it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good trainer
 from Arlington, TN,  Feb 20, 2011

Fast delivery. Easy assembly. I have not experienced the squeaking flywheel when I increase resistance like a few other reviewers. It's actually really quiet. Good size. Great colors. Overall good purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic!
 from Texas,  Oct 26, 2010

After being an avid runner for 10+ years injury forced me to look into alternatives. I needed a piece of equipment that would give me a workout that was just as strenuous as my nightly 10k runs. After about a month of research, the Sunny Indoor cycling bike is it! What a workout! Don't waste your money on a more expensive model. This is truly professional gym quality! Very well built, it seems like it should cost a lot more! Super solid construction, easy to assemble, very quiet operation. I've been doing 15 miles nightly for the past 3 weeks without a single problem. It doesn't have any bells or whistles, but all that isn't necessary for a good workout anyway. I did add some modifications, though. I bought a little cheapie bike computer to keep track of speed , time and distance (it had to be rigged to get it to mount properly, but no biggie) and a larger padded saddle. The factory issue seat is horrible. With the inexpensive modifications, I think I have the perfect alternative to running!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
training bike
 from Kansas City,MO,  Dec 2, 2009

I read previous reviews for this bike before I bought it and decided to go for it. I am more of a runner than a cyclist, but during the cold,snowy/icy weather, I like to stay active. It is also a great bike to train with because I plan on doing rides this coming up year. Overall, this bike is great to train in & fun! I put the bike together by myself fairly quickly. One of the threads for the screws was a little challenging bc the threading didn't start at the top to get the screw in. There was no manufacturer phone number to call to try & exchange a part. I decided to keep it anyway. It has held up so far without problems. The bike is pretty quiet too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good bike but some issues
 from Iowa,  May 31, 2009

Mechanically, this is a good bike. However, some of the parts did not fit well during assembly. For example, the handlebars are supposed to adjust up and down. The fit was so tight that I had to hammer one piece into another and currently, the handlebars do not adjust. Maybe they will once the bike has been used more. Also, the paint job on the bike was of poor quality in a couple of places. It was like the primer had been put on but spots got missed with the final coat. Even with those issues, I would recommend this bike for someone wanting to have a gym quality bike in their home. The front wheels make it relatively easy to move from room to room. The bike is heavy! Moving the carton around for assembly purposes was a challenge.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sunny Pro cycling bike
 from Houston, TX,  Jun 12, 2014

I found this product to be simply great, not only for the price but also its durability and its very easy to assemble. I literally put it together in about 20 minutes - and I'm not a handyman! I really like the weight of the wheel and how easy you can increase resistance. For an indoor training cycle, its quiet, strong and totally serves its purpose for our needs. I highly recommend it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Superb
 from Houston, TX,  May 18, 2014

I've had it for two weeks. Easy to assemble. I cannot justify spending more money on any of the other brands. It serves its purposes with flying colors. I frankly cannot tell the difference between this Sunny pro bike and the "professional" ones at my local gym. Great buy!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 87 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Sunny SF-B904 Indoor Cycling Bike
Today $247.92
Compare $580.60
Save 57%
(15)
Sunny Health Fitness Indoor Cycling Bike
Today $288.99
Compare $319.99
Save 10%
(2)
Back to top