Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great roomy tent
 from Cupertino, CA,  Sep 15, 2011

My 6'4" tall husband likes this roomy/high ceiling tent ;) We put a queen size airbed in, still there is a lot of space for other stuff, it's easy to build up (once you know how). I highly recommend this tent for everyone, especially for tall people :)

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no defects
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tougher than usual at a great price.
 from Berkeley, California,  Jul 8, 2010

I purchased this tent after the zipper on our Eureka Tetragon 9 failed twice during trips - the second failure after Eureka sent me a new zipper pull. We got along with safety pins and a blanket pinned over the door to save that trip. But I'm through with non-outfitter-quality tents. Car campers don't need ultra-light, and it's worth it to pay extra for a #10 zipper and two doors (the Eureka had one) if you have kids or anyone who might enter and exit the tent a lot without being gentle to the zipper. The fact that this tent costs less on overstock.com than its lower-quality competition in camping stores makes it a deal you should snap up now, before it's gone. Besides the zippers, it has 11mm fiberglass poles, one size heavier than usual, a floor almost twice as heavy as the non-ZF model of this tent, and a fuller rain-fly than many tents. We were familiar with Alps Mountaineering quality from their camp chair, which is rated for a person weighing up to 425 pounds! I only weigh 200, and don't worry about our 10-year-old jumping into my lap on that chair! We put a queen-size inflatable mattress and a double-size inflatable in this tent, leaving little floor room but we all sleep really well that way. The tent is 8x10 and the doors are on the long sides, which means that they'll be on the front and back if you use big mattresses as we do. However, they are big doors, and they open opposite of each other, so the back one will admit the person on the left without much disturbance to a person on the right, and vice-versa. The ZF model has no side windows (which the non-ZF Meramac seems to have from the photo I've seen). The windows in the doors are large enough. There is no way to close the mesh vents at the top, although the rain fly will be over them. This will mean that your tent won't get internal condensation, but might be a bit colder than one with zipper flaps over the vents (like the Eureka Tetragon). The next time we do camping with 40-degree nights, I might try throwing a polyester blanket over those vents, under the fly. This tent seems taller than the Eureka Tetragon 9, and the attic is smaller than the Eureka. There are two pockets. Since my family likes more storage than tent attics and pockets ever provide, I bought two Zen Class Travel Organizers to use inside of the tent. No rain test yet. Meramac 5 ZF FG Specs: Base Size: 8' x 10' Center Height: 6' Tent Area: 80 sq. ft. Tent and Fly Weight: 14 lb. 3 oz. Total Weight: 15 lb. Packed Size: 8" x 25" Pole Diameter: 11 mm Sorry that the software has discarded my paragraph breaks! At least in the preview I saw. Overstock.com guys, please fix that.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Okay, but not in high winds.
 from Los Angeles,  Jan 5, 2015

The tent is spacious for a family of four plus dog, but it does not hold up in high winds well due to the design of the tent fly (does not go all the way to the ground). We spent a sleepless night in the desert when the winds picked up, because the tent was being blown around so much that the tent wall kept pressing against our heads, and it was so noisy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outclasses the more expensive competition
 from Central Texas,  Sep 1, 2014

I bought this tent because the features it provided seemed to be a great value for the price that it was being offered at. This Tent does not disappoint. All the tents I found with the same features seemed to be priced much higher. The Meramac 5 zf fg is the first tent I have ever bought by myself as the family tent my father bought 18 years ago finally disintegrated in the beach winds of the Texas coast. My wife had never been camping before and this Meramac 5 ZF FG was to be the first one she had ever been in. We have used this tent several times (Texas state parks in November, April, and March) and have enjoyed it very much. My wife loves the fact that it has two doors and that she can stand up inside. The second trip we took it on it rained for a full day and we were the only ones in the campsite that stayed dry. We've only had 2 people and a queen size mattress inside and needless to say it fits us with room to spare. It seems like this tent has a heavy duty everything, from the tub floor to the zippers. The included pieces of material are nice in case I have to make repairs one day but based on the build quality I'm sure that wont be for a very long time. I'm very happy with my purchase and I would buy it again. This tent was a very good introduction to the Alps Mountaineering brand and I plan to continue buying there products.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality Tent poles
 from Otsego, Minnesota,  Jul 15, 2013

We are a new Boy Scout Troop and were in need of tents for our Scouts. I did not want to go with the A Frame 2 man tents because there was no room for the boys to stand and change while at summer camp plus they were hot. I talked with another Boy Scout Troop who had these tents and they seemed to like them and they looked good so I bought 10 of them. The first year at summer camp 1 tent pole snapped on a clear day and no wind and went right through the rain fly. We had to switch out the pole and fly. When we returned and were cleaning and drying the tents out another pole snapped and went through the rain fly. I emailed Alps and they did replace them but I was left concerned. I recieved some grant money and bought 4 more tents and this last weekend 7/13/13 we were camping and had no wind when another tent pole split down the middle. I am returning the 4 I just bought and will be buying another brand. I am very disapointed with the quality of these poles and would not recomment them for a Boy Scout Troop.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tent everything we wanted.
 from Oregon,  May 10, 2011

In fact we already recommended it to friends and they bought one. It's strong and light. We love the two doors and the ease of putting it up. At 6 feet we can stand up in it to dress. Our kids think us crazy to go camping at age 70, but with products like this why not get close to nature?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Tent
 from Texas,  Apr 15, 2011

Bought this tent to take on motorcycle trips. I wanted a tent I could stand up in (I am 6' 2"), and I can sure do that with this tent. Tent is easy to set up, easy to take down, heavy duty floor, heavy duty zippers, HEAVY duty poles, sealed seams from factory. I can bring my chair inside tent along with all my gear. The dual doors provide great ventilation, no morning dew inside tent...really like that. Yep, it is a big tent...but the others on the trip wished they had the room the "suite" had. A bit of jealousy there. I am pleased with this purchase. I did A LOT of research before deciding on this one....glad I waited.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
alps tent
 from King George Va,  Oct 18, 2010

Great tent for the money, very roomy, fits a 3'x7' cot, can stand up in the center (5'11")

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good price for a nice text
 from Shoreline CT,  Aug 15, 2010

I haven't really used this tent yet, but did pitch it up in the yard to take a look. Yes, there are better tents out there, but for this price it's not too bad. Goes up rather easily - one person could do this. The two slide through poles have many, many joints and the extra thick diameter seems like a better way to go. I would like to see a) tabs for ground stakes on all four sides, not just two b) a bit more overhead mess area at the top, although the gear storage area is nice(it's not going to hold up to too much loading) c) sealed seams (that can be done yourself for about $8 purchase of seam sealer). The over tent fly does drape onto the tent sides, so you will need to stake and rope the fly down to give you the added protection in foul weather. The corners and stake tabs are re-inforced which is a better way. Overall, I'm happy with this purchase for under $150. You'll get more tent for $200, but for me doing car camping now and then this should be fine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tent
 from Escanab, MI,  Aug 14, 2010

I had brought a Eurka tent first. It seemed O.K. quality. A wind can up and one of the poles broke and then it perched the fly and everything came down. I had returned it and brought this tent, Alps Mountaineering Meramac 5 ZF FG. The tent went up good by one person. The poles on this tent were much heavier. I do think the other material is better. I plan to tent some by myself and this 10x10 is O.K. for one to set up. It will be easier when others are available. I have used this tent only once, but I am happy with it. The service I had received on returning the first tent was a no hassel and good experience. This is one reason I keep coming back to this site for other products.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ALPS Mountaineering Tent
 from Falls Church, VA,  Jul 28, 2010

Tent was very easy to set up. I found the zippers on the doors to be a little hard to open and close. Seemed like there was too much tension at the midpoint of the zip line. Also, this is rated as a 5 person tent, but they had better be 5 small people. Probably not bad for 3 adults if they have no gear to store in the tent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Tent - meramac
 from Northern California,  Jul 19, 2010

This tent performed well on the California coast this weekend. Setup can easily be accomplished by one person. Netting at the top and on the two doors provides adequate venetilation during the day and the full-sized fly provides adequate warmth during the night. I like the buckles which secure the fly to the tent even in windy coastal conditions. The tent can be packed easily in the carry bag. Overall, I like this tent for casual camping.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought