Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A Nice Chin Up Bar
 from Houston, TX,  Feb 15, 2012

I bought this chin up bar for physical therapy for lower back pain. It is of good quality and I'm glad I purchased this. I hang from the bar to stretch the vertebra in my lower back and have had great success in relieving the pain associated with sciatica. There are doctors doing the same thing for thousands of dollars. Gravity and a chin up bar are much cheaper.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality with hand grips.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Working well for our purposes
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 13, 2011

We needed a bar that would fit in our door jamb and allow my 12-yr old twin boys to do pull-ups like my brother and I did long ago! It was exactly as I'd expected -- sturdy, easy to put up, has lasted for almost a year now with no problems. The only thing you have to keep in mind is to tighten it periodically as the twisting from use sometimes loosens it a little. It's never slipped, but I do check it once in awhile and tighten the fit.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good, sturdy
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just as advertised.
 from Blanchard, Oklahoma,  Jul 27, 2011

Bought for my little brother and he loves it. He's a small(in size) boy, so I wouldn't know how it would stand up to average to larger men. But for him it works wonderfully.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good buy
 from Saint Cloud, FL,  Dec 14, 2010

The chin up bar is just what I expected. It can be used both for chin ups, by installing near the top of a doorway,and for sit ups, if installed near the bottom of a door way. It required minimal effort to install.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No good
 from Staten Island, NY,  Jun 22, 2010

Holds nothing. ruined the doorway. Definitely no worth the money. Try something with brackets.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chin up
 from San Diego, CA,  Jun 7, 2010

I am not able to use this because it has to screw into the door frame and I rent this house. Don't want to make that damage. So,... I'm not sure if it is good or not. It looked good but could not tell that making holes in the door frame would be needed when I bought it. I wouldn't have bought it if I knew that.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 from Rhode Islander,  Mar 27, 2010

I bought this for my son to do chin ups, etc. It fits nicely into doorway, out of the way, but easily accessable. It holds alot of weight. We were fooling around one night and had two heavy guys pulling on it. Would defintely reccomend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chin up bar review
 from little rock,  Feb 11, 2010

it works just as described. well worth it for the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
unscrews
 Jan 30, 2010

Even though holders are screwed in to doorframe the chinup bar itself unscrews a little each time bar is used, depending on how hands are placed. If a child uses this, an adult should make sure bar stays tightly screwed in while in use.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chin up bar
 from Salem, MO,  Jan 29, 2010

I am basically pleased with the bar. I could not find a weight limit listed anywhere. It holds my 135# but I don't think it would hold my husband's 200#. Perhaps it would be stronger if it were stretched only across a 32" doorway.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great
 from LA,  Jan 14, 2010

installed in seconds. I weigh 180, works great. I can see where it may damage your door, but as of yet , no problems.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Disappointed
 from Ventura, CA,  Dec 8, 2009

I don't know that all the other reviews are for the same product...they sound so drastically different. I should have known when this item showed up on my doorstep in a tattered box that it was going to be disappointing. When we installed the bar it scuffed up the door frame and did not hold my 140 lbs self so nevermind a grown man. I was very disappointed not only in the packaging that it came in but the quality of the product. PS if you are ordering this as a Christmas gift like I was make sure you don't live with the person it is intended for, the box not only has a picture of it but also has holes in it so there is no doubt what has just been delivered.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bummed out
 from MN,  Dec 3, 2009

I bought this item for my daughter to build her strength for gymnastics. The very first time we used it, it damaged our door frame, hence we haven't used it again.... :(

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pull-Up bar
 from Seattle, WA,  Aug 27, 2009

The pull-up bar does what it says it does. The only thing that it lacks is adjustable grips. When you need to do wide pull-ups, for example, you can't use the soft grips. Other than that, this thing works great. It's easy to install and easy to remove.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does what is says it will do
 from Chicago, IL,  Jul 15, 2009

I had no problem figuring out how to put this in my doorway (even without instructions). It doesn't seem like it will be that good for the door frame long term. I heard some stretching and groaning from the wood when I first installed it, but the product definitely works for me. I weigh 185 lbs and it holds me up no problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
four stars
 from CA,  Apr 29, 2009

Didn't come with any instruction manual. It took me a little while to figure out that you have to tighten by spinning the middle part and not individually on each side. You also need a strong doorway to use this product. After five minutes of use, I noticed that my doorway was actually splitting so I had to stop using it. I ended up giving it to somebody else as a gift but if you have doorway that can handle it, you should be fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great for gymnists
 from rhode island,  Dec 3, 2008

My daughter has really improved her upper body strength. Everyone in my family uses it to improve muscle tone. Well made.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chin up bar
 from Granada Hill, CA,  Jun 19, 2008

This product is exactly what I need. Its adjustable and fits and normal doorway. I'm happy with the cost as well. I use it 3 times a week.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good - but not what expected
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jun 14, 2008

Overall, this chin up bar works well. It is a tension bar, but comes with the hardware to permanently attach it onto the doorframe. Problem is - you twist it to tighten it into the doorframe. From that point, if it continues to get twisted - it tightens even further...eventually cracking said doorframe. If you don't have, say, friends of your children who are going to hang on it when asked not to, "slipping" off and tightening it until the doorframe is destroyed - it would work well for you. Even if the hardward is used, the problem still exists. Otherwise, it is good solid construction.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied
 Jun 5, 2008

This chin-up bar has met my needs. I'm a 130 lb woman that lives in a small dorm room. This bar easily supports my weight, and I have it held up only with tension (I can't drill holes in my dorm room). In addition, my boyfriend (160 lbs) has used it safely, too. It seems to bend a bit under even my weight, but it has never slipped.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
ZoN Chin-up Bar
Today $22.99
Valeo Chin Up Bar
Today $20.49
Compare $30.31
Save 32%
Pure Fitness Multi-Purpose Workout Bar
Today $23.00
Compare $63.39
Save 64%
PurAthletics Chin-Up Bar
Today $32.99
Compare $40.25
Save 18%
CAP Barbell Upper Body Toner
Today $19.73
Compare $46.09
Save 57%
(5)
Back to top