Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 61-77 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Best value
 from Northern, New Hampshire,  Aug 4, 2008

I'm on my third season with these upright racks. They aren't as stable as the Thule, Yakima, Saris, and other name brand upright racks, but they have never failed me in use. The wheel straps wore out after one season and the rubber pieces that are in contact with the down tube have fallen out , but I rigged up replacements. I'm actually back on overstock.com to buy an additional pair, three years later. I still use the original uprights, but these will be to replace my standard bike trays where I need to remove the front wheel--secretly I'm also going to try to rig them up to carry a tandem, but I don't think that the upright bars will offer enough lateral support. I use the racks for my mtb and my road bike. I am mindful of keeping the nuts that hold the upright bars on the tray snug to reduce the lateral movements. For the budget minded, this is a great way to go. And the idea that they come with locks is great because with other brands you need to buy them in addition to their $200 for a single upright.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Value
 Jul 29, 2008

This product is a great value. Installation was easy. The only caveat is when you install the second bike holder, it might be a good idea to do it in the opposite direction so that the knob you tighten to hold the bike is on the outside instead of inside. It still works but it is a little difficult to reach. Holds the bike securely.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
locking upright roof rack
 from eau claire, wi,  Jul 24, 2008

not as sturdy a some other one's like yakima but the price is right.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good quality for the price
 from Long Island, NY,  Jun 9, 2008

I've been using this product for 2 months now and I've been very happy with it, bike stays in place even at highway speeds and with 2 bikes on . You can easily mount the bike in place and removing the bike is just as easy. I agree with some of the reviewers that getting a better strap is probably a good idea, but that's not to say that the wheel strap that comes with it isn't useful.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bike rack for the money
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Mar 31, 2008

I've only used this rack once, but it seems to work fine. It was easy to install, and gets my bike to the trails.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's no yakima but good still a good product!
 from flagstaff,az,  Feb 13, 2008

So I own a subaru wagon with cross bars already on the car. I used to have a rack just like this setup and I loved it. But they are expensive!! to put one on the car would have run about 400$ which I do not have. So I bought this instead. I have say that for the price you can;t beat it. the quality is not as high for sure, and the lock and knob you use to tighten down on the frame seems kind of chincy but it works fine. I would not leave my bike on top of my car with out another lock on it over night anywhere sketchy. As far as it being easy to assemble that part is true the directions are not explained super well but you get the idea. I realized a couple mistakes i made but they are easy to fix. Once you get it all set up right it seems pretty bomber... just as strong as my old rack. One thing i would tell people to invest in though would be some rattler straps. they cost 60$ for the four you will need but they are worth it! the cam straps that come with the rack as your "wheel tie downs" are kind of lame and hard to get nice and tight. I would say if you plan to drive no further than 10 miles to the trails fine you don't need them but if you plan on going on the highway or anywhere far these things are what you need! so over all a good rack for the $. . good deal. good product!.. except for the cam straps those are not so great! i gave this product 5 stars based on the price i paid for the two racks. you can't find a better deal. i used to have a rear rack and this is a lot nicer.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 10, 2008

This is one of the best things that I've bought lately, and I'm still satisfied with it. This product is not one of those "you get what you pay for." It's very cheap, but it does its job (holds MOUNTAIN bikes in place). It doesn't hold a road bike as well as a mountain bike. It's really easy to put together (fits any kind of roof rack), and it looks great on your vehicle. I've used it for the past 3 months and it still works great. Buy it, you will be satisfied. Only BAD thing about it is that it wobbles a little from time to time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Value - Value - Value!
 from Ann Arbor, MI,  Jul 23, 2007

My son loves mountain bikes and I love bargains, so when I saw two racks for less than the price of one, I was immediately interested. The first thing that came to mind was, "you get what you pay for," but I figured that if the rack held out for one or two trips, it would tide us over and not be too big a loss. When the racks arrived (quickly!), I was immediately impressed that I got a lot more than what I paid for. It only took a little fiddling to get them to fit our factory roof rack (2000 Focus Wagon). The bikes fit fine and were held fast for the entire 500+ mile first trip. Everything has been great for several more short trips since. One small nit to pick: the down tube braces have a little trouble with oversized rectangular down tubes - but we still got them to work and they held fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Washington,  Jun 9, 2007

Excellent value. This set of root-top bike racks was less expensive than a single rack from other suppliers. I bought these as a gift for my son. He loves them & has had no problems.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike Rack
 from California,  Jun 4, 2007

The good: The most inexpensive bike rack with a frame holder I've found...and you get 2 of these with your order! The racks fit nicely on to my roof rack (2007 Ford Escape) and simple mounting design seems to make them adaptable to various roof rack styles. The not so bad: The rails the tires rest in are a bit flimsy and channel is a bit thin for a mountain bike style bike (still works) and the materials overall are not the best quality so I guess you get what you pay for, but they do the job. I would give it a 4 star rating if: channel holding tires were wider and of stronger material. Inexpensive+, Quality- Recommend, maybe.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bike Rack
 from Detroit, Mi,  May 28, 2007

I purchased the rack for what I believe to be a great price. I was expecting a cheap version of a rack system I really wanted to buy, but was very please when I recieved the product. The assembly was quick and painless. I started at 8:30pm and was done by 8:45pm, the same night. My wife and I were out riding the trails in our area the next day.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
worth the money
 from Colorado,  Apr 9, 2007

I had been looking for a universal rack like this for a long time. My Mazda Tribute with the factory roof rack has flat rails, so it is a difficult fit. Traditional rack systems (Thule, Yakima) were way too expensive. By the time I priced all the fittings I needed, it ended up being more than $400, and I couldn't use the same fittings to mount a ski rack. This product was nice because each rack was packaged separately. I've got one on the car, and another still in the box as a backup. I like that it has a locking nut to hold the bike. It took a little bit of adjusting to get it to fit so that I could still open the rear door. I agree with what someone else stated. Don't tighten everything down until you've confirmed the position. Overall, it's a great value. Would buy again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from TX,  Sep 18, 2006

I liked these racks so much I ordered another set. I agree with one of the other reviewers about over tightening. The head of the carrage bolt will strip the plastic sq. hole it fits into. Even so, it still will tighten and is better than any rack I have owned.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Buy
 from Penns Woods,  Sep 14, 2006

Impressed with the low cost high functionality of this rack. I do quite a bit of drivin on mountain roads and my bike has yet to fly off over all the bumps.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the Job
 from Ann Arbor , Mi,  Sep 12, 2006

The luggage rack bike rack was proven to be very reliable. Without a trial run, this bike rack survived a 1000 mile trip in Michigans Upper Peninsula (many back roads).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I had force the jaws around the down tube on my Giant Defy, Giant, Trance, and Trek Madone. When I get everything "secured" I'm still afraid while driving that the bike is going to fall off from all the movement, I just cant trust this rack to carry my $750- $2100 bikes. Either save your money and get something decent (I bought the Rocky Mount tie rod) or Get a trunk rack for the *** you spent on the two racks. If you still want to buy a set after reading this, mine are for sale!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Locking Upright Bike Rack
 from Ballston Spa, NY,  Sep 19, 2006

Great rack for the price. Not as heavy duty as I would have liked, but if you want a pair of bike racks for very little money, these are for you. Easy to assemble, but the instructions could use a little more detail regarding the spacing for the front and rear attachments. Don't do final tightening until you finalize how your bike will fit on the rack. I also suggest removing the rubber pads (4) that clamp on the bike frame when not in use. Also, keep the straps fastened when not in use. Very good value, prompt delivery and well packaged.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 61-77 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top