Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Buy
 from Oaklandl, California,  Jan 6, 2011

Having used a Bostic Electric Pencil Sharper for years with great satsifaction, I went shopping for a replacement, after I accidentally placed it to close to the stove, melting it. It was no longer functional. I thought a replacement would be easy, but not the case. I went to the local stores and purchased what I thought would be a comparable one to my old one, but not to be. I had to return two of them. I ordered the X-ACTO from Overstock and it does exactly what it claims to do. It cost less than the ones at the local stores and it works just fine. Thank you!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sharp as a tack!!!
 from Lake Clarke Shores, Fl,  Aug 1, 2010

Do not hesitate to purchase this sharpener. Works great!!! Thanks "O".

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from Springfield, OH,  Apr 2, 2011

This product worked very well when sharpening 8 or 9 pencils. After that point it would stop working. It would start working again after it cooled off. In other words, it would get overheated after sharpening 8 to 9 pencils.

  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice pencil sharpner
 from Lakeland Fl,  Jul 14, 2011

I purchased this electric pencil sharpener for my grade school age grandchildren. They go through a lot of pencil lead with their homework and this is perfect for this task.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brand Name
 from NJ,  Dec 14, 2010

Does the job just fine. Lets hope the company name still means as much as it did when I purchased my last sharpener that lasted for 30 years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far, so good!
 from Cypress, TX,  Nov 11, 2010

This little electric pencil sharpener works great. I'm slightly disappointed that the tray is a tad small and needs to be emptied often but it sure beats sharping a pencil by hand!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This pencil sharpener is wonderful. We use it for sharpening pencils for our teenage daughters in high school. We have tried others and this was gets the job done the best by far.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great pencil sharpener
 from NY,  Jul 17, 2014

It sharpens pencils, it does a great job. I am too lazy for the manual sharpeners and decided to get an electric sharpener.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Fast, So Sharp....it's a little scary
 from Arizona,  Dec 6, 2013

I have had this sharpener for about 6 months now and use it on a regular basis for graphite and colored pencils. This little machine carves a point faster and sharper than any other sharpener I've ever used. You quickly learn that it takes only a second or two at most to turn a dull point into a razor tip. Even when sharpening a new pencil it works really fast. It would be nice if the sharpener came with an automatic stop but it doesn't take long to get used to its quick work. The strategy I use is to slip the point in just enough to start the motor but not cut the pencil; I then push the pencil into the blade and quickly rotate it 180 degrees and then pull it out. The tip is so sharp you can hurt yourself if not careful. It does take a little time getting used to working with such a sharp pencil. With colored pencils I can only use the lightest of pressure or the tip will break off. It usually takes about ten seconds of full use to bring the graphic/wax down to where more pressure can be used. I've sharpened over 40 pencils in a row without the motor overheating and have never had this issue, that was so common in other sharpeners I've used. So far this is a great little machine.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
X-Acto Sharpener
 from Staten Island, NY,  Oct 20, 2013

This electric pencil sharpener does just what it's supposed to do, and does it well.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I bought it for a friend.
 from Atlanta, GA,  Apr 22, 2013

Wroks like it is supposed to. Good for the price and for home use.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Right on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I guess good. It shapens pencils. Noisey.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? So far.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All the power you need
 from Columbia, Mo,  Mar 5, 2013

Our old sharpener finally gave out after years of steady use. Was afraid I wouldn't be able to find one that worked as well. This seems to be heavy duty as well. I am very pleased with this purchase.

  • How accurate was the sizing? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Gig Harbor, WA,  Feb 23, 2013

Very happy with this pencil sharpener. Thanks Overstock.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
X-Acto Sharpener is wonderful
 from Oakhurst, Texas,  Feb 20, 2013

I love it and would recommend it to anyone. It is simple to use and gives the sharpest point in very little time. I use it for watercolor pencils which I have had a hard time sharpening with a hand sharpener, now I am a happy camper.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works great and easy to use.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes, it was perfect.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A teacher with needs
 from St. Louis, MO,  Jan 5, 2013

This little bad boy does its job, BUT it has to be emptied out regularly. If the pencil crumbs gets in the top of the unit, it will not work. I almost trash this thing a few times before realizing small pencil crumbs were smashed in the top of the unit. After banging it a few times (causing them to fall) it worked fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Electric Pencil Sharpener
 from St Petersburg FL,  Jan 4, 2013

Purchased this as a gift for my niece. She was pleased with the way it works and likes that it is more heavy duty than most.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Not sure
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works well
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SUPER DUPER COOL SHARPENER!
 from Cranberry, PA,  Dec 20, 2012

Its an ease now for my kids to sharpen their pencils and I enjoy it too when I sharpen my lip liners. Excellent choice!

  • How accurate was the sizing? nice size, fits easily on to son's desk
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. easy to use, sharpens pencils very nicely, kids love it
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great tool!
 from New Orleans, LA,  Dec 19, 2012

I am loving the pencil sharpener! I only wish the insertion whole was larger. It only uses the #2 size pencil. When needed, I just pull out the hand-held sharpener to do the larger pencils. But now, I can keep a stack of regular size pencils already sharpened and in stock for my 7 year old grandson.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Okay!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
X-ACTO Electric Pencil Sharpener
 from Temple TX,  Dec 18, 2012

Arrived promptly and in excellent conditon. Product was as advertised. Pleased w/ purchase.

  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
electric pencil sharpener
 from Southern California,  Dec 11, 2012

I have wanted one of these for years, but never bought one up until now. Overstock had the best price when comparing others. It suits our office needs and desk nicely.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works beautifully
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No issues so far
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top