Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Needs Tinkering
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jun 25, 2011

I read all the reviews here on Overstock and another Website. I was concerned about two things: one the portion size and second, my cat's ability to play Houdini and reach for food. My cat is smart, but never did I think she would attempt to stick her paw up the food chute. I was wrong. The instant I set it done and she smelled the food, her paw was up there. What I did was cut thick paper (about three inches wide and one and three fourths long, and tape it over the extra chute space). So far she had not tried that again and the food come out without any issue. With regard to the portions, my hubby had made saran wrap pillows to limit how much food comes out. Others who have said the portions are too much for small cat kibble are correct. To make this work, some tinkering is needed. Otherwise it is working great. Now we can sleep in on a Saturday and not hear the mournful wailing of our cat.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? No
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? A little
  • How is the quality of the product? Average
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Petmate Feeder
 from Tennessee,  Feb 24, 2011

This is our 2ndPetmate feeder. They work well. You can set up top 3 feedings per day at 1/4 cup, 1/2 cup, 3/4cups, 1 cup, and 1 1/4 cups. The only complaint I have is that when the battery gets week you think it is still working but it does not. We are going to buy the wall electric wall pug input to solve this problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Had for a long time and have loved it
 from Pasco, WA,  Dec 15, 2013

I have had this feeder for five years (purchased it from XXXXXXXX the first time) and it worked beautifully for the whole five years. I didn't even have to change the batteries until very recently. A few days ago, though, it finally crapped out on me and the timer is malfunctioning. I had hopes it would last forever, but alas I guess it is not to be so. I read some of the reviews from others on this site and I have not had the problems they have had. My cat doesn't try to outsmart the machine. She just sits there patiently waiting until it dispenses her food - so I can't attest to any problems there. The portion control amounts were consistent as far as I could tell and it always dispensed food exactly on time. I will be purchasing another one here on Overstock because I am happy to have had five years and no problems from this machine.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This product doesn't function well
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Aug 28, 2012

I like my cat to eat a small portion of food 3 times a day, but this product is regularly not able to properly dispense that amount. It often only lets a few crumbs out when at the lowest cup amount. When I put it at the second cup amount, it lets out far too much food. What is strange is that I bought this product to replace the exact same product I've had for almost 3 years which funtioned fine. I do not know if overstock.com has "seconds" or slightly defective products for sale on purpose or if Le Bistro has changed something about their product. In the end, I wasn't able to return it in time, but as it stands, I am very dissatisfied.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? image was accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate except that the door which releases the food is malfunctioning
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Automatic Pet feeder
 from California,  Sep 2, 2014

The preious model was more functional. The latest model is very cheaply made and put together. The lid does not fit well and the feeder tray is not the best fit. If your food is too small, it will come out when it shouldn't. . If you can find another feeder , go for it.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great answer for weight loss and meowing kitties!
 from Fremont, CA,  Aug 12, 2014

As a small animal veterinarian, I am constantly looking for new options for weight loss and behavioral problems with cats. This feeder fits the bill! I have programmed ours to three feedings 1/2 cup per feeding per day! Our kitties now, instead of waking us up in the morning, sit patiently in front of the feeder for their breakfast! The only complaint is that the feedings don't seem to go small enough for one cat, and it can be a little picky about the type of food (seems to to best with uniform kibble like ***** ******* *****. *Note - when the unit says that the battery is low, it will often last for months beyond that little red light!* Some of my clients have complained about very smart kitties being able to steal food from the next meal in the hopper -- ours haven't figured it out yet and we've had these feeders for over a year. This last one I purchased and gave to a friend, who enjoys it very much.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Consistent but drops down too much food
 from San Diego, California,  Jul 17, 2014

This is a mixed review. Overall the feeder has great attributes. You can set it for up to 3 times a day and allows for several different size portions which comes in handy. It is much better then the feeders that you have to fill the individual portions if you are traveling as it will allegedly go up to 99 feedings. However.... the down part of this feeder is that the portion size is inconsistent. I have a small kitten/cat and only need the portion size of 1/4 of a cup per feeding. The first few times, it only dropped down 11 small kitten chow pieces at a time, now it drops down a larger amount, probably around a 1/2 of a cup which is too much for a small kitten. I have stopped using it on a regular basis and just use the feeder when I am going out of town in order that I do not overfeed the kitten. I have heard that the batteries wear out quickly but I have not experienced that as I have discontinued using the feeder on a daily basis and haven't used it for a long period of time. My kitten had no problems getting used to the feeder and the sound was not as loud as I expected. The kitten was able to hear the food as it dropped down and knew that she had fresh food. I would recommend the feeder for consistency and reliability that the cat would get fed, but with the 1/4 of a cup setting, it is way too much food to be used on a daily basis.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The Lebistro petmate programmable portion control feeder is wonderful. l am trying to help my pet lose weight and l work long hours this feeder feeds her automatically three times a day at one fourth cup size portions. The best part l don't have to get up at 5AM to feed her. She will complain to me on occasion but she is now associating the feeder as the one to wait on for food. I think she is losing weight already and l have only had the machine a few weeks.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Life saver!
 from East Coast,  Apr 21, 2014

Our cat used to wake us every morning at 6:20 meowing for food. With this we set the time and it automatically feeds to our set times. It has 3 meal options a day although we only use the breakfast one and you can choose how much is dispensed at each feeding. I did purchase the ac adapter for it because it was using so many batteries. I keep batteries in it for power loss only. A real lifesaver for a scheduled cat.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Auntie
 from Columbus, OH,  Jan 7, 2014

This product give me the freedom to leave for a weekend without the worry of someone coming into my house to feed my cats. It is pretty easy to program and did purchase an adapter so I did not have to rely on batteries. My only complaint is the portion control. Sometimes it gives more sometimes less.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Still have a sitter check in
 from Florida,  Dec 6, 2013

This product is essential, yet totally flawed. It doesn't always dispense the right amount of food (or sometimes just doesn't dispense anything all). My cat has opened the top lid, figured out how to open the bottom flap, and has even pulled it out from the wall where I had it plugged in. I still have to have a friend come by and check on them every other day to make sure they are actually getting fed, but I do trust it enough that it alleviates the need for a visitor at each feeding. Costs way too much considering how poorly it works. A good start, but the design needs major improvements. Worthwhile if you're only going to be gone a short time, but worrisome if you are planning this as your only method of feeding while you're gone.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Keeps the cat well fed
 from Gladstone, MO,  Sep 27, 2013

This item works well at dispensing the food to the cat. I also purchased one for our dog (who is very scared of sudden noises) and he will not eat out of this device because it dispensed one time while he was eating. The product does very well but if you have a easily scared animial I would probably avoid it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This cat feeder is a life saver most of the the time. I am a flight attendant for a major airline and travel a lot. If the batteries are fresh the feeder will dispense 3 squares a day. I wish I could by a electric adapter to make sure it's working. It's responsible most of the time while I am gone. I have a neighbor come by to make sure my cat is not starving. It keeps the food fresh and the timer is really a convent feature on the feeder. I'm pleased so far. It's also much better priced than some major pet chains prices.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only 4 stars because ...
 from California,  Jul 2, 2013

I only gave 4 stars to this product because it delivers more food than the amount that has been programmed. I'm lucky to have a cat who doesn't over eat, but if you want to put your cat on a strict diet, this automatic feeder might give you some problems.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image is accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looks and feels reliable
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Glad I knew what to expect
 from Portland, OR,  May 26, 2013

I am glad I read other reviews of this product, so I wasn't surprised by any of the undesirable features of this product. The biggest drawback is that it periodically spits out food. Since there is no pattern, my cats will never stop trying to get food from it. The second undesirable feature is that the food dish can be disconnected from the unit and the unit can be dragged across the floor. I have three cats and the main reason I purchased this item was so I could leave my cats over night. This totally works for that, and since they no longer associate me with food, I am not awakened in the early AM by cats harassing me for their breakfast. They have figured out the "pecking order" and eat peaceably. I am also happy with the large quantity of food that can be stored - I fill the bin about twice a month. I do recommend taping the lid to ensure your cat can not open it to gain access to the food bin. Someday I might follow a suggestion posted by one of the reviewers and attach the whole unit to the floor so the cats are not able to drag it across the room. But this works for now and that is what counts for me.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good; plastic is undesirable and there is an design flaw; but workable
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Auto feeder working well
 from Orange county, CA,  Apr 27, 2013

Easy to set up, works as it should with large dry food. Pros: Works as advertized with larger food at least Small cat has gained a bit of weight, large one hasnt gotten much larger Cats haven't figured out how to bump it for more food, this may be some design fixes or stupid cats, not sure. Cons: I would like more than 3 mealtimes to set up feeding.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. All plastic, but heavy enough to do it's job.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

It was confusing to set up, and I made the mistake of using batteries that didn't match (2 and 1, different brands). But now it is working fine. A little confusing to figure out, but now works quite well.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Make life easier
 from Takoma Park, MD,  Jan 9, 2013

The is probably one of Petmates best products because even if the feeding basin overflows, the rotor will not break. If the food backs all the way up, your pet(a) will still get fresh food as they eat.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Tucson, AZ,  Dec 28, 2012

I bought this product because I travel a lot for my job and I thought it would make it easy to ensure my cats weren't overeating while I was away. Well, they discovered discovered if you just move the dish around, more food will come out, so they just eat whenever they please. At this point, I might as well just let them "free-feed." Also, when it does dispense, it doesn't always allot the amount that you set. On the upside, it does dispense during the times you set and it is easy to use. That is the only reason I gave it a fair rating. Hope they can fix these flaws soon so it will be a good product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Knock off or not?
 from Decatur, AL,  Dec 26, 2012

I had a PetMate LeBistro that I was replacingwith this unti. While they appeared to be of similar quality, it did strike me that there were certain differences that made me think it might be a knock-off. Maybe it's just that it's a newer model but most manufacturers know better than to make minor changes on a model that already excels. It performs as good as the previous unit, which held up for over two years at three feedings a day.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top