Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Alpine Swing Set
 from League City, Tx,  Jun 26, 2009

I researched playsets for months before we purchased this kit. My husband, father and father in law worked 7 hrs to complete the playground. (My hubby did spend 3 hrs the prior weekend cutting down and labeling all of the lumber.) It is VERY sturdy. I liked the idea that we could purchase our own lumber. We bought pre-treated lumber and plan to stain it a dark redwood. My husband and both fathers have alot of experience with constuction and wood work. They all three made the comment that the set was "over built." We would recommend this kit- great price and great value!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great set!
 from Maryland,  Mar 28, 2012

This was a great buy! We built (well actually my husband built) a $1300 swing set in about a day and a few hours the next morning. We spent $320 total on this set and the wood. It's a great deal and the hinges and things enclosed really are sturdy and make it easier to build.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, heavy duty parts and the swings are heavy duty too.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Love it, only bad things is you have to buy your own lumber, but it supplies all the the bolts. Took about 2-3 days to set it up with 2 men. Its been 2 years and now the vinyl top is ripping so it needs some weather protection on it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? sizing is wonderful, can fit a slide,2 swings, teetertotter, and a glider all on it.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Does not come with LUMBER, the vinyl top is ripping and its been 2 years in snow, rain, sun.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? vinyl top is ripping.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great option for less money
 from Owensboro, KY,  May 9, 2013

We purchased this rather than go for the more expensive (and lower quality) pre-cut kits. Being able to purchase our own treated lumber gives me peace of mind that we have a quality playset. The instructions were simple and easy to follow. It took one person two half days to complete, and that's with cutting the wood as we went. My only wish is that it would have come with 3 or 4 swing hooks instead of two. There is room for 4 apparatuses, but we had to purchase the additional hardware. Make sure you go with screws and not nails! My kids definitely love it!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal
 from Montana,  Feb 8, 2013

Love that we can choose the design for our own play set! Very happy with this purchase!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy construction pieces. Great directions.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My grandson loves it
 from Florida,  Dec 25, 2012

For me it would have been a difficult job if not for my son who has some construction knowledge and is handy with tools. It is a 2 day job. First day go to your local ******* with your shopping list and get the wood and screws. Ran me about $$. You'll use a lot of screws. Also get a drill bit larger than the 6" size they sell. Not easy drilling the swing holes through the cross beam, and a 6" bit won't cut it. Get is home, make all the cuts, and lay it out on your job site with the hardware kit, Your done for the day, kick back, have a cold one, and start the next morning. We began Sunday morning at 9 am and finished in time for kickoff at 1. Definately a 2 person job, one to hold the wood, another to drive in the screws. Some of the instructions took both of us to understand. Crossbeam is heavy so if you have a burley friend you can call it'll make that part easier. Reason for 4 stars is the brackets that came with the kit were not cut properly, so we had to call the company, spoke to a lovely lady named Beverly, and she overnighted us new brackets. To save yourself a trip, buy an extra box of 2 1/2" deck screws, you'll need them and you won't have to stop mid job to go get them. Going to let the wood settle and then seal it. No need to anchor it. Even with adults swinging it didn't budge. In the end it came out nice, and my grandson is already enjoying it. Picture is misleading. Comes with 2 swings, paid anotther $$ for the slide, and now my wife wants to add on with a glider. More money! Still, the smile on my grandson is priceless.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Construction knowledge needed
 from North Canton, OH,  Sep 7, 2012

If you aren't handy then this is not for you. I bought it and was able to build it but they assume some knowledge on the part of the builder. If you just put together things you buy from target or walmart then you will probably be over your head with this project. The price here is the cheapest I founf any where and I searched every where for it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Much Easier Than Expected
 from Dallas, TX,  Jul 3, 2012

I bought this for my daughter's birthday and it is a huge hit. If I had known it would be this easy and inexpensive, I would have done it sooner. The directions were easy to follow and very straight forward. My dad and I knocked it out in two half days. One thing that helped move the project along was that I took the lumber list provided to my local hardware store and they cut the wood for me. There was no fee for it so I would highly recommend doing that too. The swing set is very sturdy and nice.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exactly as described. The hardware fit perfectly.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Highly recommend
 from Fort Benning, GA,  Jul 2, 2012

My husband and a friend put this together from start to finish in just under 8 hours. They said if they would've cut all of the wood first, that would've saved a little time. Instructions were written well and easy to follow. We spent less than $$$ for Hardware kit, wood, slide and extra swing! We've priced similar swing sets locally that priced well over $$$$!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality items
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Alpine Custom Swing Set Hardware Kit
 from McAlester, Ok,  May 24, 2012

My grandbabies now have a great swing set that will give them many years of fun! It really helped that their daddy is so handy with wood and power tools. I believe he could build anything. Overall this was an excellant purchase that I am extremely pleased with.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Anytown, NJ,  Jul 30, 2013

For someone with little expertise in carpentry, I found this to be a great build-your-own swing set. All you really need is the kit, some lumber, a drill and a circular saw. The longest (note, I didn't say hardest) part was the measuring and cutting. That's it. The instructions were easy to follow. I put this swing set together for my two kids in only two days (by myself). It would go more quickly with help (probably a day). Hope this is helpful.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product was good quality.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exactly what I needed to build a swingset
 from Merrimack River Valley,  May 27, 2013

I've wanted to build a swingset for my kids for a while. I looked at the kits for sale in the big box stores, but the reviews for them mentioned holes that didn't line up, cracked warped boards and lumber that rotted out quickly. I priced other plans, that don't even come with any brackets, or the other extra's, and they were more money for the plans once you subtracted the price of the swings and fort roof. Buying this kit gave me the plans and brackets I needed to get the job done. I liked being able to select the lumber my self, and being able to modify some parts as needed. The brackets allow faster constructon than notching the main beams together. I was able to build a complete swing set over two days, mostly because I built it by myself, and because It took almost half a day to buy the lumber and get it home. If I'd bought the lumber ahead of time I could have built it in one day. The only downside to the plans I found, they really underestamated the amount of 2.5" screws needed. the plan says 1 lb. I was lucky to have a couple of other boxes of exterior screws lying around. I believe I went through over 5 lbs of them and I was following the plans when I ran out of the first pound. Buy the large box of the 2.5" screws, not the 1 lb one.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. all needed parts were there and new
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good thing
 from al,  Jun 10, 2012

you just need to buy the wood to build this. this is great if you have time to cut your owen wood. my little girl loves this so much...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Pioneer Custom Swing Set Hardware Kit
Today $86.96
Compare $131.60
Save 34%
(5)
Backyard Discovery Prairie Ridge Playset
Today $689.99
Compare $739.00
Save 7%
(1)
Ironkids Challenge 100 Play Set
Today $198.99
Compare $256.87
Save 23%
Backyard Discovery Independence Playset
Today $698.99
Compare $799.99
Save 13%
(1)
Back to top