Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
not too bad
 from san diego, ca,  Jun 5, 2009

i am new at backpacking and this was my new bag for the trip. it wieghed in at 3.8 lbs and a little bulkier than i thought. it had to ride on the outside of the pack. i was sleeping in a hammock tent in about 40 dagrees out and i woke up cold quit a few times. i admit i am skinny and get cold easliy but i thought the bag would be a little warmer. on solid ground i am sure it would be much better but the bottom side let air in and get chilly. we were hiking in bishop at about 10- 11,000 feet. o yeah the zipper handle broke off the second night but was able to put back on and rebend tab

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As Advertised
 from Seattle, WA,  Mar 18, 2011

I bought 3 of these, one for myself and one for each of my boys, who are starting in Boy Scouts. The quality seemed great on all three and they arrived promptly in excellent condition. The workmanship and details seems first rate. After camping the weekend in an adirondak (open air cabin), at around freezing temperatures, my elder boy reported that it was plenty warm enough and compared favorably to a -30 down bag he'd been borrowing despite being half the weight and size. The company specifies that these are lightweight bags that are aggressively labled, so if you don't know how to stay warm/don't have the other necessary equipment the temperature rating is probably far lower than you will want to use them comfortably. A tent would have been far warmer than the cabin because of the open airflow, and he was using a medium weight pad and wore his base layer to sleep in. These compress to around the advertised size and stuff easily. The stuff sacks are good and a nice bonus for the price. If you're not worried about weight or size, these may not be for you. But if you plan on packing sleeping bags around, I don't know if you can find anything comparable for around this price. I've done a fair bit of mountaineering and mountain climbing and I have owned nicer bags, but not for less than three or four times this price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bag
 from Oregon,  Mar 13, 2011

This is a well constructed, lightweight (seriously), and all around comfy bag. The stuffing is a little thin for a zero degree, but it'll keep you comfortable with little more than your birthday suit on in 25+/-5 degree weather. I prefer the stuffing being the way it is due to the fact that I don't like half my backpack being filled by my sleeping bag. This rolls up nice and small (and lightweight), has a side pocket for your flashlight or wallet, zips down one side, and has a cord to pull the opening shut around your shoulders. It was easily worth the price I paid for it. Conclusion: Get it unless you are messing around with temps in the subzero range; it might be a good idea to get a bit more stuffing (or at least some long Johns) for less than 0 degrees.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
disappointing
 from Seattle,  Dec 12, 2010

I bought the featherlite 0 deg. bag because I knew I was going snow camping. Snow being frozen and all I thought I needed a good sleeping bag for the occasion and because it was a hike I needed a lightweight bag. The bag is defiinitely warm but not warm enough to be snow camping. I use a gortex shell around my sleeping bag to stay dry, I slept in medium wieght polypropylene longjohns and was on a thermarest medium weight sleeping pad. We were in a snow cave, however, there's no way I would have slept outside in this bag. I know my sleeping pad was insufficient. I could feel that. But I could feel the cold through the bag and I was inside out of the weather and the outside temperature only got down to 20 degs F. So the ambient temperature never got down to zero and this bag was not warm enough to sleep inside a snow cave, even with a shell over the bag and longjohns. I could feel the chill on any point that seemed to touch the sleeping bag. Elbows, knees, toes. It was a chill. I wasn't going to die but I was chilled all night. Not enough to shiver but definitely enough to be uncomfortable. Disappointing for sure. Construction seems decent. The weight is great. It's just not what it cllaims to be. I wonder how they test that.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad at all
 from Washington, DC,  Sep 5, 2012

I took this sleeping bag into the Andes for some overnight hikes. The temperature dropped to 30 degrees on most nights. I did not zip up the bag on any of the three nights, and I was wearing a long shirt and long pants. My guess is that it would probably be comfortable down to about 15 degrees, zipped up and wearing regular clothes. Not bad for the price, and about as lightweight as a synthetic bag can get.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Sizing was comfortable up to about six feet tall.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product quality was pretty good overall.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No product defects.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor quality
 from Oakhurst, California,  Dec 7, 2010

My husband feels that this sleeping bag was a big disappointment and could not be a zero degree bag but more likely a 30 degree bag. It was very thin and not good quality of fabric. We thought this was going to be a screaming deal but no such luck.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sleeping Bag
 Oct 4, 2009

This sleeping bag is a wonderful deal. Rated at zero degrees and costing 60 dollers is a steal. I love it I have taken it camping with me up into the himalayans and it served me well. It was delieverd on time and in great condition. Everything about it is perfect. Thanks to overstock.com for a speedy delievery and a brand new sleeping bag! :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
2 happy sons
 from Charlottesvillel VA,  Dec 31, 2012

I got a great deal on these bags the day after Thanksgiving when they were on sale. Wish I had bought 2 more for my wife and I at the sale price! The sleeping bags made my two sons very happy. They will use the sleeping bags on Boy Scout camping trips and family camping trips.

  • How accurate was the sizing? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems to be nicely constructed, the storage bag has nice straps to help tie it on a backpack
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exactly as described
 from Central Virginia,  Dec 6, 2012

Great product! . . . . and even better for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bag for the price
 from Lake City, MI,  Nov 4, 2012

Great bag for the price. Warm and roomy. Materials hold up to the elements.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sleeping bag!
 from NH,  Sep 6, 2012

I recently took this sleeping bag on a week long camping trip where my husband and stayed the night in Colorado and Arizona. Even though the climates were different in each state the sleeping bag kept me a comfotable temperature at night. I love it and highly recommend it!

  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the recreational camper
 from Ashford, CT,  Sep 4, 2012

I use this sleeping bag mostly for motorcycle camping. So far I've got about 2 weeks of use on it and everything has held up well. I've been caught in a couple of nights that were in the upper 30's and the bag kept me warm. I don't think I'd want to sleep in this bag much below that temperature though. Seeing that I use it on my motorcycle, weight is not a huge issue, although to me, it doesn't seem very heavy but I'm not lugging it on my back all day. The bag packs down fairly small but not as small as the more expensive bags. This is a great all around bag for the money.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Sizing was as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
can't complain
 from Atlanta, GA,  Mar 6, 2012

great warm bag. I'm all of 6'4" and i got in no problem. Stupid design flaw though - no zipper pull inside the bag making it a bit of a hassle to zip past the shoulders...kind of important in a zero degree bag. Also weighs in at 66.8 oz, that's 6 oz more than manufacturer claimed. but for the price, it's perfect.

  • How accurate was the sizing? exactly as listed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? 6oz more than claimed
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Bought this for trekking into the Grand Canyon on a week hike. Items of concern: weight, warmth, size and price. The weight with stuff sack was 4.8 lbs which was over the specified weight by a pound. Hopefully, this will mean mine has a little more fill! Warmth is yet to be determined as my trip is not until May. The size is accurate which was in part why I purchased this bag. I needed an affordable bag that would fit into the bottom compartment of my back pack. Based on my measurements this one should have fit and it does perfectly. I was able to put it back in the stuff sack on the first try as well. I did have to work at keeping it tightly rolled but I managed to do it alone. Providing the bag does well in the lower temperatures 0-20's F it will have been a good compromise between price and functionality. I almost forgot: for some reason the bag does not have an internal zipper which would be nice.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sleeping bag appears to be of good quality and really snugs around the neck and head well with drawstring cords.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No apparent defects noticed upon arrival
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Performs well, even when user is damp
 from Boston, MA,  Feb 7, 2012

I bought this bag specifically for using in deep cave systems which are notoriously wet and maintain a constant temperature ranging from 35'-50' depending on the cave system. After having read the other reviews disputing the bag's 0' rating, I decided this bag would probably be adequate for my intended use. To ensure this, I decided to do several test runs in the open outdoors. I used the bag on three separate campouts, one in which I was dry with outdoor temperatures of 25' F, one in which I was damp at 32' and another in which I crawled into the bag soaking wet at 45' after subjecting myself to mild hypothermia (shivering for 30 minutes). Each of these three experiments offered a warm, comfortable night. In each of the trial runs I was wearing polyester long johns. Next I intend to do a test run at 32 or lower soaking wet.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Adequate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality for a mid-range product
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Warm...cozy
 from Colorado,  Jan 3, 2012

Good for the coldest of nights, comfortable, and cozy !

  • How accurate was the sizing? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bill d
 from Lawrenceville, GA,  Dec 11, 2011

Good bag for cold temperatures. Used it on a campout that got down to 28. Pulled the hood over my head and was toasty warm all night.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bag!
 from Boston, MA,  Dec 7, 2011

Bag looks great and warm (haven't used it outdoors yet). Extremely light and compact. Easy to put it in the bag

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfy, But not warm
 from Bozeman, MT,  Nov 3, 2011

I bought this bag to withstand the cold nights outside in Bozeman. The bag is roomy, and comfortable, however, I would not classify this as a 0 degree bag. It keeps me warm on a 40 degree night but any colder and I won't sleep through the night. Good for warmer summers only.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality of materials
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far so good!
 from Stockton, MO,  Oct 12, 2011

The bag is on of the most comfortable bags I've owned. It seems pretty well constructed and the zipper doesn't get caught which is a problem with some bags. The stuff bag or case that it comes with is pretty small. Its great to conserve space but plan on workin a while to get it to fit. I have been rolling it as tight as possible then shorten the side straps, get it started into the bottom of the bag then releasing the side straps. As for the warmth is has been really good but haven't had to zip it all the way up so far, yet the weather has not been lower than 55 degrees, perfect camp weather. So i haven't put it through any real test. I plan to this winter.

  • How accurate was the sizing? The size was perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is a good quality, the zipper is well constructed. ( The bag material doesn't get caught in it) The bag is pretty small, plan on workin hard to get the bag back in.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? It was in good condition
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought