Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 55 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
NOT FOR CHILDREN OR AMATURES
 from Yonkers, NY,  Nov 10, 2008

I purchased this doll house to build and donate to charity with 10 -14 year olds that I work with. This product has horrible assembly directions that are often unclear and has been completely unsuitable for the age range of the children I work with. This project has proven so difficult that I have had to build it after work hours with the assistance of another adult and still, a lot of guess work is involved. The pieces are splintery, too easily pop out of their labeled sheets, and don't fit together very securely without the use of a generous amount of hot glue. I feel that unless you have an inordinate amount of time to dedicate towards building this house it ought to be avoided. Yet still, Overstock had the best price on the product and is an incredible site for purchasing anything. I highly recommend Overstock.com though not this particular product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for the faint-hearted or on a limited time
 from Nashua, NH,  Aug 24, 2011

I have two dollhouses I am working on; one from The Other Brand, and the Magnolia. While I love the style of this house, which to me is the quintissential dollhouse-looking house, this will have to be one of those houses that look beautiful from a 10+ foot distance. This is the first and last Greenleaf house I will ever build. I am barely halfway through the house, and I have been working on it almost every night for close to 6 weeks. Like other posters mentioned, there are two types of 'wood' used in the house, the material flakes off if you do not gingerly and ssssssslllllllooooooowwwwwwwwlllllyyyyy pop it from the pre-cut boards, you will need an xacto knife-type thing to keep the tabs from ripping off, and glue to glue sheets of plywood/balsa together before you even start to prime-paint EVERY SINGLE PIECE just to keep it from warping. Because of the almost rubbery feel of the 'wood', I opted not to use the glue gun (which the instructions storngly encouraged, simply because it sets almost instantaneously), but weldabonded and taped the daylights out of everything. You will need wood fill putty, preferably in giant economy-sized tubs to fill in every single never-ending missing piece/cracked portion, schmushed in wood. This alone will probably double the weight of the house. And sandpaper. Lots of sandpaper. Yes, the house is lovely when done, and yes it is inexpensive, but the extra time just prepping the pieces, wood fill, sandpaper, paint, etc, and the result still being something that looks flimsy just takes all teh fun out of it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? okay
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. shoddy, even for a bargain budget item
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Not. At All
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
First Magnolia
 from New Brunswick Canada,  Jul 19, 2007

The Magnolia kit was the one I selected as the first dollhouse I ever attempted. I found the kit to be almost ideal for a first-timer. The materials quality was good, with perhaps a few flaws. I found the fit to be good. I found myself fabricating a few pieces (from left-over sections of the cut-outs) that I felt were good add-ons if not "necessary" -- for example, some reinforcement strips for the open edges of the second floor, to strengthen and improve appearance). I found the detail to be good and the finished result very satisfying. My only compllaint might be that the instructions are sometimes a bit difficult to follow, take careful reading. I had fun doing it, and best of all, my grand-daughter LOVES it !! I would recommend it, especially for beginners. In fact, I'm soon ordering another one to built for a raffle fundraiser.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this house is the best
 from California,CA,  Aug 28, 2006

this house is the best house that is a suitable choice for any person. it fits in with all the other houses and it has a great balcony.This is a great house.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing
 Dec 11, 2009

I find it interesting that those reviewers who are trhilled with this product haven't yet started to put it together. This was my first dollhouse experience and I will admit that I was not as patient or thorough as I could have been, but the experience was a very frustrating one for me. Half of the sheets of pieces seemed to be made from a different type of wood as the other half, and one of these wood types was brittle, did not punch out well, split or simply crumbled in my hand! As a result, many of the pieces from this second type of wood are poorly shaped or thinner than they are supposed to be (as layers keep splitting off). The written directions could be a little unclear at times, had a few typos in them (a big no-no in my book) and actually skipped a couple of steps where I was never told to do something and had to decide for myself when to add a feature. I would love to try making another dollhouse sometime, but I would not love to use this brand again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
magnolia house
 from new york,ny,  Mar 25, 2010

i normally do not write a review..until project is completed...we received this house today...and was extremely diappointed...Greenleaf classify their product as "wood" ,don't get me wrong it is wood but the correct term for this type of wood is "balsa" (flimsy piece of wood,,which are mainly used for $1.00 airplane kits) .....we have purchased 2 homes from *****...a bit more costly .....worth every cent...if you like quality..i suggest looking into real good toys...if it is just something fun you want to build .and not care so much for quality.......then this is a great product for you..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fun!
 from New Hampshire,  Sep 30, 2008

I purchased this dollhouse as a novice looking for a new hobby, and what a challenge it has been! It arrived quickly and intact. Much more intricate than I had expected, it has been a great experience piecing it together. I am about 1/4 of the way done and definitely getting the hang of it. My advice is to be patient, read the directions multiple times before taking any steps, and be creative! I can't wait to see the finished project. I highly recommend it, though I imagine it would be difficult for children to construct wihtout constant supervision.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great dollhouse
 from Longmont, CO,  Sep 3, 2006

I found this on overstock and was very impressed with their competitivness and speed of delivery. The house is all I expected. I was able to find lots of info on the product to make an informed decision. The house is a great size. Not too large or small. And I really like the little roof line detail on the back view, not many dollhouses have that added detail. I don't think I could have found a better fit for what I was looking for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Rochester, NY,  Jan 30, 2006

This is a beautiful dollhouse! My daughter knew that I always wanted a wooden dollhouse (unlike the metal one I had as a child). She purchased this kit, and she, her husband and my 85-year-old father assembled it and surprised me on Christmas morning. What a surprise it was! Now I look forward to decorating it. I feel like a kid again!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Woodinville, WA, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

We purchased this for our daughter for XMas and she loved it! The design of the house is great and the price is even better. We visited some local shops and all the kits were more than twice the cost.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

A big, roomy dollhouse with a great exterior.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great project
 Jul 5, 2015

great diy project to do with the daughter

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fast shipping
 May 29, 2015

The product arrived quickly

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doll House
 Jan 26, 2015

This was very hard to assemble, and takes a big work station to keep all the pieces together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I tossed it out. The press board was horrible

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doll House
 from Cathlamet, WA,  Dec 31, 2014

It was a lot of work to put it together...but the end result was awesome. The next time I will start a project like this a least 2 months in advance...so I can get some sleep! Love it!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
could be a big mistake
 from Reading, Pa,  Nov 22, 2014

I have put several doll house kits together so I'm not new to these kits. But this kit is the worst I have ever encountered. The wood used is very poor quality, crumbles in your hands even before you cut the piece off the sheet. I have had to buy two of these kits just to make one and there are still problems such as the stair rallings. I guess I will have to design a railing out of scrap. I wish now I had not tried to save a few dollars by getting this kit and gotten a quality kit from ****** **** ****. I hope you can read the disappointment in my words. And I'm sorry to say the lack of quality control is a negative for a good company that Overstock is.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Customer Service
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Jul 30, 2014

Overall the quality of the wood is subpar, but that's why it's not very expensive. When it comes to wood you pay for what you get. It's just laminated particle board of really low quality. Two of the 9 boards started crumbling apart (delaminating) as soon as I took an Xacto knife to it. That being said - the customer service for *** is outstanding. I called and told them my issue and was immediately issued an apology. They are replacing the 2 boards for free - no questions asked. It took a few tries to get someone to answer the phone, but the first 2 times I called was around 3 pm West coast time, so I think their office was closed as they are located in NY. Not everyone can afford an expensive dollhouse, so if you're okay with possibly having to contact customer service, then go with this company.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sent as a gift!
 from Swartz Creek, MI,  Mar 1, 2014

I sent this to a dear friend who is just getting back into miniature dollhouse making. She was ecstatic when she opened the kit. She said it was very good quality materials and will make a beautiful finished house. And for my end, the price could not be matched anywhere!! Two happy people with one item!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fun to build
 from Amboy Wa.,  Jan 5, 2013

Waited to complete the review until the dollhouse was almost complete.Have been working on it for close to two months.Like others have stated the plans were not good and if one is not familuar with hobby building it might be hard for some to figure out how some of the parts go togeather.It was fun to build....has turned out pretty darn nice...my wife loves it.I built it just for something to do,but may give it to my adult grand-daughter for her future children.The parts in this kit did fit togeather very well in 95 % of the parts.I'm thinking of ordering another kit of an even bigger model and hope when i get it,it will be at least as good a kit or better than this one i have now. They are a lot of work to put togeather.....but fun to work on.....

  • How accurate was the sizing? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. most of the wood pretty good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? a few pieces of not good quality wood....but made the parts work
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 55 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought