Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 45 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good for price
 from Indiana,  Mar 29, 2011

This set of shelves is great for my narrow space - it uses the wall space up for storing many books. A couple of notes on putting it together - yes, the instructions are horrible, yes, the entire box was quite heave, and, yes, there was a little side damage toward the back. However, the shelves and sides are very sturdy, it was possible to open the box on the porch and carry the pieces in separately and the damage doesn't show, at least in my circumstance. 1) Parts D and G do not connect to one another regardless of what you think the picture is trying to represent. They each connect to the long side independently. 2) There are holes that are not used in the sides - the first picture looks like you are installing a whole bunch of screws, many of those are actually installing the little plastic plugs for the holes - I found this out the hard way and had to remove many of the screws:( 3) Otherwise, things are pretty straight forward.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fits In Any Space
 from Suburban, artistic, mom,  Dec 8, 2010

I bought this bookshelf bacause I had too much "stuff" and needed to get organized... with little space to do it in... and it was not too difficult to assemble, but when it was done, it is quite a nice piece. It holds a ton of stuff and fits just about anywhere!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookshelf score
 from NJ, NJ,  Sep 28, 2013

Assembly directions left something to be desired. And one set or screw holes did not line up, but the book shelf is sturdy and does what I wanted it to do. It is good value for the cost.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bush Series C review
 from Los Angeles,  Mar 28, 2013

It's a sturdy bookshelf with clear building instructions and nice color selections. Buy it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great in our living room
 from Virginia,  Feb 27, 2013

The shelf unit looks beautiful and it worked so well I am getting another one for another room very similar.

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent and easy to put together
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from Illinois,  Feb 16, 2013

Easy to assemble and everything fit perfectly. Very heavy in package but movable with 2 people. Shade of oak was well represented by picture.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well made
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What I expected for the price.
 from Wallingford, CT,  Jan 11, 2013

This was fairly easy to assemble - took about 45 min. Extremely heavy. Very simple looking book case - purchased for a girl's room. Overall, I'm pleased with the purchase. There were a few blemishes on the book case, but I'm guessing that was from shipping. Not worth returning it for that - just touched it up a little.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just as described!
 from Pierson, MI,  Dec 27, 2012

I am pleased with my purchase! There was no damage to the book case during shipping and all of the parts were included! It was very easy to put together and it fits nicely in the space I had picked out for it! It is very well built and my daughter will be able to grow into the size of it!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is sturdy and will hold a lot of books or whatever my daughter wants to out in it!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No defects, it was packaged securely and all the parts were present!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
corsa 5 shelf bookcase
 from ohio,  Nov 8, 2011

i havent put this together yet.. but it was SUPER heavy getting it into the house when the delivery guy dropped it off.. even he had a tough time! looks like its going to work great in my family room!

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sent it back
 from Washington, D.C. Area,  Sep 24, 2011

Not sure if I got a dud but the quality of the product was so poor that it arrived with pings and dents even though I didn't see any significant packaging issues. I returned it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the product came damaged, although I didn't see any damage on the outside of the box.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? I believe it did have defects - there were pings and dents and when I touched them, they got even worse.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love this bookcase
 from New Hampshire,  Sep 8, 2011

I like this bookcase - it's very sturdy. It came a bit banged up in two corners. I called Overstock customer service and received $XX off the price. There were not enough screws enclosed to put the bookcase together, so I called the company and got very good customer service - XXXXX helped me to understand the directions and assures me the screws will come in the mail Tuesday of next week (today is Thursday). It's too bad I can't put the book case together now, but I need some practice with being patient anyway. ;)

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurage
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, very sturdy
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? it had a couple pushed in corners
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase
 from Peabody, MA,  Aug 23, 2011

I really like this bookcase. It arrived very quickly, as usual with Overstock. It was in one big long box. The bookcase is very sturdy. The backing for bottom half of it is MDF and not cardboard as is usual, so it makes it sturdier, I think. The top part of the backing is cardboard stuff. The only minus was that the bookcase smelled funky for the first few days, but then the smell went away.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product, bad shipping
 from New York, NY,  Jun 15, 2011

This is basically a nice and very convenient bookcase for the money. I found it easy to assemble myself and that the finish was as advertised (I had the dark cherry). The problem with the product was that the way it was handled during shipping resulted in the shelves arriving with some significant dents and places where the veneer had been shaved off. I am using these in an area that is forgiving and I was able to refinish, but this took extra work. The product itself was very good and I would recommend it.

  • Did the product fit true to size? The size was perfect
  • How is the quality of the product? Quality is average for the price.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No manufacturing defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have been used to HUGE bookcases my entire life. being a book worm, who is just recently married to a graphic novel nut, we needed to but our first bookcase for our first place. I will admit at first i felt it may have been to narrow (meaning the width of the shelves). But upon getting it today and putting it together and filling it up...i LOVE IT! its classy, adjustable and looks great in my living room :D I may order another for my bed room once our library expands :D PLUS: ordered it monday and got it thursday! SUPER FAST SHIPPING! this was a great buy. Thanks O

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
as sturdy as advertised
 from Portland, Oregon,  May 7, 2011

It is important to follow the directions for placement of the toggles and screws-if the toggles are placed before the screws it is impossible to get them out, making correcting wrong placement difficult. I ended up with 5 extra screws yet the bookcase is still stable enough to withstand my large cat jumping into the third shelf. I would have given the item 5 *'s if the directions and securing items were more conventional. Still, it is perfect for the small space in my house it was intended for -a nice looking bookcase.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from IN,  May 3, 2011

The bookcase was purchased to hold old LPs to create convenient handling. The finish selected was fairly true the online display. Once the cabinet was assembled it was very heavy and sturdy. My only complaint is that the direction for the assembly were rathere vague and somewhat difficult to figure out as the long sides were exactly a like.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall good bookcase
 from Indiana,  Apr 30, 2011

Overall, nice bookcase. Assembly instructions easy to follow, pieces clearly marked. The back piece of the bookcase wasn't wood --- it basically is a piece of cardboard covered with contact paper, and it was folded in half in the packaging. So right down the middle was a nice seam to view. Pretty chintzy. For us it became on optional piece which we just didn't install in the bookcase. Without it, it looks great, the rest of the bookcase is very nice.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good except for back of bookcase
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One problem noted
 Feb 24, 2011

Actual color and size were true to website, and the assembly process was easy. HOWEVER, two of the pre-drilled holes were in the wrong place and did not line up properly. They were each off about 2 inches. There are 6 pegs with locking mechanisms holding the sides and back of the unit to the base--and the problem was with the 2 holes for the back of the unit to the base. Drilling new holes did not appear to be an option. I ended up just using the 4 pegs that worked--and crossing my fingers that it will be stable. I have it positioned in a corner, and I think that it will be OK.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bookcase
 from South Carolina,  Feb 18, 2011

I looked other places for a bookcase for a specifically narrow place and found it on your site. I have been very pleased with the other things that I had ordered from the O, so I ordered in confidence. I am generally pleased with it, but as it is quite heavy, I had to have a guy friend put it together (with help from me). It was damaged a little bit on three corners, but I intended to paint it white to match my trim. I spackled the damage, sanded and painted it. You cannot tell where the damage was. It seems sturdy and I am happy. I wish one of the options had been in white; it would have saved me a lot of time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Damaged
 from California,  Nov 3, 2010

The product arrived damaged in more than one place. I kept it because it was going into a back corner and people won't see it...but it was still disappointing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 45 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Comfort Products Coublo Collection Bookcase
Today $159.87
Compare $335.15
Save 52%
Classique Dark Espresso Linen Tower
Sale $98.99
Was $109.99
(24)
6-shelf Bookcase
Today $169.99
Compare $302.99
Save 44%
(61)
Tribeca Narrow Bookcase
Add to cart to see special price
(4)
Back to top