Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Our Biggest Labor Day Sale Ever
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 61-80 of 97 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 3 4 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Hmm...
 from Central Ohio,  Oct 8, 2009

Well I got the rack today and immediately had to open it. The box was pretty banged up via UPS. The rack was fine except their was a nick in the plastic of a jaw clamp (no biggie, a little gorilla glue fixed it and it was cosmetic only). Comparing this kit to a thule or yakima system kit it looked... well, cheap. The rails come in two sections and need to be bolted together instead of being one piece like the thule or yakima. Once the kit was assembled I became impressed it actually looks nice and feels very sturdy. It is not as refined as a yakima or thule equivalent but just a functional and for the price point I am okay with that. I'm not sure how weather resistant the finish will be so I will most likely spray some WD-40 on the surfaces of the mount kit to prevent corrosion. Assembly Tip: The directions don't show this for the jaw bracket but on all the oversized thumb screws use a washer. This will allow you to tighten the thumb screws of the jaw mount plate with out them rubbing against the sides of the raised potion of the jaw mount plate. Also the fourth round hole from the front of the rail is where the jaw mount plate first screw should be inserted for most racks and bikes. Took it for a spin: No complaints! I was able to view it via my sunroof and the bikes looked very stable and secure. I went up to highway speeds and after about an 1 hour of wasting gas I checked the mount and bikes (I also drove down some rough rural roads). The result: no problems - everything was secure and tight.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Chowchilla, CA,  Aug 22, 2009

After researching this type of product. I found the lowest price with overstock. the roofracks work perfect, they are easy to assemble and the bikes ride secured.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman rack
 from Toledo, OH,  Aug 21, 2009

Can't beat the price, but shipping was a bit slow. I feared they wouldn't arrive before our departure date. Installed easily onto our Thule roof rack and they withstood 10 hours of highway travel beautifully.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Fort Collins, CO,  Aug 14, 2009

The roof rack was exactly what I wanted. It was very easy to install according to the directions and is very sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing
 from San Francisco, cA,  Jul 27, 2009

Easy to install and works wonderfully!!! I was able to put it all together within an hour and it works well. Have not tried it with 2 bikes yet, but it was very reliable with one

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from San Diego,  Jul 22, 2009

For this price, you won't find a better deal. Thule and Yakima want to charge you 200 bucks for ONE upright bike mount. These mounts are very sturdy and aerodynamic if you put them on right. The bikes are slightly wobbly on top unless you tighten the screw really hard, which isnt too difficult, just a lot of twisting. These are SO much more conveniant than the fork mounts because lets face it, who wants to take off their front tire every time they go riding? So far I have put about 7 or 8 different bikes and I haven't found a bike that didn't fit. Only downside is they take up a lot of precious room up top, I wish there was a way to disconnect the swinging arm that holds the bike in place. I can fit 3 onto my 06 Honda Civic along with the little surf stubs placed strategically in the middle.All around great value, you won't find anything cheaper.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Swagman rack
 from Lake Geneva, Wi,  Jun 1, 2009

The rack installs easly on my thule rack. The little red rubber supports fell out tried some super glue. Need to spray paint some dings that started to rust after only one week of use. handles doing 65-70 down the freeway pretty well. I would buy another set if needed. Close the clamp all the way to clock it when my bikes are not in it . The red tire straps could be a little more heavy duty.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Locking Upright Roof Rack
 from Elizabeth City, NC,  May 18, 2009

This bike rack was and excellent solution to mounting a bike on my CR-V that has the spare tire on the back. The rack seems pretty well made and was easy to install on my factory roof rack. I've ridden less than 20 miles with the bike on top and it seemed pretty sturdy, however if you're worried about height issues, I'd probably consider getting a rack where you remove the front wheel because it increases the height tremendously. Great value for the price, most items like this are more than $150 for one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great rack for the price
 from Washington DC,  Apr 30, 2009

The reviews on here pretty much sum it up well. Its not super sturdy and I question it's long term durability, but if you don't use it all the time, like me, it does the job very well. I had an issue with the clamp in that it didn't fit well around my mountain bike frame. The frame on my bike was more flat and wide instead of round so the clamps were not as secure as i would have liked. I used a few bungie cords for extra security. Probably not neccessary, but I did it for piece of mind. Install was a breeze with one monor discrepency in the pictures. The one picture doesn't really show which hole you should use when connecting the pieces together, before putting it on your roof rack. I realized the error after putting the first one togther and mounting it on the roof rack. It worked fine, but the next time I use it, i will take it apart and line it up correctly. Basically the front wheel of the bike was very close to the end of the bar it sits in. the second one, assembled correctly, fit perfect. The picture makes yout think you need to put it together one hole closer to the end that you should. The picture is basically missing one of the holes. Its not a huge deal, but if you want it perfect, watch out for that instruction discrepency. You certainly will not be able to find a better deal elsewhere. BTW, I installed this on a 2009 RAV4.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Can't beat the price!
 from San Jose, CA.,  Mar 17, 2009

Bought 1st set ayear ago and work great.Now bought 2nd set to fit more bikes. Great deal compared to Thule or Yakima.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bike racks
 from maryland,  Mar 13, 2009

second set of racks for my jeep grand cherokee one for a friend great for a round town and you cant beat the price. no highway use yet but i'm they look like they will hold up very well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good at the price
 from Maryland,  Aug 8, 2008

Got these racks for a trip to the beach...2 mountain type bikes on top of my Hyundai Santa Fe for a round trip distance of a little over 300 miles. Wonder of wonders they FIT the factory crossbars and held both bikes securely without trouble for both phases of the trip. 70+mph on I 95 and they didn't budge, slip, rattle or thump. They are more lightly built then their Thule or Yakima competition but they are a small fraction of the price. Instructions are well written and the racks go on and off my vehicle easily. One caveat...if you are mounting these on an SUV, CUV, or minivan buy a folding stepladder...you will need it for mounting or dismounting the bikes from the racks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best value
 from Northern, New Hampshire,  Aug 4, 2008

I'm on my third season with these upright racks. They aren't as stable as the Thule, Yakima, Saris, and other name brand upright racks, but they have never failed me in use. The wheel straps wore out after one season and the rubber pieces that are in contact with the down tube have fallen out , but I rigged up replacements. I'm actually back on overstock.com to buy an additional pair, three years later. I still use the original uprights, but these will be to replace my standard bike trays where I need to remove the front wheel--secretly I'm also going to try to rig them up to carry a tandem, but I don't think that the upright bars will offer enough lateral support. I use the racks for my mtb and my road bike. I am mindful of keeping the nuts that hold the upright bars on the tray snug to reduce the lateral movements. For the budget minded, this is a great way to go. And the idea that they come with locks is great because with other brands you need to buy them in addition to their $200 for a single upright.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Value
 Jul 29, 2008

This product is a great value. Installation was easy. The only caveat is when you install the second bike holder, it might be a good idea to do it in the opposite direction so that the knob you tighten to hold the bike is on the outside instead of inside. It still works but it is a little difficult to reach. Holds the bike securely.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
locking upright roof rack
 from eau claire, wi,  Jul 24, 2008

not as sturdy a some other one's like yakima but the price is right.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good quality for the price
 from Long Island, NY,  Jun 9, 2008

I've been using this product for 2 months now and I've been very happy with it, bike stays in place even at highway speeds and with 2 bikes on . You can easily mount the bike in place and removing the bike is just as easy. I agree with some of the reviewers that getting a better strap is probably a good idea, but that's not to say that the wheel strap that comes with it isn't useful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bike rack for the money
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Mar 31, 2008

I've only used this rack once, but it seems to work fine. It was easy to install, and gets my bike to the trails.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's no yakima but good still a good product!
 from flagstaff,az,  Feb 13, 2008

So I own a subaru wagon with cross bars already on the car. I used to have a rack just like this setup and I loved it. But they are expensive!! to put one on the car would have run about 400$ which I do not have. So I bought this instead. I have say that for the price you can;t beat it. the quality is not as high for sure, and the lock and knob you use to tighten down on the frame seems kind of chincy but it works fine. I would not leave my bike on top of my car with out another lock on it over night anywhere sketchy. As far as it being easy to assemble that part is true the directions are not explained super well but you get the idea. I realized a couple mistakes i made but they are easy to fix. Once you get it all set up right it seems pretty bomber... just as strong as my old rack. One thing i would tell people to invest in though would be some rattler straps. they cost 60$ for the four you will need but they are worth it! the cam straps that come with the rack as your "wheel tie downs" are kind of lame and hard to get nice and tight. I would say if you plan to drive no further than 10 miles to the trails fine you don't need them but if you plan on going on the highway or anywhere far these things are what you need! so over all a good rack for the $. . good deal. good product!.. except for the cam straps those are not so great! i gave this product 5 stars based on the price i paid for the two racks. you can't find a better deal. i used to have a rear rack and this is a lot nicer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 10, 2008

This is one of the best things that I've bought lately, and I'm still satisfied with it. This product is not one of those "you get what you pay for." It's very cheap, but it does its job (holds MOUNTAIN bikes in place). It doesn't hold a road bike as well as a mountain bike. It's really easy to put together (fits any kind of roof rack), and it looks great on your vehicle. I've used it for the past 3 months and it still works great. Buy it, you will be satisfied. Only BAD thing about it is that it wobbles a little from time to time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Value - Value - Value!
 from Ann Arbor, MI,  Jul 23, 2007

My son loves mountain bikes and I love bargains, so when I saw two racks for less than the price of one, I was immediately interested. The first thing that came to mind was, "you get what you pay for," but I figured that if the rack held out for one or two trips, it would tide us over and not be too big a loss. When the racks arrived (quickly!), I was immediately impressed that I got a lot more than what I paid for. It only took a little fiddling to get them to fit our factory roof rack (2000 Focus Wagon). The bikes fit fine and were held fast for the entire 500+ mile first trip. Everything has been great for several more short trips since. One small nit to pick: the down tube braces have a little trouble with oversized rectangular down tubes - but we still got them to work and they held fine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 61-80 of 97 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 3 4 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought