Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 34 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
"81 Jet" Hot Tub
 from Shreveport, LA,  Jan 18, 2011

This tub is much better than this advertisement will lead you to believe. I was hesitant to buy it because there is a lack of information on Overstock. Here is an actual link to the specific tub. It is a Laguna Bay X6 http://www.lagunabayspas.com/tub.php?id=16 The tub name is "81 Jet" This does not mean that there are 81 individual jets. The foot blaster contains 14 "jets" and there are 3 or 4 seven hole "jets" around the bottom. This is still plenty of jets. Probably 45-50 separate jets. The large switch on the top diverts water either to the foot blaster (awesome by the way) or to the lounger. The middle range is a blend of both. The foot blaster is not shown in the picture on Overstock. The picture and description show a 4 button control panel. Mine came with a much nicer control unit. There is a waterfall directly above the filter. It is controlled by the knob nearest it. Waterfall is adjustable from off to full force. I like it on, but gently. There is a filter included. Shipping was very fast. The website says that it will leave the warehouse in 1 to 10 days, and that shipping will take between 1 and 6 weeks. That gives a delivery window of 8 days to 52 days from the day that you order it! Mine arrived in about two weeks. Only one delivery brought it; but between the two of us we got it exactly where I want it. Everything I read called for 30" space to each wall. I wanted it lined up with a bay window that we have so I cut the space a little short on one side, at a ~25" gap. The side panels come off completely, and I'm relatively thin; 25" is enough for me. Installing the electricity to the tub was harder than I thought it should be. It's a simple design, red, black, white, ground; but difficult in actual execution. I ended up taking apart the "weatherpack" connection so that I could get the wires to the right location. The spa calls for 6/3 wire, which is pretty thick. It seems that the screw connectors are slightly too small. I removed 2 strands of wire from the stripped area (.5" each) I've used the hot tub almost daily since it arrived. Make sure that any clothing worn in the hot tub is washed a second time, WITHOUT soap. I had to change the water after about a week because of the huge amount of soap bubbles in it. Draining the hot tub is not explained in the instructions. There is a hose connection on the bottom of the tub with a cap on it. Removing the cap doesn't start the flow of water. The connection must be pulled out in order to start the flow of water. Remove the cap, connect a water hose, THEN pull the connection out about 2 inches. I found this out only after I drained it using a sump pump. The sump pump did an amazing job and I will continue draining it this way. The whole tub was pumped out in about 6 minutes. After refilling the tub, it took over 12 hours to heat the water from 53F to 101F, at ~60F outside temperature. This is 50% longer than the 8 hours the instruction say to allow. I wish the lighting was a little brighter. The second pump was a little loud. There are instructions on the link above on the Laguna Bay Spa website on how to bleed the pump. That helped quiet it down a little. I'm using a SpaFrog with Bromine and Minerals. It seems to do a good job keeping the tub nice. My electric bill has increased $28 from last month. I assume future months will be less. This month I heated 350 gallons of water from mid 50F, two times. In the future I'll drain the tub only once every three of four months. I hope this helps people considering this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from upstate, ny,  Sep 7, 2009

Tub is beautiful. It's hard to tell from the picutre, but the tub is actually a dark blue color. The name of the brand is incorrect in the discription. The actual brand is RAINDANCE SPAS and the model is Laguna, not Eclipse as listed. Warranty info listed is also incorrect - actual warranty: 10 yrs shell structure, 2 yrs pumps and 3 yrs shell surface. This spa is an excellent value for the money and should provide many years of enjoyment.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delivery issues but good spa and great price.
 from Connecticut,  Apr 22, 2011

Now that it's up and running I'm using it all the time and love it. The tub came 2 days after the biggest snow storm in Connecticuts history. The tub left the factor having been factory water tested as they all are. Some water was still in the pipes. The tub was delivered and I had to have 6 guys help to get it placed. My electrician spent much longer to get it wired then originally thought. Once wired and running the tub leaked horribly at the bottom. Took panel off to find several cracked pipes underneath. Water had frozen in pipes and cracked them. Took a week to get it all fixed. Because of outside temp. I had to keep a heater on continually underneath the inside of the tub as to not freeze more pipes while water was in it. Fixing it was just basic PVC parts from home depot and a local hot tub place. The company reimbursed me for my buddy to fix it. There is no local repair guy or center. Once fixed it ran great. The guy that wrote in that there isn't any insulation and the tub is a cheap brand is actually just not knowledgable about hot tubs. Basically all hot tubs are made by 2 manufacturers. With over 130 different names. The insulation is pretty basic and the lack of insulation around the pipes doesn't matter at all, they all have that basic design. The water stays heated so there is no reason for them to have insulation and if they did you would have to rip it apart to fix it if it needed fixing so you wouldnt want it to be covered. The all come this way. The tub shell has a sprayed on insulation that is standard on all tubs. The motors , heaters, etc. are all pretty standard. This tub is made descently. Granted some are better but honestly there isn't a lot to these machines so they are all pretty much a standard design and will last a long time if taken care of. For the money this is a very good value. Do not hesitate to buy just realize that you have to make sure that no water is frozen in the pipes when you get it. If so , its a nuesance to fix but not the end of the world. Parts are cheap, covered , and a fairly handy guy can fix this without too much hassle. I do suggest getting the X6 over the X5 as the X6 has 2 pumps vs. the X5's 1 pump. If only one or 2 people will use it most of the time then the x5 is okay and will save you some money. If you can swing it opt for the better X6 tub. Enjoy.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One Year Later
 from Hendersonville, NC,  Oct 30, 2012

I purchased this hot tub one year ago. I waited to write a review until I had an opportunity to use my hot tub and really see how is was going to perform for me. When the hot tub was delivered the delivery guys were extremely helpful in placing my hot tub exactly where I requested. They did not leave it in the drive-way. They unpacked it and the guys even turned the hot tub around to face a specific direction on the concrete pad I had poured. After hiring an electrician to install, I filled with water and heated. I placed my hand in the water to test the temperature and received an electrical shock. I called Laguana direct ( the manufacturer) and they immediately sent out a part to place the defective one. When I told Overstock Customer Service about the problem they reimbursed me for my electrician to come back to my home and install the new part. I have also had issues with the top side controls shorting out when water gets into the inside of the control box. Again, I called Laguana and they have sent replacement parts twice to rectify the issue. I have been able to install the replacement parts myself. As far as the hot tub itself I have been completely satisfied! It has gotten a lot of use over the past year and has helped sooth my arthritis when I have flare-ups. I am giving this an excelent rating even though I have has some issues with parts because of the great customer service and immediate response by Overstock and the manufacturer. I have been told since the last defective issue with my hot tub that they now have fixed the "shock" issue on other hot tubs and have a "good" batch of top side controls that will not short out. So glad in bought my hot tub from Overstock! I also earned cash back from my O membership!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great product. Have had some issue with defective parts.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No - Parts have been sent three times
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from Appleton, WI,  Feb 25, 2011

All the other reviews were right on this one. Great tub, very nice, actually looks better than the ones I saw at a local dealer, for half the price. Not sure how they can sell this tub so cheap, but its the best value of anything I have ever bought from Overstock. Highly recomend!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from St Paul, MN,  Dec 16, 2010

Great spa, great price, and even better using our big O membership discount! Just got it wired up last week and the electrician said he was so impressed he was ordering one for himself. Beautiful color, cabinet, and the lounger is very comfortable(my favorite seat). Also very quiet while its operating. Still waiting on my first electric bill but spa doesnt turn on very often and is very well insulated, so I am not to worried. You do need 4 guys to move it on a deck, as Overstock only offers curbside delivery. Overall, Great Job Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome and affordable
 from portland, oregon,  Dec 18, 2012

came quickly after it was ordered (with free shipping too) and was installed easily and without issue. shell of hot tub is very beautiful and slick, easy to wipe off if it anything gets on it. jets are powerful enough to provide massage benefits and fits six people rather well. no issues with any aspect of it. enjoy it very much with my wife.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. amazing quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal!
 from Benicia, CA,  Mar 30, 2012

I was shocked at how much the local stores wanted me to pay for a 6 person spa. I had decided I couldn't afford one but then I came upon the Overstock selection. I decided on the 81-jet spa because it has 2 pumps and I like a strong jet. I couldn't be more pleased with the spa! Delivery a nightmare though. The truck was scheduled to show up between 9 and noon but didn't actually make an appearance until 10pm -- and that was only because I called for about the 10th time and demanded that they put my delivery in front of another -- otherwise it would have been returned to the warehouse and they would have had to call and reschedule my delivery some other day!! After a day taken off work and waiting for 12 hours at my empty remodel site I was not too happy about that plan. Once they were there, the guys couldn't figure out how to get it off the truck. In the end the delivery company owner drove about 40 miles from his home at 11pm to come show the guys how to do it. It was pretty dicey getting it off the truck with the equipment they had, but finally at midnight the spa was on its side on a pallet in my yard. Phew! Luckily I didn't have steps or anything tricky about the delivery -- just wheel it on the pallet loader down the side access & plunk it down. I already had dedicated 220 electrical so my contractor leveled it and wired it up the next day. He had some questions about the gauge of wire & between his knowledge and the CD that came with the spa he got it figured out. The brand of the spa is Laguna Bay. This is an excellent product so far for the month we've had it. The jets are adjustable from a trickle to a fierce massage -- just the way I like it and hard to find!! I took a risk on this one and it worked out this time -- saved a bundle and I'm lovin' my new spa.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes, so far.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ok for the price
 from Washington,  Mar 24, 2012

Had a few problems with this tub that we had to call out the service center for and the pillow cushions didn't hold up. They started falling apart after about six months. At 9 months had to put a new heater in it. And after seven month the plastic on the jets started breaking. Be careful. Would not buy this tub again.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Iffy
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Tub
 from Los Gatos, CA,  Jul 29, 2011

Great Tub...had help placing it on the deck from the delivery personnel and neighbors. No problem hooking it up, filling, testing the water and placing the spa frog float in. Just wish the manual that came with it was more specific for new hot tub owners. Ordered a hot tub book to help. The manual doesn't tell you the tub will go off automatically when it reaches your water temperature and not come on again unless it goes lower so you don't need to keep going back to check it. And it will continue to operate this way daily until you turn it off. The dark blue color is beautiful and really like the jets and colored, rotating light. We found 103-104 degrees was too hot for us so turned it down to 95 degrees. Maybe when the cold weather comes we'll put it back up but for summer the lower temperature is perfect. Great tub for the cost and would recommend it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal!
 from Outside Philly, PA,  Apr 17, 2011

This is a fantastic hot tub. Took a little while to get it set up but once we did it was fantastic. Highly recommend if you are trying to save a few thousand dollars.

  • How is the quality of the product? The quality is great,
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Set up a bit tricky
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great spa and value
 from Melville, NY,  Dec 9, 2010

This spa and customer service is awesome! Came with a broken panel from shipping, so I called the manufacturer directly. 2 days later I received the part, and quickly put it on and installed the spa. The spa jets are super powerful. The LED light is also very relaxing. This same spa was over 8k at our local retail stores. I would recommend this spa to anyone, me and my wife use it every night. We have yet to get our first power bill, but it's been in the 40's outside and the spa rarely ever cuts on to heat, so it appears to be very well insulated.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Read Carefully
 from Southeastern PA,  Oct 18, 2010

The spa looks great, but there are many issues with it. There is absolutely no insulation surrounding any of the pipes to each jet, we live in PA, and I can only imagine what the electric bill is going to be this winter trying to keep this think hot. If we lose electric, this is going to be a major concern of these plastic pipes, of which there are about 50 pipes snaking all around this tub inside the walls, they will freeze if electric is lost. Once you take the side off to service anything, it is extremely difficult to get the side panel back on, and it definately takes 2 people to get it back on. There is not a pump that keeps the water circulating, and it seems to get "scummy" very quickly. If you do lose electric, the heater does not turn back on when the electric comes back on, you must remember to go outside and restart the spa or you loose water temperature quickly, that should not be. We wanted to save the money and thought this spa had all of the features that we needed/wanted, but we are regretting our purchase, save your money and get a good name brand spa.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worked out great in the end
 from Esopus, NY,  Jul 26, 2014

I ordered my hot tub early march received it in the end of March and that was where my night mare began. The people who delivered it dropped it off the truck, rolled it end over end down my driveway and then left it standing up on the curb when they couldn't manage to get it where it was suppossed to go. After my conversation with overstock, I was convinced to keep it, they would send them back to complete delievery and send me whatever repair parts I needed. This did take much longer then I would have anticipated as there were more broken components inside then one would have guessed. It is July 26th, and I finally have a working hot tub. Although working with Overstock and the manufacturer was always pleasant and they were always helpful and accommodating, it was time consuming. I will definitely order from Overstock again, they stood behind me all the way. But if I had it to do over, I would have refused delivery and had them send me another one.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great spa for the price
 from Florida,  Jun 20, 2014

We purchased this spa after much research. We were not willing to spend the big bucks but wanted a therapeutic spa. We found this spa on the manufacturer's website and right before we bought it, I saw it on o.co. With the first time buyer coupon and by joining the o club, the spa was considerably cheaper than directly from the manufacturer. The spa was delivered within 3 weeks and placed directly on our pad (we have an alley accessible back yard). The only warning I would give if that it is really heavy and we would have had difficulty had we had to move it into our backyard by ourselves. They do not offer white glove delivery so you will likely need to have a hydraulic dolly with several men (ours still took three men and a hydraulic dolly). We are now enjoying the stars and have no regrets!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excelent Buy
 from NJ,  Feb 2, 2014

We purchased the hot tub on overstocks after looking at retailers in our area. We were able to use a "first time purchaser" coupon XX%. And I sighed up for the O club which gave me $XXX.XX In my account after the item was shipped. The difference in price from area retailers to overstocks was dramatic to say the least. Any hot tub at area retailers that had 2 pumps, a lounge seat, 6 person 80plus jets was well over $XXXX. I would HIGHLY recommend buying it here. We were worried about delivery since the stores that we went to told us there was different price levels for what type of delivery you wanted (curb side being the cheapest, white glove being the most expensive) We were thrilled when the delivery person called to set up a time and told us that we had white glove delivery service. The only thing that cost us more money than we had expected was the electrician. First of all we wasted some time looking for an owners manual on line when the electrican showed up only to find out that the manual was in the side electrical panel of the hot tub. It took him all day to figure out if our existing box could support the hot tub and get it going. The water took a good 15 plus hours to heat. We use it everyday and we are in the middle of a very cold winter in NJ. I absolutely love it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best price
 from Hartford, ct,  Jan 1, 2014

Best price by far anywhere. Delivery went smooth. Runs like a gem

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delivery problems, but tub is wonderful!
 from Small town in PA,  Dec 27, 2013

I did a lot of online research about various hot tubs out there, and chose this model because of the two 6 hp pumps. I didn't want a wimpy spa. Was not disappointed. The spa is comfortable, roomy, maintains temperature well and has a lot of power in the jets. I move from seat to seat to get a full range of massage options - one for the neck, one for the back, and the lounge for the full body experience. I love the powerful foot jets - exactly what I need after a long day at work. I did have delivery issues, but the problems were with the local company, and Overstock went out of their way to get the problems taken care of and the spa delivered. It took 6 delivery people because this thing is heavy. My boyfriend, who is mechanically inclined, did the set up and wiring. It does require a professional. I'm very happy with my purchase, and recommend both this product and Overstock. Thanks to Toi and everyone in the oversized shipping department for all their help!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
81 jet spa
 from Hamlin West Virginia,  Dec 3, 2013

Absolutely love this spa - nice therapy jets, everything works as stated. Only thing is it did not come with a manual or a starter kit which would have been helpful.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super spa, smooth arrival and install
 from Sharon, MA,  Sep 23, 2013

First of all, ordering and delivery from Overstock.com was amazingly smooth. I ordered it on 7/20 and received it on 8/12. The freight handlers were professional and placed it exactly where and how we wanted it. We had a cement slab installed on our patio to accommodate the spa. The electrician spent a day installing a new breaker and bringing a cable out to the location. He had no trouble. I filled it that day and the electrician checked everything. All set. We could not wait for the chemicals before trying it! It came up to 103 F in about 4-5 hours. We were amazed at the power and versatility of the system. Since installing it, we have used the spa at least 3 times per week. Its easy to maintain with the chemical system we are using (bromine). If we keep the setting on EcE it cools down to mid-nineties, but only takes about an hour to come up to 100 F. It is enjoyable and therapeutic. Excellent purchase!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 34 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top