Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
I liked these shelves
 from new jersey,  Jul 11, 2011

I have read the other reviews and thought them unfair of this product. Any furniture assembly the first time is time consuming and confusing. I bought one of these for my basement and set it up with my 11 year old son in an hour. It came with accurate instruction but because i never did this before they were confusing. If you buy these take your time and read the instructions carefully before screwing anything together, match holes and be cautious of placing parts upside down or backward (because then the holes don't line up). I did find that screwing in the shelves was challenging as they were in an awkward position. Good luck, give yourself plenty of time, this is at least a one hour project if you are not used to assembling furniture.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. can bend of damage easily before construction
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
books cases
 from Texas,  Feb 2, 2011

The steel book cases are 6 shelves and are heavy. I assumed floor assembly and standing upright would be a problem with twisting. Did not happen that way, the assembly method and procedure is very good. Even though they were heavy they did not twist and are very stable.They are loaded with books now.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This shelf is super sturdy and easy to assemble
 from South Bend, IN,  Sep 29, 2013

This bookcase is simplistic. Very sound and sleek. It doesn't distract from the treasures I want to display. The directions for assembly are exact. They are what they are. Pay attention to every detail in the step by step instructions using the illustrations. If one screw or push pin doesn't line up, go to one that will. Eventually the bookcase pulls itself together without effort. Pleasant experience from start to finish. Thank you very much. *****.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice shelves
 from Oklahoma City,  Feb 15, 2011

Bought 2 of these units for my living room. They were the style, height and look I wanted. I ordered 2 and one unit was damaged in shipment. Overstock replaced the unit promptly as their customer service is the best. I will say there is a diagram of the shelves and parts but no guide to tell you how to put them together. We did a trial and error on unit 1 and it took 2 adult males 3 hours to put it together. Since we knew how it was constructed the 2nd unit took us 30 minutes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Took 8.5 Hours to Put together all by myself.
 from Baldwin Park,CA,  Aug 25, 2011

Time consuming to put together when you are by yourself.A bit of trial and error as some screws were difficult to twist but I learned to just try a different screw and aligning holes was a pain but Once I got it completed then it was very sturdy and I fitted most of my Blu-ray Movies on it.Double Stacking and making two rows.I first used a power drill but it stripped the screws so I ended up using different types of Philips Screwdrivers to give me a good arm workout.It took 8.5 Hours to complete but I really needed it.I highly recommend having two or more Persons to help screw in the Shelves.I bought two so each one took 8.5 Hours to complete.The Sand Color one was more sturdier then the Oak Colored one but since I'm only stacking DVD and VHS Tapes and not Books on that one then no Problem.

  • How accurate was the sizing? I had to use tools to bend them into fitting in place.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Some parts had scratches and rust spots and look repackaged.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No, some holes were misalligned but I bent them into allignment.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
safco shelves
 from glendale,  Feb 20, 2013

The assembly directions for this product are inadequate. I also think that the way the shelves screw into the frame is too difficult to manage. You have to crawl inside the frame to see where the screws go.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Labor costs made these expensive
 from South El Monte, CA,  Oct 12, 2012

I order a substantial amount of merchandise, including furniture. These bookcases were cheap, however, when I totaled in the amount of labor (granted, even if it was 4 students), it turned out to be the most expensive - cheap bookcases ever! They're now falling apart - will never go cheap with bookcases again, lesson learned.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Size was correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Flimsy and extraordinarily hard to assemble
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Free....of planning common sense
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Need Patience in Assembly
 from Bronx, NY,  Dec 30, 2011

I wanted bookcases that were both inexpensive and strong to hold a lot of books. I purchased two 6-shelf and one 3-shelf in black. Make sure you eat a good meal, take your vitamins and leave all distractions as this is not very easy to put together. (Reward yourself with a martini or a piece of cake after!) I am very experienced putting things together and found this to be quite difficult because the instructions aren't very good. Look at them carefully or you can put stuff in the wrong way. It was also difficult to line up the correct holes to put in the screws. BUT, once together, they are great. They look really nice, hold the books well and you can't see the few scrapes or paint defects. I am going to assemble #3 now - wish me luck! ;-)

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No, there were a few scrapes in the paint
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
PERFECT HEAVY BOOKCASES
 from Haddonfield, NJ,  Nov 2, 2011

THESE ARE THE PERFECT BOOKCASES IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A STURDY CASE THAT WILL HOLD TEXT BOOKS.

  • How accurate was the sizing? VERY
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. EXCELLENT
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? YES
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase but difficult to put together!
 from Belleville, MI,  Aug 16, 2011

I liked the bookcase and was happy with it after I put it together. The assembly however was a nightmare. I put it together by myself but I think even with help, it would have been difficult. None of the screws entirely screwed into the joints. I even had to get into the most compromising positions with my screwdrive to attach the shelves. I got so frustrated, I abandoned the project until the next morning. I could use another one, but I can't endure having to put another one together. There was even a step to use a piece of the cardboard box to insert this one plastic piece. I had to read twice to believe that was an actual step. Really like finished product, but bookcase should be redesigned for better assembly.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Larger than expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
VERY DIFFICULT TO ASSEMBLE
 from Indiana,  Jun 7, 2011

After 3 of us tried to put together the bookcases, I finally had to call a handiman who assembles furniture for a living. Even he felt that they were not well made and the holes did not line up. The finished product is not exactly perpendicular from the floor either. They do hold a lot of books, but I cannot recommend them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awful quality
 Jul 16, 2015

awful. screws do not fit the holes, terrible quality. impossible to put together. they do not refund shipping, even if selling you a faulty product, so beware. do not buy this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I read lots of reviews of other folks having a hard time assembling this shelf and after assembling a smaller unit of the same type, I thought they were exaggerations. However, this larger shelving unit was really challenging to assemble, and the cheap cardboard backing looks kind of wonky. After much cursing by my husband during assembly, the shelf looks good holding my books and for the price, it is as expected.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcases
 Apr 29, 2015

Not the easiest to assemble, but sturdy and very nice to look at. Very functiona.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I think that there should be at least 2 extra of each assembly screw and button, with the ease of misplacing one at some point in the assembly. Further, the cardboard back of the case makes it difficult to insert screws without some tearing of the hole on the cardboard, especially if the cardboard dimensions do not exactly match the bookcase housing dimensions. I recommend that the manufacturer substitute a more durable back wall to the case, to make assembly more easy to accomplish. Even a sheet metal backing would be helpful, in comparison. Finally, some verbal cues are needed with the pictures in the assembly pages.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality
 from Texas,  Jan 7, 2015

The holes do not align hard to get the frame and shelf to align. Two people can not get this to align. Backing of bookshelf is heavy weigh cardboard. Connectors are brittle plastic. Put together with sheet metal screws. Regret buying item

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Practical storage
 Jan 3, 2015

The back of these units are cardboard, so be sure that you have a sturdy support behind to which you can attach it. The shelves are fixed, with varied spacing. Dependable, easy to maintain.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the easiest of set ups, but worth the effort
 from San Francisco CA,  Dec 17, 2014

I have purchased 6 of these units and they are a fairly inexpensive way to add shelf space. The set up is tricky. I spent a day on the first one- I would walk away whenever I got frustrated. Subsequent set ups went much faster. The key is to know exactly how the pieces go together- not always the clearest as several items could be backwards. Even so, you will need patience in getting some of the screws set in. That all said, I love the product and purchased additional units when I needed them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Second hand
 from Watertown, MA,  Sep 12, 2014

The book shelves came in. We opened it with excitement. We immediately noticed 1 of the bookshelves was a used one and the parts are beaten and we had to find ways to re-assemble a used bookshelf. Screws was missing, it had dents, the connector parts were broken (when they de-assembled it, it got broken I think). What do you do in this situation if you have just moved in and need to finish the work. We assembled the bookshelf with not-so-great thoughts... Ending? It took us hours extra but we made it. Welcome to our brand new second hand book shelf.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worst product purchased in my entire life!
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Sep 4, 2014

We have moved an purchased a bunch of furniture (most from overstock.com) and I have never been this disappointed! I got this bookshelf because I thought that if it was made of metal then it will be sturdy and less banged up like some of the particle board crap I've gotten recently. Not only was this not worth the $$, I would like nothing more than to get back 4.5 hr I have spent trying to put it together. Whoever wrote that "all you need to do is read the istructions carefully and it's easy" is either mocking the rest of us or lying and working for the company trying to boost the ratings for this product! There is nothing to read in the instructions "manual." It is a bunch of terrible schematics with 10 "easy" steps that do not talk about the orientation of the products nor do these parts come labeled! The quality of the metal is so flimsy and the holes do not align properly and require a dozen people holding it all together to even screw in one screw (so I figured out after doing it all by myself). Majority of screws require you to get inside the shelves with a flashlight to find the tiniest of the holes that need to be magically aligned and screwed in the most inconvenient angles! Whoever designed this has never screwed in a single screw in his/her entire career! Once it was all finally "put together" it is still flimsy and wobbly (especially since it's so tall) and I regret purchasing this product more than I regret any other decision in my life. Honestly, I wish I could just get my $$ back and throw the thing away, but I just don't want the hassle of taking it apart, shipping it back or putting any more shelves together. It makes me so angry! This product is garbage and should never be sold! If you hate someone, send them this as a gift.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought