Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Fast to set-up and take down
 from San Diego, CA,  Jun 10, 2011

The first tent we bought was visibly free of any defects, it was easy to set-up and very roomy inside. Well designed. However, we got caught in unexpected 50mph gusts and when one of the nylon straps ripped off the bottom corner of our tent, the stability was compromised and the tent started crumpling under the assault of the winds. We attributed the disastrous experience to the severe winds and possibly a faulty nylon tether, because the tent was holding its own until that strap became separated from the pole. The second tent we bought appeared to have a few holes in the bottom corner, but nothing serious or worth causing some concern. We went camping in the forest of Idyllwild because we didnít want to try our luck in the desert again with the same kind of tent. Even though it wasnít meant to rain until the next evening the temperatures dropped to 32 degrees and it began raining very lightly at midnight. By 5:30am we were soaking wet and freezing cold. We love how easy it is to set-up this tent and we love how roomy it is, but I canít bring myself to recommend this tent.

  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Ok
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
watch out
 from IL,  Oct 19, 2011

I bought one of these tents a year ago....set up very easy! BUT here is the bad the nylon is very thin..does not keep out water...BUT here is the really BAD news coleman DOES NOT make replacement parts...we broke one of the plactic knukles so the tent is non repairable. For the cost of this tent I can't believe Coleman is not making replacement parts. SOOOOOO almost XXX.00 down the tube!! And believe me you will break a knunkle at some point...we take very good care of our stuff and it just happened.

  • How accurate was the sizing? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yes! its easy to set up!
 from western ky,  Dec 14, 2011

The tent is very easy and quick to set up. Directions and pictures are helpful, but don't get in a hurry and "snap" a pole. It would be a good tent for the family of 4 which is who I purchased it for.(my son is 6'4 and he's ok in it.) If you have ANY gear at all there is no way 8 people sleep in it. It looks like you would be lined up like sardines if you tried to do that. All-in-all its a good tent for occasional use, but probably not for serious campers.

  • How accurate was the sizing? correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. on one window zipper, it appears the "teeth" are coming loose from the fabric
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? one problem with one zipper
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great tent
 from Central California,  Oct 27, 2011

I camp every summer for a month, plus all major summer holidays! I used this tent all summer long. It is the easiest tent I have ever put up. We got caught in an unexpected rain storm. It poured for over 6 hours and the tent was completely dry inside. I was a bit concerned without a rainfly, but there is absolutely no need. The tent itself is made extremely well made. It has plenty of room inside with great windows and ventilation. I can't wait to use it again next summer!

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Coleman 8-man Instant Tent
 from Texas,  Jan 20, 2014

Tent technology has entered a new era! Camping for over 50 yrs., I couldn't believe it when Coleman claimed this tent would set up in less than a minute, well it does. Right out of the tent bag, I set it up by myself in less than two minutes. Phenominal! Equally impressive was the delivery time. UPS said expect in 7 days, I got it in 4! My best shopping experience yet with Overstock.com. Thanks!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good
easy to set up!
 from okc,ok,  Nov 1, 2013

this tent is nice. the first tent i received had manufacterer defects, overstock was brilliant in getting a replacement to me before our camping trip that friday. tent is very easy to setup, would be difficult to setup if shorter than 70 inches because of reach. just as easy to take down. great purchase and excellent customer service!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this tent!
 from Clearwater, FL,  Mar 24, 2013

We have used this tent 5 or 6 times since we got it and haven't had any problems. The best part about this tent is how quickly it sets up and goes down. We are getting faster and faster - it can be done by one person in under 5 minutes. It fits 2 king size air mattresses. It sleeps a family of 4 and a large dog very comfortably and adults can stand up in the tent. We have also had 8 medium boys sleep in the tent with enough room. We have used used this tent twice in light rain and were dry without a tarp over the tent. Great tent and we are happy with our purchase!

  • How accurate was the sizing? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing tent!
 from Missouri,  Oct 7, 2011

I was able to put this tent up by myself in under 5 minutes the first time. I'm sure it will go even more quickly the next time! It's a good size tent for families. Very good product and it will save many camping couples the fight of their lives trying to put up a difficult tent.

  • How accurate was the sizing? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be put together very well.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? From what I've seen so far.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality, easy to erect tent
 from Lake Tahoe, NV,  Jul 31, 2011

We love the tent. It sets up very quickly and you can stand up in it. It does fit 2 queen size beds with a little room for other stuff.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very pleased with the quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Good
Easy to use, but a trade off for style & quality
 from San Diego, CA,  Sep 2, 2014

We haven't been able to take it on a camping trip yet, but set it up in our backyard to test it. As advertised, the tent was easy to put up -- although I needed my husband to pull each pole out far enough to snap into place. I was a little disappointed because the design was not as nice as our older coleman tent (10+ years old) that this is replacing. Our older coleman w/o rainfly allowed us to look at the stars through the vent/screen in the ceiling and seemed better quality and design at the windows, the room partition and door. We also bought the rainfly for this tent--however with the way the ceiling is made--2 small air vents that zip closed, it's unnecessary. Although roomy for our family of 3 plus 2 dogs, I wouldn't recommend it for larger families. Even though it's supposed to be suitable for 8 -- it's probably more suited for 6. Also, as it was taken down and stored -- the storage bag at the handles ripped, not good quality for a tent that you want to protect and use for years. We saved the outer shipping box and will store it in that when not camping, but when taking on a trip will have to be extra careful with tent and storage bag so that no damage occurs to the tent.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Familiny tent
 from tiverton,ti,  Aug 20, 2014

I found that the tent has the room for a very large family, We slept without any problems. The height was just right for a 6 foot person to standup and move around without hitting anything. The only then i wasn't expecting was the divider to be made out of cloth and the are would have be aready seperate. Overall the text was a big hit for this family. We will get a lot of use out of it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Fair
Did not receive tent that was pictured
 from Auburn, WA,  Aug 10, 2014

I like the tent it was a snap to set up, what I do take exception to the fact the although the tent is a Coleman Instant Tent 14x8 sleeps 8, it is not the one in the photo. This tent only has 4 extending legs not 6 and was a different color. Since I didn't realize the deception until I was about to camp, I had no choice but to use it. The tent I recvd is good but not as sturdy. And it doesn't foldup the same. The bag was shoddy and I had to resew seams as they were ripped right in the box. Shame shame Overstock.com but this bait and switch has disappointed me. I'll stick with """""""" in the future. I'm wondering if I was overcharged for receiving an inferior product. Live and learn

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Easy to setup..
 from Singapore,  Apr 27, 2014

Excellent product. easy to setup....good against wind and rain.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Easy and strong
 from UT,  Apr 21, 2014

I've set it up once and took down. The process was easy as long as you figure out which way is up the first time. Once everything was up I was impressed by the feel of the material compared to a cheap "9-person" tent I saw at a store. I think this brand does a good job to make it fairly durable. It was also simple to put away in the carry bag.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Coleman Instant Tent
 from Knoxville, TN,  Mar 25, 2014

This tent is great. My husband set it up with the help of a friend that had already set one up. We bought a couple of packs of the Coleman 10in. Spikes because the tent comes with the small stakes and we were camping in an open area without much cover and we were concerned about the wind. The tent was roomy. We had a queen size mattress and a bedroll, all of our bags and plenty of room for another mattress. It only rained a little this trip and the tent stayed dry. We also purchased the rainfly to go with the tent. The zipper is easy to use. My husband needed a little help taking down the tent by a friend who had taken the tent down before. It seemed to be a two person job to get it back into the bag. The tent is a little heavy so it is not a back packing tent. Overall this is a great tent!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Huge Eight Person Tent!
 from Mesa, Arizona,  Aug 4, 2013

I purchased this tent for my son-in-law for his Birthday! He loves the tent and said that he can stand up comfortably in the tent. He cannot wait to take his entire family camping. He said that it is extremely easy to put-up and they even set it up in their living room to try it out!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Tent
 from Seattle, WA,  Jun 24, 2013

I purchased this tent after our old tent broke down and I just love it. With two people it take no time at all to set up. We fit out double queen size air mattress in the back portion and still have the front half of the tent for our clothing and other supplies with plenty of room.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, workhorse tent
 from Preston, United Kingdom,  Jun 18, 2013

Just used my new tent for 5 days at Donington Download Festival 2013, in the UK, with the rain fly. Only 2 of us but it was perfectly sized for a 3 foot mud zone inside the door and a dry zone for rucksacks, before the sleeping area. Due to bad weather, the ground turned into a mud river and the tent was on water the entire time, but only a couple of small damp patches seeped through by day 5. No bugs and no condensation at all due to excellent 360 degrees meshed ventilation via windows on all 4 sides plus the centre roof vents. The ventilation kept the tent cool in the sun as it caught the wind from any direction. I think the rain-fly deflected some of the heat too. Love the adjustable windows that allow you to choose privacy levels on all 4 sides. I used the windows to dry off damp clothing as the mesh prevents anything from falling onto the ground, Negative comments: the back wall flaps loudly in strong winds so will think of a way to attach a guy line there; only 2 small pockets inside but used the window fasteners to hang portable pockets; the tent is very heavy and needs a trolley if you have to walk some way with it. The tent was easy to set up and to pack away. I bought a couple of long straps which helped gather the tent fabric into a tight bundle for refitting into the bag. As I only have a tiny back yard, I unclipped the tent from the frame to give it a thorough hose-down and dry off over the washing line, before reattaching it. I am very pleased with the tent and should get years of use out of it. Compared to the price on amazon (over £800 at this time June 2013) I paid under *** for my Coleman instant 8 via Overstock and I would say it is worth every penny.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks exactly the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seams watertight, good quality stitching throughout
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Setting up tent
 from Texas,  Jan 29, 2013

Just got the tent a week ago. Have not taken it out camping yet but did have to put it up and sealed the seams. Most campers do not know that it is best to do this to prevent leaks. As for setting it up, I did it about 3 times and realised that the best way to do it is pull out the corners first and then pull out the 2 in the middle. This made it a lot easier for the poles to come out and lock into place. The first time that I did this, I pulled the poles out as I was walking around the tent in the order as I got to them. I noticed that when I got to the corners when the middle post was pulled out, I had a really hard time locking it into place. So when setting it up, lock the corners in place first and then the 2 side ones. Will let everyone know once we camp in it and if it leaks or not.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT
 from east coast,  Nov 21, 2012

Why would you purchase any other tent? This is the best designed tent.. ever! My husband told me I would never be able to put it up and get it back down........HA! I showed him in less than 3 minutes putting it up and then taking it down! It was so simple! I'm in love with this tent!!

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Mt. Springer Family Camping Tent
Today $203.99
Compare $206.86
Save 1%
(3)
Black Pine PineView 8 Turbo Tent
Add to cart to see special price
(2)
Back to top