Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 95 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Pet Barrier
 from Seattle, WA.,  Jun 21, 2006

This barrier is for a pet that is basically trained well, as it is not very durable and a pushy dog will go right thru it. The cons are: footings are plastic, not rubber. Supposedly you can put screws in to keep the different parts from sliding, I couldn't get that to work, the screws wouldn't tighten enough, so the tubular parts kept sliding down, so I had to use black electical tape to keep it from shifting. It occasionally will just fall over, I guess it works itself loose after about 2 days. The Pros: Price Price Price. Once again, I recommend this for trained dogs, who just need a mental barrier. It is right for me, as I don't have a lot of money and my dog is well trained, if you can afford a better quality one, go for it. If you have a smaller dog, you will need to buy an extension.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pet Safety Barrier
 from Deep East Texas,  Jan 19, 2008

This product is the best I have ever used. I have been so pleased and excited about it being in my car. Bosley (a golden retreiver/chow mix) has not tried once to come through it. Before, he would come from back of SUV to driver to sit next to me. Works like a charm. He is safe and I am too. Sturdy, functional without being obtrusive. Fits and can be moved from one vehicle to another. I have not been this thrilled with a product ever. Highly recommend for anyone who travels with a pet, no matter how often or size of pet.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good deal
 from Washington,  Jan 11, 2008

Built well compared to others I have seen. have read negative comments on this item, I disagree with them. Obviously takes some adjusting to fit your individual vehicle, but works well in a Suburban with a 90lb hound. Great price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CHEVYLOU
 from STATEN ISLAND NEW YORK,  Aug 26, 2007

FITS WELL IN A 2003 TRAILBLAZER LT WE HAVE TWO BOSTON BULL TRRRIERS PUPS AND NOW THEY CANT JUMP OVER THE REAR SEAT AND INTO OUR LAPS WHILE DRIVING IT WAS A GOOD INVESTMENT !!!!!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gets the job done for a reasonable cost
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Aug 23, 2011

I have a 60lb golden retriever/collie mix who out of nowhere started jumping over the back seat and distracting me in the front. This has done the job of keeping him safely in the cargo area. This was relatively easy to install in my Jeep Liberty. I installed one of the screws wrong and that bar slips a little bit because of the (user) error. It took about a week for the dog to get used to it. The first two times he slid the bars over so that he could squeeze into the back seat. Once he realized the purpose was to keep him back there, I haven't had a problem since. My only issue is that if the bars are too close to the side windows, there is sometimes a rattling but it's not a big deal.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? photo on site is accurate compared to actual product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not the highest quality materials, but for $30 what do you expect?
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mostly Doesn't Work
 from Virginia,  Aug 10, 2011

Would work for a docile dog, but ours wants in the front seat, we had to alter to make it fit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It does
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good material
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sparehand Auto Pet Safety Barrier/ Safety Guard
 from Upstate NY,  Jul 12, 2011

Great concept but needs rigging to function as it is meant to. If you don't mind tweaking the item to get it to work~horizontal bars move when dog puts paw on them & creates a large enough space for dog to come through. Rigging involves securing horizontal bars in place to prevent them from slipping down or up and if you do this it will prevent a large enough space/gap to prevent our canine passenger from moving into the front.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? moderate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? moderate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So easy to set up!
 from Quebec, Canada,  Oct 19, 2010

We are so pleased with this gate! We should have got one years ago. I always thought they were really expensive but a friend recommended this one on Overstock. Good price, really easy to set up and does what it is supposed to do.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice gate for the price
 from Southern VA,  Oct 3, 2010

Works well. No rattles, easy to install. Sturdy enough to keep 2 Labs secure in the back of my SUV.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Spend the Money
 from Oregon,  Sep 18, 2010

This product was on it's way to us when I saw it being used in a friend's vehicle. Ceiling marks, RATTLES, and very lightweight. Needed to be bungieed to head rests to prevent it from falling. Not a quality metal compared to some of the more expensive models available in the market. Not everything in life is a "you get what you pay for", but this IS. We didn't even open the box and sent it back. Wish I didn't have to pay return shipping though, ugg...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Adequate for the Price
 from Baltimore MD,  May 21, 2010

I got this pet barrier for my small suv and 60+ pound mixed breed dog. The construction is fair, not heavy duty but it does the job. Assembly and installation were pretty easy. It rattles a LOT during normal driving, so I keep the stereo a little louder now ;-) For my vehicle, it could use a third crossbar (some brands sell extra crossbars, don't see any for this on overstock). Time will tell if the plastic fee hold up or not. All in all, a fair value for the money. It keeps my determined girl in the back where she belongs, yet still allows good view of her and out the back of the car.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Inexpensive and Easy
 from Bay Area, CA,  Mar 10, 2008

I have a 2008 Subaru Tribeca and I had this installed in my car in less than 15 minutes. I use my car for work so I needed something that could be taken out with ease. Great product and great service from Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Flimsy and poorly made
 from CT,  Sep 5, 2007

This product is flimsy. The construction is weak at best. Falls apart consistently. Screws on cross bars do not work. Does not hold dogs back in any way shape or form because any jolt makes product fall apart. Maybe if your dog weighs 20 lbs. and has three legs it may work. It is also very short. Can not work from the floor. I wish I didn't throw out the box. I would return.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Auto Pet Barrier
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jul 24, 2007

Love this product. It's much less expensive than the ones in the pet stores and works the very same way. Highly recommend it. I use it in my Honda CRV and it keeps my 3 dogs in the back cargo area just fine!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Price Is Right
 from Seattle, WA,  Jun 26, 2007

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend. I needed a barrier to keep my Yellow Lab in the back of my suburban. I didn't want to pay a lot for one because I don't need one that often. The "Price Is Right", and it keeps my dog in the back.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You need a drill!!!
 from Miami, FL,  Dec 19, 2006

This is a great pet barrier for the price. You must use metal screws to lock the bars in place as the clamps are worthless. However, the materials and supports are sturdy enough for my 60 lb boxer, provided that you screw down the bars. Buy this only if you are handy or have access to a handy person.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Dog Gate
 from weeki wachee, Fl.,  Apr 25, 2013

Excellent product at great price. Easy to install!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pet Guard
 from Texas,  Mar 6, 2013

This item is what I needed to make sure my dogs couldn't get to the front of my Rav4. Thanks a bunch for a great price!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was the exact same item, works great!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate on description.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is fine, it does what I need it too.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pet Barrier
 from NH,  Nov 28, 2012

I like that the barrier is adjustable and can easily be removed. However, I am not impressed with the plastic pieces that attach the horizontal bars to the two vertical bars. When you install it, you have to tighten a screw on the plastic portion which is what holds the horizontal bars securely in place. As I was installing it, I was SLOWLY AND GENTLY tightening the screws (the horizontal bar still had some movement at this point) when the back (others) side of the plastic piece cracked! I could see it happening if I had overtightened it, but the horiztonal bar wasn't secure at the point when it cracked. This portion of the guard should have been made of metal.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pups protection in car?
 from New Orleans,  Oct 30, 2012

Probably - infact definitely would not purchase again:(

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? About what expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Did not hold back dogs
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 95 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top