Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 212 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Extra Tall Pet Gate GREAT for CATS
 from Worthington OH,  Feb 23, 2011

I recently purchased the Carlson extra-tall, extra-wide pet gate. I have four adult cats and need to keep them out of my bedroom for allergy reasons. Shutting the door just wasn't an option. This gate is perfect for keeping the cats out of the room. They are unable to jump the gate due to it's height of 41". They're also unable to get through the slats, though they did try for a few hours, to no avail. Now they just sit outside and look at me, feel reassured, then lie down and relax. With the door's being closed, they used to scratch and meow to no end! I LOVE THIS GATE! (I cannot address how this gate would work for large dogs; only how it works for me with the cats.) Gate is easy to install in a doorway because it has tension rods. No screws or nails needed. Installing at top of stairs might be different, but I can't address that. The gate comes with a width extension for an open-hallway stairs. To enter/exit the room, the gate has a "people door" easily accessed by lifting a lever on the top, Also, there's a door at the bottom of the gate for your small pet. The gate is made of white metal, resists scratching, and is attractive -- actually, it's interesting to look at. I would highly recommend this product. Will definitely buy another one in the near future.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
measure carefully
 from Maryland,  Apr 12, 2011

Be clear that this is not a tension gate but a pressure mount gate. It includes cup that can be screwed into your wall if you want it to be a more permanent installation or as advised when used at the top of stairs. It comes with a 6 inch extender but because of my base board I'm going to have to order the 4 inch to use instead at the top of my stairs because it's too wide at the bottom. Just something to keep in mind. Works great in an interior door and my cat loves the little pet door when she wants to get away from the pup. Overall a helpful gate.

  • Did the product fit true to size? n/a
  • How is the quality of the product? good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exactly right!!
 from Colorado Springs, CO,  Aug 9, 2011

I got this gate to keep my retriever out of the cat-only area of the house, so he wouldn't get into the litter boxes and cat food. It works GREAT!! It was very simple to install and is very simple to use. My 2 (almost 3) year old can easily open, go through, and close the gate (to get to the bathroom on the other side!). My cats have no hesitation going through the cat gate either. The only complaint I have is that the pressure mounting does not hold up to the 3 yr old pushing against it. I did not attach the more permanent cups, which I may to to alleviate this problem, but as of now it is easy to just reposition it back in place. It truly is not a baby gate. To address a different, previous complaint, there is no way my 60 pound dog could fit through the cat door if he tried!! I don't think he could even get his head through, let alone his legs and shoulders. In short, I am thrilled with this gate. It is sharp and effective and easy to use!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match, I could have taken the picture (but the dog would be black!)
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty acurate, I didn't inderstand that there would be extra parts to help it fit. Convenient, just unexpected!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is very good. It's light weight, could be a bit heavier/more sturdy, but at least it's easy to manuever.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cats can jump this fence.
 from Texas,  Sep 9, 2011

This is an excellent fence, however, I bought it to keep my cats from being able to access certain areas of our home..... they can BOTH jump this fence. One has a gimpy hind leg, to, and he can still jump it... :: sigh :: I don't know what to do to keep these cats contained. HOWEVER, if you want to purchase this product for any other reason..... this fence is great!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap Plastic Handle
 from Atlanta,  Mar 30, 2012

They say you don't need the plastic cups unless the gate is at the top or bottom of a staricase, but you need them whereever you install it, but no big deal there. The real issue is the cheap handle. Plastic components broke in less than 2 weeks. We have it in a high traffic area so it is getting used a lot by our large family, but still, this is a component that should be made out of something far far sturdier than super cheap plastic.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Low
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finally! A gate for the big and tall!
 from Frankfort, KY,  Oct 1, 2011

I've bought multiples of these. My dog is tall and another dog is a sneaky jumper. I have had no problem since installing these. Make sure you measure and buy an extension if you need one. I like that they come with a plate type thing that you can screw into your wall if you want to give more protection where the ends meet the wall. I've had more than one gate put a nice round hole through my wall; not this gate! The small door also latches if you want so you could close it if you have a small puppy and then open it when he grows too big to fit through. Also swings shuts and latches with just a touch. I love it!! The value is superb. Most gates this size and quality are quite pricey. You will not be disappointed.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made. Not cheap hollow pieces. End pieces that take the tension are good size.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Pet Gate!
 from Portland, ME,  Aug 28, 2011

Just exactly what we wanted to keep our kitty out of our bedroom. The gate latch works easily, and even in the middle of the night when we're sleepy, it's so easy to use. Kitty tried immediately to get through, but was unable to get her shoulders through (she's about 9.5 lbs.). She quit trying and is now satisfied to sleep on her bed outside of our bedroom. Great product! Our neighbors saw it and immediately said, "That's what we've been looking for!". So we told them how to order one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cat saver
 from south dakota,  Aug 24, 2011

Love this gate...put on laundry door to keep cat food away from the dog, the cat loves this gate too..when the puppy wants to play the cat retreats! Tall enough the cat can't jump and the puppy won't try and the door on the front is perfect size for the cat, handle works great will recommend to friends and even thinking about purchasing another on for the pot hole door to the kitchen

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great sturdy gate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Tulsa, OK,  Aug 4, 2011

This product works great. I like the higher model for larger dogs and to keep the cats from jumping over. Looking forward to the puppy growing bigger than the cat door at the bottom! Overall I am very pleased with this product and price (in my area of shopping this product was *** in most stores). Just wish the gate opening was wider to allow transitioning from one room to the next easier. When installing, be careful not to install the side screws too tight or the door will not open/shut. I was so pleased with this purchase that I ordered 3 more! Customer Service is great at this site as well!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The gate is narrower than what the picture indicates
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality materials, love the little door at the bottom to allow the cats to enter/exit.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Gate
 from Springfield, Ohio,  Jul 6, 2011

I bought this for my daughter because her small dog was able to scale 2 normal baby gates stacked on top of each other. I needed one that was tall. This one has done the job perfectly. The fact that it can remain in the doorway and you can still access the room is also a huge plus. It also comes with extensions to make it wider if needed (we don't) and you can purchase even larger ones for a very wide doorway. The price was $45 less than in a local pet store,which made it a tremendous deal. Love this gate!!! Recommend!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems very good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No more jumping!
 from AZ retiree,  Oct 7, 2010

Our "schnoodle" has legs that spring - he easily cleared a 32 in gate, so we went looking for a taller gate. This one is a winner! Only problem is the gate opening is very narrow if you happen to carry grocery bags through it or "carry" an extra few pounds on your hips! Would highly recommend for pets that think they are Evil Knevil!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent gate
 from Northern Virginia,  Sep 23, 2011

Purchased this pet gate to keep our labrashepherd puppy from roaming thru the whole house. I like the height of it & the pet door is helpful for letting kitties in but we have to watch it because our pup has managed to fit himself thru it. Our cat has knocked the gate over when trying to jump over it. I'm sure our pup could knock it down but he does not know this yet. For now, it serves it's purpose nicely. The walk-thru door is essential...a bit narrow but serves the purpose.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Carlson Walk Through Pet Gate
 from texas,  Sep 16, 2011

deff. worth the money! i bought this gate to keep my dog out of my cats litter box and also from eating her food. nothing else i did ever worked so i decided to buy this gate and it was the best purchase ever! i have a big dog so the gate is the perfect height to keep her out. i deff. recommend this product.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly what you get
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100% accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality. i was expecting plastic material but its actually metal and very durable.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
glad I bought this
 from Chesapeake Beach, MD,  Sep 14, 2011

We bought this to keep our cat out of our son's room. It works. He loves the gate and we are extremely glad that we bought it. It is sturdy and attractive. We are buying another one to keep the cat out of the guest bedroom. We live in an older home that does not have central AC so we must keep the bedroom doors open in summer to receive the circulation from the large window AC units placed elsewhere in our home. This gate allows that.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good image
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Carlson Extra-tall Walk Through Pet Gate
 from Missouri,  Aug 28, 2011

Great product, great price,easy to install I am thinking of getting another to keep my dogs seperated while I am at work,

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Extra tall pet gate
 from Cleveland, ohio,  Aug 27, 2011

Awesome for jumpers and large pets. Solid, very well constructed item

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good representationn
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice construction
 from Texas,  Aug 23, 2011

This is great for keeping big dogs in check and allowing little animals through the gate opening. I would love to have options of size for the little door, but this one works fine. It is very strong and a bit heavy. Assembles easy and secures well to door frame.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy and well built
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finally Stopped her!
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 23, 2011

The first place we put the gate, our little 12lb beagle "jumped" over it too (after a different gate - of smaller height-- we got this because she would jump over it).. This height is perfect... You just have to set it behind a door frame to make it really study. She was still able to "jump" onto it, and knock it down, but after placing it behind a door frame (using it as a "stopper") she no longer gets out of it. And the kittens can fit through the rails, haha. So they enjoy it also. Wouldn't suggest it for a dog much smaller (could fit through the rails spacing). And if you have a big, rowdy dog, he'll probably be able to knock it over. It's not the sturdiest thing ever, but for a small/medium jumping dog, it's good :)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks just like the picture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Pet Gate
 from Dothan, AL,  Aug 9, 2011

I really love this pet gate, it has really helped me out with seperating my pets that need separating. However the sturdiness of the gate is a bit questionable. My cat ran slam into it the first night we had it and knocked it right out of the door way. The cat was fine, no worries there but I feel as though the gate should have withstood the impact of my small cat. Otherwise everything else is perfect!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image makes the gate look a bit more sturdy than it actually is
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was mostly accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the product could be better, hard to assemble
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Keep kittens safe
 from Virginia,  Aug 6, 2011

Very pleased with our pet gate, we use to keep our dog out of our laundry area and away from our kitten's food and litter. Product appears well made and much more favorably priced than those from the big box pet stores in the area.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact match
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? well described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. appears sturdy and well made
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 212 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought