Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 81 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Mar 7, 2011

Everyone seems to like these, so I'll just cover the considerations. I gently use this electronic hearing protector three to five times a month at the range. After an hour or two, the ear cups get a bit swampy - there is no way to wick moisture out while wearing them. Best to change to ear plugs and let the muffs dry out for a little while. The battery door is a bit awkward to remove and reinstall, but does not need frequent battery changes. I changed the batteries after a year because I thought they would need changing soon, but have never run down a set of batteries. These are great to help with conversations with the wife or instructor while on the gun line. When the next lane opens up with an AR15, you can forget any conversation until he runs out of rounds. That is the nature of the product, not a shortcoming of this model. Sound amplification gets hissy at full volume. It is noticeable but not unbearable. Then again, you can hear your own footsteps and breathing at that volume. One night I was investigating a noise in the house with the amp turned all with way up. Nearly jumped out of my skin when the ice cube maker dumped a tray. Remember, finger off the trigger. Did not find anything out of the ordinary and did not shoot the fridge. For the price, my expectations are exceeded. A more expensive design may have full amplifier volume that has less background hiss, but I rarely turn up the volume more than conversation level, about half way. After a year and a half, buying Howard Leight ear muffs was a good decision.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tom
 from Crystal River Florida,  Feb 4, 2011

I ordered a set of these amplified earmuffs because I needed a spare set and I am really surprised at how good they are. My main pair have a retail price of over $300 and they are very sturdy and have held up for 6 years now but my new pair at a fraction of the cost are really quite nice. It would be easy to retire the expensive pair and just use the Impact Sport earmuffs, they are that nice. They use AAA batteries which you can find anywhere and have an auto shutoff feature that will save the batteries if you neglect to turn them off. Several folks at my local gun club have these and I have heard only favorable comments, everyone loves them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What did you say?
 from Clinton Twp, MI,  Oct 19, 2010

These are one of the best Electronic Earmuffs I've ever used. They are comfortable, they fit snuggly on your head, you can hear conversations as if you had no Earmuffs on at all, And yet, the absolute micro second that the gun is fired it muffles the sound. And you can still hear people talking in the background. The one thing you do get if you turn them all the way up on high is electronic hiss noise. But if you turn the sound back enough to get rid of the hissing noise, you can hear people 30 feet away talking to each other. At least, that's the way my pair is working. Love em. Used them with High Power rifles and 44 mag pistols. Fabulous.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
work great. simple to use. not too big.
 from Detroit,  Jun 29, 2012

Nice ear protection that allows for conversation at the range. Compact design so it doesn't hit shotgun when you mount.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Surprised how good the product is.
 from Big D,  Jan 9, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the ear protectors. I liked them so much that I bought another one for my wife. The directions are a little unclear about the battery installation, but anyone with common sense can figure it out in less than a minute. It is amazing how it amplifies low level sounds. This will be great on the shooting range and may even be good for hunting.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad.
 from NE PA,  Jan 7, 2011

Not bad for the price. Very nice being able to hear people speaking without constantly removing and repositioning ear protection. They do interfere with my shooting glasses a bit but I'm still experimenting with shooting placement. Thumbs up.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Laramie, WY,  Dec 29, 2010

These earmuffs are the best for ear protection for shooting. We have several types of guns and have tried different types of ear protection and these have proven to be the best because you can hear when others are talking to you but not get the loud bang when the guns go off. A must for any shooter!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quiet shooting
 from Baden, PA,  Jun 7, 2010

Product is all that it promised. You can be involved with a conversation and still have the dampening effect when a shot rings out. Takes a bit to find that "comfort" fit but once you do it delivers.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what my son wanted!
 from California,  Jan 9, 2014

My son is a gun smith and also likes to shoot at the gun range. He researched this product and asked us for it as a Christmas gift. Overstock had a great price (especially as a club member with free shipping!). The order came promptly and was just what my son asked for. He loves it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exceeded Expectations
 from Eastern, NC,  Dec 27, 2013

I purchased these Electronic Earmuffs as a Christmas gift for my husband who teaches concealed carry and firearms classes. I was nervous about buying these because he wears hearing aids and I wasn't sure if they would affect or conflict with them. Rest assured they work perfectly with them, in fact my husband said he wished his hearing aids worked as well without them! They are super comfortable and have a great low profile.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome earmuffs!
 from Cape Coral, FL,  Dec 15, 2013

I've tried lots of earmuff, and these are by far the best I've found for the price! I can hold a normal conversation, and still be completely protected when we start shooting. Comfortable, too! Thanks Overstock-you never fail to deliver!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Howard Leight Electronic Ear Muffs
 from Lake Mary, Fl,  May 10, 2013

The ear muffs work well for outdoor shooting. For indoor shoot and standing next to high caliber guns beiing fired the muffs did not cancel out the gun shot. I read the reviews before I purchased these and I expected that. Great for outdoors. I could not believe I could hear conversations 10-15 away as clear as if I was standing next to the conversation. Great value for the price.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I expected
 from Bismarck, North Dakota,  May 9, 2013

I have a pair of Caldwell Platinum Series G3 headphones which work great. I have hearing loss primarily in the upper range and these really help. However, they are hard to use with any of my shotguns. I bought the Howard Leights hoping the narrow profile would make it easier to shoot. No noticable difference. Additionally the volume control did not work well. I had to turn it almost all the way up before any amplification then I had to back it off. The overall sound quality was average at best. Even at very low volume the Caldwells give me instant clear volume immediately upon turning them on. The reaction times coming back to "normal" are also slower with the Howard Leights. The noise suppression between the two is equal to me. The Howard Leights fit over the ears better.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good fit "overall"
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Volume/clarity issues
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding! Better than some that cost 4x as much
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  May 9, 2013

These are great little earmuffs. they do the job they are intended to do and better than some of the much higher priced ones. Very easy to turn on and adjust the volume. Great for shooting and being able the hear range commands or just converse while shooting. Also turned all the way up the sound enhancement make for perfect hunting ear protection, just leave them on and you can hear things you would not normally be able to. I could actually hear my 2 neighbors conversation from about 100 yards away. Great product, Great price, and Very durable.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I got the Howard Leight Earmuffs as a replacement
 from Idaho Falls, ID,  Apr 11, 2013

The quality and easiness of use are a plus. Impressed with quality of the shooting muffs. One downside is the cover for the batteries. It can somewhat difficult to remove. Once removed batteries install easily and cover is easily put back on. For the money I would recommend the Howard Leight Shooting muffs.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality with good sensitivity. Overall very satisfied
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Helpful
 from Gansevoort,NY,  Jan 2, 2013

Did a lot of research and reading of reviews before purchasing. Wanted something to protect husband's hearing. He has always worn protection but is having problems as he ages. Wanted to help him out as best as possible and he seems very satisfied with this.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Husband happy with it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Superb product!
 from Massachusetts,  Dec 28, 2012

These hearing protectors are amazing. Used them at a shotgun range. They actually amplify normal sounds and speech so that you can hear someone whisper 20 feet away, yet suppress the sound of the shotguns to a mere "pop." An excellent value for the price and performance. The earcups fit tightly and it can get sweaty under the cushions on a hot day after wearing them a long time.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great ear protection
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Jun 2, 2012

Comfortable, easy to set up and adjust. Compact for storage.

  • How accurate was the sizing? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Comfortable, easy to adjust
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value for the price
 from Derry, NH,  Jun 1, 2012

I am a firearms instructor and have several of these muffs for students. They are reliable and work well. I would use them mostly outdoors, as they don't have quite enough sound suppression using larger caliber firearms on an indoor range, that's why the 4 star rating. They are a great deal when you can find them between $45 and $50. Overstock has them in that range and I watch for them to buy more.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made, easy to set up and use
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
better than expected
 from Jupiter, FL,  Apr 29, 2012

Muffs worked great. Should have bought another pair. Wear them the.whole time I am at the range. Cuts out the shots and allows me to hear conversation.

  • How accurate was the sizing? ?
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great. no problems.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 81 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top