Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Orchid Dollhouse Kit
 from West Virginia,  Mar 4, 2008

This dollhouse kit makes a very large, elegant, and sturdy dollhouse that will make any young girl happy for years and made well enough that she can hand it down to her children one day. First off - this is a kit, much like a model ship, or jigsaw puzzle it will take time (10-18 hrs of work) to put it together. This was my 2nd dollhouse kit from Greentree and I am pleasantly surprised at the quality of every product they make. The 'Orchid" is one of their oldest and best. As for Overstock- the product arrived very fast and well packaged with no complaints at all. Very well done. Some advice to those purchasing this wonderful gift for any young girl. Follow the instructions exactly- dont skip ahead. Prime bare wood pieces with any cheap primer before painting, or wood conditioner before staining - finishing. Some advice- use paper plates to keep parts and pieces organized and seperated, especially while they dry after finishing. I encourage using a glue gun with 'high heat, multipurpose or wood glue sticks', as well as fast tack construction adhesive for large parts. All of this can be found at most any store for a few bucks. I hope this review helps, and enjoy a very fun project which will give smiles for years to come. While this is a moderately easy kit, if you have any trouble, goto their website forums (Manufacturers) for help or great advice from miniturerists that post great pics and ideas.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Starter!
 from Waldorf, MD,  Jun 8, 2006

I purchased this dollhouse for my niece to get her started in a very fun and rewarding hobby. This home is small and easy enough to construct but needs adult supervision.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Piece of Junk
 from Moscow, ID,  Feb 14, 2007

I ordered this doll house for my granddaughter. I have built houses and do wood carving, but this kit was totally a piece of junk. The plywood was separated so the pieces broke as soon as they were cut from the pressed form. The instructions were poorly presented. The design was flawed beyond use. The plywood was so thin for the shingles that they cracked as you tried to glue them on the roof--about the thickness of 3 sheet of paper. I had to glue the plywood back together with tweezers to even start the assembly. After 10 hours of total frustration with the poor material I gave up. It was clear that even when finished it would last about 5 hrs with my granddaughter. You would be further ahead to try and build it out of used cardboard. A real fiasco.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from Australia,  Apr 4, 2012

Thanks for shipping internationally, shipping rates exact, good communication as to when the parcel was posted. I'm assembling this dollhouse already! Love it!

  • How accurate was the sizing? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Victorian Dollhouse
 from Waupun, WI,  Aug 30, 2006

This was my first purchase from Overstock.com and I was impressed at how safe the site and purchasing information was for me. The delivery was well put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A honey of a dollhouse
 from Smyrna, Georgia,  Feb 28, 2013

I built a dollhouse for my sister and am in the process of buidling one for myself. it was basically pretty easy and thrilling when I finished the window seat. The directions where in some parts pretty dark and so I really had to re-read some directions several time. I omitted the stairs to fit more furniture. Enjoy this house, with a bout 4 coatings of paint, it can last many, many years. Use good glue as well.

  • How accurate was the sizing? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. typical thin wood, I don't remember any splintering, but the shingles did break apart here and there.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Except for the breaking of the occasional shingle the pieces came out of the sheets easily.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lovely stlye but...
 from Orem, UT,  Jan 10, 2012

It took me a long time to assemble and it took a little granddaughter a few minutes to destroy. I have another one I've never put together. This is for hobbiests and for show only.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is not made for children.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
orchid dollhouse
 from tracy,ca,  Sep 10, 2008

This is a great item. Very complete instructions. This is my third dollhouse and probably the best one yet. I received the item very quickly and you just could not beat the price or the shipping charge. This was a very pleasant on-line transaction.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Still under construction
 from Irvine, CA,  Jul 13, 2008

We bought this house a few weeks ago to build with the kids in my Preschool class.The kids have had a lot of fun decorating and one of the girls has become an expert at seperating shingles. This is my 4th dollhouse in the past year and having done it before it makes a lot more sense. I do not suggest this for a beginner because there are a lot of pieces that are not well labeled and the construction is not as good as other houses I've made. It's not terrible construction once you build it up, but the pieces that are very small tend to crumble when punching them out of the sheets and there are a lot of more difficult construction details in this house. The bay window is tricky and the area above the porch, plus 3 dormers makes for a lot of confusion. There are no holes marked for where the seperating walls go which is good and bad depending what you prefer. It makes it difficult to decorate before assembling (which is the most important thing to do). The stairs were easier to assemble than in other houses. This house has a lot of character but the only way we were able to do it was having my experience. This was my first time shingling which was fun but time consuming & the shingles bow with glue so you have to hold them for a while as the glue sets. It's nearly done and I'm excited for the kids to see what we've made! It's a great looking house with lots of character but buy it only if you are ready for a project and have done houses before. If not there are better beginner houses out there.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
shipped quick
 from texas,  Dec 20, 2012

just as it was described, I am satisfied with the purchase, thanks

  • How accurate was the sizing? as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Orchid Dollhouse
 from norhern california,  Jul 3, 2008

This is a real project. We are having a challenging time putting the house together.As I have NO experience in construction. The directions are well put together. My only dissatisfaction is bluprints are way too small & hard to read without a magnifing glass

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
doll house
 from Fresno, ca,  Feb 10, 2008

easy to put together and fun. daughter loved it. It made family time fun.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great fun, good buy.
 from Orem, UT,  Jan 16, 2008

I bought and assembled this dollhouse for my little sister. It was the first one I've done. It took me several hours but if you keep things labeled and organized it's pretty simple. I had a great time doing it. It turned out very cute and was bigger than I had expected. Now I want to get one for myself. I can see why miniatures are such a popular hobby. You cant really beat this one for the price. Definitely keep the picture on the box handy. It's a very useful reference tool because the black and white picture in the instructions is kind of difficult to make out details with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
hard work
 Jan 8, 2008

i would recommend this product if you are experienced at detailed construction. If you have time, minimum 8 hours, and lots of patience you will end up w/ a beautiful house. When constructing have envelopes on hand so that you can keep all little pieces organized. Don't skimp on sanding, or you will end up w/a very splintery house! If you want a painted house I would strongly recommend painting the pieces before constructing, or at a minimum paint the window pieces before putting together windows and paint the main body of the house before adding the gingerbread trim. I used Benjamin Moore paint samples, 2 containers for the main part of the house and one for the trim. If you want a beautiful doll house, don't be intimidated by the work involved! It is definitely worth the effort.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Orchid Dollhouse Kit
 from Medford, Oregon, USA,  Jan 1, 2008

I received a lot more work than I was prepared to do. While the kit is a valid offer, little was said about how much actual work one would have to do to complete the project. It does not just fit together. You have to sand, prepare, paint, and then maybe you can have a product that looks similar to the picture. If you have a lot of time, and love doll houses, then this is the project for you. If you are buying it as a present to someone who likes doll houses, but doesn't want to have to build it, then you have bought the wrong present. Overall rating: If I had known how many hours of tedious work was involved, I would have bought a different present for the person I bought this for. Her Christmas present will be ready, perhaps by July. I had to also buy another present for her Christmas gift.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doll House
 from New Jersey,  Dec 20, 2007

I haven't put the dollhouse together yet. Not bad for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for children
 from NC,  Dec 8, 2007

I bought this house for my 9 year old daughter and I to build together. It is almost complete but I had to do most of the work. She is looking forward to decorating and playing with it but the wood is so thin I am certain it won't last long. It really is more for the adult hobbiest then for a child.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Air Force Clock
 from Knoxville, TN,  Sep 10, 2006

Received product very quickly and was very pleased with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for toddlers
 from USA,  Oct 24, 2012

Due to the fragility of this product, I don't recommend it as a first doll house for toddlers. The rooms can not be altered in size or dimension and two are barely usable for furniture. I will probably return mine and exchange it for a bigger one so I have more choices in personalization. For instance: working lights and fans... ect. Bought for my Grand Daughter who is going to be so surprised on Christmas day!! : )

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair quality but fragile
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought