Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
nice set
 from Kansas City, MO,  May 12, 2010

This is a nice little chess set - smaller than I expected but not too small and very portable. It is well made and the drawers are designed so that you have to pull from both sides to open it - that keeps them from accidentally slipping open. The pieces seem hand carved and are attractive. Everything is wood and feels much nicer than plastic. The magnets aren't very strong but will hold the pieces in place if bumped or on a car ride. I feel like this chess board is solid and will last a while. I'm happy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nicely described
 from Hanford, CA,  Nov 8, 2013

Small but nicely done. Drawers difficult to open probably just at first but the pieces have good details and are big enough to hold comfortably.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess set
 from East Texas,  Oct 18, 2013

I bought this chess set for my grandson. It is lovely. I like that it has two trays to contain pieces. The pieces and board are magnetic, that is a plus. The board is very pretty and well made.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant wood chess set
 from Franklin, NH,  Dec 21, 2012

Very satisfied with the product, thank you. I like that it has drawers on both sides to hold all the pieces so they do not get lost. Also being magnetized helps the game pieces from toppling over on the board. Anyone who is looking for a wooden chess set should seriously consider this one. Not too big and bulky just right for an intense game of brain challenging play.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. you get your moneys worth
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT value
 from california,  Mar 12, 2011

This is a great little (smaller than the usual gameboard) chess set. Bought it for my grown son and he and his family are enjoying it thoroughly, since they have a 2 year old that always wants to be involved in any activities, the magnetic part of it is an EXTREME advantage. They are very happy with this chess set and are using it much more than expected. GET IT !!!!san

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice!
 from Acworth,GA,  Jan 8, 2010

This was a Christmas present and my husband really liked it. The fact that it is magnetic, was just icing on the top.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chess set
 from Fairborn, OH,  Jan 1, 2010

This is a great chess set. I bought it for my 15 year old grandson and it's great becausethe pieces are magnetic and if you accidental hit the board the pieces don't move.....plus it comes with it's own storage. That's a plus, too! I think it's a great value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good Chess Set
 from Stamford, CT,  Dec 3, 2014

Very Good Holiday present. Good Quality. My grandson loves this set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small but not too small
 from Bronx , NY,  Oct 29, 2014

This set is really nice in that it has magnetized pieces. Makes playing an easy task.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wood Chess Board
 from Rochester, MI,  Jan 11, 2014

I purchased this chess set for my 9 year old Grandson. He & his twin sister are learning chess from my husband. They plan on joining the Chess Club at their school & the self-storing pieces in this beautiful set make transporting it to & from school very convenient. As it is such a attractive piece, it sits on the table in their home for 'spur of the moment' games!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small and cheap
 from Newton Grove, NC,  Jan 10, 2014

This purchase was disappointing. The chess pieces are tiny and plastic and the board was very small. Not what I was expecting.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product!
 from Rancho Cordova, CA,  Jan 7, 2014

My son asked for a "really nice" chess board for Christmas. This chess board does not disappoint! The board itself looks like beautiful parquet and the felt-lined drawers slide p[en easily. The pieces are made of smooth polished wood, The only detractor is that the board is somewhat small, bur it's still more than OK. My son LOVES it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small Chess Set
 from Tallahassee, FL,  Jan 2, 2014

Love the chess set! It was smaller than I had thought but I'm sure that I didn't read the measurements correctly. Great Quality!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The board came in decent condition other than the top was warped a bit. I have had it for about a month now and the seams on the board between the dark and light squares are starting to separate. Other than that it is a really nice portable layout. I wish they had put a little more attention into the board top. A nice solid top would have made this the perfect set in my opinion.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The board was warped and has started to split near the checkered seams.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really not what I wanted
 from NJ,  Dec 13, 2012

Product not what I expected. Seems to be cheaply made for what I was looking for. I will be sending it back.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Disappointed on the quality of product. Will be sending it back.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Magnetic chess board.
 from Houston, Texas,  Jan 9, 2012

I bought this chess set for my 11 year old nephew. I really like the fact that the pieces are magnetic so they stay on the board. Overall it looke nice.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very nice size.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects noticed.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for a young chess player
 from Champaign, IL,  Dec 30, 2011

My 10 year old son loves it. The fact that it is magnetized makes it perfect for road trips or even playing on the couch. I love how the pieces store in little drawers on the side. No more lost pieces.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kids chess set
 from WA state,  Dec 17, 2011

I don't really have any experience buying chess sets, 8 yr old grandson asked for it for Christmas. Just got it so I don't really have time to return it and go shopping for a new one. Anyway, the wood inlay seems to be more of a laminate, chess set is really small, guess I expected something larger. The 2 side handles are tiny with 2 little screwes and look like they will break easy. Kind of bummed out with my purchase

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Scratch down the side
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Cypress, TX,  Dec 8, 2011

This was a great buy for my son & I to play. It is compact yet just the right size visually. The magnetic feature is a total bonus and works well. Storing the pieces underneath is awesome space saver and no worries about losing any of them. No worries about returning this. Get your tape measure out just to make sure. It is small enough to leave on an end table for anytime play. Take in the car, etc.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate. I was worried about being to small but it really is just right.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice quality.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chess set
 from Bluffton, Indiana,  Jun 17, 2011

great gift for a nine year old. He was very pleased with it.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought