Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 26 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A firefighter's impression
 from USA,  Aug 24, 2010

The old adage "You get what you pay for" holds true here. These knives were inexpensive, and I figured I could use a beater knife on duty to leave on my turnout gear so I thought I'd give these a try. Unfortunately, these are largely non functional. The materials themselves are of decent quality. It is mostly heavy metal construction, given the knife a solid heft. The steel takes an edge well and holds it fairly well for a $10 knife. While there is little flex in the models I received the entire blade rests on its hinge meaning that under stress the blade receives no support from the liners. Unfortunately this is where the good news ends. These knives have poor quality control. Tolerances are awful. First up is the clip. The two models I received both had very loose clips, to the point of not being functional. Multiple times the knife would come off my turnout gear, often with the blade open. Picking up your gear off the ground can result in knife spinning through the air with the blade open. That permanently retired both of mine from any service beyond sitting in a drawer. The other person I know who ordered these same knives showed me one of his, the clip seemed significantly sturdier. Again, quality control seems to be a huge issue. I had the chance to test two features of these knives at a vehicle extrication course. Depending on how the knife was fused together, the seatbelt cutter's blade (which is actually a part of the liner) can either be partially exposed or not exposed at all. Both knives I received did not have the blades exposed. Someone I know who ordered a set only had one with the blade exposed. The point of a seatbelt cutter is so you can quickly and easily slice through a seatbelt or webbing material without danger of damaging anything nearby. Unfortunately with these cutters, it is neither quick nor easy. One must fumble with holding the seatbelt steady and rigid while slicing to even hope to cut the seatbelt. If you do manage, it results in a messy cut that required a lot of effort and time. Forget trying to use the seatbelt cutter under distress, which is the whole point. I would under no circumstance attempt to cut a seatbelt with this knife using anything other than the primary blade in real use. It is essentially a useless feature. Lastly, and sadly this is an issue with design and not quality control, is the glass breaker. It doesn't work, at all. Glass breakers are supposed to have a sharp point made of a very hard material. Unfortunately the glass breaker on this knife is neither sharp nor hard. When first attempting to break the safety glass on the side of a van, I used the force typically required with most glass breakers. This did nothing, I proceeded to hit the glass progressively harder until it was clear this glass breaker had no chance of working. The force the window was being hit with was such that the glass was chipping and cratering where the knife was contacting it and yet no shattering occured. The impact of these hits was enough to flatten the tip of the glass breaker. This means under use the tip quickly goes from having a very small chance of working to essentially no chance of working. I should remind you that I was performing this in full protective turnout gear with less fear of breaking glass than a civilian would so I was able to hit the glass with a lot of force. A real glass breaker, however, should be capable of shattering safety glass with minimal force. Unlike these knives, the other equipment we had that day that featured glass breakers and seatbelt cutters worked flawlessly. Ultimately you have a mediocre knife with two features that are not only non functional but would probably put the user at risk. Not only by assuming to have capabilities they don't, but actually trying to use the seatbelt cutter and glass breaker in a real emergency would probably do more harm than good. If you are looking for an inexpensive beater knife, look elsewhere for one that attempts to do one thing well (***** series comes to mind) than one that does several things poorly or not at all. Even as a knife and even at this price you can do better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice knife
 from Virginia,  Aug 11, 2011

I keep one in my car and one with my backpacking things. Everyone loves the look of it and it cuts nicely. True it doesnt have alot of gagets on it, but it gets the job done when your backpacking. its a good deal.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I use it for camping and it hasnt let me down
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yep
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Firefighter
 from mildura/australia,  Nov 2, 2010

I simply wanted as a firefighter a good servicable knife...the extreme firefighter knife meets that need very well Delivery and service was excellent nad quick Thanks for your service

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great knife
 from sacramento ca,  Dec 22, 2012

i only give this a good because the knife looks pink not red or orange like the picture shows

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome knife set
 from Fayetteville, N C,  Oct 19, 2012

I bought this set for my brother in law for Christmas. He is a firefighter and collects knives so it was great to find a gift to combine both his loves. Shipping took a little longer than expected but well worth the wait.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome quality engraving of symbol was a special added bonus
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect fit
 from miami fl,  Jul 4, 2012

I was looking for an emergency device for my two daughters car this was a perfect match with a great price.

  • How accurate was the sizing? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very goods
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from Northern Virginia,  Jan 11, 2012

I bought this for one of my sons who is a volunteer firefighter and he likes it a lot. I originally was going to give him one and keep one myself but he liked it so much he keeps it attached to his fire helmet so I gave him the other one to keep in his personal truck for emergency use. Overstock's price was much better than other online sources for similar knives.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice quality knife
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good knife
 from Chattanooga, TN,  Jan 1, 2012

I gave the knives as a gift and he loved them. the knives are very sharp. Quick and easy transaction.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. top quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great quality
 from ca,  Nov 11, 2011

could not be happier very nice product fast shipping

  • How accurate was the sizing? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. grade a
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You get two knives for one low price.
 from Oxnard, CA,  Oct 11, 2011

You get two knives for one low price. Each knife is worth the price.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects noted
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great fire/rescue tool
 from Richmond, Va.,  Aug 23, 2011

good weight set screw loosens after repeated used. blade looses edge quickly but easy to sharpen.

  • How accurate was the sizing? just right
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the Gadget Guys!
 from Beaverdam, VA,  Jul 30, 2011

My son got this for his stepfather as a gift. He is a firefighter and loved it. Nice knife for a great price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great price!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Apr 13, 2011

I was looking for emergency items and came upon this pocket knife set. I first was looking at the extreme police pocket knife but found that this was a set of 2 compared to 1. Such a great deal! I still have yet to use it so I cannot tell you how it performs but everything is very sturdy and well-built. The shipping was also very quick! Great product and would recommend to others!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Cedar Rapids, IA,  Apr 7, 2010

I would highly recommend this product. My husband ordered these because he is a firefighter and just HAD to have them, if you know what I mean. He has seen other firefighters with these knives and was impressed by all that you can do with them. They are a very nice quality of knife. He absolutely loves this product and will order them again in the future!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
knife
 Mar 24, 2010

Solid built and fairly sharp, good value although I hate giving all my purchaces to Made in China. Its only money

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value!
 from Rouses Point, NY,  Mar 18, 2010

I purchased these for my son who is volunteer firefighter and he really likes them! He is planning on carrying one in his pocket and one in he EMS bag that is in his car.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well...
 from Baton Rouge, LA,  Mar 15, 2010

The knives came in one color, not two. I received two reds and zero oranges. It took the knives quite some time to arrive, but I blame that more on USPS than the shipper. However, I will say that this is the best knife I have ever bought and it is probably also the cheapest. The blade is sharp, the handle is attractive and the screws are tight. Also the secondary features are fantastic. A great buy and worth the wait.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product!
 from Colfax, IL,  Mar 9, 2010

Great product. Beautiful, useful and great design. LOVE THEM BOTH!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My husband is very happy !
 from Dunnellon,FL,  Feb 26, 2010

I bought these for my husband who is a firefighter. These knives are great quality, and at a fantastic price. We've been telling everyone we know in that field to buy them from Overstock ! I am turning into a total Overstock.com addict...great products at great prices and I need to keep costs down these days. Keep it up Overstock !

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from Bronx, NY,  Jan 3, 2010

Great value for Extreme Firefighter Pocket Knives. I am able to store them in my vehicles for emergencies.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 26 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top