Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 414 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 21 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
WOW
 from Inland Empire, CALIFORNIA,  May 10, 2008

I have a 12 year old Golden/Lab mix and he's got joint issues. I've gone through numerous "Orthopedic" pet beds, which we all know, are somewhat expensive. They mainly have that "egg carton" type of foam, which is fine at first, however, after about a month or two the foam breaks down and doesn't hold it's shape any longer. I searched and searched, found a couple of places that carried "specialty Ortho" pet beds...again very expensive. Ordered it, and then find out that it is all on backorder for a couple of months (didn't bother telling me that). Now to my point and review... I was originally going to buy a memfoam topper for a regular bed and make one for my dog, but then I typed in "Pet Beds", and what do you know? Overstock carries it. So I ordered it, with the three day express mail. Well, I got it in two. Ordered it on Wed, was shipped on Thurs and I received it on Fri. I was very impressed with their shipping and how quickly it arrived. Luckily for me it left a warehouse in my city. When I got it, I opened it and it looked really small (it is vacuum packed and folded in half, so don't fret!), and I thought to myself, "Oh great, it was too good to be true." But once I got it out of the vacuum sealed bag and saw that it was folded, I was relieved. Anyhow, I put it on the ground and it went back to it's original shape and thickness...I suppose that's why they call it Memory Foam :-). Anyhow, my dog loves it and now he can get himself up a lot better than before. As for the "Durability" rating, I'll post again later to let you know how it holds up to a 75lb dog. I have a total of 3 big dogs, when I was allowing the bed to retake it's original form, my other two dogs laid on the bed and would not get off. I had to force them off the bed! So I will probably be purchasing two more pretty soon! Sorry for being long winded!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed; no fleece to pill off
 from Florida,  May 8, 2008

I read a review by another customer who said that the fleece was pilling off--not so. THIS bed has no fleece on top. It is only synthetic suede. I had previously purchased the memory foam bed WITH the fleece on top, and the fleece did pill off. Plus, the dog likes to dig before he lays down, so he was actually peeling it off. As a result, I had dark brown fuzzies all over the room. But THIS bed hasn't been damaged by him yet, and I think it will stand up pretty well. He has outgrown the eating-his-bed-and-ripping-it-to-shreds phase, so I imagine we'll have it for a while. It looks great in our home, and the dog loves it. Actually, it's more comfortable than my own bed. As a sidenote, if you can't find a color you like, or you don't want to take the cover off once a week to wash it, a crib sheet will fit the large bed and act as a slipcover.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I purchased this product because my bed has a memory foam mattress that Luigi crawls up in and enjoys the heat that it holds. This bed allows him to have the same warmth & comfort. He now stays in his bed at night allowing me to get a good nights rest! The cover & bed are both very soft but I placed another foam pad underneath because it is not real thick for a heavy dog. It has a zipper on the bottom center for easy removal for washing. I like that it holds it shape keeping a neat appearance. The center doen't wear down like many other dog beds.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolute Luxury
 from California,  Dec 22, 2010

I have a 1-year-old Vizsla - a very active breed. She sleeps on this bed for hours at a time! It is so luxurious, I would sleep on it if it were big enough. :) We've had it for a couple of weeks now. I spilled some water on it when stooping down to pet my dog, and there must a waterproof liner in the cover, because the microfiber was soaked, but the foam was totally dry. The cover zips off: I've washed it once and it came through beautifully. This is a great product! If you have an older dog who needs a soft but supportive place to lie down, or if you just want to spoil your younger dog, this is a great product!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dogs seem to like them
 from Smithfield, NC,  Jul 31, 2008

The memory foam beds are dense. The covers are nice looking and I like the way they zip on and off. The zipper runs across center of the bottom lengthwise. This make the cover much easier to remove and put back on compared to the old dog beds I had where they were like pillowcases. Durability remains to be seen. We took the advice of a previous reviewer and bought some baby crib fitted sheets to fit over the beds. Washing the sheets is a lot easier than the covers and should allow them to hold up much longer.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
another great purchase
 from Nashville, TN,  Jun 15, 2011

I have a geriatric 100 lb dog (pushing 13 yrs old) who recently had ACL surgery on his back leg. He was use to afternoon naps on the sofa and can't do that anymore (no jumping). I wanted something cushioned for him to recover on. He also has developed arthritis in that leg as well. He ADORES this new bed. It took no coaxing at all to get him on it. As others noticed, it does not sink all the way down to the floor with his weight. It doesn't even sink totally down with my weight. It also recovers as soon as he gets back up. I am extremely pleased with this product. I've seen much more expensive such items with less quality. I want to mention as well, don't be fooled by the thickness (or lack of) compared to other cushions. It may not look super thick, but it IS super supportive. Since my guy can't "get up on" things very well with his leg, a taller cushion would have actually not worked well. This is just tall enough to not cause any undue strain, and he certainly seems to love it. Immediately after his surgery, I had an aerobed mattress inflated on the floor for him. Once this cushion arrived, he definitely prefers it. I think its the height issue. I have since deflated the other mattress, because he always goes to this bed.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes, absolutely
  • How is the quality of the product? better than I hoped
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic value
 from Novato, CA,  Nov 28, 2010

I bought this bed in October 2008, my 100 pound dog sleeps on it at least 10-12 hours a day/night, and when he's not on it my cat likes to sleep there--and it is still going strong. The foam has no sags or indentations. No more wasted money (and landfill space) on puffy pillow-type beds, which had to be replaced every few months because they got flat and lumpy, even though my dog didn't spend that much time on them (he often slept on the floor NEXT to the bed instead; I think they weren't very comfortable to him). This bed also has a clean look unlike pillow or bolster beds, so it looks a lot nicer in your home. I use a throw over the bed so I can usually just wash the throw instead of the bed cover itself. Or you can use a crib sheet, as recommended by a previous reviewer, and this works great if your dog is dry (mine's often wet/muddy). When I have had to wash the bed cover it comes out nice & clean, no shrinkage and no apparent wear (I LOVE microfiber!). But it is more of a pain to get on and off than covers on pillow-type beds, because it's so form-fitted. The fabric is substantially thicker/tougher than microfiber I've seen on furniture and clothing. It has a subtle alligator-type texture which might have stopped me from purchasing it if I had heard that in advance, because I would have expected to hate it. But it's extremely subtle so I don't mind it at all. Bottom line, my dog would rather be on this bed than anywhere else in the house, it looks great, it lasts indefinitely, and Overstock's price is at least 50% less than solid memory foam beds elsewhere. If this ever needs replacing I hope I can still find the exact same bed for sale on Overstock! If you are debating between memory foam and "orthopedic" or "egg crate" foam, I would definitely recommend memory foam. I have an egg crate foam bed for when my dog comes to work with me, and as with the traditional beds, he often prefers to sleep on the un-carpeted floor. In contrast, when he has the option to sleep on this bed, he never chooses the floor. If you are debating between the large and extra-large size of this bed: Unless you have a "super large" dog like a Great Dane or Wolfhound, you'll probably be happy with the large. My dog is quite tall and long (a lanky Great Pyrenees) but I'm glad I got the large (he's happy with the size, it costs quite a bit less money, and it doesn't take up the whole room). If you have a moderately large dog like a 70 pound lab you may even want to consider the medium bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Colorado,  Jun 26, 2011

I purchased this bed for my 6 year old golden retriever/chow mix who has a serious problem with anxiety. He 'hides' behind the sofa when anxious and refuses to come out - until now. I placed this very comfy and sturdy memory foam dog bed in front of the sofa for him. It took a couple of days, but he has finally fallen in love with it! He now spends a great deal of his relaxation/sleeping time on it! It is a very good quality memory foam product and is holding up well under his 'digging'. He spends a couple of minutes ''digging" and circling on it each time he prepares to lay down. I highly recommend this item to anybody looking for a quality dog bed.You can't beat the price either!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? This dog bed looks exactly as displayed on the website.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? It was exactly as described
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Dog Bed EVER!
 from East TN,  Dec 18, 2010

I've wasted a lot of money on other "orthopedic" dog beds that lasted maybe a year, but not anymore! This bed is very well made. I purchased this bed in June 2010 for my 14-yr old Lab. He loves this bed and spends most of his time on it. If it makes my old fella' comfy, then I'm a huge fan. My 3-yr old Lab curls up with him on it and hijacks it when she can, so I'm buying another one for her. Very easy to clean; quality memory foam stands up to 150 lbs of dog weight on it (when they're sharing). Great for any dog; but if you have an older dog, or a large breed that is subject to arthritis, it is a must have for your household.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
memory foam dog bed
 from Belleville, MI,  May 14, 2013

The foam itself is great but the cover is very poor quality. After the first washing, the zipper started to separate from the material, and pulled away almost completely after the second washing. I washed it per instructions, on the gentle cycle. The zipper had been sewn too close to the edge of the material with no second seam for strength/support. I am very disappointed in the quality of the cover on this bed.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? the image is misleading, makes the bed look thicker than it is
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair to poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Memory Foam Dog Bed
 from chicago, il,  Dec 29, 2012

I bought this bed for my dog who had back surgery. It was recommended to get him a memory foam bed. But for the price and considering the thickness of the memory foam, you maybe better off getting a twin memory foam bed topper and doubling up. The pad itself is somewhat thin to get the full affect of memory foam. Keep in mind, a large dog weighs more than a small dog. So if you have a medium to large dog, there will still be pressure points to the floor. This didn't accomplish what I expected it to and I feel like it was a product taking advantage of "dog marketing". II now use it as a *** box spring to his old bed.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was less than I expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cover ruins it
 from Maryland,  Nov 19, 2012

My dogs loved these and as I have a memory foam mattress I knew they'd be comfortable. The cover leaves much to be desired. You can unzip and wash but it is extremely flimsy on the bottom. It's just a black thin cotton material and the zipper tore away from the fabric. It is extremely difficult to get the cover back on. Once the cover was ruined my dogs decided the exposed foam made a nice snack. Finally had to throw them out.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? look like the picture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. cushion is fine but the over was not
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's ok.
 from Washington,  Jul 15, 2012

I love how fast the dog bed came, it came vacuum pack. I assumed it would puff up much more than it did. I was expecting a 3in memory foam dog bed for my 100lb lab. It's only 2in. My dog has hip dysplasia so I was hoping for a bed that she could enjoy... she would rather sleep on the ground on this dog bed. Sad to say I was not impressed especially for the price it is.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same as image.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? NOT 3in THICK...ONLY 2
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's ok.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dog is very impressed
 from NT Australia,  Apr 24, 2012

Our dog Bob is extremely impressed with this product - and has given up the couch and the bed altogether in favour of his new mattress. Great quality, and reasonably priced - even with shipping to Australia.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My 12-year-old big dog LOVES this bed!
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Apr 14, 2012

I have two VERY geriatric dogs. One of them is a 12-year-old 75 lb. Giant Schnauzer whose hips are not in the best shape. After of years of trying bed after bed and being disappointed and having to replace them yearly, I ordered this bed in December. He LOVES it!!!! He has never ran so fast to get to his bed before his "brother" does. It is also easier for him to get up once he has been laying down. I would highly recommend this bed to any dog owner, but especially to those who have a dog with hip dysplasia or arthritis. In fact, I am ordering another one today since I feel so bad for my other 12-year-old dog, who doesn't have hip/leg problems... he needs one too and he looks so disappointed when he doesn't get to lay on it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent bed!
 from SoCal,  Apr 3, 2012

This is the best dog bed I've ever owned! The upper faux-suede fabric is very substantial, holding up to dog claws and even cat scratches. The vinyl bottom layer keeps it dry, whether from overnight moisture (ours is out on a porch) or a drippy potted plant nearby that leaks underneath. My 95lb. dog gets excellent support and cushioning and loves his bed! And since the cover unzips for washing, I can keep him smelling better too!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really nice dog beds
 from Laporte, PA,  Dec 3, 2010

These dog beds are plenty large, soft and the cover fits beautifully. If I were to have any complaint at all it is that one of the four beds I purchased came with a slight slit in the middle of the cover; which, of course, one of the dogs just couldn't leave alone. Had I noticed it early enough, I'm sure Overstock would have replaced it - they are fabulous about insuring 100% customer satisfaction. As for the beds, you really can't go wrong.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
STIFF AS A BOARD!!
 from Portland, OR,  Oct 22, 2013

I was so looking forward to receiving this bed and putting it to use as an elevated 'annex' to our own memory foam bed. We have 2 standard size dogs and only 1 fits on the bed comfortably with us. I made elasticized removable covers for this dog bed to make it easy to wash the cover without the hassle of wrestling with the micro suede cover it comes with. We had the 'annex' all set up and ready to go, when I sat on the dog bed and realized just how hard it was. Even I couldn't make an indention in it, it was that hard. I unzipped the cover and looked at the foam. It was just stiff foam rubber, not memory foam! I'm confused by all the rave reviews on this item. All I can figure is the manufacturer recently made a downgrade in their materials and they're trying to pass this bed off as 'memory foam'. Consumers are not that dumb! I've printed off my return label for return. I also just ordered a 3" slab memory foam twin topper to cut to the same size as the returned dog bed. I sure hope and pray this topper is REAL memory foam!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cover Does Not Stand Up to One Night's Wear & Tear
 from New York, NY,  Oct 11, 2013

Bought this for my 100-pound Lab. Size and quality of foam are fine, but the microfiber cover, which is very thin, split wide open from his nails the first night he slept on it. Returning.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CHEAP and FLIMSY
 from Houston,Texas,  Jun 4, 2013

I have a 10 year old arthritic black lab. I also have hard tile floors. I needed a bed that would support her pressure points and conform to her body with firm support. This bed was horrible, and I just printed my return label. I can't believe they are charging *** for what is a flimsy piece of thin foam covered in cheap fabric. Press your finger into the 1 inch foam and you touch HARD FLOOR. After all of my searching and reading the rave reviews here I am shocked that anyone really loves this bed.I think I am going to just buy a big piece of memory foam and make a bed myself for a fraction of the cost. Heed my warning, if you are looking for true support don't get this CHEAPO bed!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? appears thicker in photo
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? NOT accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. VERY poor quality. Cheap, flimsy and worthless
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 414 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 21 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top