Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Eh...It's Ok
 from Agoura Hills, CA,  Aug 22, 2011

I purchased this bike rack for an unfinished garage (no drywall, just exposed studs). The rack went together fairly easily, although the instrauctions were not easy to comprehend. It feels sturdy enough and it has held my two small framed women's bike without any tragedy thus far, though I keep wondering if a California earthquake will not make mince meat of my carbon road bike. C'est la vie, I live in California and that's the price we pay. My complaint remains with the parts. I was missing several items, one which was an end cap to one of the parts of the rack. The quality of the rack is ok. Parts fit together fine, but not with a lot of precision. The sticker was poorly applied to the metal (corners folded on itself, bubbles beneath), which is not a big deal but speaks to the quality of production. But the missing parts was a big deal. I will contact Overstock and see what my options could be. Overall, I think the rack will do what i'ts suppose to and although I am not disappointed with my purchase, I feel quite ambivalent to the product.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. modest
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good space saver
 from Boca Raton, FL,  Dec 17, 2013

I bought this to hold our two bikes. It is challenging to get them to fit without lower bike's handlebars getting tangled in the spokes of upper bike. Support cradle pieces come off easily and come apart. I will try gluing them so that I only have two pieces to put back every time instead of four which sometimes get separated and require a little searching. It is strong and stable but I did put a bungee cord around it because of the location where we had to put it on the end of a shelving unit.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Didn't have all the right parts
 from Binghamton, NY,  Jul 2, 2011

I ordered and received the bike rack in good time. However, I received 2 right handed uprights instead of one right and one left upright. I emailed Gear Up and they replied immediately that they were shipping me the correct part. I got the parts and completed assembly. Rack works as advertised.

  • How accurate was the sizing? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was fine....once I received all the correct parts
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not great, but it does the job
 from Phoenix, AZ,  May 6, 2013

I've been looking for a two bike vertical rack for a while. Most of the ones I came across looked to be of very poor quality (even just from webpage pictures). I went with the Platinum stand because it looked to be much higher quality than the competitors. When it arrived, I opened the box and found the packaging to be terrible. Parts were not secured and were rattling against each other. Instructions were a little confusing, but the product is somewhat simple to put together so they're not absolutely critical. Many of the parts didn't line up correctly and most of them had some sort of crusty stuff on them as well as some scratches and rust. As another reviewer mentioned, the decal was applied off center, crooked, and with air bubles underneath. Once assembled and forced into alignment, it seems okay. It'll hold two bikes and doesn't seem unstable, but for a fraction of the cost you can easily put together something with 2X4's and vinyl coated hooks.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Somewhat
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome bike stand
 from CA,  Aug 15, 2012

I have never used a gravity rack for bike but it is perfect. It lets us store our two bikes vertically, flat against the wall, and out of the way, and best of all, without making any holes in the walls. It was easy to put together and in 15 minutes, we had our bikes out of the way.

  • How accurate was the sizing? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I wanted!
 from Englewood, Florida,  May 13, 2012

This bike stand was a little tricky to assemble, it took me about a half hour, but it went together well. I'm fairly handy and good with tools so it was not difficult. Once assembled, it performed perfectly. It holds our two road bikes very well and is easy to change location because it doesn't attach to the wall, it only leans against it. The color/finish is sharp looking and fit well with our "decor". Overall, a good buy.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, sturdy, finished nicely.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a stand to stand above the rest
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Feb 8, 2012

After searching through many different ads, reviews, and specifications; I finally found a bike stand that could hold my bikes without any worries of it collapsing on itself. The stand takes up minimal floor space as well as flexibility to fasten to any part of the wall (not just the wall stud). Also, being able to adjust each bike hook makes this even better, the ability to adjust the rack to hold any combination of bikes is AWESOME!

  • How accurate was the sizing? item was exactly as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very solid structure, no worries in its ability to hold my 2 bikes @ 45 lbs each
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? the product assembly was easy and included all the parts but my stand arrived a little scratched up from the factory
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Adjustable bike stand
 from Austin TX,  Jul 29, 2011

The stand was easy to assemble. The adjustable feature allowed my wife's bike to fit perfectly.

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doing fine so far
 from Central Oregon,  May 11, 2011

I thought I had ordered a tension-mounted stand and was surprized to see my husband putting this together. But he did install it, without major issues. He did affix it to the garage wall and was not able to use the included materials for this; he rigged his own system which appears quite stable. It's holding 2 mountain bikes with no threat of falling over.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top