Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 46 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Upside Down Instructions
 from Charlotte, NC,  Jun 16, 2013

The old adage, "You get what you pay for" applies, but not in a sense of being taken advantage of. The product looks very nice, and it is a value to get something completely made of wood at this price point. It has been an eye sore to have a full wire kennel and a full plastic kennel in the family room for the past couple of years. It is a relief to have a nice looking kennel in the corner between our couch and love seat that can easily be glanced over as a nice end table. In regards to assembly, be gentle unpacking the pieces from the box. Since the item is already pre-fabricated, the large side pieces are not very substantive and gain their durability as part of the complete assembled box shape. My only issue was with the order of the steps in the asembly instructions. The instructions indicate that the sides should be attached to the bottom panel first and that the top be attached last. Since the holes for screwing the top onto the sides are inside the finished kennel, you either have to lay on your back inside the kennel to reach the screws, or you have to squeeze your hands through the slats and deal with the allen wrench at difficult angles. The step of securing the top was by far the most time consuming, awkward, and at times painful portion of the assembly (my wrists got stuck between the slats trying to manipulate the allen wrench from outside the box, and my back was sore from laying over the lip on the floor panel while trying to complete the assembly from inside the box). Therefore, I strongly suggest that you carefully attach the sides to the top panel first so that you have much easier access to the screw holes. Add the bottom panel while the tops and sides are laying upside down. The access to the screw holes for the bottom panel will be incredibly easy since they are exposed from the outside of the box -- no crawling inside nor sticking you hands through slats.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The assembled product looks exactly as pictured.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The assembled product is as described.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood on the side panels is thin and must be handled gently, but the assembled product increases the overall rigidity. The door is on springs, so aligning the closed door with the latch requires pushing down or pulling up to latch it closed. This is a funtional furniture piece and should not be used in place of a sturdy kennel; a determined dog could easily get free from this kennel.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pet crate review
 from Newark, De,  Jul 27, 2013

This crate was difficult to put together, but it looked nice.....until my dog chewed through the bars. The wooden crate is not a good idea for pups but if your dog is already trained it should work out for you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dog Crate
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jul 16, 2013

I should have read the reviews on this first. I was looking for an affordable wooden crate for my German Shepherd and thought that this was it. When it arrived I was immediately disappointed in the plywood sides, not wood sides like it appears in the picture. While assembling I realized that the pre drilled holes did not match up on one side. It was a pain to put together and took two people. Also, the wooden bars on the side are not screwed in, which I discovered when one of them slid over while I had my hand on it to hold the piece in place. There is no way this crate will hold my dog. It will be a pain to take apart, and repackage, and I am out about $20 for trying this product. Live and learn I guess.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It looks better and stronger in the picture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? okay
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for!
 from North Carolina,  Aug 19, 2014

My 85 lb. golden is terrified of thunderstorms and fireworks, and tries to squeeze himself under my bed. I was looking for a place for him to "hide" when he gets nervous, but didn't want a traditional crate in my room. This crate is perfect! I did not install the door, since I want my dog to be able to go in and out. He is not crate trained, so it took him about a week to warm up to it, but after lots of cheese treats, he is sleeping in it every night. *DO NOT FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS WHEN PUTTING THIS TOGETHER! - I had no trouble assembling this crate by myself. Thankfully, I had read the reviews that said NOT to follow the instructions when putting it together. Attach the sides and back to the TOP first, then turn it on it's side to attach the bottom. If you assemble it following the instructions, you will have crawl inside to attach the top, or try to fit your hand thru the bars.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product but......BUYER BEWARE
 from Raleigh, NC,  Jul 25, 2013

So the item is half the cost that it was on other sites, so I won't complain too much. However, BUYER BEWARE, there are a few quality issues. Some of the holes were not aligned and we had to drill new holes in order to get it together. The holes for the hinges were so misaligned that we had to drill holes for the hinges on the opposite side. As a result we had to move the latch to the other side. If your dog is still in the chewing stages, it may be a good idea to spray the bars with something (bitter spray) to dissuade your pup from chewing on the wood. Other than that....we have a nice looking product. It just required a drill and some patience! Not too bad for half the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks like a piece of furniture
 from ok,  Jul 17, 2013

looks like a piece of furniture. We are very pleased with it. Our dogs are small and it is more than enough room for both of them.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks like a piece of furniture. We are very pleased with it.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty but cheap!
 from NC,  May 27, 2013

This dog crate is lucky it didn't end up in the fireplace! It arrived in multiple pieces and when trying to put it together, the screw holes did not line up nor were they properly drilled out. We were in the crate, outside the crate, etc, and choice words were used in the building of this crate. We finally had to use different screws in 2 spots and one has NO screw in it due to the hole line-up completely off. What should have taken 10-15 minutes to put together took over an hour and this was with an experienced woodworker! It is made with flimsy wood and my dog has already gnawed huge areas of this "balsam wood-like creation". It is NOT worth the money we spent, definitely. so DO NOT BUY IT!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks like it
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. cheap material, thin wood
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what we needed!
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Mar 3, 2014

I have Pomeranians and two are becoming incontinent. This crate is perfect for when we can't be home and during the night. It isn't too difficult to put together though it does take some time. Looks so much better than those ugly plastic or wire boxes! If you can't find our Pom, Teddy, just look in the crate...he's put himself to bed snug as a bug. :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking piece of furniture
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jul 22, 2014

I recently adopted a stray beagle mix. Vet thought he is full grown, about 3-4 years old, weighs 15 lbs. He's really active, and plays a lot. When he is ready to turn in for the night he starts looking for a nook or corner to lie down in. I thought I'd try crating him, but I didn't want a cage or carrier because I wanted to keep him in the living room. I saw a description for an end table type pet crate and found this one. I figured for the price it would be a good purchase. I saw several other crates that were much more expensive, but didn't want to spend too much in case he didn't take to it right away. Not a problem, I just toss in his chew toy, and his favorite squeeky and he goes right in! It's a pretty good looking piece of furniture too (once my son and I got it put together) and fits right in with the rest of my furniture. Been using it for a little over a week and so far so good! Is holding together really well! Will wait a couple more weeks before putting a lamp or other items on top to make it blend a little more. I read the reviews prior to ordering, but thought same problems could not happen often. It did take longer to put together than expected. Instructions are not translated correctly and a little hard to discern from pictures. The table top piece came not quite scratched but with what appears to be indentations that either occured during packing or unpacking, as if it had rubbed against another piece. Also, one piece of the decorative trim came off the side wall (not glued properly) and a second piece of trim (front bottom tray) was not attached at all. There are screw holes to match up with the main part, but no screws included. Because these are only decorative pieces I did not return the crate, and can glue these on.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Crates!
 from Dallas, TX,  Apr 27, 2013

The crates arrived on schedule and were easy to assemble. (The job is best done with two people) Our dogs / cat use the kennels only for resting and sleeping, but they look much better than the traditional wire crates.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
easy to assemble
 Jan 27, 2015

Looks great while serving a purpose. My dogs love their new bed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The crate was beautiful & arrived well packaged; however there were no grooves in the panels for the screws. Sadly I had to go through the hassle of re-packing the crate, getting it down a flight of stairs, into my car & to a UPS drop off center. I was not happy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very attractive!
 Jan 16, 2015

Ordered two and both were received quickly and un damaged. One package was missing one screw and the other had an extra bracket. Whoever got my screw is probably missing a bracket. Fortunately I had an extra screw leftover from another kit earlier in the week. It went together easily and I assembled both of them within an hour. I suggest assembling the three sides together first before dropping onto the top. That way you won't have issues with trying to get the dowels to line up with the holes in the top. As other reviewers have mentioned, be sure to assemble to the top first and leave the base until the second to last step. I had the updated directions, plus the reviews here to confirm this error in the steps. The crates look very nice and they are ready to go for the fur kids to go to bed tonight.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We ordered this for our second dog because we had one just like it for our first dog. When the order was delivered, it arrived broken. Nearly every piece was split and splintered. And missing 4 of the screws needed to assemble it. We requested a replacement, which we received. The replacement was in good inciting, but had NO screws in the pack of assembly hardware. Needless to say, I doubt that I will be ordering from Overstock in the future.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant and functional
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 17, 2014

Good buy at a good price. The crate is sturdy and elegant. It's perfect for my needs.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This pet crate is very nice
 from Bell City LA,  Dec 11, 2014

This product had very good instructions for putting it together. The pet crate is made of 100% real wood.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Coffee table dog crate
 from Queen Creek, AZ,  Dec 10, 2014

The crate itself only fits a small cat bed inside and I'd only recommend the bed for a small chihuahua or smaller terrier breed. Easy to put together and sturdy. Coffee table needs use of coasters or will mark. Excellent purchase for the look.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice enough for the dining room
 from Oakfield, WI,  Dec 3, 2014

It takes a little effort to put together. The lock isn't the easiest to use but the crate looks so nice I don't mind.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Crate
 from Pennsylvania,  Nov 30, 2014

Very Nice Looking Crate. It looks like a piece of furniture! My dog is a small Shih Tzu, so I am able to put the wire crate inside of this one. I do think a dog that chews would be able to get out eventually!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It Does the Job and looks good doing it.
 from Fresno, CA,  Nov 22, 2014

Ok, I read the reviews and so had no surprises. Minor problems with assembly very thin wood products, so will not hold up to a big or aggressive dog with crate issues. My puppy likes his bedroom, and I like that I can use it as a bedside table. My house is small and I didn't have room for a crate and tables. I got the 24 inch high crate that allows me to use next to the bed eliminating the need for additional space for a crate. A couple of family members have seen it and thought it was brilliant. The dark color matches my bedroom furniture pretty well. Too bad I can't upload a picture. So, if you have a calm dog that needs to be contained, I recommend it, if you have a beast then get a cage, not this crate.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 46 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought