Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent Camping Pad!
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Dec 20, 2009

While not an experienced back-packer, this camping pad is absolutely wonderful for overnight stays. We used a pair of these on a cold, hard floor and didn't feel a thing - stayed comfy and warm all evening! The pad rolls up tightly for storage and inflates quickly and easily as soon as it's needed. I bought one for me and one for my boyfriend and we will never have to go back to those ridiculous air mattresses ever again - Hallelujah!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleeping Pad
 from Boulder, CO,  Dec 1, 2010

Just as good as Thermolite, the "fuzzy" side does help from sleeping bags from moving around. Don't know that is any better or any worse than comparable Thermolite, but its price certainly makes it better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfort in the cold
 from Gilbert, AZ.,  Nov 4, 2009

A great product. This protected the sleeping bag from the cold ground. Easily inflated and also rolled back up small enough to store in the bag it arrived in.Simple and effective.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great pad
 from NJ,  Dec 5, 2010

Camped outside Valley Forge, PA in November, got down to 33 F and the pad kept me warm and comfortable. Quick and easy to inflate and deflate. A must have for sleeping out.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Air Pad
 from Midwest,  Jan 29, 2013

I am very pleased with this pad. I sleep outside, in my yard, two or more nights each month. I've found this pad works well as a barrier to dampness and as comfortable padding. Since I use it every few weeks I keep it inflated underneath the guest room bed. Even with bending it to go in and out the door plus to get in and out of a very narrow backpack tent it has not lost any air. It has been four months since I last added any air. It fits well in my tent and is the same width as the narrow leg area. It is a foot shorter than my tent length but that is not a problem for me as I am shorter than the pad. The first time I used the pad it deflated quite a bit. The next time I filled and closed the valve, rolled the pad from the valve end downwards as far as I could, just a few turns, flattened it out and reopened the valve to fill again. I have had no problems with deflating since. The reason for 4 stars is I want to be sure the pad does perform well over time before giving it 5. It seems to be well on its way to doing that..

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product
 from salt lake city,  Jan 10, 2013

This is a good backpacking pad. Light weight and durable at a fair price.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Work well
 from Dallas TX,  Jul 24, 2012

We found these as good as the ones we bought years ago at the camp store for much higher price.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Looking Pad But It Leaks
 from Akron Ohio,  Dec 17, 2011

I purchased this airpad seeing I use mainly ALPS Mountaineering brand gear. I hate to say this but this airpad does not hold air. At first it is ok but after using the same for a while I notice I wake up to a flat pad. Not good.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks nice but it tends to start leaking air after a while
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Judging from what I saw no defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great mat
 from Arizona,  Dec 12, 2011

Bought this for a backpacking trip into some rugged Arizona mountains. This mat performed flawlessly and provided a good good insulation in sub-freezing weather. It helps to use the mouthpiece to provide additional inflation. Very satisfied.

  • How accurate was the sizing? As described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Compact comfort
 from Raleigh, NC,  Oct 10, 2011

I was looking for an inexpensive way to feel comfortable sleeping on the floor. I needed something small for packing too. This was the right purchase for me. I unrolled the compact roll. Loosened the valve and the air started sucking in on its own. I left it alone and let it fully relax to let in the most air. Even though it is small, it kept me off the floor. Please know that I am 5'3" and average weight. I think a large person would not find it to be enough for them. After the trip, I found it easy to pack away.

  • How accurate was the sizing? correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. adequate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fantastic
 from s.c.,  Sep 21, 2011

very good quality, price and product!..happy with it!

  • How accurate was the sizing? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleeping time
 from Virginia,  Aug 11, 2011

I got this for backpacking and it should be used for car camping. it takes time to roll it up and get all the air out. When i stored it, it will inflate in its bag and is aquard to then get out. Clear all twigs and rocks from under you and sleep on very even ground because you will feel everything. It does not pack up nicely, so if your hiking for two weeks or more get something else!!!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Im 5'5 and its not long enough for my sleeping bag
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, hasnt poped yet
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? none
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
camping pad
 from NY,  Aug 5, 2011

Super comfortable, will get much use out of this sleeping pad. Small, lightweight, and very portable.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Regular Comfort Pad
 from Pennsylvania,  Nov 16, 2010

I'm approaching 50 and my 3/4 inch shorty therm-a-rest pad is no longer enough to give me a good nights sleep. So I purchased the Alps Regular Comfort Air Pad for my next trip. What a huge difference, even with the temperature dipping to less than 20 degrees F, the Alps pad kept me warm and comfortable. It's not exactly light, but the extra weight is well worth it for a good nights sleep.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from LA,  Jun 25, 2010

I purchased two of these for my boys to take to Boy Scout Camp. My boys say the ALPS pad is very comfortable and easy to pack away. My husband purchased a more expensive Thermarest , but uses the ALPS if either of the boys are not using theirs. He loves it's handy size and it's non slip feature. This pad is also perfect for traveling if you need an extra bed! We have had ours for 6 months and they have held up to numerous camping trips. Money well spent!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
darn good
 from central pa,  Jun 12, 2010

the alps mountaineering regular comfort air pad i had ordered from you is a excellent product. have not slept in a tent or sleeping bag since i was 10 and this product made it great. heavy gauge vinyl inflated easy and fit right into sleeping bag pocket, plus delivery was very quick. well worth the 2lbs extra in my backpack thanks overstock.com

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As described
 from GA,  Jun 10, 2010

This mat is exactly as described on the website and reviews. It self inflates and gives adequate cushioning for the average camper. You can also physically inflate the pad more to your liking. Suede-like material keeps the sleeping bag from sliding. But I can see it being relatively difficult to clean. If you are more of an expert and plan to sleep on more than average hard terrain, you can opt for the thicker pad that ALPS offers. Overall, I am satisfied.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I purchased 2 of these ALPS air pads for motorcycle camping, over all for the price they work good and are of good quality. The only thing if you are older like me it's still hard on the body sleeping on a 1.5 inch air pad. But it's still better than laying on the bare ground and they are somewhat comfortable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice sleeping pad
 from Ohio,  Jun 1, 2010

I got this for my daughter for camping. It is easy for her to use, comfortable, compact when rolled, and durable. Highly recommended!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy enough for a 5th grader
 from Lansdale, PA,  May 27, 2010

we got this air pad for our 10 year old son's first camping trip with his boy scout troop. The open and close valve is easy to turn in order to inflate and deflate. And he was able to get it back in the bag without adult help. He said it was comfortable. I thought it would be a little thicker when inflated, but it seems to be enough padding for our boy scout. It is a good product for the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top