Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Worked for my Maltese
 from California,  Oct 8, 2010

I purchased these stairs to replace a 2-step set of stairs that was very short for the height of my bed, and it required my Maltese to kind of get a running start to jump up on the bed. That worked most of the time, but occasionally he would mis-judge it and would slam into the bed head first, which would not only hurt and injure his neck and back, but he was also embarrassed as funny as that sounds. The picture of these stairs is a little deceiving. They look as if they're cushioned or padded underneath, but these are actually 100% identical to the EASY STEP III that they sell here on Ovestock.com, except these have an elastic carpeted cover that you pull over them. That allows you to match them somewhat with your decor or your bedding, but the problem is that the cover slips and slides underneath the dog's feet, especially when they go down the stairs. It took my dog several days before he would use the stairs at all, I think mostly because he was used to going up the other stairs very differently, but eventually he got used to them and these are MUCH easier for him to go up and they don't require him to get a running start, he can just walk up them basically. Going down is a bit more difficult though, he stands on the top step and is very cautious about going down after using them for over a month, no doubt because they slip, and just the way the stairs are arranged in terms of height and length. Overall I'm happy with the purchase. The stairs are VERY sturdy, just take a look at the EASY STEP III to see how these are actually constructed. You really can't beat them for the price, and they can be easily and quickly disassembled if for some reason you want to take them with you somewhere and don't have room for them assembled. I'm not super crazy about the color selection, but other than that the only thing I would change is the way the stairs are covered. My suggestion is to purchase some double sided velcro and put it on the stairs and the inside of the cover so that you can velcro the cover to each stair and keep it from sliding. Could be tricky trying to line it up but I'm sure it's doable. Oh, one other thing. You can't tell from the picture but the stairs are angled downwards. This was something else I didn't really like about it, and something that I also felt made it a little harder for the dog, especially going down.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Soft Step III
 from Tecumseh, MI,  Dec 10, 2010

We have a mini dachshund & have a high bed. We needed something to help him get down without causing damage to his spine. We also didn't want to spend an arm & a leg. Excellent product & great price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the new Malt
 from Indy, IN,  Jan 6, 2009

Bought this for the new "addition", a 7 y/o Maltese Puppy-Mill rescue female. She was afraid of everything, but loved to be up in the "Big Bed". Set this up and she was traversing the 28" bed in 2 days! Now she chooses when to go up or when to be down on the carpet. BONUS: My 13 y/o Terrier-ist has come to use the steps, too. Previously, he had a few incidents where he just did not make it up the 28". He now uses the stairs to come ' up'. I suspect he will shortly choose to use them for the 'down' too. I think the larger 3 step was a better choice for the 2 different dogs. The 7 # Malt navigates the 3 large stairs with ease and the larger steps are more appealing to the 30# Attitude-in-a-Benji-Suit, Terrier. Was easy to set up. Easy to move around. I'm very pleased with the choice of the higher 3-Step.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pet Stair
 from Texas,  Nov 14, 2008

I bought this steps for my two aging and overweight cats. One is 13 lbs. and the other is 18 lbs. I have a bed with a height of 33 inches. I purchased this one because of the height (26 inches) and also how much it can hold as far as the weight of my cats. The pictures appears to look like a solid foam that you attach together to form the steps but it's not. It is actually made out of a lightweight, solid plastic that you put together. I was disappointed when I first opened the box, I was expecting more of a solid foam, more like a tempur-pedic bed texture feel. However, I am quite pleased after putting together the steps since the steps are actually solid piece of plastic that snaps together easily and it comes with a washable sherpa looking cover. If you stub your toe on it in the middle of the night, it will not hurt since the step is lightweight. It is pretty solid too that my 3 and 5 year old kids can climb it. It says on the instruction manual that in can hold small pets up to 150 lbs. The only concern I have if someone bought this for their pets are the individual steps are only 6 inches deep and the covering tends to slip, so I need to adjust it every so often. If it is a problem, just remove the cover and the steps itself is attractive enough without it. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchased again and this steps will actually last longer after constant use than many of those foam made pet steps.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible product
 from Chicago, IL,  Jul 26, 2012

The stairs slant down...you can't tell this by looking at the picture or reading the description but I can tell you that my dog had trouble going down it because of the abnormal decline of the stairs. I returned it because I honestly thought he would get hurt using it. Plus, he didn't want to use it...he obviously must have felt strange going down the stairs being that they were inclined so strangely.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? not accurately depicted
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
PetGear soft step III
 from New Rochelle, NY,  Apr 23, 2011

The picture is misleading. The material is skimpy and is not padded well. It also does not fit perfectly on the steps and moves. It is the first item I purchased from Overstock that has not met my expectations.

  • How is the quality of the product? Oiir quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Should have bought this a long time ago!
 from Apache Junction, Arizona,  May 19, 2010

This is the perfect height for my bed. I have a llittle Chihauhua and as soon as I am comfortable in bed, she wants to get up. I used to have to get out of bed to lift her into it. No more! She learned these steps in 1 day and they are fabulous. They are sturdy and attractive. The cover washes up nicely and the steps themselves are very sturdy. You can use the steps without the cover too. I would definately recommend this to all pet owners who let their pets sleep with them (I know there are many of you out there!) It was very difficult to find this tall 3 step one. So you should buy it here.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Aging Puppy
 from NE,  Jan 28, 2009

I bought this for my Min Pin to get in and out of bed. I took a little work with her to start using it but now she goes in and out of bed. She had broken a hind leg six years ago and with her age getting to eight I figured that this would help that leg. Plus the quick in her toes are very close to the end so jumping out of a waterbed we have had some front leg trouble. So far this is helping out alot with her legs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pet Stairs
 from Mount Pleasant, PA,  Jan 1, 2009

This is a wonderful product. My elderly cat who loves to sleep on my pillowtop mattress had such a difficult time getting to his favorite nap spot. Now I find him up on the bed most of the time. The steps are very sturdy for a cat or small dog so he feels comfortable and secure climbing them. They were very simple to assemble and the covering gives him something that he feels he can get some traction on rather than bare plastic.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fido is happy!
 from Elmwood Park, IL,  Apr 28, 2014

These stairs really helped my senior doxie...easy for her to get up and down from high bed. I put some rubber stickers along the bottom so it wouldn't slide on hardwood floor. Fleece cover is a little baggy. But it is the only affordable stairway tall enough for new high beds and safely allows her to get up and down.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
negitive
 from FL,  Oct 5, 2011

plastic with cover to stretch over it, steps are slanted, my pups don't like it, they like the foam ones and they look a lot better too.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? mostly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? so so
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. durable
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stairs are good...Cover is ugly!
 from Florida,  Apr 6, 2011

The only issue I have is with the cover. It is like "sheepskin" and is ugly. Now training the little dog is another issue, but she is learning. They will work fine, but I will probably have a more "fashionable" cover made.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good except cover
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Soft Step III
 from North Jersey,  Nov 9, 2010

While functional, I was a bit disappointed with the product based on the following: 1.) The cocoa color was much lighter than depicted 2.) The steps are very narrow and on an incline, which make it difficult for my pug to navigate.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad
 from TN,  Nov 2, 2010

I bought this for my Miniture Doxen. He found it very bulky and intimidating at first but now he loves it. He goes up and down it 100 times a day. It is the peftect size for my bed which is a very low bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

When I bought a new bedroom set I realized that my dog could no longer jump up and down on her own. I purchased these stairs for my 12 year old cocker spaniel. She is set in her ways and does not take to new ideas very easily. After just two trips up and down the stair,helped along with treats of course, she has been consistently using them on her own with no prodding from me.. My order arrived very quickly and I was able to put the steps together in about 5 minutes. They snap together easily and I love the fabric cover. It's so easy to slip on and off to wash. All in all I am incredibly happy with the purchase and would recommnend these steps!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pet Stairs
 Oct 14, 2010

Good product, not quite what I expected, but it works great. I didn't realize that this was plastic stairs with simply a slip cover that goes over it, but it looks ok and was easy to put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As Described
 from Irvine, CA,  May 14, 2010

Great price for a great product. We have a high bed and this product works great for our two four pound yorkie dogs to get up and down. Steps are much sturdier than I was expecting after reading all the reviews. I would highly recommend this product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doxie Dog Stairs
 from SoCal,  May 11, 2010

Perfect for my 15llb. dachdhund to reach my bed,a little tricky to assemble,but still like product !

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
steps
 from new york,  Apr 7, 2010

The stairs are not what I picture but my small dogs seem to like them. Not sure if they are worth the price but I shopped around and it seems most doggy stairs are a little pricey for what they are.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

As a woman putting it together, I was able to do it however for the last piece I needed help. I wasn't strong enough. Product was great. It took our 13 lb dog only a few times training with treats to climb up the stairs. She still jumps off the bed, but uses the stairs always to go up.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top