Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Depressingly Pathetic
 from Austin, TX,  Dec 27, 2008

The manual is shoddy, the unit feels like it's going to fall apart, all knobs and tabs feel like they're going to break. The software on the included CD looks like it's from 1998. The unit isn't recognized as an external drive when plugged in, but rather you have to go through the included "software" to download pictures to your computer. After downloading the pictures to your computer however you'll find that the pictures are only the top-left corner of your visible area! And it's probably about 1/2 of what you see or so. This means if you are taking a picture of something that's centered in your vision, the picture taken ends up either chopping the subject in half, or omitting it altogether. The little 2-character LCD screen is confusing and its messages are cryptic. Taking an image in a low light situation will result in a completely BLACK picture. The unit must be kept completely still in order to have a picture that's sharp. I found that I could NOT get a sharp picture from a standing position at all, even when trying very hard to remain still.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The directions were really hard to follow. I was never able to figure it out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sharper Image 10x25 Digital UV Binoculars/ Camera
 from Orange County CA,  Jan 2, 2014

I had several Sharper Image camera binoculars but no longer work because their drivers don't work for Windows 7. Saw these for a good price so thought I'd try them. Yes the manual is not so good and print so small it's hard to read, and yes the display gives you cryptic two letter codes, and when I tried the compression setting nothing works, and the pictures don't show exactly what you see in the view finder, but the picture quality is pretty good for VGA if you keep them still on a tripod or even monopod. Found the new drivers for my old camera's online so I'm happy and for the price, these are ok. Holds 20 pictures and no SD card slot and it does not act like a drive so you do need to use the driver. Kids would love these and inexpensive to take into the woods. Do need a compatible computer to show the pictures.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Upclose
 from MA,  Jan 19, 2012

These seem to be adequate for some field viewing. They tend to need refocusing often, probably as a function of depth of field etc. Our experience is that the product eats batteries and the programming is overly sofisticated and does not match the characters in the instruction booklet. Bottom line...if you are somewhat technically saavy you'll be fine, albeit with a pocket full of batteries!

  • How accurate was the sizing? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. inexpensive
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
See a new world
 from Wausau, wi,  Jan 2, 2012

Does what was wanted....Instructions on how to go from binoculars to computer were a little hard to follow, but I am a novice computer user.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gets the job done
 from fl,  Nov 17, 2011

does the job just fine, not for high powered top security photos or anything but is great for nearby observations.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SO,SO
 from Denver, CO.,  Apr 6, 2011

The binocular part is pretty decent. The camera picture is the poorest quality I have ever seen and additionally, The photo is only a section (Top center) of what you see through the binoculars. I was able to take a couple of pictures before the camera stopped clicking pictures. Now they are just binocular's. Kind of seems like one of those items you ordered as a kid out of the back of a comic book. Seems great and then ends up a major disappointment! Such a bummer!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I bought one of these as a present for Fathers Day, and my Dad liked it so much I got one for myself. For the price it's great, and super convenient when hiking. I don't have to worry about having something incredibly expensive strapped around my neck when I'm trekking around the outdoors and the pictures come out great. If you're in to super high tech things, maybe this isn't for you, but for the rest of us it's a bargain!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice!
 from Minneapolis,  Jun 25, 2010

I Purchased this product for my company and it exceeded my expectations

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You get what you pay for.
 from Dallas,  Feb 5, 2010

These binoculars are exactly what they say they are as far as optics go. The only disappointment to me is that the digital shutter speed is about a 60th of a second so if you move at all your pictures come out blurred. These are not high dollar binoculars though so I think it is a fair deal as far as price vs quality goes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Neat!
 from Troy, Michigan,  Jul 14, 2009

This is a cool novelty item. It does the job, and for the price, I don't worry about damaging them while outdoors. I took a bunch of pictures when I went camping last week and they were easy to download and the pictures were decent. My kids really enjoyed it,as well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

These binoculars are more for kids...not what I thought. But for the price I guess kids could have some fun with them and they are cheap enough you can leave in your vehicle.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sharper Image Binoculars
 from Florida,  Jan 9, 2009

This was a gift for my dad he really liked them he likes the outdoors so they are perfect for him to capture images up close and take pictures the only thing wrong was the computer disc was missing from the package.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not even a toy
 from wi,  Jan 8, 2009

I didn't expect much for the price but I would rate this as less than a toy. No MAC software. PC software sometimes doesn't load pictures. Poor battery life, binoculars out of alignment so must be used as monoscope. Only works in bright sunlight and then picture is poor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT Impressed
 from Monterey, CA,  Jan 5, 2009

I got bought these as a xmas gift, it was a great idea as i thought until i saw that you can't see the pictures until you upload them, and then the middle peice makes it very hard to actually look into the binocular part, pretty uncomfortable actually.I was suprised these are actually from Sharper Image but it doesn't seemed to be good sharper image since it seems very cheap.I'm actually disappointed in these

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool item
 from Stoughton, WI,  Jan 3, 2009

This item is a great idea! The binoculars work well. The one thing I don't like about the camera is that you can not view the pictures until you connect to your computer. I only took pictures from my living room window, so I do not yet have enough information on ho well the pictures turn out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sharper Image Binocular Camera
 from AZ,  Dec 31, 2008

While this is a cool item at a great price, the quality of the pictures is fair to poor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sad, sad, sad
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Dec 31, 2008

Well you certainly get what you pay for.....not much! Spend the extra money and get one that actually delivers some photos you can use! It's hard to center and even harder to get sharp pics ......and they only look good at "thumbnail" size.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product
 from Glendale, AZ,  Dec 28, 2008

The picture quality is excellent and this is a very durable product. I highly recommend it to all.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Great Buy
 from Bellaire,Mich.,  Jan 18, 2011

I purchased the Sharper Image Binoculars/Camera because of the reviews I read. I'm saving it for a Christmas present. I was very pleased with the reviews that other people wrote though. My overall rating for order and delivery time is definetly 5 stars.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought