Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Its a keeper
 from FL,  Oct 20, 2011

I am 6'6" and over 300#s and this is a comfortable, solid chair that I don't worry about crashing down into. It is rock solid when you are getting up. The front pipes dig into my legs a little when I lean forward. If I lean back and relax it is fine. Very compfortable. I would buy it agian.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far, so good, no defects.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Poor
Built like a tank, but too uncomfortable.
 from Western Michigan,  Jul 9, 2014

It's HUGE, it's HEAVY, it comes with it's own BACKPACK, it's LOADED with stash pockets and cup holders, and it can hold 800 POUNDS -- This is the chair designed with me in mind. All the reviews i read said how well-crafted these things are. True, the steel frame is rock solid and the armrests can handle about as much load as the seat itself. The polyester fabric looked to be of acceptable quality, but that is something that can only be judged after several years of use. The down-side of the fabric is that it's quilted and has a bit of padding in it (spun polyester i'd guess), so the seat holds quite a bit of body heat and it makes for a sweaty backside even on a modestly temperate day (80F on the one day i field tested it). That alone wouldn't be enough to kill the deal either, as i would happily reserve this chair for cooler weather where the seats insulative qualities would be more than welcome. The real problem is that the seat fabric has a bit of hammock design so it offers very poor back support -- after 2 hours sitting in this thing, i would have been better off sitting on the ground. Since i only used it the one time before returning it, i didn't really get to test out all the other features, but i can add that the cup holders are sized for 12oz cans -- if you use a "coolie cup" it's not going to fit in the holders. Sorry, ALPS, i really wanted to love this chair; with the quality of the materials i'm sure it would last me a solid 10+ years, i was just far too uncomfortable to accept.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE this chair!
 from San Antonio, TX,  Jan 3, 2013

I've been left with a disability that makes it very difficult physically (and mentally) to get up/out of the typical "lawn" chair. This chair gives me plenty of seating room and is sturdy enough that I'm able to remain confident that I won't go tipping over when I get up!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. GREAT quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ALPS Mountaineering King Kong Chair
 from Small town, Oklahoma,  Jan 3, 2013

Excellent chair. Got tired of replacing cheap ones every year. This one holds-up to constant use and sometimes - abuse. Good size and color. Excellent quality. If you are short/have short legs, you may experience a Goldilock effect, as if sitting in Pappa Bear's chair. Best for tall/large person.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate - nice, big size
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent .... has held-up for a year of constant use. The dogs even get on it.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes - very good manufacturing quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a NO WORRIES chair for heavier people
 from Southern CA.,  Jun 27, 2012

Nice fabric and well made with corner reinforcements and attention to detail on the finished edges. Great carrying case and like the feature that allows it to be carried like a backpack. Cup holders and side pockets and a back pocket large enough to hold the carrying bag when open. Purchased for my bbw sister who had one of those moments when her sporting goods store model chair collapsed when she was seated in it. She'd sworn off portable chairs ever since and missed out on many family events. She used the chair the first day and felt secure and it doesn't move when she uses the arms to help support her when standing. Great purchase and she is now literally a happy camper.

  • How accurate was the sizing? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. top quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Built
 from So Cal,  Oct 17, 2011

I bought four of these chairs for camping and going to the park. It is really a nice chair for the price. I am 66, 375 lbs and this chair is extremely comfortable and well built. It is very sturdy and there is absolutely no movement when sitting or getting up from the chair. I am pleased with my purchase and would defiantly recommend this chair to anyone even if you do not need the extra weight limit.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well built. Comfortable. Very sturdy.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Great chair
 from Virginia,  Nov 8, 2014

Comfortable, strong and durable. Much heavier built than what we find at local stores.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Positive Review Title:
 from New York,  Aug 5, 2014

I have only used this chair twice but but I am very satisfied with it. It is well made, sturdy and comfortable. Has great pockets on both sides for your accessories. It's a bit heavier than others but that's because of the quality.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
great chair
 from Fond du Lac, WI,  Jul 30, 2014

This is one of the best chairs of this type I have ever had. It is easier to pack up and lighter weight than I thought. It is easily carried like a backpack. Depending on your body shape, it can be a little difficult to get out of. To help with that a seat cushion makes a world of difference. For short term sitting, the cushion is not needed. It was a great price. The product website shows everything else they make.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Best Chair For Big and Tall Sold Anywhere
 from Pennsylvania,  Jul 22, 2014

I am 6'4 and weigh 325 and camp regularly. I have been embarrassed many times by purchasing other chairs sold for big and tall people that broke while in camp or at spots events with the grand kids .finally someone has designed and built a chair for us. The King Cong chair is comfortable, sturdy and sits high enough to easily get up and out of. I have had both knees and my left hip replaced in the last two years and this chair is extremely comfortable to sit in for those nights around the campfire. Do not hesitate....BUY THIS CHAIR NOW!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Comfy Big Man Chair
 from Encino, CA,  May 13, 2014

Tired of being squeezed into those small camp chairs, then this is the one that you'll find most comfortable. Big, Stable, has beverage holders and pockets for reading material, tablets, sunscreen or anything you might want to have within reach

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
King Kong camp chair
 from Cambridge City Indiana,  May 7, 2014

This is a great chair.It's heavy duty but not too heavy and comes in a nice carry bag.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
BEST OUTSIDE CHAIR EVER
 from SATELLITE BCH FL.,  Feb 16, 2014

THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST OUTSIDE CAMPING FISHING HUNTING ALL AROUND FOLDING CHAIR I HAVE EVER OWNED, AND VERY COMFERABLE ., I LOVE IT

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very sturdy
 from Philadelphia, PA,  May 4, 2013

The identical chair is sold on other sites for twice as much, so it's a great buy. Was purchased for a significantly overweight person and held up perfectly. The only problem seemed to be the level of comfort. It's fine when sitting for a short time, but the seat is deep and my friend said after a while the edge of the seat was uncomfortable under their thighs ... even caused a circulation issue once and their feet "fell asleep".

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well made, sturdy.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Aptly Named King Kong Chair
 from Orlando Florida,  Mar 6, 2013

Let me preface my review by stating I am 6'1" 240 lbs. I've had some major surgeries on my legs and I wear a duty belt which adds several inches to the width at my waist. I selected the ALPS Mountaineering King Kong Chair after researching for a few weeks. The most important features of this chair which helped my decision to buy it are the seat's width, the sturdiness of the frame, the stability of the design, the comfort stemming from the design and materials used. The only detractors would be the weight, it seems to be twice as heavy as the very inexpensive models. (this was not a major factor for me). It is not something you want to lug for a great distance even with the backpack styled bag it comes with. Another important note was the fact there there are not many if any negative reviews. My chair arrived in 2 days (amazing). The box was intact without any damage what-so-ever. It is a very impressive chair. It's attributes are not over stated. And the price was very good. My understanding of how the company achieves this is primarily through their use of heavier gauge steel tubing and the design. The acid test is that I can lift myself out of the chair by using only my arms with holding the ends of arm where you would grab it. The chair is sturdy and well balanced. I never felt It was going to tip over at any point. I do not know what else I can say about this chair, it is truly a well engineered design. I expect to use it for many years.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Size was very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Everything from the frame, fabric and stitching seem to be top quality, with durability paramount.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome chair for us big guys.
 from las vegas,  Mar 2, 2013

i am 6'5" 400 lbs,the chair fits good,built strong,i can push off the arms to get up with little problem.the only bad thing i can say is,..when i sit in it your but is a little lower than your legs so the front cross bar presses on your legs.this could be a problem,..i put a cushion on it,i have no problems now.

  • How accurate was the sizing? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent seems to be well put together.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Buy
 from chester,ny,  Jan 1, 2013

Great quality for the price. I use it in my bedroom as an easy chair for laptop and watching TV. Add a soft cushion and it's perfect.

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. strong and durable
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so far so good
 from denver,  Oct 27, 2012

did a bunch of investigation since i'm sick of buying things that don't last. this chair was highly recommended by folks on an expedition sight i frequent. price isn't bad considering the cost of some chairs and is great if the chair lives up to it's reputation. rumor is it will hold 800lbs. i'll be happy if it holds a quarter of that without any incidents for the entire time i need it. i'm at a spend the money once and don't worry about it again stage and this chair should do that.

  • How accurate was the sizing? correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yep
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chair!!!
 from Shreveport, LA,  Aug 29, 2012

This chair is as advertised. It is a little heavier than the normal Walmart product, but that's because it's made to last. A smaller person might find it to be a little large, but a good-sized man will find it fits him perfectly.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Built like a tank....this thing should last for years.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is an excellent chair!
 from Chelsea, MI,  Apr 13, 2012

This chair is great. Very sturdy, nice carrying bag, cup holders, pockets and adjustable arm height. Finally something I can fell comfortable in!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very heavy duty, high quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
TravelChair Big Kahuna Folding Chair
Today $62.99
Compare $92.99
Save 32%
(4)
ALPS Mountaineering Rust Big C.A.T. Chair
Today $35.03
Compare $44.99
Save 22%
ALPS Mountaineering Blue Camp Chair
Today $67.99
Compare $86.75
Save 22%
Back to top