Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 47 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
noisy and not dry climate friendly
 from Tucson, AZ,  Dec 24, 2010

I purchased this fountain for a home where two cats and a dog share the water bowl. I was very excited about the large capacity reservoir since it seems like I'm always refilling the water bowl. It was easy to put together and comes with two plain charcoal filters. I filled it up, plugged it in and set it on a large rubber placemat in my kitchen. It took the animals awhile to overcome their fear of it and try it. The cats took about a day and the dog took a few days (and is actually still very weary of it). I think it must evaporate a lot of water because I find myself refilling the reservoir every two or three days. We have a very dry climate (with humidity usually in the teens indoors) so that's what I'm guessing. They used to go through 24-40 ounces a day. I also have to take the whole thing apart and wash it every few days because there always ends up being cat hair or litter in it. All that being said, my biggest problem with it is how much noise it makes. When the pump is secure and the lid is on properly it makes a noticeable hum and a trickle of water like a....well, a fountain. But if the filter area lid isn't on tight it makes a buzz/vibration sound that you can hear across the house. Overall, it would be bearable if the sound was reduced about 50%. So, I'm giving it only three stars because I feel like I'm still messing with the water bowl too much and it's just too noisy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the animals
 from Denver, CO,  Sep 6, 2011

Its a great water fountain. i have a dog and two cats and they love it. It can be a little loud but you just have to make sure the lid is in tight and it will be quite as a mouse again. I have to refill it every couple of days but that is because it gets so much use from the animals.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excatly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

this fountain is just as described, my dogs and cat started to use it right away. the item is quiet, and fresh water is constant.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is excellant
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Texas,  Aug 11, 2011

Very easy to assemble and easy to clean. I have a very large dog and a cat and they both use it. Because my dog is so large, I fill the reservoir once a day. At times the fountain makes humming noises, but not loud enough to be irritating. I believe this product filters the water well enough that my pets drink more throughout the day. The cost was perfect considering smaller ones were the same price in local stores. Overall, this is a great product and I am glad I purchased it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does a great job!
 from Cincinnati, Ohio,  Dec 7, 2012

I have owned petmate fountains since I adopted my 2 kitties 13 years ago, and have always liked that they can have running water to drink that is filtered. This is the largest fountain I have ever had and I love that it will go for several days without needing to be refilled. I change the water whenever I see dirt or food in it or if the level gets a bit low. It is heaver to lift when full, but I like that I can leave for a day or two and not have to worry about it running dry and burning out the pump. The little grill that filters larger pieces of dirt or food before entering the pump is not made to last. I had another smaller fountain of the same style before this one and the small plastic piece, which depends on 2 tiny "wings" to hold it in place, quickly broke. This one is still intact and I'm trying to be very careful when I remove and clean it! It is pretty hard to take this fountain apart as it doesn't come apart very easily. The parts are very tight-fitting and need to be pushed together very forcefully (with a good wack of my hand) when reassembling. I do like the fountain and would recommend it if you have larger cats or small dogs!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate photo, but hard to tell the actual size
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, the small plastic grill that filters water in front of the pump is easy to break
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Far So Good
 from Woodbridge, Virginia,  Nov 15, 2012

I haven't had my fountains very long yet so all I can say is so far so good. I bought two of these extra large fountains for my 14 adopted cats (one lives with my oldest daughter now - so actually just 13 cats living here now). There is a hum from the motor when you first start them up but it goes away after about a week. As soon as the hum went away that was about the time the first cat became brave enough to try them out. The others watched and soon they followed. Animals aren't stupiid, they know water and electricity don't mix and when they heard the hum they knew to be cautious. Most all of my cats are using the fountains now - there may still be a couple of holdouts but I think they will eventually come around. I still put fresh water down in bowls knowing there are still a few holdouts. I clean my fountains once a week and rinse the filter out good each cleaning. I am planning on changing my filter once a month. I am considering buying another one of these extra large fountains as I'd like to put one in another room and because I do have a large population of kitties. There is one part of the fountain that is difficult to remove and replace when cleaning but don't give up - it is just a tight fit (but it does require patience). I believe the health benefits of being well hydrated will make the cost of the fountains a non-issue. Good Luck!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It Was The Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The Quality Seems To Be Fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my three animals!!
 from New Orleans, LA,  Nov 13, 2012

I love the fountain i got for my 2 small dogs and 1 cat, they use it alot more than the regular bowl they had before. I work alot so i dont have to worry about cleaning it everyday i clean it about once a week and refill it. And my cat who waits for me to turn on the sink to drink now drinks out of the fountain so i dont have to worry about him not getting enough water when im working long hours..i have already gotten another one for my moms dog who used it when she came to visit it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Grreat product,, works perfect.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from N.J.,  Aug 15, 2011

.Both my cats love this. I love this also. I have very poor health and I don't have to worry about filling a water bowl everyday with fresh water. This bowl lasts quite awhile on a fill and I know my babies will always have fresh water at all times.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Shows actual product.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality product
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
somewhat loud
 from Balitmore MD,  May 30, 2011

Resevoir is pretty good sized for our two cats. We fill it about once a week. As it is getting to be summer and there is more evaporation. Only complaint is it is pretty loud. I think if I put it on a rug though that would stop the sound vibrating through the hard wood floors.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
water fountain large
 from RIVERTON , UTAH,  May 3, 2011

I have one cat but she likes to play in the water so the smaller one ran out too quick this one lasts much longer & is much quieter which both are a plus for me this is a good product

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this product!
 from Cincinnati. OH,  Apr 12, 2011

I bought this fountain because my cat was having several bladder and kidney problems. He had sediment in his bladder from not drinking enough water. As far as i cen tell he loves this fountain. I also have a medium sized dog who drinks from it as well... we coul,d not have a smaller size as I have to refill this every couple of days. I was iffy about buying it on reports of it being so noisy but it really isn't that bad. You can hear it- it isn't completly silent but it isn't extremly loud and my house is very quiet for the most part. I would definatly recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product for Multi-animal home
 from Roaring Spring, PA,  Mar 31, 2011

This is a great product for a home with multiple animals sharing a water bowl. I bought the similar smaller-sized 50 oz reservoir previously and loved it, but it was too small one with the addition of a second dog and a cat. I was constantly finding it dry. But now, my pets always have water and I don't have to worry about refilling it every day. The Jumbo is a bit noisier than my previous smaller model, but nothing too loud. I can just notice it in passing. My pets enjoy the refreshing filtered fountain.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great quality product overall
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? free of defects
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good thing to have.
 from Buffalo, NY,  Mar 7, 2011

Our two cats like the fountain. This was a replacement for us as the older one started leaking. Since the water seems fresher, they tend to drink more often.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They Just Wore Out the First One
 from Haw River, North Carolina,  Feb 28, 2011

We bought this unit as a replacement for the exact same model that developed a serious leak. But, after servicing two dogs and two cats for at least five years, we felt we had gotten our money's worth with the original unit. The only complaint (which appears to be a common one): the noise level is a little higher than one would expect. However, after a few days neither the pets nor their servants seemed to notice. We have recommended this product to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Flaws corrected
 from Fort worth,  Nov 13, 2010

The motor was loud, did not pump much water and failed after two months. I bought a Beckett DP40 40GPH Motor. It fit with a small modification to the base of the unit. The connection to the exhaust tube fix exactly. I Dremeled off the tabs that held the old motor in place. It is now very quire (low setting) and moves water very well . It flushed out algea that had accumulated in the tube.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Noisy
 from Chicago,  Oct 17, 2010

I purchased this fountain about a month ago and am still not used to the noise. The motor hums loud enough that it is noticeable, but not enough to be totally annoying yet. I do like the large water reservoir since I travel for work and don't have to worry about it running dry and burning out the motor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Capacity
 from NJ,  Sep 6, 2010

Received the pet fountain, set it up and filled it and everything was fine with the exception of the motor noise. I had it on a porcelain tile floor and the vibration was very annoying. I put a cushion under it and it was better. I really like the fountain but the noise is something that you need to get used to, hence, four stars unstead of five.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from Los Angeles,  Aug 4, 2010

This is a nicely made unit. I was very pleased at first. Then, it seemed to be making more gurgling noise even though full. I though of talking to the mfg about it, but didn't. Now it's quiet or I hardly notice it. It's Ok for me. My cats (8 cats) are liking it more now too. I started by filling and cleaning it one a week. This week I had to fill it twice. The cats have other water dishes too. Nice product. Good price. I'm glad I got it. I've had this 3 1/2 weeks or so now. I'm glad I got the jumbo model too. More filters weren't too hard to find on-line; be careful to get for jumbo. I got enough for a year at changing monthly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Working Great
 from PA,  Jun 18, 2014

I have five Pomeranians. One of them in particularly is a male with a big thirst. He use to drink all the bowls dry and you had to keep refilling them(it seemed like a million times)all through the day. My dogs appear to enjoy the water from this fountain. What I appreciate is that the water is circulating. The water reservoir holds enough water that I can feel comfortable in leaving my dogs home alone for several hours. Even though I use filtered water for there bowl, I like that it to has a filter. When I received it, I set it up immediately. The dogs all took to it right away. There was no training time involved. There is a sound of water trickling, but it is really a white noise and not disturbing. In fact some people might find it soothing as it sounds somewhat like a babbling brook. This fountain was just what the "Doctor" ordered.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fresh water bowl
 from Rhode Island,  Jun 13, 2014

Although the dog I intended this for won't use it the other dogs in my house love it. It is very quiet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 47 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought