Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
"81 Jet" Hot Tub
 from Shreveport, LA,  Jan 18, 2011

This tub is much better than this advertisement will lead you to believe. I was hesitant to buy it because there is a lack of information on Overstock. Here is an actual link to the specific tub. It is a Laguna Bay X6 http://www.lagunabayspas.com/tub.php?id=16 The tub name is "81 Jet" This does not mean that there are 81 individual jets. The foot blaster contains 14 "jets" and there are 3 or 4 seven hole "jets" around the bottom. This is still plenty of jets. Probably 45-50 separate jets. The large switch on the top diverts water either to the foot blaster (awesome by the way) or to the lounger. The middle range is a blend of both. The foot blaster is not shown in the picture on Overstock. The picture and description show a 4 button control panel. Mine came with a much nicer control unit. There is a waterfall directly above the filter. It is controlled by the knob nearest it. Waterfall is adjustable from off to full force. I like it on, but gently. There is a filter included. Shipping was very fast. The website says that it will leave the warehouse in 1 to 10 days, and that shipping will take between 1 and 6 weeks. That gives a delivery window of 8 days to 52 days from the day that you order it! Mine arrived in about two weeks. Only one delivery brought it; but between the two of us we got it exactly where I want it. Everything I read called for 30" space to each wall. I wanted it lined up with a bay window that we have so I cut the space a little short on one side, at a ~25" gap. The side panels come off completely, and I'm relatively thin; 25" is enough for me. Installing the electricity to the tub was harder than I thought it should be. It's a simple design, red, black, white, ground; but difficult in actual execution. I ended up taking apart the "weatherpack" connection so that I could get the wires to the right location. The spa calls for 6/3 wire, which is pretty thick. It seems that the screw connectors are slightly too small. I removed 2 strands of wire from the stripped area (.5" each) I've used the hot tub almost daily since it arrived. Make sure that any clothing worn in the hot tub is washed a second time, WITHOUT soap. I had to change the water after about a week because of the huge amount of soap bubbles in it. Draining the hot tub is not explained in the instructions. There is a hose connection on the bottom of the tub with a cap on it. Removing the cap doesn't start the flow of water. The connection must be pulled out in order to start the flow of water. Remove the cap, connect a water hose, THEN pull the connection out about 2 inches. I found this out only after I drained it using a sump pump. The sump pump did an amazing job and I will continue draining it this way. The whole tub was pumped out in about 6 minutes. After refilling the tub, it took over 12 hours to heat the water from 53F to 101F, at ~60F outside temperature. This is 50% longer than the 8 hours the instruction say to allow. I wish the lighting was a little brighter. The second pump was a little loud. There are instructions on the link above on the Laguna Bay Spa website on how to bleed the pump. That helped quiet it down a little. I'm using a SpaFrog with Bromine and Minerals. It seems to do a good job keeping the tub nice. My electric bill has increased $28 from last month. I assume future months will be less. This month I heated 350 gallons of water from mid 50F, two times. In the future I'll drain the tub only once every three of four months. I hope this helps people considering this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from upstate, ny,  Sep 7, 2009

Tub is beautiful. It's hard to tell from the picutre, but the tub is actually a dark blue color. The name of the brand is incorrect in the discription. The actual brand is RAINDANCE SPAS and the model is Laguna, not Eclipse as listed. Warranty info listed is also incorrect - actual warranty: 10 yrs shell structure, 2 yrs pumps and 3 yrs shell surface. This spa is an excellent value for the money and should provide many years of enjoyment.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delivery issues but good spa and great price.
 from Connecticut,  Apr 22, 2011

Now that it's up and running I'm using it all the time and love it. The tub came 2 days after the biggest snow storm in Connecticuts history. The tub left the factor having been factory water tested as they all are. Some water was still in the pipes. The tub was delivered and I had to have 6 guys help to get it placed. My electrician spent much longer to get it wired then originally thought. Once wired and running the tub leaked horribly at the bottom. Took panel off to find several cracked pipes underneath. Water had frozen in pipes and cracked them. Took a week to get it all fixed. Because of outside temp. I had to keep a heater on continually underneath the inside of the tub as to not freeze more pipes while water was in it. Fixing it was just basic PVC parts from home depot and a local hot tub place. The company reimbursed me for my buddy to fix it. There is no local repair guy or center. Once fixed it ran great. The guy that wrote in that there isn't any insulation and the tub is a cheap brand is actually just not knowledgable about hot tubs. Basically all hot tubs are made by 2 manufacturers. With over 130 different names. The insulation is pretty basic and the lack of insulation around the pipes doesn't matter at all, they all have that basic design. The water stays heated so there is no reason for them to have insulation and if they did you would have to rip it apart to fix it if it needed fixing so you wouldnt want it to be covered. The all come this way. The tub shell has a sprayed on insulation that is standard on all tubs. The motors , heaters, etc. are all pretty standard. This tub is made descently. Granted some are better but honestly there isn't a lot to these machines so they are all pretty much a standard design and will last a long time if taken care of. For the money this is a very good value. Do not hesitate to buy just realize that you have to make sure that no water is frozen in the pipes when you get it. If so , its a nuesance to fix but not the end of the world. Parts are cheap, covered , and a fairly handy guy can fix this without too much hassle. I do suggest getting the X6 over the X5 as the X6 has 2 pumps vs. the X5's 1 pump. If only one or 2 people will use it most of the time then the x5 is okay and will save you some money. If you can swing it opt for the better X6 tub. Enjoy.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One Year Later
 from Hendersonville, NC,  Oct 30, 2012

I purchased this hot tub one year ago. I waited to write a review until I had an opportunity to use my hot tub and really see how is was going to perform for me. When the hot tub was delivered the delivery guys were extremely helpful in placing my hot tub exactly where I requested. They did not leave it in the drive-way. They unpacked it and the guys even turned the hot tub around to face a specific direction on the concrete pad I had poured. After hiring an electrician to install, I filled with water and heated. I placed my hand in the water to test the temperature and received an electrical shock. I called Laguana direct ( the manufacturer) and they immediately sent out a part to place the defective one. When I told Overstock Customer Service about the problem they reimbursed me for my electrician to come back to my home and install the new part. I have also had issues with the top side controls shorting out when water gets into the inside of the control box. Again, I called Laguana and they have sent replacement parts twice to rectify the issue. I have been able to install the replacement parts myself. As far as the hot tub itself I have been completely satisfied! It has gotten a lot of use over the past year and has helped sooth my arthritis when I have flare-ups. I am giving this an excelent rating even though I have has some issues with parts because of the great customer service and immediate response by Overstock and the manufacturer. I have been told since the last defective issue with my hot tub that they now have fixed the "shock" issue on other hot tubs and have a "good" batch of top side controls that will not short out. So glad in bought my hot tub from Overstock! I also earned cash back from my O membership!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great product. Have had some issue with defective parts.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No - Parts have been sent three times
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from Appleton, WI,  Feb 25, 2011

All the other reviews were right on this one. Great tub, very nice, actually looks better than the ones I saw at a local dealer, for half the price. Not sure how they can sell this tub so cheap, but its the best value of anything I have ever bought from Overstock. Highly recomend!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from St Paul, MN,  Dec 16, 2010

Great spa, great price, and even better using our big O membership discount! Just got it wired up last week and the electrician said he was so impressed he was ordering one for himself. Beautiful color, cabinet, and the lounger is very comfortable(my favorite seat). Also very quiet while its operating. Still waiting on my first electric bill but spa doesnt turn on very often and is very well insulated, so I am not to worried. You do need 4 guys to move it on a deck, as Overstock only offers curbside delivery. Overall, Great Job Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome and affordable
 from portland, oregon,  Dec 18, 2012

came quickly after it was ordered (with free shipping too) and was installed easily and without issue. shell of hot tub is very beautiful and slick, easy to wipe off if it anything gets on it. jets are powerful enough to provide massage benefits and fits six people rather well. no issues with any aspect of it. enjoy it very much with my wife.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. amazing quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal!
 from Benicia, CA,  Mar 30, 2012

I was shocked at how much the local stores wanted me to pay for a 6 person spa. I had decided I couldn't afford one but then I came upon the Overstock selection. I decided on the 81-jet spa because it has 2 pumps and I like a strong jet. I couldn't be more pleased with the spa! Delivery a nightmare though. The truck was scheduled to show up between 9 and noon but didn't actually make an appearance until 10pm -- and that was only because I called for about the 10th time and demanded that they put my delivery in front of another -- otherwise it would have been returned to the warehouse and they would have had to call and reschedule my delivery some other day!! After a day taken off work and waiting for 12 hours at my empty remodel site I was not too happy about that plan. Once they were there, the guys couldn't figure out how to get it off the truck. In the end the delivery company owner drove about 40 miles from his home at 11pm to come show the guys how to do it. It was pretty dicey getting it off the truck with the equipment they had, but finally at midnight the spa was on its side on a pallet in my yard. Phew! Luckily I didn't have steps or anything tricky about the delivery -- just wheel it on the pallet loader down the side access & plunk it down. I already had dedicated 220 electrical so my contractor leveled it and wired it up the next day. He had some questions about the gauge of wire & between his knowledge and the CD that came with the spa he got it figured out. The brand of the spa is Laguna Bay. This is an excellent product so far for the month we've had it. The jets are adjustable from a trickle to a fierce massage -- just the way I like it and hard to find!! I took a risk on this one and it worked out this time -- saved a bundle and I'm lovin' my new spa.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes, so far.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ok for the price
 from Washington,  Mar 24, 2012

Had a few problems with this tub that we had to call out the service center for and the pillow cushions didn't hold up. They started falling apart after about six months. At 9 months had to put a new heater in it. And after seven month the plastic on the jets started breaking. Be careful. Would not buy this tub again.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Iffy
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Tub
 from Los Gatos, CA,  Jul 29, 2011

Great Tub...had help placing it on the deck from the delivery personnel and neighbors. No problem hooking it up, filling, testing the water and placing the spa frog float in. Just wish the manual that came with it was more specific for new hot tub owners. Ordered a hot tub book to help. The manual doesn't tell you the tub will go off automatically when it reaches your water temperature and not come on again unless it goes lower so you don't need to keep going back to check it. And it will continue to operate this way daily until you turn it off. The dark blue color is beautiful and really like the jets and colored, rotating light. We found 103-104 degrees was too hot for us so turned it down to 95 degrees. Maybe when the cold weather comes we'll put it back up but for summer the lower temperature is perfect. Great tub for the cost and would recommend it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal!
 from Outside Philly, PA,  Apr 17, 2011

This is a fantastic hot tub. Took a little while to get it set up but once we did it was fantastic. Highly recommend if you are trying to save a few thousand dollars.

  • How is the quality of the product? The quality is great,
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Set up a bit tricky
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super spa, smooth arrival and install
 from Sharon, MA,  Sep 23, 2013

First of all, ordering and delivery from Overstock.com was amazingly smooth. I ordered it on 7/20 and received it on 8/12. The freight handlers were professional and placed it exactly where and how we wanted it. We had a cement slab installed on our patio to accommodate the spa. The electrician spent a day installing a new breaker and bringing a cable out to the location. He had no trouble. I filled it that day and the electrician checked everything. All set. We could not wait for the chemicals before trying it! It came up to 103 F in about 4-5 hours. We were amazed at the power and versatility of the system. Since installing it, we have used the spa at least 3 times per week. Its easy to maintain with the chemical system we are using (bromine). If we keep the setting on EcE it cools down to mid-nineties, but only takes about an hour to come up to 100 F. It is enjoyable and therapeutic. Excellent purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Hot Tub!
 from Hot Springs, AR,  Aug 12, 2013

So far so good! We took delivery back in April, I wanted to wait a few months to post a review given some of the issues other purchases have had. We experienced no issues with shipping and the delivery man assisted in getting the unit to the deck in the back yard. So far this hot tub has proven an excellent buy. The fiberglass shell is very heavy, well made with an even thickness. Although probably not what I would pick given the choice, the dark blue finish is gorgeous. We chose the redwood color cabinet and together they are beautiful. The cabinet is a fade proof, durable and attractive material, no wood to rot. Access to the plumbing and pumps is excellent. The top that comes with the unit seems to be of an excellent quality as well. We have had no issues with the controls, setting up or using this hot tub. My husband is in it on a regular basis. There are several jet flow adjustments on the tub. The foot/calf blaster is amazing. Several of the jets are directional to accommodate shorter or taller individuals. We are using neither traditional chlorine nor bromine as they both are harmful to and shorten the life of the pumps, jets and finish plus unfriendly to swimsuits and skin. We have been using "Nature 2 Mineral" spa sticks and supplies as recommended with great success. No red eyes, or itchy, chalky skin and the tub is properly sanitized and clean. Considering the high quality, included color changing LED lights, ozonator, and hot tub cover this is really a lot of bang for your buck. I highly recommend.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent, exceeded my expectations
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great spa and value
 from Melville, NY,  Dec 9, 2010

This spa and customer service is awesome! Came with a broken panel from shipping, so I called the manufacturer directly. 2 days later I received the part, and quickly put it on and installed the spa. The spa jets are super powerful. The LED light is also very relaxing. This same spa was over 8k at our local retail stores. I would recommend this spa to anyone, me and my wife use it every night. We have yet to get our first power bill, but it's been in the 40's outside and the spa rarely ever cuts on to heat, so it appears to be very well insulated.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Read Carefully
 from Southeastern PA,  Oct 18, 2010

The spa looks great, but there are many issues with it. There is absolutely no insulation surrounding any of the pipes to each jet, we live in PA, and I can only imagine what the electric bill is going to be this winter trying to keep this think hot. If we lose electric, this is going to be a major concern of these plastic pipes, of which there are about 50 pipes snaking all around this tub inside the walls, they will freeze if electric is lost. Once you take the side off to service anything, it is extremely difficult to get the side panel back on, and it definately takes 2 people to get it back on. There is not a pump that keeps the water circulating, and it seems to get "scummy" very quickly. If you do lose electric, the heater does not turn back on when the electric comes back on, you must remember to go outside and restart the spa or you loose water temperature quickly, that should not be. We wanted to save the money and thought this spa had all of the features that we needed/wanted, but we are regretting our purchase, save your money and get a good name brand spa.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
hottub with loads of issues
 from NE Pennsylvania,  Dec 18, 2014

Purchased in May 2011, hooked it up in October, 2011. Great...awesome hot tub. Loved the power and comfort of this X-6 tub. Cleaned out and shut down for the summer of 2012. We did not seem to have a problem for 2012. In October, 2013, attempted a start up again, just to find out the control panel (mother board) was not functional. Of course your warranty is expired... to had to order another one and pay an electrician to put the part in. In February 2014, the hot tub stopped operating. We live in NE Pa so it was very cold and a lot of snow. In April, 2014 looked in to find no water in the tub. A pipe had busted and of course, the warranty on the mother board (control panel) was expired (only 6 months), so I should . Another mother board???? to find out that the part itself had loose soudering elements....and now the control panel does not work. Another part to order..More expenses but finally get it up and running and THEN two weeks later, the heating element went on the hot tub. Of course ... not warranty. Of course, all the parts do not match to the original ones. This was purchased in May of 2011. Does anyone have any suggestions of how to maintain this model (X-6 ) hottub. Only 4 pages maintanence provided. ONE IMPORTANT THING: This is not Overstock's problem ... it it Liguana Bay Spa's.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my new hot tub!
 from Ocala, Fla,  Nov 24, 2014

Those having questions might want to download the owners manual. I found this very helpful. I Google 'Home and Garden Spas 6-Person 81-jet Hot Tub'. Make sure it's the manual for the 81 jets. When you goggle the above mentioned sentence, a pdf manual will show up. When the hot tub comes it will have a disk with this same information/manual. I find that having it downloaded on my smartphone is more convenient than the disk that came with it.. Fortunately, the shipping/delivery company gave me good advice: They said to buy some 2 pieces of thick plywood to put over various landscape rocks & steps. Therefore, we were able to get over these obstacles. It weighs well over 800lbs. Let your electricians read page 14 of the manual re: 220v & 50 amps. The hot tub exceeds all the others I'd looked at. Being tall we're happy it's deeper than some. I shopped for this one at ***& many other places overstock had the lowest price. Fortunately the delivery company for Ocala, Fl area went beyond what they were required to do. Throughout the whole process they kept in touch with me giving me updates as to when it would arrive. The hot tub had a label saying the actual date the tub was constructed. Which happened to be the approximate date I ordered it. I wish they would list & recommend downloading the manual upon purchasing the tub. My electrician came back after it was delivered to hardwire it the the electrical box. It's power is turned off by the breaker box( I'm talking about when you totally shut it down not when turning off jets etc). You will love the hot tub as there isn't anything not to love. You won't regret getting your owners manual ahead of the delivery. When I Google the product only one pdf manual came up. That manual was exactly like the disk manual that came with the hot tub. Just follow the section for '220v 50 amp'. I glad I bought this exact tub at this exact location. My electrician whom happens to install a lot of high end hot tubs agreed. I'm a girl & know little about this sort of stuff & I managed to do quite well organizing & figuring it all out. Good luck & enjoy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hottubman
 from Northern California,  Nov 6, 2014

The hot tub is great and a good value compared to other tubs from local dealers. Overstock was very responsive and tried hard but the time to fill the order, delays in the delivery process and lack of tech support made this a nightmare. Overstock is a great way to buy but this item is too large and they don't have the necessary control over the other issues to ensure that it will go smoothly. I have owned 3 hot tubs and this one might be the best but you must be prepared for lots of frustration before you ever settle in for a good soak!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I bought this hot tub because of the amount of jets it had and because it was advertised as a 6 person hot tub. For starters 6 was probably meant for 6 kids, not 6 adults. If you get 4 adults in there, you better make sure you know everyone because its going to be a very intimate experience. The tub itself looks very nice, but let me share with you a detailed description of why this tub and company is J-U-N-K! To start Home and Garden Spa = Laguna Bay Spas (same company different name) 6 Person 81 Jet Spa = X6 Spa (name Laguna Bay uses on their company website) I bought this spa on 4/13/14. It arrived on 4/30/14, but I had an issue with my patio being completed before I could even install it and plug it in. On 7/2/14 we got the patio done and we finally were able to turn on the hot tub for the first time. (Which stunk because the warranty starts the day the tub arrives) The hot tub worked great until 7/20/14 when we first started getting heater problems (error codes on the control panel) I called Laguna Bay and told them about my heater errors. I spoke to Billy (there are only 2 or 3 people in that office) he told me they had a known history of bad heaters, and that he would send me a new one and cover the labor for the installation. Ok great...I thought. No problem. He sent me another heater which I had installed on 8/6/14. (I was not there during the install because the installer came while I was at work so I could not inspect the malfunctioning heater) Hot tub was back and running and worked great....for a few weeks. On 9/7/14 we saw that again we were having the same heater issues. I once again call Laguna Bay and explain to them the same issue I had before. Billy tells me to take pictures of my electrical wiring and email it to him. I do so. Billy tells me that I don't have it wired together correctly, and that he is surprised it is even running with that wiring setup. I have Billy speak to my electrician and Billy threatens to void my warranty if its not done how the manual instructs the wiring to be done. We say fine, we change the entire setup and the wiring is now to their liking and specifications. Now we try to turn on the hot tub and it immediately trips the breaker. We UNPLUG 3 connectivity wires on the "Made in China" heater that is connected to the "brain" of the hot tub and the tub turns on but does not heat. So I call Laguna Spa back and talk to Billy again and tell him that this is going on. He sends me a new heater (which he claimed was a more "beefed up" version- no idea what even means) which arrives on 9/29/14. I have the new heater installed on 10/8/14. Upon inspecting the malfunctioning heater we removed, we found there was water inside the electrical element of the heater (which caused the sudden tripping). The water was inside an area where electrical wiring and circuit boards were suppose to be waterfree. I have been emailing with Laguna Bay Spas for weeks now trying to get them to reimburse the labor involved, but they say my 90 day warranty has expired. My response is that they have been sending me bad heaters and never solved the problem the original problem that was happening while I was under their 90 day labor warranty. Think of it this way. You buy a brand new Honda car with a 50,000 mile warranty. On the 35,000 mile your transmission blows (Honda tells you they knew about their bad transmissions and will repair it on their dime because you are under warranty) You get it repaired. On 50,200 mile your transmission blows again. You take it in to get repaired and you find out that it was the same issue as before, but now you have to pay for the labor to get it repaired. The ORIGINAL problem was still the MANUFACTURER'S MISTAKE!! Now I am responsible for paying my electrician (who revamped the entire system for no reason) and hot tub repair man because Laguna Bay Spas (aka Home and Garden) can not make something as simple as a heater that doesn't let water inside!!? Originally they said they would work with me to resolve the problem once and for all, they dragged their feet and now once my 90 day labor warranty expired they are holding me responsible for paying to fix a problem that LAGUNA BAY SPA KNEW ABOUT FOR MONTHS! I am sure LAGUNA BAY will reply to this review stating that my electrical was done wrong and they are constantly referring to that whenever I am trying to get answers from them, but the fact is there are a number of ways you can wire something - at the end of the day the wiring was not what was causing the problem it was WATER leaking into their heater's electrical compartment. Simple as that. Thanks for reading and I hope my headache with this company helps you in deciding which hot tub not to buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Laguan Spa 6X, purchase August 2012
 from Pittsburgh, Pa.,  Sep 27, 2014

We were very excited to have this Spa delivered. It had damage upon arrival which was resolved by Overstock quickly and then Luguna Spas, Kentucky. There have been issues with chemisty (harder than a 40x20 ft. inground pool we had). Valve intake flow issues, valve covers faling off, head rest break/crack easily. After year one we needed to repace heater unit and now Main control panel has a burn/scorch mark area. We only really had enjoyment one winter, and part of the next season whle trying to maintain and repair. Now company does not return e-mails or phone calls. We are hoping the main control panel/circuit board has a warranty. This has not been a good purchse for our family. Very disappointed. My husband is a Electrical and chemical Engineer and does know what to do. But this Spa tub is cheapy made it seems and we don't want to rebuild it. Only thing lasting is blue shell tub inside is as described on website. I will repost if there are any postive resolutions to this major issue of non-working Spa.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought