Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great set
 from VA,  Jul 5, 2007

I got this for my fiance for his birthday. We had been looking for dumbells to have in our house so we wouldn't have to go to the gym and they all seemed so expensive becasue we'd have to get so many different weights since we lift differently. This set has enough of a variety that we can both get good use out of it. He is happy to have some finally!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They provide resistance, but are hard to use
 from Gypsum, Co,  Jun 9, 2011

Pros: *The ability to change their weight easy is a plus. *They are shiny and nice to look at. *The metal is solid, despite small missing chunks. *Hand grips are nice and non-slippery, and wide enough to fit two small hands. Cons: *Their name is misleading. In order to obtain the 33 lbs, you have to use ALL of the weights on one. As is, the max you can get on both at the same time is 16.5 lbs. It is not possible to obtain two 33 lb dumbbells unless you buy two sets (and even then the bars are too short to fit all the weights onto one). *The bars are extremely long. If you want to use them both for exercises you will hit them together a lot, or will not be able to fit it around your body. (Example exercises you cannot do, or will have a very hard time doing, with this are upright rows, any sort of kickbacks for triceps, close hand curls such as the Congdon curl, or Hammer curls that require them to be to your side, etc.). *The hand nuts that are used to keep the weights on the bar will come undone easily. They must be tightened every 5-10 minutes, and often slip mid exercise and could cause damage for the sudden shift in weight / balance. *Their are no upgrade weights that I can find (such as 5 lbs, 10lbs). Other thoughts: *Many people commented on the structure of the carrying case. I give the case itself a 0/5. It was broken in several key pieces upon delivery, and the weights slide out of it when open. There is no way to 'lock' in the weights to the case (as you would a socket wrench set for example). *The weights are in strange increments, 1.25 lbs and 2.5 lbs. Can make recording reps/weights interesting. *It is not clear how much the bars themselves weigh, as the nuts may or may not be included. *If you are serious about lifting then I would suggest something that you would not grow out of so fast. If you are looking for a little something to do now and then, then these would be for you.

  • Did the product fit true to size? The ends of the bars are much too long
  • How is the quality of the product? Shiney, but several chunks of metal are missing (estimated 0.2 kg total from all pieces)
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dumbell Weights
 from Portsmouth, RI,  Feb 10, 2010

I like the weights, very nice. I thought they amounted to 33 lbs. each, but it's both of them combined. They came in a plastic case that some people said they kept, but I threw it in the blue bin as if it were packaging. Most people don't store weights in packaging in their homes or gyms.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice Set
 Mar 21, 2015

Chrome weights are difficult to find at a decent price. If that is what you want this is the set for you. It is good for anyone who wants to add a little weight to their exercise routine and look good doing it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Florida,  Jun 26, 2013

This is a versatile set, easy to use. The storage case (included) is condensed and the size is just right to slide under the bed.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Is what it says
 from NYC, New York,  Mar 28, 2012

I bought this dumbell set mainly for photography. The set is sleek clean and pretty. It photographs well and looks amazing. The set would be perfect for any gym in a minimal high end Manhattan apartment. The quality is good and the set looks very durable. I will need to keep it oiled to keep it shiny for photos. I am looking up how to better care for the weights so they last and continue to look new for photos. The screw on side caps hold well and are snug against the weights with their little rubber "o" rings. I was worried they might come off when in use. -S

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not so Dumb bells
 from Newton,MA,  Jan 16, 2012

Great product convenient with lots of options both as far as weight and as relates to storage. Handle bar has texture for better gripping ( quite effective ). Comes with a nifty case for neat storage only the case feels so flimsy I am concerned that if I use it the weights will fall out of the bottom.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dumbell set
 from Minnesota,  Sep 11, 2011

It's nice to have the ability to add or subtract on each dumbell. They stay pretty tight on the bar.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Np
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good buy
 from Minnesota,  Jul 27, 2011

perfect for any fitness program requiring varying weight size. much cheaper than you will find anywhere but still good quality!

  • How accurate was the sizing? as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great for the price.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes- no complaints.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from HUNTSVILLE, AL,  Jul 6, 2011

Great value, good quality; would definately recommed to others.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes, but the case was slightly damaged inside on shipping.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal
 from New York, NY,  Jan 4, 2011

This set is perfect..you can adjust the weights as needed and keep the entire set in the plastic case when done. It's compact and will last forever!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As Advertised
 Dec 8, 2010

Nothing special here, but it is what it is and does what it does. I don't have alot of experience with anything else. The bolts that screwed on wanted to thread wrong a few times, that's the only complaint, but I can't exactly brag on them :P.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy Buy
 from Sacramento, CA,  Nov 2, 2010

I've been looking for these chrome dumbbells to have in my front room for two years...decided to try Overstock. They were there, good price, free shipping that day, FAST delivery and exactly as advertised. I am thinking of getting more for a couple of friends for Christmas gifts !!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, great price
 from Wisconsin,  Oct 28, 2010

I'm impressed with the quality of these weights considering the reasonable price. The case it comes with is very handy for storing the weights and traveling with them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking
 from NY,  Oct 5, 2010

Good quality weights. Just wish I could find extra plates to match.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chrome Dumbbells
 from Rensselaer, NY,  Jun 19, 2010

Great addition to my work outs. I also appreciate the fact that I can bring them with me on my trips thanks to the sturdy case that they came in.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dumbells
 from Stevens Point, WI,  Mar 17, 2010

They arrived promptly and were exactly as I expected them to be. A great find at a great price. Thank you overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic!
 from Los Angeles,  Mar 7, 2010

I have a small Apt. so these are perfect! Easy to store. Easy to chance the amount of weight! Love them... And I received it 2 days after i ordered it. Enjoy

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great price!
 from LIncoln city, OR,  Mar 2, 2010

Yes, like many others say, the storage box is very sad. But did you buy a storage box for your weights or did you buy weights. The weights are great! I even use them to do my circut training!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wish I could afford Bowflex SelectTech.
 May 21, 2008

I have been using this product for a few months now and the worst part about it is the chrome, it flakes off. I don't really care how they look, but it is annoying that it gets all over my carpet. The grips are a bit uncomfortable, so definitely get some gloves. Also the early comment about the case is correct it is real flimsy. Those are the only problems I found which I guess is still a lot for a product whose only real purpose is to be heavy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought