Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 80 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great pack
 from Iowa,  Aug 1, 2007

I am doctor of physical therapy and i just returned from backpacking europe for 2 weeks. The pack is ajustable which is important in the ergonomics of using the pack. It is very important to be able and ajust your pack to decrease back pain during your trips. I would recommend this pack to family, friends, and patients. This pack had plenty of room, and was durable. I also like to look of this pack. Anyway hope this helps you out and have fun on your future trips.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buy it. You'll love it.
 from New England,  Mar 21, 2009

I was in need of replacing my old, worn, outdated pack and my daughter forwarded me a link for this one. I'm a kook for diligent comparison shopping and I did lots of it. I also place a lot of value on reviews and I read them all, here and elsewhere. In the end I bought this pack and just got back from its first trial run... in three feet of snow, on snowhoes, an arduous ascent and descent and loaded with all of the finest goods and gear one could want. Wow. I should have made this move long ago. When you travel on foot, your pack can be yur best friend or your worst enemy. I have a new best friend. Frankly, I was shocked at the quality when it arrived (quickly I might add). Whoever designed this pack has carried a few before. It has everything I want. Light weight... lots of room... convenient access to compartments and it looks great. I'm a little confused with the "hydration" feature(s), since it appears the mini-pack/strap thing on the back is designed for a bladder, yet the scupper for the bite tube is built into the main compartment. Not a big deal at all though. I prefer the bottle pockets on the sides anyway. There is a clip for the hydration tube on the shoulder strap in any event and wherever one would put the bladder, it would be easily accessible. I want to address the few, partly negative reviews I condidered. The water bottle pockets re not "too tight".... they're adjustable. Make them as tight or loose as you want and they can hold containers firm or loose. Side pockets. Hmmmm.... whoever said they were needed and not there didn't look close enough. There are two very cleverly designed bellows pockets that hold a lot of stuff. They are pleated and darn near invisible until you discover them. Thin shoulder straps. I suppose if you really want to carry all the weight on your shoulders, they might get uncomfortable. Any strap would in y opinion. The belly strap on this pack is easily adjusted on the fly and that's where I put the weight. On my hips. The shoulder strap is just there to keep the whole rig from falling off backward. That's all I remember being negative comments. I can offer none. I love the whole pack, but I really love the top compartment with the rubberized zipper. The built in rain cover in blaze orange is also brilliant. You will not find a better pack for the money. As one reviewer mentioned, be sure and check for value codes. I googled them and saved ten bucks. I alsmost feel bad now. I love it that much.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Pack
 from New Hampshire,  Feb 10, 2009

I've recently purchased this pack and have already taken it on several trips into the White Mountains. I was able to fit plenty of my gear into the pack, as well as strap gear to the exterior. There are many useful straps, pockets, and is very well built. I had never heard of this particular company before but the reviews on this pack encouraged me to give it a try. Very well worth the money! Also, make sure to search the internet for "Overstock promo codes" before making your purchase. There are codes available that will give you an additional discount. I recieved an additional 10% off which made it even a better purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
THIN STRAPS -- but good value
 from Santa Barbara, CA,  Jan 26, 2009

I have compared several packs and this bag is most definitely a good product for the money. HOWEVER, if you plan on carrying 35+ pound loads for 6+ miles in a day, you will experience severe pain from the straps digging into your shoulders and chest. Even when the pack is properly positioned on your hips, the shoulder straps are designed poorly and manufactured too thinly.The pack itself looks good, is made of high quality, low weight fabrics, and is pretty well designed. There are plenty of straps and loops to hook on your Thermarest, tent, or sleeping back, and there is plenty of overall storage space.I purchased Timbuktu shoulder strap covers to add some padding to my straps, and you will too if carrying heavy loads.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product for price
 from MD,  Aug 27, 2013

Great backpack. I took this camping with me over this past winter and it held up very well. It also was able to hold a LOT of stuff. There are so many different nooks, crannies, latches, pockets and strings to store your stuff. I would buy again.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
best bag for the buck
 from woodstock, ga,  Aug 29, 2012

This backpack is the best backpack I have ever had the pleasure of owning, and I have had many backpacks in my lifetime. I am able to fit an amazing amount of gear into the many compartments, especially the side compartments that expand out to fit an insane amount of extra stuff. The pack is fully adjustable frame from extra short to extra tall. There is a very comfortable lumbar support and an adjustable hip belt support to help put all the weight on your hips instead of your shoulders, but if you want to switch the weight to go from hips to shoulders you can do it while walking. There are mesh side that can be used for water bottle if you do not like using the bladder. You have to buy this backpack as it has everything one could need and more.

  • How accurate was the sizing? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. unbelievable, awesome, top of the line
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for backpacking
 from Orlando, FL,  Apr 15, 2012

What a great backpack! I bought four of these for use on a family trip to Europe. We spent 2 weeks traveling around with these as our luggage. All the backpacks held up very well and had so much room to carry all the necessities. The straps are well cushioned and comfortable to wear for long periods of time. This was such a great value!

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate, exactly what I was expecting
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, stood up to 2 weeks of travel and airline handling
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for an adventure.
 from New York city.,  Oct 30, 2011

I used this bag when I canoed the Mississippi River. Given, I was not carrying it most of the time, as t was packed in our canoe, however it packed well and was comfortable when I was carrying it to and from our campsites and on the portages. It's hard to imagine a pack costing twice as much being twice as good.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great, especially for the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Free of defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
waiting
 from chesnee, sc,  Oct 9, 2011

Haven't used yet. Waiting for spring. Looks great

  • How accurate was the sizing? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. waiting
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Product, Excellent Price.
 from MD, Knoxville,  Aug 5, 2011

This product is well constructed. holds it weight well. which is important for the weight to load bearing caabilities. this backpack has many features. some which are not needed but none that are unwanted. if you are creative, all "unessential" features are easily useable. fine product. even better for the price..

  • How accurate was the sizing? Modular N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well constructed. quality materials. durable feel.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? sure
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
quality pack
 from Pleasanton, CA,  Jul 19, 2011

Got this and another from here and love them, especially the price. I see other packs going for 200+. I could not justify spending that much on a pack that will only get used a couple times a year. Can wait to get out and use this on a long trip!

  • How accurate was the sizing? good size
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seams seem to have no problems
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from Florida,  Jul 16, 2011

We purchased this backpack for my husband before a 5 week backpacking trip to south america. It was the perfect size, held every thing we needed and then some. The quality was very good, lots of compartments and features.I very much recommend this bag!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy Kathmandu 70
 from Stonington, CT,  Mar 4, 2011

Awesome pack. The only one thing I would change on it is that I would sew on a leather bottom, so that with wear - and who doesn't park their pack on the ground - the bottom will hold up. Other than that, I could not be more pleased with this pack. Maybe other people are as reluctant as I am to buy things online because I/we like to see things up close and personal, but I took a chance on this pack, and I am certain I lucked out.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice pack but...
 from long island, ny,  Nov 4, 2010

nice large pack but straps loosened often. maybe it was the 40-45 lbs of gear i was hauling for 13 days on the trail. by the end of the trip i had all the adjustments made but still had straps loosened on me quite often. did it's job and no comfort issues aside from the weight i was carying. had small rip at bottom of pack where the zipper connected the sleeping bag compartment.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Made travel in Europe a breeze
 from Charlotte, NC,  Oct 18, 2010

I bought a pair of these packs for my husband and I in preparation for a 3 week trip to Italy. It was the perfect size for all of our clothes etc and even had some space left for souvenirs. I am so glad we decided to get these packs rather than taking normal luggage!! The pack itself was very comfortable to wear and relatively easy to adjust. We've never owned hiking packs before so the maze of straps and buckles was a little daunting at first, but even as newbies we were able to get them adjusted comfortably with little fuss. Durability wise they were great and look just as good after 3 weeks of being thrown around on planes, trains, metros and cars as they did the day we left (plus a little road dirt haha). All the straps, buckles and fabric took the wear extremely well and came home completely intact and functional. Already looking forward to my next trip with this bag!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK but...
 from Madison, MS,  Jul 14, 2010

The pack appears to be just what I need. I wish it had instructions on adjustments and on all of its features. There are straps, snaps and adjustment points all over. I guess I will just have to learn by trial and error. Maybe that is part of the fun of the sport of backpacking to learn you pack.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Quality & Price
 from Reno, NV,  Jul 7, 2010

I bought two of these backpacks for family backpacking trips. We have not had a chance to use them yet, but plan on a few trips this summer. My boys are getting close to boy scouting age and will be taking overnight hiking trips within the next year. They might be a little big the first year, but I think they will be fine after that. Until then, I get to use and enjoy them. They are well made and I hope once my boys are through using them, they will still be in good enough shape to pass back on to me. Thanks Overstock once again for providing an excellent product with a very affordable price tag!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow!
 from Southwest VA,  Jul 6, 2010

This is a very well thought out pack. Unbelievably well done at such a low price. It does have a ton of straps and buckles which can be a little overwhelming, but the number of pockets and compartments for storage and organizing are a definite plus. This is my Beloved's pack and he often has pain in his back and hip. The engineering and design didn't cause him a flare on our first hike with a ~20# load. It was a hot day and the padded strap system wicked the sweat away from his back! Looking forward to many more happy hikes, but we may wind up bickering over who gets the Kathmandu!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Greensboro, NC,  Jun 23, 2010

This was the first backpack I've ever purchased. It was purchased for a 3 week trip to Ecuador. I recently used it on a road trip to New Orleans. While the strap configuration can be difficult to understand any individual with intelligence can figure it out. I have a college degree, but it doesn't take it to figure out the pack. The pack is quite large and can fit almost anything. I love this pack. It is very comfortable as well. It is a great pack. I recommend to anyone who isn't an expert. However, I'm just a beginner.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great pack
 from Southeastern US,  Apr 12, 2010

Used this pack for the first time last weekend. It held everything that I needed plus. I ended up with a 45 pound pack and it carried just great. Can't wait to get back out there! I recommend this pack to anyone. Great price and a great pack.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 80 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Wenzel Escape 65-liter Hydration Backpack
Today $74.99
Compare $141.11
Save 47%
Wenzel Escape 90-liter Hydration Backpack
Today $89.99
Compare $158.76
Save 43%
Alpinizmo Adrenaline 75+10 Backpack by High Peak USA
Sale $100.79
Was $111.99
Compare $138.13
Save 27%
(1)
Alpinizmo Lightning 50 Backpack by High Peak USA
Sale $81.89
Was $90.99
Compare $94.78
Save 14%
Back to top