Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good tree, cats love it!
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Aug 15, 2012

Excellent cat tree. Have been wanting the mushroom design so it would look good in the family room without being overbearing. Both cats love it, 1 is 10 lbs, the other 13 or so. They both like the bolstered top which is large enough to easily accomodate a larger cat and both have even squeezed themselves into the much smaller bolstered nest below the top which is really only big enough for a kitten. In fact the smaller cat is currently in the top bed and the larger one in the tiny bed below. As it's near where I watch TV and work on the computer, they spend a lot of time in this tree although there is a much larger one near a window and one outside in the sun room. The base is stable enough for them both to leap up the tree trunk from the ground chasing wand toys to the top. It wobbles a bit but has never come close to toppling. My only criticism is that I needed a pretty powerful drill to attach the top and still ended up stripping one of the screws. I tried using the cordless drill but no dice so had to change to the electric and it took some muscle. And although I noticed the stem wasn't quite flat, once the top was attached, the bolstered bed is very canted. Luckily the bolstered sides are deep enough that the cats don't seem to mind the bed being so sloped, otherwise I'm sure they'd fall right off. It was so hard to get the top on that I'm not willing to try to remove it to fix the problem. I plan on ordering another and will find some way to correct this if the new one arrives with the same problem. Overstock definitely has the best price, I checked many sites over several days. Overall, a good deal for this style and it's been well worth it for my cats.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCITED WHEN I ORDERED IT
 from Lewiston ME,  Jul 3, 2012

I was so sad that my cats would not use it. I have 2 large cats that did not fit well in it so they opted out. I have 2 smaller cats that were frightened of the height. The platform was not steady so they were wary of it. The only one using it was my little female who like clawing at it. I even rubbed it with catnip. They were tempted but that was it. I considered returning it but the shipping was pretty steep. I might donate it to our local animal shelter. This tree would be GREAT for kittens because they'll cliimb anything. By the time they're grown, they are used to it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? JUST A BIT DIFFERENT
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? PRETTY CLOSE
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. PRODUCT ITSELF WAS MADE WITH GOOD MATERIALS
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute, but not stable
 from Coarsegold, CA,  Nov 1, 2012

The tree I received, did not have the relatively flat, cushioned looking perches shown in Overstock's picture. Mine has tufted, lumpy perches; so lumpy in fact, that it is impossible for a cat to sit or lay on them. My cat is able to climb over them and they are helpful landing surfaces for climbing the tree, but not for resting on. Another difference was the color. The tree I received was a much lighter green than the tree in the picture. I was fine with this since it made the tree blend in better with our other furnishings, but prospective buyers should be aware that there may be a color substitution without prior notification. Also, the base of the tree in the picture is very different than the tree I received. There appears to be more bracing for stability on the tree in the picture. My tree did not have any of this. The "trunk" is simply screwed down from the underside of the base; hence, it rocks quite noticeably. The written description does not reveal the dimensions of the beds or perches. While the title of this item describes it as a "Large Cat Tree", it is unclear if they mean to suggest that the tree is meant for large cats or that the tree itself is large. Taking into account the very small size of both the perches and one of the beds, this leaves only one area of the tree that is suitable for a large cat, the top bed. The quality of the carpet attachment seems sufficient, but I feel the structure as a whole, is far too wobbly to be considered stable. My 3lb. kitten is able to make it rock when she plays hard on it or runs at it at top speed. I'm sure there is potential for a larger, heavier cat to be able to tip it over. The tree I received rocks where the "trunk" attaches to the base and the whole unit tips a little when the kitten leaps into it. We will be mounting ours to a larger, heavier platform for more stability and peace of mind. I realize that this tree ( or a very similar one), sells for quite a bit more from many other retailers; perhaps this explains the concessions in quality that have been made on the units being sold here for a significant discount. If you or someone you know is even a little handy, you may be willing / able to make a few adjustments.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image was not accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The on site written description seems to be fairly accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Less than expected
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Cat Play Tree
 from Cape Cod, MA,  Jul 2, 2012

The only con is that the platform base is a little bit small, and it is not secure. It wobbles when the cats climb up and down ( cats are under 10 lbs each). My solution is to put it against a wall, and wedge one side of the base under something to hold it stable ( like a piece of furniture).

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurately pictured.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurately described.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The cats are impressed, nice carpet on the outside,, good sized resting beds.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not exactly as pictured
 from Bonners Ferry, ID,  Apr 9, 2014

My problem with this is that the lower basket did not fit in correctly (it was 1 in. higher than the opening) so we had to attach it with the cut out part facing inward. Thus, it is not as depicted in the photo, & the cats cannot use the cut out part. We even had our neighbor, who is a licensed contractor, come over & see if we were just missing something or what (duh). He could not see how it was supposed to fit either & we weren't going to start sawing on it to make the opening bigger. We purchased 2 of them, & both had the identical problem. We called the company, & he offered to replace them if we wanted, but the box was torn apart on one to remove it, etc. - not to mention the hassle & cost to take it to the UPS place & have it sent back. I would have given it a 5 star rating if not for this issue with the lower basket. Mine were done in a lovely sage green - very pretty & the quality was fine. But they should have been cut the correct amount so the basket would go in so the cats could access the basket easier using the cut out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
kitties love it!
 from Gig Harbor, Wa,  Dec 10, 2014

My cats argue over who gets to perch on the top tier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Cat Tree
 from MN,  Nov 18, 2014

Hi! My name is Gracie and I love this house! It kind of reminds me of the trees I used to climb when I lived outside. You see, this nice company adopted me when I met the owner outside one morning when he was coming into work, I was starving. I did kind of have a problem once I was inside- I think my new family bought this "tree" for me because I climbed on top of EVERYTHING. I like being up high. Now that I have my tree I don't climb on things nearly as much as I used to! I highly reccommed this tree to all kitties that love to climb! Colors not bad either!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cat tree
 from Norfolk, Va.,  Sep 9, 2014

My cats love this tree! I've been looking at this paticular "scratching post" for a while and was thrilled to find it on O.co. That made it affordable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The cats love it
 from San Diego, CA,  Sep 9, 2014

It was very easy to assemble. My cats love it. I have wanted a tree like cat tree for ages, and this was at a great price! My ONLY issue is the cats use it so much I'm constantly sweeping/vacuuming little rug pieces that fall off. But it looks great and not so huge that it takes up too much space

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cat and I both love it
 from CA,  Jul 30, 2014

I just received this today and I love it. It's so pretty. More importantly, I love how much my cat is loving it. I haven't even built it yet and she's all over it. It comes mostly assembled, but the two beds need to be screwed in. I can't assemble it properly until I borrow my grandfather's electric screwdriver. It has maybe 10 long screws that need to be drilled into solid wood and there are no pre-drilled holes. I ordered this after discovering that my cat doesn't care how convenient or inexpensive it might be for me--she just isn't interested in a cat tree covered in faux fur. I bought her a faux fur post that I thought was just fine, but after two weeks she'd climbed it once, and only to get to the nearby bookshelf. I'm happy watching her on this tree. She's hanging off the higher climbing surface and rubbing her chin on its edge. (Your preferences are noted, cat.) I found the colors to be more similar to the white background photo on this listing, while the actual structure is pictured in all the other photos with the black and white cat. (If you look for New Cat Condos on YouTube, they have a short video of an employee showing you this post. Good for getting an idea of size and such.) The trunk is a long pile tan carpet that's not dense, and the green carpeting is more dense and shorter pile. The top surface is larger than I expected. I can't say anything for longevity, of course, but the stability is good. It will wobble a small amount when pushed on, but not much, and not enough to put the cat off. Only problem: I found an unattached staple while running my fingers over the pleats of the trunk. It was conceivably small enough that the cat could have swallowed it had she gotten the idea in her head. I checked the rest of the post and there are no other loose staples, but it's something the manufacturer should be watching out for, safety wise. I may update when I've had the post for longer, but at the moment I say: 1. Have an electric screwdriver. 2. Check the entire tree for loose staples. 3. Profit!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great cat tree
 from Alabama,  May 25, 2013

Great cat tree. It looks lovely in the living room and my cats and I love it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My kitties love it!
 from Alabama,  May 23, 2013

This tree house looks great on my screened porch. My animals love it and spend lots of time perching on it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Treelike Cat Tree
 from Bay area California,  Nov 21, 2012

bought two. waiting for more to come into stock (5 cats). they look great! the cats love them!! so do I!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact other than green of "foliage" lighter green than picture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought