Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Product and a Great Value
 from New Orleans, LA,  Sep 13, 2006

This furniture kit was extremely easy to assemble, even for a beginner such as myself. The pieces look very nice once assembled and painted, and the beauty of a kit like this is that you can customize your furniture by painting it any combination of colors you like. There is ample furniture for even the largest dollhouse - I will be able to furnish two small houses with this one furniture kit. The people who have reviewed this product negatively clearly did NO research whatsoever before purchasing. This is a KIT, not a toy - it is meant to be assembled and painted or stained. If you're looking for ready-to-use furniture, this is not the product for you. If you are looking for a fun, easy, and inexpensive dollhouse furniture kit, you won't find a better one than this.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy and Enjoyable
 from Petersburg,VA,  May 12, 2006

To the person who wrote the negative review, this product is to be used by a beginner miniaturist. Usually instructions are found on the back of the picture in front of the wooden furniture package. The cutting procudures are simple and does not require any power tools. Most miniature projects usually require a number of tools and supplies. All that is needed for this project is a razor blade, sand paper, paint stain and scrap material. It be can be completed in a couple of hours excluding drying time. This project would be very simple for anyone who has ever built just one piece of miniature furniture. I am legally blind with very limited vision. I would love to complete this project and plan to purchase it soon. My advise is to read and re read the instructions until you understand them, before starting any miniature project. this pattern and plan too purchase very shortly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall, poor item
 from Massachusetts,  Nov 29, 2010

Overstock was extremely prompt with sending out the item, and will surely use them again. Please note most of the 5 star reviews are those who only received the item, not ones that took the time to put together and then write the review. I am the latter. TOOLS REQUIRED: X-ACTO KNIFE, FINE SANDPAPER, WOOD GLUE, EXTREME PATIENCE The main problem is with the item itself. The wood seems to be 1/8" plywood, which is sturdy enough, but splinters far too easily even with a sharp X-acto knife. The item also is not a slide and glue item (where you slide the piece into a groove), for the couch alone you need to glue the legs directly onto the seat and hope they are even and parallel, then everything onto the top of the seat and hope the legs hold. There is only a text based instruction guide (ie: Glue legs to seat), not something like you would expect like a model instruction guide. Regardless, you should be able to figure where things go as they do have an illustration of the pieces themselves and what they go to. If you are looking for something fairly easy to put together so your child will enjoy this, look elsewhere or spend the extra money for pre-constructed furniture and save yourself the hassle, and possibly the money for not finishing it. If you are adept in manufacturing, enjoy challenges and have extreme patience in putting this together, then for the price you cannot beat it. This kit will take SEVERAL hours to complete.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for the faint of heart
 from Southern Wisconsin,  Jan 2, 2008

Having read the reviews AFTER I ordered the item, I was anticipating it's arrival with some trepidation. However, I found the pieces easy to punch out, resulting in very little splintering. Other than that, you need to have a lot of patience....to the point where making this furniture takes on the qualities of a therapeutic experience. I am making it for little girls to play with so I added 'backs' to things, like the stove & fridge to make them a little more sturdy. If you have never worked with bare wood before, remember that you need to sand, finish and then sand again to get a smooth surface. And you have to use super glue, so buy some gloves! I glued my fingers together. :-) Finally, it's not something you will complete in a weekend, so plan ahead. I got some major pieces done in time for Christmas. The remainder will be an ongoing project~I plan to let the girls decide what I should put together next and to let them do the painting.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from midwest,  Jan 30, 2006

Be sure to read the description carefully, this is a good value but ALOT of work

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Iron Mountain, MI USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I was pleased with the amount of furniture we got for the price paid. All of the pieces needed to be assembled, stained and painted. They seem sturdy though and were easy to put together (for the most part). The kids were disappointed that none of the drawers open. Overall we're very pleased.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from Saginaw, Michigan,  Apr 26, 2012

The furniture is very cute. They look like something out of a real country home. I bought these for my grand-daughter and she was so happy. They have such great details for each room. They actually look like something you could put in a model home. The wood even has different color like they used a different type of wood to make each one. I was surprised to see how it looked once it was put together. I am very glad I decided to order it. I am very satisfied with the product and plan to order more often in the future.

  • How accurate was the sizing? they were a little bigger than I thought they would be, but they are very nice.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality is great. they look like they have been cut to fit. I thought they were all very cut and detailed.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Wood weight is important in this product since it is so small scale. Because of the light weight of product, I found it necessary to have hot glue inlieu of the super glue & wood glue recommended in instructions.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Sizing is good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is as expected
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as appears
 from New Hartford, NY,  Dec 3, 2009

This product not very well described --- The quality is extremely poor I would never suggest anyone look at this product. You are much better off buying made furniture as this furniture would not last a day of playing with if used by a child. Please note I did not realize this item is non returnable if I had I would never have purchased it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Six Room Dollhouse furniture kit
 from Nebraska,  Feb 12, 2009

Very flimsy material. Could not get pieces to stick together. Couldn't even finish one room. Not for play, a child would break the furniture the first time used. I gave up putting it together. My husband and I spent a whole afternoon trying to put one room together and finally gave up. A waste of money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from RI,  Jan 30, 2006

This was a piece (or a lot of pieces) of garbage. It states that some assembly is required. It's more than some assembly. You recieve sheets of cheap wood (if you can call it wood )with the pieces of furniture pre-cut into the wood. You have to pop out the pieces and then glue them ALL. There are hundreds of pieces. And and the fabric pieces shown on the display picture are not included. I ordered this two weeks before x-mas for my kids dollhouse. It would have taken me until next x-mas to put it together. Don't waste your money on this unless you intend to get into a huge art project.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ok furniture
 from portage mi,  Jan 13, 2013

furniture was just as it said but assembly was hard and doesnt stay together very well.. made of very thin wood

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not very good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too many pieces for a 3 room doll house
 from Boaz, Alabama,  Jan 9, 2013

Check the amount of rooms in your doll house before purchasing!!!! Our house only had 3 rooms, so we wound up with more furniture than rooms to put it in. Also,had to trim many pieces because the back sides would splinter. Believe we will build our own furniture next time .

  • How accurate was the sizing? Random- had to trim many pieces due to incomplete cuts
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair- material not completely cut threw
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Had to trim and reshape due to incomplete cut
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
doll house furniture kit
 from AR,  Jan 4, 2012

this kit is not for beginners. I truly enjoyed putting all the pieces together, but I'm an arts and crafts person. This was right up my alley. Can't believe how many pieces were made for each room. It is more than enough furniture for a 6 room doll house.. Painting and upholstering the chairs was fun too. I love the grand piano. Really added class to the whole set. Could make the directions a little more clear. Had to do a little guessing. :o)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wont stay together
 from Casper, Wyoming,  Dec 28, 2011

I didnt realize they came in a flat box that you had to break the pieces apart then glue together or I wouldnt have bought them. None of the pieces are still together and she has played with them very gently. I would only purchase these if they go into a dollhouse that is for display and not to play with.

  • How accurate was the sizing? ??
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was not what I expected and the pieces will not stay together
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? ??
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not even remotely impressed
 from Southern CA,  Dec 12, 2011

Terrible quality wood. There is no way this furniture looks as good as the picture, no matter how much time you spend on it. I suppose if someone spent all their free time working on it (sanding a LOT, staining, painting, dressing it up) they might make it look halfway decent, but the wood is cheap, thin plywood that breaks easily and splinters, not exactly a good quality for children of any age. This furniture might look OK in a house that isn't going to be used at all, but only put on display. From a viewpoint of a child, there is no way she could reasonably play with this furniture since most of it is too small to fit any dolls that are sold. You'd need to find a doll that was an inch or two tall to make most of the pieces accomodate them. Completely not worth all the work involved to get it to look nice.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Not very accurate, misleading info
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not good quality wood.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Firstly, this is a kit. What you get is two sheets of fairly nasty plywood per "room" that is die-cut so you can press it out and assemble it. However, the die that they are using to cut the wood must be old or blunt or something because the wood is badly splintered and not cut all the way through in many cases. So you end up having to do a lot of cutting and sanding and filling just to get the pieces so you can assemble them. Since everything is made of flat pieces, the result is never going to look really good for things like chair legs - although the various cabinets aren't too bad. Also, nothing is painted or stained - and the wood color is different in each pack - some dark some light - they don't match the color of the wood in the pictures at all. So expect to have to paint or stain everything. Next, you don't get any fabrics - so no bedclothes or cushions as in the pictures - this is a very bad thing. False advertising really. I was deeply disappointed. Also, you don't get everything that's in the pictures - no little plants, no jugs or plates or small decorative items - JUST the furniture pieces. Overall, I was very disappointed. I expected a kit - but not something as poor as this. Twelve sheets of poorly stamped, poor-quality plywood for this price is just not good enough. It's a shame because Greenleaf stuff is usually pretty good and this is just shoddy.

  • How accurate was the sizing? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Not really.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Connecticut,  Jan 30, 2006

Should have stated in large print that you need to assemble the furniture using a knife, sandpaper, glue, and paint. I was shopping very quickly and didn't realize it didn't come put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kit was cheaply made and a lot of work
 from Austin Texas,  Mar 24, 2014

This kit took hours to assemble, it's basically stamped sheets of plywood that you have to cut out with an exacto knife, sand and glue together. I regret having bought it.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Takes time
 from somewhere, OR,  Mar 17, 2014

So with this dollhouse furniture, you're not getting "The House of Furnitures" brand quality but after each piece is painted, it looks very nice and worth the $** Overstock is selling it for.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
The Beacon Hill Dollhouse Kit
Today $156.99
Compare $252.98
Save 38%
(60)
KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse
Today $137.99
Compare $303.51
Save 55%
Garfield Dollhouse Kit
Today $196.99
Compare $537.08
Save 63%
(37)
Back to top