Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
GearUp Oak Floor to Ceiling 2-bike Storage Rack
 from Vancouver, BC,  Dec 8, 2012

Product arrived promptly and as expected. It was relatively easy to set up. I used a stud finder to guarantee I mounted it when the ceiling could stand some pressure from the rack. You need to apply a lot of pressure to ensure the rack stays in place. I'm running a 33lb mountain bike in the upper position and a 40lb downhill bike in the lower and the rack is working just fine. My bikes are very big (I'm 6'5") so it took some time rearranging with the hooks to find a placement that worked well for both bikes. I had the rack up and in the right spot in about half an hour. Another half hour to get the hooks in the right spot. Then another half hour when I realized I wanted the whole rack rotated about 15' for better space usage in my hallway. Since then I haven't moved it. It looks great and seems to work really well.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid oak construction.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking bike rack
 from East Coast,  Feb 9, 2012

We bought this rack not only because we needed the space but to protect our bikes and to not detract from our newly redone living room. Most racks are metal or black and while that works for many, this oak rack looks fantastic. Happy for function and form :)

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to be well built and was easy to set up
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bike rack
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Dec 27, 2012

Easy to install, looks nice, holds 2 bikes in a small apartment very nicely.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Really liked it. So got one for the other apartment, and now we have gotten a 3rd.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice rack!
 May 1, 2015

It was a bit less dark and red and more light and brown than I had hoped (honestly trying to match furniture by little jpegs with no color calibration is a horrible idea anyway), but it was really easy to set up and just as customizable as I had hoped (cramming two mountain bikes into a tiny horizontal wallspace, one wheel off, etc.) It looks good and gets compliments and if I should one day have the gumption to re-stain it, it will match my desk perfectly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great rack
 Apr 23, 2015

This rack is really intuitive to put together and use. I live in an apartment and have 2 bikes. I can easily store them and have plenty of room. I got the dark walnut stained.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Top quality, nice looking and pretty easy to figure out how to assemble, complete with easily to decipher instructions. And there's also a youtube video that's helpful to view before assembling. My only whine, the hex key didn't seem to quite fit the hex screws/bolts which made assembly abit of a pain in the butt. I had better luck with some other hex wrenches I had on hand. I also emailed them about the issue but they never bothered to reply. In the end, it works great, seems solid & easy enough to use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I am very happy with my purchase. I needed something somewhat decorative to hold my two bikes- one steel commuter and one carbon racing- since it would be a big statement in my small apartment. I got the unfinished color and think it looks great. I have had no issues with the rack since getting it locked into place. It holds my heavy commuter with no problem. It did, however, take me about 2 hours to put together and get everything adjusted the way I wanted it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classy looking...
 Dec 21, 2014

Very easy to install, but you will need another pair of hand just to hold it in place when tightening the screws to hold rack steady.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE IT
 Dec 19, 2014

People come to my house and ask me where I got my bike rack, or if I made it. I love it. Super easy to install, super easy to load with bikes, other parts available on ******, like a basket. I would recommend this to anyone who might be interested in this bike rack. It's attractive, built very well, and fully functional for its purpose.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OakRak 2-bike rack rocks!
 from Bellingham, WA,  Aug 19, 2014

The Oakrak Floor-to-Ceiling American Red Oak Two Bike Storage Rack is aesthetically pleasing, easy to assemble and use, made in the USA, and is of quality construction - it was everything I was looking for in a storage rack. I am already considering purchasing another of the same unit because I have too many bikes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for an apartment
 from New York, NY,  Aug 15, 2014

Very durable item. I use it in my apartment to hold a lightweight road bike on top and a heavier mountain bike on the bottom. So far, I haven't had any problems and I regularly take the bikes on and off the racks. It took some amount of trial and error to position the hooks and to line it straight up to the ceiling but once you have that set, you don't have to worry about it. I haven't seen it lean or shift; it seems to be pretty secure in its position. If you want to save yourself some trouble, measure the distance from the bottom of the tire to the top tube and use that as a guide to set the hooks in place. Then, test it by putting the bike on the hooks before you screw them in all the way. Also, if you have a construction leveler, that would definitely help to ensure the stand is straight. This item is definitely useful for storing bikes where space is scarce.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great-looking & functional bike rack
 from TX,  Jul 31, 2014

I searched long & hard for racks to hold my bikes in my bike room. It's hard to find something that isn't cheaply made and/or that looks terrible. I was looking for something made of real wood in a dark hue that could hold at least 2 bikes (TT, road, CX & MTB) and that looked classy. I was thrilled to pick up 2 of these OakRak bike racks in the darkest color version. The racks were straightforward to install & they look really great. I've received nothing but compliments since I installed them in my bike room. And the value for the $$ on Overstock is simply wonderful! It is very important to measure carefully and get the tension just right so that the rack holds firmly in place. I would recommend having 2 people assist with the installation, if it's at all possible. I've already recommended this particular item to several of my fellow cyclists. I am VERY pleased with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product!
 from Washington, DC,  Jul 15, 2014

Easy to install, very sturdy and looks great! I would recommend this product to anyone who has to fit a couple of bicycles into a small space. Think of it as wall art.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
How can a bike rack be so beautiful?
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jul 26, 2013

A wood, finished bike rack is great for spaces where you don't want to disrupt style with a merely functional, base metal rack. I already received a complement on the bike rack - the complimenter noticing the wood and expect that it wasn't a consumer product but a custom made solution. It is currently holding my road bike and mountain bike with no problem.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice product
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Jun 10, 2013

The oak was straight and smooth and very nicely stained. The tolerances where parts fit together was very good. Seems very strong and well made. An attractive display for inside the home.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exactly as specified
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes. No defects.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, high quality, and good looking
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jun 9, 2013

Using this bike rack in an apartment on a carpeted floor, with 2 bikes on it. It's working great and it looks good! It was easy to put together, and easy to install. The construction allows for the rack to be very snuggly fit from floor to ceiling, with perfect tension. With it completely tightened in place, it doesn't budge at all. The arms that hold the bikes are coated perfectly so that they do not scratch or damage the bikes. Very pleased with this product. I recommend it highly!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Easy to adjust the height depending on your ceiling height, easy to put together
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, very sturdy with 2 bikes hanging, very sturdy taking bikes off and on daily
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice rack!
 from Astoria, NY,  Apr 26, 2013

Looks MUCH better in an apartment than racks made of black plastic and aluminum. My only criticism is that the top most location you can mount isn't very high.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality and craftsmanship.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excelent Purchase, great addition to any apartment
 from Roswell, Ga,  Apr 18, 2013

This bike rack Is compact yet sturdy and can be set up in minutes. It looks great and having my bikes occupy previously empty space fills out the apartment as well. This product is well worth the money.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As pictured
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and attractive
 from San Francisco,  Mar 13, 2013

The assembly instructions were not very clear, so assembly was tricky, required some guess work, and took quite a while. It's also difficult to get the height and tension exactly right and it involves a lot of very small adjustments. Once eventually secured in place, it still moves around a bit, turning on its own axis mostly. But it will still stay upright and in place and is otherwise very sturdy. It's also fairly attractive looking for a bike stand, particularly because it's made of solid wood. The arms can be adjusted, but not without tools. That means they're secure and will not slide down, as in some other bike stands, but it also means that if you have different bikes with different frames going on there, it will be a pain to have to adjust. This is a good bike stand if you keep the same bikes in the same place, not so good if there will be a variety of bikes using it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought